
No Retaliation or Discrimination 
• It is unlawful for an employer to discriminate or retaliate against an employee for exercising any right to which s/he 

is entitled under the law. 
• An employee or former employee who is discriminated or retaliated against for exercising rights under the law may, not 

more than three years after the violation occurs, institute a civil action in the superior court, and may be entitled 
to damages of as much as three times his or her lost wages. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Who is a Covered Individual Under the Law? 
Generally, a worker qualifies as a covered individual eligible for PFML benefits if they are: 

• covered by unemployment insurance in Massachusetts and paid wages by a Massachusetts employer; or 
• a self-employed individual who resides and works in Massachusetts and chooses to opt-in to the program; and 
• has earned at least 30 times the expected benefit and at least $6,300 (adjusted annually) in the last four completed quarters 

preceding the application for benefits. 

Job Protection 
Generally, an employee who has taken paid family or medical leave 
must be restored to the employee’s previous position or to an equal 
position, with the same status, pay, employment benefits, length-of- 
service credit, and seniority as of the date of leave. 

These job protections do not apply to former employees, independent 
contractors, or self-employed individuals. 

Private Plans 

Health Insurance 
Employers must provide for, contribute to, or otherwise maintain the 
employee's employment-related health insurance benefits, if any, at 
the level and under the conditions coverage would have been 
provided if the employee had continued working continuously for 
the duration of such leave. 

If an employer offers employees paid family leave, medical leave, or both, with benefits that are at least as generous as those 
provided under the law, the employer may apply for an exemption from paying the contributions. Employees continue to be 
protected from discrimination and retaliation under the law even when an employer opts to provide paid leave benefits through a 
private plan. 
Name of Private Insurer: ___________________________________________ Private plan is for: Medical Family Both 

Address: _________________________________________________________  Phone:     

City, State & Zip Code: ______________________________________ Website:   
 

If you have questions or concerns about your PFML rights, call: 

(833) 344-7365 or visit: https://www.mass.gov/DFML 

This notice must be posted in a conspicuous place on the employer’s premises. 

Available Leave 
Covered individuals may be entitled to family and medical leave for the following reasons: 

• up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave in a benefit year if they have a serious health condition that incapacitates them from 
work. 

• up to 12 weeks of paid family leave in a benefit year related to the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of a child, to 
care for a family member with a serious health condition, or because of a qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a 
family member is on active duty or has been notified of an impending call to active duty in the Armed Forces. 

• up to 26 weeks of paid family leave in a benefit year to care for a family member who is a covered service member with 
a serious health condition. 

Covered individuals are eligible for no more than 26 total weeks, in the aggregate, of paid family 
and medical leave in a single benefit year. 

Benefits 
To fund PFML benefits, employers may deduct payroll contributions of up to 0.46% (adjusted annually) from a covered 
individual’s wages or other earnings. A covered individual’s average weekly earnings will determine his or her benefit amount, 
for a maximum weekly benefit of up to $1,170.64 (adjusted annually). 
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