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26.01: Purpose  

 

The purpose of 225 CMR 26.00 is to define applicant and vehicle eligibility for 

the MOR-EV program, establish requirements for Applicants and Participating 

Dealerships to receive rebates, and incentivize electric vehicle adoption in the 

Commonwealth. 

 

26.02: Definitions  

 

Applicant. The eligible individual or entity, including federally-recognized and state-

acknowledged tribes, seeking a rebate or voucher for an eligible MOR-EV incentive. 

The Applicant may or may not be the same entity as the Vehicle End User. Third 

parties, such as financing entities or solutions providers, may be qualified to apply for 

MOR-EV rebates on behalf of Vehicle End Users such as public or municipal fleets.  

 

Battery Electric Vehicle. Any vehicle that solely operates through use of an electric 

battery. All power and function are derived from the batteries and electric motors; a 

Battery Electric Vehicle does not produce any engine exhaust carbon emissions and is 

thereby a Zero Emission Vehicle. 

 

Cab Card. A registration document issued by a base jurisdiction for a vehicle of an 

apportioned fleet. The Cab Card identified the vehicle, registrant, jurisdictions for 

which the vehicle is apportioned, plate number, the registered weight by jurisdiction, 

and any other necessary information. 

 

Corporate Fleets. Commercial and nonprofit fleets, which include company-owned 

vehicles, companies with vans, rental car companies, and companies that provide 

vehicles to employees instead of paying mileage. 
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Day. Unless otherwise defined or limited, a day shall mean a calendar day and not a 

business day. For computing a period of time in these regulations, the last day of the 

period is to be included unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or a state legal holiday in 

which the period runs until the end of the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, 

or state legal holiday. 

 

Department. The Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (DOER), 

established by M.G.L. c. 25A.  

 

Environmental Justice Population.  

(a) A neighborhood that meets 1 or more of the following criteria:  

1.  the annual median household income is not more than 65% of the statewide 

annual median household income;  

2.  minorities comprise 40%or more of the population;  

3.  25%or more of households lack English language proficiency; or  

4. minorities comprise 25%or more of the population and the annual median 

household income of the municipality in which the neighborhood is located does 

not exceed 150%of the statewide annual median household income; or  

(b) a geographic portion of a neighborhood designated by the Secretary of the 

Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs as an Environmental Justice 

Population in accordance with law. 

 

Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle. A vehicle that generates electricity using oxygen and 

compressed hydrogen within a fuel cell; a Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle does not produce 

any engine exhaust carbon emissions and is thereby a Zero Emission Vehicle. 

 

Floor Model or Test Drive Vehicles. Vehicles used as dealership floor models and test 

drive vehicles are vehicles that have not been registered previously with the 

Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles or its equivalent in any other state.  

 

Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The maximum safe operating weight or mass 

of a vehicle as specified by the manufacturer (e.g., on the certificate of origin), 

including the vehicle's chassis, body, engine, engine fluids, fuel, accessories, driver, 

passengers, and cargo, but excluding that of any trailers. 

 

Guideline. A set of clarifications, interpretations, and procedures, including forms, 

developed by the Department to assist in compliance with the requirements of 225 

CMR 26.00. The Department may issue new or revised Guidelines from time to time. 

Each Guideline shall be effective on its date of issuance or on such date as is specified 

therein, except as otherwise provided in 225 CMR 26.00. 

 

Income-qualified Program. A state or federal program where income has been verified 

and eligibility has already been determined, such as food and nutrition assistance 

programs, health care benefits, childcare and elder care financial aid, housing 

assistance, supplemental income, veterans' programs, and home energy assistance 
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programs. The Department will provide a list of Income-qualified Programs on the 

MOR-EV website.  

 

International Registration Plan (IRP). A registration reciprocity agreement among 

states of the United States, including Massachusetts, the District of Columbia, and 

provinces of Canada. IRP is an optional program for licensing commercial vehicles 

in two or more IRP jurisdictions.  

