Massachusetts Department of Revenue I

Schedule EC
Solar and Wind Energy Credit 2024

Name(s) as shown on Massachusetts Form 1 or 1-NR/PY Social Security number

Address of principal residence in Massachusetts (do not enter PO box)

City/Town State Zip

Costs of renewable solar and/or wind energy source property installed in a principal

Massachusetts residence

This credit can only be taken once for the principal residence indicated above. Do not include repair or maintenance costs. See instructions on the back
of this form.

1 Cost of renewable solar and/or wind energy property installed in your principal Massachusetts residence in
2024. Enclose a statement describing the nature of the expenditures.. . .. ... ... . i 1 |

|
2 Enter any U.S. HUD grant or rebate for such expenditures. . . . ... .. 2 | |
3 Net 2024 expenditures. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Notlessthan O . ......... ... . i 3 | |
4 Enter 15% Of lINe 3 . . oo e 4 | |
5a Maximum allowable credit for principal reSidence . . . ... ... e 5a | 1,000 |
5b Total prior years credit taken by taxpayer for this principal residence .. .......... .. ... .. . . i 5b | |
5S¢ Subtract line 5b from line 5a. Notless than 0. . . . ... ... 5c | |
6 2024 Massachusetts Energy Credit. Enter line 4 or line 5¢, whicheverisless . ........ .. ... ... . . .. 6 | |
7a Enter 2021 unused Massachusetts Energy Credit (from 2023 Schedule EC, line 11,col.c).......... ... ... ..... 7a | |
7b Enter 2022 unused Massachusetts Energy Credit (from 2023 Schedule EC, line 11,col.¢c).......... ... ... ..... 7b | |
7c Enter 2023 unused Massachusetts Energy Credit (from 2023 Schedule EC, line 11, col.¢c)............... ... .... 7c | |
8 Massachusetts Energy Credit available this year. Add lines 6, 7a, 7band 7c. . . .. .. ... . i 8 | |

Computation of Energy Credit allowable on return

9 Total tax from Form 1, line 28 or Form 1-NR/PY, line 32 less Limited Income Credit, and/or Credit for Taxes
Paid to Other Jurisdictions, and/or certain other credits, if any (see instructions). Notlessthan 0. ................... 9 | |

10 Massachusetts Energy Credit allowable this year. Enter the smaller of line 8 or line 9 here and on the Credit Manager Schedule.
Not more than $1,000. You must enclose Schedule EC with your return. Failure to do so will result in this
credit being disallowed on your tax return and an adjustment of your reportedtax .......... ... ... ... L. 10 | |

Unused Massachusetts Energy Credit Carryover
11 Complete only if line 8 is more than line 10, or if you have unused credits from prior years.

c. Unused credit available
Subtract col. b from col. a

a. Unused credits from prior years b. Portion used
Year and current year credit this year Amount For
2022 (2023 Sch EC, line 11, 2020 col c) 2025
2023 (2023 Sch EC, line 11, 2021 col ¢) 2025-2026
2024 (2024 Sch. EC, line 6) 2025-2027

12 Totals

L _



-

-

Schedule EC Instructions

General Information

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 62, section 6(d) allows any owner
or tenant of residential property located in Massachusetts, who is not a
dependent of another taxpayer and who occupies the property as his/
her principal residence, a credit equal to 15% of the net expenditure for
renewable energy source property (installed on or after January 1, 1979)
or $1,000, whichever is less.

The maximum allowable credit for a taxpayer is $1,000 during the entire
time the taxpayer resides in the same principal residence. In calculating
the available credit amount, the taxpayer must subtract from the $1,000
maximum any energy credit previously taken on that residence.

The address of principal residence in Massachusetts must be the ac-
tual street address of the residence, not a PO box. A summer or vaca-
tion home does not qualify as a principal residence. Property placed in
a rental unit by a landlord does not qualify for the credit. Joint owners,
who occupy residential property as their principal residence, share any
credit available to the property in the same proportion as their ownership
interests. A condominium or cooper ative housing corporation dwelling
unit may qualify. (See 830 CMR 62.6.1). In the case of new construction,
the credit is available to the original owner-occupant.

Note: If you moved during the taxable year and had more than one princi-
pal residence that qualified for the Energy Credit during the same taxable
year, you must file a separate Schedule EC for each of those principal
resi dences. However, the maximum amount of the combined Sched ule
EC credits cannot exceed $1,000.

To take the credit for a renewable energy source item:
* you must be the first one to use the item;
e it must be expected to last five years; and

¢ it must meet the performance and quality standards prescribed by the
Commissioner of Revenue.

Expenditures are generally treated as made when the installation is com-
pleted. Further information about restrictions and qualifications may be
found in 830 CMR 62.6.1.

Line Instructions

Line 1. Enter the cost, including installation, of the renewable energy
source properties for your principal residence. Qualified renewable en-
ergy source property is property which transmits or uses solar energy
for heating or cooling, for providing hot water or electricity, or which uses
wind energy to generate electricity or mechanical forms of energy for
non-business residential purposes.

Examples of renewable solar and wind energy items include:
e collectors,

* rock beds and

* heat exchangers.

e windmills,

* wind-driven generators and

* power conditioning and storage devices.

Note: The following renewable energy source costs are not allowed (830
CMR 62.6.1):

* heating and cooling systems, other than solar or wind, that supplement
renewable energy source equipment;

* energy storage mediums for nonessential functions, e.g. swimming
pools;

e expenditures for heat pumps (air and water), wood burning stoves or
furnaces;

* materials and components that have a structural function or are struc-
tural components; and

* energy conservation expenditures for insulation, storm or thermal win-
dows or doors, caulking or weatherstripping, etc.

Line 2. Enter the amount of any U.S. HUD grant or rebate related to re-
newable solar and wind energy source property installed in your principal
Massachusetts residence.

Lines 5 through 8. Complete all appropriate lines to determine the
amount of credit available this year.

Lines 9 through 11. If the amount of energy credit available in line 8 is
more than your total tax in line 9, less any Limited Income Credit and/or
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions, the excess may be carried
over three succeeding years. Excesses are not refundable.

Note: You must complete and enclose Schedule EC with your return.
Failure to do so will result in this credit being disallowed on your tax return
and an adjustment of your reported tax.

What If | Am Taking the Solar and Wind Energy

Credit and Another Credit On My Tax Return?

If you are taking another credit in addition to the Solar and Wind Energy
Credit on your tax return, you must reduce the amount of tax reported
in line 9 of Schedule EC (from Form 1, line 28 or Form 1-NR/PY, line 32
or Form 2, line 41) by any Limited Income Credit and/or Credit for Taxes
Paid to Other Jurisdiction and any other credits you may be eligible for.
These include, but are not limited to the Lead Paint Credit, Economic Op-
portunity Area Credit, Economic Development Incentive Program Credit,
Septic Credit, Brownfields Credit, Low-Income Housing Credit, Historic
Rehabilitation Credit, Film Incentive Credit, Medical Device Credit, Em-
ployer Wellness Program Credit, Farming and Fisheries Credit, Low-In-
come Housing Donation Credit, and Veterans Hire Credit.

Note: It is more advantageous to use the credit(s) that is going to expire
first.
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