Massachusetts Animal Fund Animal Control Officer Training Institute Core Competencies Course

Law Quiz

1) All dogs must be licensed. The owner must license their dog when it reaches

- a. 2 months of age
- b. 3 months of age
- c. 6 months of age
- d. 1 year of age

2) Regarding dogs in foster care, choose the correct answer..

a. The foster dog should be licensed with the town individually by the foster parent if it remains in the home for more than thirty days.

b. The foster dog is covered by the foster parent's kennel license automatically, as long as the kennel limit is not exceeded.

c. Foster dogs should be wearing kennel tags.

d. Foster dogs do NOT need to be licensed.

3) According to Massachusetts General Law (MGL), an owner or keeper of more than _____ dogs, three months or older, must secure a kennel license in addition to licensing all dogs over 6 months of age individually.

a. 4

b. 6

c. 7

d. 10

4) When must kennel inspections be conducted?

a. Kennel inspections are not required.

b. Before initial licensing and prior to license renewal, and at least annually.

c. Before initial licensing only. The license remains valid unless the kennel receives a written violation.

d. Immediately after the Kennel license is issued. Kennel inspections must be conducted upon license renewal.

5) What is the suggested penalty for an unvaccinated dog, cat, or ferret under MGL?

a. Warning letter

- b. Not more than \$100
- c. Not less than \$50

d. There is no fine if the person licenses his or her animal within 30 days of the violation

6) A veterinarian may cite that an animal is exempt from a rabies vaccination for the following reasons

a. The animal has an immune mediated disease.

- b. The owner cannot afford to pay for the vaccine.
- c. The owner has a moral or religious objection to the vaccination.
- d. The animal is fractious at the time of the veterinary exam

7) The State mandatory hold period for an unclaimed stray dog is _____ days.

a. 15

b. 5

- c. 7
- d. 10

8) If a dog is unclaimed after the mandatory holding period, what may the municipality NOT do?

a. Transfer the dog over to a licensed shelter/rescue for placement.

b. Assess the behavior and health status of the animal to determine suitability for adoption.

- c. Euthanize the dog.
- d. Donate the dog to a reputable research facility.

9) When should you issue a written warning?

a. Only upon the second offense after a verbal warning has not been heeded

- b. Only upon a criminal offense
- c. Always, because there is no way to prove a verbal warning
- d. Never, a "warning" should always be issued verbally.

10) If a dog, Candy, has been deemed a nuisance or dangerous dog in Norwell, Massachusetts, under MGL, is Candy also deemed a dangerous or nuisance dog in Adams, Massachusetts?

a. Yes

b. Yes, only if Candy's owner licensed her in Adams

c. No

d. No, if Candy did not meet the nuisance/dangerous dog standards in Adams

11) Which law gives an ACO authority in reporting/prosecuting acts of nonfelony animal cruelty/neglect such as unsanitary conditions?

- a. MGL Chapter 140 Section 137
- b. MGL Chapter 140 Section 157
- c. MGL Chapter 140, Section 174E
- d. MGL Chapter 140, Section 174F

12) If an owner moves with his dog, Spike (5 years old), from Waltham, Massachusetts, to Nantucket, Massachusetts, is Spike's Waltham license valid in Nantucket?

- a. Yes, until Spike's Waltham license expires
- b. Yes, until 30 days after Spike moves to Nantucket
- c. No. As soon as Spike moves to a new town he is considered unlicensed
- d. No. Spike's owner had to apply for Nantucket licensure prior to moving

13) Who shall annually issue a warrant to the animal control officer directing the officer to seek out, catch and confine all dogs within the city or town which are not licensed, collared or harnessed, or tagged?

- a. The Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources
- b. The mayor
- c. The board of selectmen
- d. Either B or C

14) Which of these is not an indicator of animal cruelty?

a. Spoiled food placed within reach of the animal

b. Muddy water in a water bowl placed within reach of the animal, and no other water source available.

- c. A 24" x 24" shelter for a full-grown German Shepherd-type dog
- d. All of the above could be indicators of animal cruelty.

15) When are you allowed to take photos of a suspected animal cruelty crime scene?

a. Never. Only the police or an Animal Control Officer designated as a "special police officer" may take photographs

- b. Only if you are the first responder at the scene
- c. Only if your supervisor is with you at the scene
- d. Always, as long as you are legally allowed to be at the scene

16) An exigent circumstance constitutes an emergency that may allow entry onto a private premise without a warrant. Which of these situations is NOT exigent?

a. An animal is observed to be suffering from a severe illness that requires immediate veterinary attention

- b. An animal has a life-threatening injury that appears to have just occurred
- c. A dead animal is observed at the scene
- d. All of the above are exigent

17) What agency is responsible to review Rabies quarantines issued throughout the State?