 

Internal Combustion Engine Vehicle (ICEV). A motor vehicle 8,500 pounds GVWR 

or less in which the ignition and combustion of the fuel, typically gasoline or diesel, 

occurs within the engine itself. This does not include vehicles that have an internal 

combustion engine combined with a hybrid electric powertrain or plug-in hybrid 

electric system.  

 

Licensed Dealership. A Class I or Class II vehicle dealer with a valid auto dealers 

license according to M.G.L. c. 140, § 58, or, for dealerships outside the 

Commonwealth, a dealer with valid equivalent licensure according to the appropriate 

agency or authority in any other jurisdiction.  

 

Light-duty Vehicle. A passenger car, minivan, or other vehicle that is 8,500 pounds 

GVWR or less, excluding pickup trucks 6,000 pounds GVWR or greater. 

 

Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP). The recommended sale price that is 

determined by the vehicle’s manufacturer. 

 

Market Value. A monetary value greater than zero dollars at which a vehicle would 

transfer ownership between a Licensed Dealership and an eligible Applicant.  

 

Massachusetts Offers Rebates for Electric Vehicles (MOR-EV) Program. The rebate 

program established pursuant to 225 CMR 26.00.  

 

Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicle. A vehicle that is 10,001 pounds GVWR or 

greater. 

 

MOR-EV Terms and Conditions. An agreement detailing requirements for the 

MOR-EV program that an Applicant and Vehicle End User must acknowledge and 

sign in order to receive a rebate. 

 

New Vehicle. A motor vehicle, as defined by M.G.L. c. 90, § 1, constructed of new 

parts, that has never been the subject of a retail sale, and has never been registered 

with the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles or with the appropriate agency or 

authority in any other jurisdiction. This also includes all-electric upfits of new 

vehicles that result in a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle.  

 

Ownership Period. The period that an entity is financially responsible for a New 

Vehicle or Used Vehicle. For the purposes of the MOR-EV Program, this period must 
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encompass a minimum of 36 consecutive months beginning immediately after the 

vehicle purchase or lease for New Vehicles or Used Vehicles up to 10,000 pounds 

GVWR, and 48 months for New Vehicles or Used Vehicles 10,001 pounds GVWR 

and above.  

 

Participating Dealership. A licensed New or Used Vehicle dealership that is enrolled 

in the MOR-EV Program for the purposes of participating in the Point-of-sale rebate.  

   

Point-of-sale (POS). The time and place the sales or lease transaction takes place.  

 

Pre-qualification Voucher. An official document issued by the Program Administrator 

that serves as proof of eligibility for the MOR-EV+ low-income rebate adder and used 

Light-duty Vehicle programs, to be redeemed at a Participating Dealership to claim 

rebate(s) at the Point-of-sale or lease. 

 

Program Administrator. The Program Administrator for 225 CMR 26.00 that has been 

contracted and legally authorized by the Department to administer the MOR-EV 

rebate programs and related processes. 

 

Purchase Price. The final purchase price, or gross capitalized cost for a lease, of the 

Used Vehicle minus registration fees, documentation fees, or sales and use taxes.  

 

Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle. A New Vehicle or Used Vehicle:  

(a)  that is a Zero Emission Vehicle;  

(b)  that has been manufactured primarily for use on public streets, roads and 

highways;  

(c)  that is registered within the Commonwealth;  

(d)  whose purchaser’s or lessee’s primary residence or business location is 

within the Commonwealth; and  

(e)  whose purchaser or lessee files proof of primary residency and each 

qualifying vehicle’s registration within the Commonwealth not later than 90 days 

after purchase. Applicable vehicle types must also be certified by the California Air 

Resources Board (CARB) as required by Massachusetts 310 CMR 7.40: Low 

Emission Vehicle (LEV) Program.  

 

Rebate Reservation Voucher. For the MOR-EV Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicle 

Rebates, an official document or other such certification as defined by the Department 

and issued by the Program Administrator that demonstrates an Applicant intends to 

order an eligible vehicle over 10,000 pounds GVWR. A Rebate Reservation Voucher 

must be applied for and approved prior to taking delivery of an eligible vehicle and is 

redeemed upon submitting application documentation to request a rebate within 90 

days of taking delivery of said vehicle.  

