

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
2024 Wareham Police Lieutenant Sole AC w/E&E

LOCATION	Statewide, MA	JOB TYPE	Not Applicable
JOB NUMBER	24WarehamPLt_EE	DEPARTMENT	Wareham Police Department
OPENING DATE	09/13/2024	CLOSING DATE	9/26/2024 11:59 PM Eastern

Wareham Police Lieutenant Sole Assessment Center with Experience & Education

Application Opens: September 13, 2024 Application Deadline: September 26, 2024 Examination Date: October 9, 2024 Examination Fee: \$150

Examination Location: TBD

Eligible List: Individuals placed on the resulting eligible list shall be eligible for certification from such list for such period as the administrator shall determine, but in any event not to exceed two years, unless otherwise outlined in Massachusetts General Law (MGL) Chapter 31, § 25 or the Human Resources Division (HRD) revocation policy.

Eligibility: To be eligible for this examination you must: (1) be an employee in the police department for which the examination is given with permanent civil service status in the specified eligible title(s) by the date of the examination; and (2) have served in the force at least one year since your name was first certified in the eligible title(s), regardless of whether the certification resulted in your appointment to the eligible title(s). The eligible list establishment date is not the same as certified date. The certified date is when your name was first reachable on a certification for a promotional vacancy. A combination of temporary and permanent service can be applied towards meeting this one year requirement. Time spent as a temporary Police Lieutenant will not interrupt the service period in your permanent position.*

Eligible Title(s): Police Sergeant

Note: Pursuant to the provisions of MGL Chapter 31, § 59, if less than four applications are received from eligible candidates, this examination will be postponed. If the examination's eligible title has been lowered to the entry level rank, the examination will go forward if less than four eligible candidates submit applications.

*If the eligible title has been lowered to the entry level rank you must have served in the force at least one or three years depending on the participating municipality.

Examination Weights: The Sole Assessment Center will be 80% and the Experience & Education (E&E) will be 20% of the final score.

Job Description

For a description of this position, please contact the Wareham Police Department.

Application: All applications must be received by the application deadline and accompanied by an examination processing fee of \$150. You will receive two confirmation emails when you have completed the process: one email confirming your application has been received, and one email confirming your payment has been received. Your application is not complete until you have received both confirmation emails. If you have not submitted payment of the examination processing fee by the application deadline, your application will not be accepted.

Experience & Education (E&E): All candidates must complete the Wareham Police Lieutenant E&E Claim application online. Submitting an E&E claim in any way other than through the online claim process will result in a failed examination component. Instructions and a link to the E&E claim will be emailed to you prior to the Assessment Center administration date. A confirmation email will be sent upon successful submission of an E&E Claim application.

All claims and supporting documentation must be received within seven calendar days following the Assessment Center examination date. Supporting documentation must be scanned and attached to the application or sent to civilservice@mass.gov no later than October 16, 2024.

Please note that:

- E&E is an examination component, and therefore must be completed by the examinee.
- Failure to complete this component as instructed will result in a candidate not receiving any credit for E&E.
- Credit for E&E will be calculated for all candidates.

Please be sure to read the instructions carefully. In order to ensure that no one receives any type of unfair advantage in the claim process, we are unable to provide individualized assistance to any candidate and so, no phone calls or email inquiries regarding the content of this examination component will be accepted or responded to. Once you receive your examination mark, you will have 17 calendar days from the emailing of your mark to appeal in writing your E&E score.

Statutory Preference Points: Upon submission of written proof, two points will be added to the passing score of qualified Veterans and Disabled Veterans or individuals who have 25 years of service as a member of a regular police or fire force and have passed an examination for promotional appointment in such force. If you are qualified for both the Veteran's Preference and the Promotional Preference for 25 years of service, please be advised that two points are the maximum allowable number of points to be added to your passing, overall (general average) examination score. To claim the Promotional Preference for 25 years of service, claim this preference in the application and either attach the Employment Verification Form for Sole Assessment Center form to the application or email it to civilservice@mass.gov. To claim veterans preference, claim veteran status in the application and attach your DD214 to the application or email it to civilservice.

During the HRD review process or during the life of the applicable eligible list(s), candidates must make original supporting documentation available should the issue of authenticity arise with any submitted document copies.

Current Military Personnel: All military personnel who, in connection with current service, have military orders that indicate their unavailability due to military service on the examination date, must file an application and examination processing fee and request a makeup examination in writing, with a copy of your military orders attached. Please include in your request your email address, daytime base phone number and/or name and phone number of a friend or family member with whom you have regular contact and entrust with your personal communication. Requests filed after the application deadline, must be accompanied by a DD214 showing discharge within six months of the request and dates of active service that include the entire application period. Visit our website for more information: Military Information

Makeup Examination: With the exception of current military personnel, no candidate has a right to a makeup examination due to personal or professional conflicts on the testing date. Candidates are advised to consider this before applying for the examination. If you file an examination application by the application deadline but are unable to appear for the

examination on the scheduled examination date due to an emergency or unanticipated hardship, you may request a makeup examination by filing a written request with verifiable documentation to HRD no later seven calendar days from the examination date. HRD reserves the right to approve or deny your request. HRD may require an additional examination processing fee upon approval of your request.

Reasonable Accommodations: If you need testing accommodations due to a documented impairment, or medical condition, you must submit a written request with verifiable documentation detailing what type of accommodation you require at the examination site. This request with verifiable documentation, must be attached to the application or emailed to <u>civilservice@mass.gov</u> by the application deadline. We cannot guarantee that we will be able to grant your accommodation without this information. This information is requested only to provide reasonable accommodation for examinations and will not be used for any other purpose.

Updating Information: Candidates are responsible for maintaining accurate contact information. Failure to keep your records current may jeopardize opportunities for promotion. For information on how to update your information, click on Update Account.

Identification at the Examination Site: At the examination site, candidates must present a current and valid government issued photo identification with signature (e.g., driver's license, passport, military ID). Candidates will not be allowed to take the examination without valid identification.

Private School or Service: HRD does not recommend or endorse any private school, service, or publisher offering preparation and/or publications for examinations and is not responsible for their advertising claims.

Refunds: There will be no refund of the examination processing fee unless the examination is cancelled by HRD.

Supplemental Information

Women, minorities, veterans, and people with disabilities are encouraged to apply.

For more information or inquiries about this and other civil service examinations, visit www.mass.gov/civilservice or email the Civil Service Unit at civilservice@mass.gov

The Civil Service Unit's hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 8:45am – 5:00pm, except holidays. Inquiries may also be made to the Civil Service Unit during these hours at the following numbers:

Boston area: (617) 878-9895 or (617) 878-9700 Toll-Free Within Massachusetts: 1-800-392-6178 TTY Number: (617) 878-9762

Agency Commonwealth of Massachusetts Address 100 Cambridge Street 6th Floor Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

Website http://www.mass.gov/civilservice

Phone

(617)878-9700