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This decision establishes the maximum allowable fee Massachusetts state-chartered banks and 

credit unions may assess certain consumer deposit accounts for processing dishonored checks, otherwise 

referred to as deposit return items (DRI), under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 167D, section 6 and 

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 171, section 41A.1  The maximum fee set by this decision shall remain 

in effect from August 1, 2025 to July 31, 2026, or until such time as the Division of Banks (Division) issues 

its 2026 DRI fee decision. 

2025 DRI Determination 

The 2025 DRI fee is based upon deposit return item cost data independently obtained from a sample 

of state-chartered banks and credit unions.  The Division collected this data during its regularly scheduled 

financial safety and soundness examinations under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 167, section 2.  

The sample of institutions reasonably reflects industry differences in asset size, charter type, geographical 

location, and DRI processing procedures.  The Division used three years of DRI cost data to determine the 

maximum allowable fee under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 167D, section 6 and Massachusetts 

General Laws chapter 171, section 41A.  The data collected from the Division's examination sampling 

process is summarized below. 

 
1 These statutes govern the consumer deposit accounts of state-chartered banks and credit unions, respectively.  The 

statutes were inserted by St. 1997, c.178, ss.1-2 as amended by St. 2014, c.482, s.35.  The provisions are 

substantially identical.  Addressing the actual costs incurred by a bank or credit union for processing a dishonored 

check, the act provides in pertinent part, “that a bank [or credit union] may assess a reasonable fee, charge or 

assessment that represents its direct costs, as established annually by the Commissioner of Banks, incurred for 

processing such check, draft or money order." (emphasis added) 
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A total of 73 institutions were surveyed.  This sample included 34 banks and 39 credit unions.2  The 

cost of processing deposit returned items ranged from $0.77 to $63.33 per item.  The average cost to process 

a deposit return item was $10.50 for banks and credit unions combined.  Banks had an average cost of 

$10.06 and credit unions had an average cost of $11.89.  The median cost of all institutions was $7.14 per 

item. 

Conclusion 

The maximum allowable fee Massachusetts state-chartered banks and credit unions may assess 

certain consumer deposit accounts for processing dishonored checks or DRI items under Massachusetts 

General Laws chapter 167D, section 6 and Massachusetts General Laws chapter 171, section 41A, 

respectively, shall be $7.14.  This fee determination shall be in effect from August 1, 2025, to July 31, 2026, 

or until such time as the Division issues its 2026 DRI fee decision. 

State-chartered institutions are advised that the above DRI fee is the maximum fee permitted by 

law.  Institutions, however, may elect to impose a lower DRI fee or to waive the fee for their customers. 

 

             July 18, 2025 

Mary L. Gallagher 

Commissioner of Banks 

 

2 The list of responding institutions includes 4 cooperative banks, 16 savings banks, 14 commercial banks, and 39 

credit unions.  Asset sizes of all the institutions surveyed ranged from approximately $1 million to $7.60 billion.  

The survey was conducted during regular safety and soundness examinations over a three-year time span between 

January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2024.  Institutions selected were done so solely based on examination 

scheduling.  As a result, the components of the sample are randomly derived and are not necessarily reflective of all 

institutions under the Division’s supervision.  All collected data was reviewed for reasonableness. 

     

 