 

Rollback Vehicle. A “rollback” occurs when a buyer purchases or leases a vehicle 

then returns it shortly after purchase, or when a buyer’s financing is disapproved.  
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Sales Price. The total manufacturer suggested retail price (MSRP) at the time of sale 

or lease, which includes different pre-packaged groups of features for a particular New 

Vehicle, excluding registration fees, documentation fees, or sales and use taxes. For 

Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle conversions, the Sales Price must include the total 

MSRP plus the total cost of the all-electric upfit. 

 

Trade-in Vehicle. An Internal Combustion Engine Vehicle (ICEV) that meets the 

MOR-EV Program requirements and that is transferred to a Licensed Dealership for 

credit toward the price of the Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle being purchased or 

leased.  

 

Unwind Vehicle. An “unwind” occurs when vehicle registration is completed, but the 

sale was not consummated, and the buyer never took delivery.  

 

Used Clean Vehicle Credit. A federal tax credit for buying a previously owned, 

qualified electric vehicle, including cars and light trucks, under 26 U.S.C. § 25E. 

 

Used Vehicle. A motor vehicle, as defined by M.G.L. c. 90, § 1, which has been 

previously and separately registered with the Massachusetts Registry of Motor 

Vehicles or with the appropriate agency or authority in any other jurisdiction and is 

eligible for retail sale to another party. Vehicles will be listed as “used” on the motor 

vehicle purchase or lease agreement. For the purposes of the MOR-EV Program, the 

vehicle cannot have been purchased new or used within the previous twenty-four (24) 

months or leased for a period of less than 36 months. This also includes all-electric 

retrofits of Used Vehicles that are at least 2 years old and that result in a Qualifying 

Zero Emission Vehicle.  

 

Vehicle End User. The individual or entity that operates an eligible vehicle. This may 

be the owner of the vehicle or a different individual or entity under a lease agreement. 

 

Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV). A motor vehicle that produces no engine exhaust 

carbon emissions.  

 

26.03: Administration  

 

225 CMR 26.00 shall be administered by the Department.  

 

26.04: Applicability  

 

225 CMR 26.00 applies to individuals, corporations, and non-profit Applicants, 

Vehicle End Users, dealerships, and other entities that participate in the MOR-EV 

Program.  

 

26.05: Eligibility  
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(1) General Eligibility Criteria. An Applicant may qualify for a MOR-EV voucher or 

rebate subject to the limitations in 225 CMR 26.05.  

 

(a) Residency. The Applicant shall provide appropriate proof of residency for 

Massachusetts.  

 

1. If applying as an individual, an Applicant shall provide a copy of a 

Massachusetts driver’s license or other valid form of Massachusetts residency 

as approved by the Department and collected by the Program Administrator.   

 

2. If applying as an eligible entity, such as a corporation, nonprofit, or other 

eligible type, an Applicant shall provide a copy of a local business license, 

articles of incorporation, or other formation document filed with the 

Massachusetts Secretary of State. Other forms of documentation to establish 

Massachusetts residency, such as a written attestation, may be accepted by the 

Department on a case-by-case basis.  

 

3. If the Applicant is an interstate carrier registered under the International 

Registration Plan (IRP), Massachusetts must be listed on the Cab Card.  

 

(b) Ownership. Applicants and Vehicle End Users must agree to the Ownership 

Period requirements as set out in the MOR-EV Program, including a minimum of 

36 consecutive months beginning immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease 

for New or Used Vehicles up to 10,000 pounds GVWR, and 48 months for New 

or Used Vehicles 10,001 pounds GVWR and above. If the Applicant or Vehicle 

End User are found to be in breach of this requirement, the Department may 

require the return of some or all of the rebate funds or may disqualify the Applicant 

or Vehicle End User from additional participation in the MOR-EV Program. 

Additional actions may be taken at the Department’s discretion. See 225 CMR 

26.10 for information on appeals and exemptions. 

 

26.06: Light-duty Vehicle Rebates  

 

(1) New Light-duty Vehicle Rebate. 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Individuals and Corporate Fleets are eligible for new 

Light-duty Vehicle rebates. Applicant may combine this rebate with the MOR-

EV+ low-income rebate adder under 225 CMR 26.08(1). 