- a. The Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources
- b. The municipal animal control officer
- c. The municipal animal inspector
- d. The Massachusetts Department of Fisheries and Wildlife

18) Dogs that are out in public should be wearing their license tag

- a. affixed to the dog's collar or harness at all times
- b. if the dog is allowed off leash
- c. if the dog is travelling outside of its own municipality
- d. if they have lost their rabies tag

19) Why may a dog be deemed dangerous?

- a. Based on its breed characteristics
- b. Based solely upon continuous barking or growling at neighbors and passersby
- c. It is acting protective of its property.
- d. If the dog bites a person

20) What is the penalty under MGL for violation of the order given by the hearing authority or District court on a dangerous dog?

a. \$1,000 for the first offense; \$2,500 for the second offense

b. \$50 for the first offense; \$100 for the second offense or imprisonment for no more than 30 days in a jail or house of correction.

c. \$1,000 for the first offense and any offense thereafter

d. \$500 or imprisonment for no more than 60 days in jail or house of correction, or both, for the first offense; \$1,000 for the second offense or imprisonment for not more than 90 days in a jail or house of correction.

21) Under MGL Chapter 140, Section 174F, which of these statements is false? ______.

a. A person other than an ACO, law enforcement officer, or fire fighter may enter a motor vehicle to assist an animal in distress at any time without first calling 911b. A person shall not confine an animal in a motor vehicle in extreme heat or coldc. An ACO, law enforcement officer, or fire fighter may enter a motor vehicle for the sole purpose of removing an animal from unsafe vehicle conditions if an owner cannot be located

d. If an animal is removed from an unsafe vehicle, written notice must be left in a conspicuous place for the owner

22) A disabled person owns a service dog. In what circumstances may this person be in violation of a city or town ordinance?

a. The person has his dog with him while dining in a restaurant.

b. The person is in a public park that has "no dogs allowed" posted in the area where he is playing fetch, off leash, with his dog.

c. The person has his dog on a train where no dogs are allowed.

d. The person has his dog in an emergency room where no pets are allowed.

23) MGL Chapter 140 Section 151A and 174A address the euthanasia of cats and dogs. Which method(s) is/are appropriate to administer euthanasia to a dog or cat in a NON-emergency situation?

a. Transport to a Veterinarian for the administration of barbiturates is the only appropriate method for NON-emergency situations

- b. CO2 chamber
- c. By gunshot
- d. Both A and C are appropriate in NON-emergency situations

24) Are all animal control officers also animal inspectors?

a. Yes. The positions are dually appointed.

b. Yes. There is no difference between an animal control officer and an animal inspector.

c. No. An animal control officer may be an animal inspector, or another individual may be nominated.

d. No. The animal control officer and the animal inspector are never the same person per MGL Chapter 140, Section 151A

25) An animal has received a medical exemption from the rabies vaccination requirement, and the rabies certificate indicates that the last vaccine given has expired. If exposed to rabies, is this animal considered currently vaccinated?

a. Yes.

b. Yes, unless the animal has signs or symptoms of rabies.

c. It depends on how many vaccines the animal was given prior to the medical exemption.

d. No. The animal is not considered currently vaccinated, and since it cannot receive a rabies booster it would be treated as an unvaccinated animal for quarantine purposes.

26) Which is not a preferred method of searching for the owner of a lost dog?

- a. Scanning the lost dog for a microchip
- b. Looking for a tattoo identification on the lost dog
- c. Searching a licensing list for dogs with similar descriptions
- d. All of these are preferred methods for searching for the owner of a lost dog

27) According to MGL which of these dogs may not be charged a licensing fee?

- a. A service dog as defined by the ADA
- b. A neutered dog owned the town clerk.
- c. A spayed rescue dog owned by a 25-year-old citizen
- d. An intact purebred female owned by a breeder.

28) According to MGL, when may the mayor of a city, the selectboard of a town, the town manager, the police commissioner in the city of Boston, a chief of police or an animal control officer inspect a kennel or cause the inspection of a kennel?

- a. Only a complaint is filed against the kennel
- b. At any time
- c. Only a chief of police may inspect a kennel lawfully
- d. If the animal inspector is unavailable for such inspection

29) A person convicted of serious animal welfare or cruelty concerns as detailed in MGL Chapter 272 shall be prohibited from doing which of the following?

- a. Working as a veterinary technician
- b. Volunteering at an animal shelter
- c. Owning a pet store
- d. All of the above

30) In which of these instances would you cite an owner under MGL Chapter 140 section 174E?

a. A dog is secured with a lightweight cable to a trolley system for 2 hours in 60 degree, overcast weather with access to an adequate shelter and water.

b. A dog is secured in an electronically fenced yard with the owner present.

c. A dog is observed in a fenced yard during a state-declared blizzard emergency with 2' of snow and no owner present.

d. A dog is outside in a secure pen with adequate space for exercise of at least 100' with access to adequate shelter, water and food.