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. Eligible vehicles must meet the following criteria: 

1. New Vehicle, Floor Model, or Test Drive Vehicle;  

2. Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle that is a new Light-duty Vehicle; and 

3. have a Sales Price of $55,000 or less.   

Floor Model, Test Drive, Unwind, and Rollback vehicles will be assessed on 

a case-by-case basis. Vehicles determined by the Program Administrator to be 

unrebated Rollback or Unwind Vehicles will be eligible under 225 CMR 26.06. 
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(c) Rebate Amount. A new Light-Duty Vehicle that meets the requirements of 225 

CMR 26.06(1)(b) shall be eligible for a rebate amount no less than $3,500 and no 

more than $5,000. The initial rebate amount shall be $3,500. In response to market 

conditions or availability of funding, the Department may increase the rebate 

amount for a new Light-duty Vehicle to no more than $5,000.  

 

(d) Availability of Rebate. The rebate is available through post-purchase rebate or 

POS. Post-purchase rebates must be claimed within 90 calendar days after 

purchase or lease date.   

 

(2) ICEV Trade-in Vehicle Rebate. 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Individuals, Corporate Fleets, and other eligible entities 

are eligible for ICEV Trade-in Vehicle rebates. Eligible Applicants may combine 

this rebate with the MOR-EV+ low-income rebate adder under 225 CMR 26.08(1).  

 

(b) Trade-in Vehicle Eligibility. An ICEV must be traded in at a Licensed 

Dealership for a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle on or after August 8, 2023. To 

receive an ICEV Trade-in Vehicle Rebate, Applicants must apply on or after 

December 6, 2023. The ICEV must have Market Value, be at least 12 years old, 

based on the model year, at the time of trade-in, and have been registered in the 

Commonwealth to the Applicant or a member of the Applicant’s immediate family 

for at least two years prior to the date of trade-in. The ICEV must have been up to 

date on its yearly Massachusetts vehicle inspection immediately preceding the 

trade-in.   

 

(c) Rebate Amount. An ICEV Trade-In Vehicle that meets the requirements of 225 

CMR 26.06(2)(b) shall be eligible for a rebate of $1,000, which does not include 

the rebate for a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle purchase or lease, provided that 

the total rebate amount does not exceed $4,500. The Applicant shall apply for the 

additional ICEV trade-in rebate after purchase or lease, regardless of how the 

standard rebate was issued for a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle.  

 

(d) Availability of Rebate. The Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle is eligible for 

post-purchase rebate 90 calendar days after trade-in of an eligible ICEV that meets 

the requirements of 225 CMR 26.06(2)(b) to a Licensed Dealership. 

 

(e) Program Budget. On an annual basis, the Department shall make publicly 

available the projected total MOR-EV Light-duty Vehicle rebate spend and 

associated maximum budget for this program and will not grant rebates beyond that 

amount. At no point will the ICEV Trade-in Vehicle rebate program budget exceed 

1% of the total dollar value of MOR-EV Light-duty Vehicle rebates projected to be 

provided pursuant to M.G.L. c. 25A, § 19 within a given fiscal year.  

 

(3) Used Light-duty Vehicle Rebate. 



Page 8 of 16 

 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Massachusetts residents who are participating in one or 

more Income-qualified Programs or who meet the applicable income threshold for 

the federal Used Clean Vehicle Credit that is in place at the time of vehicle purchase 

or lease. An Applicant may combine this rebate with the MOR-EV+ low-income 

rebate adder under 225 CMR 26.08(1). 

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. A used Light-duty Vehicle must be a Used Vehicle that is 

also a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle 8,500 pounds GVWR or less and has a 

Purchase Price of $40,000 or less.  

 

(c) Rebate Amount. A used Light-Duty Vehicle that meets the requirements of 225 

CMR 26.06(3)(b) shall be eligible for a rebate amount no less than $3,500 and no 

more than $5,000 per used Light-Duty Vehicle. The initial rebate amount shall be 

$3,500.In response to market conditions or availability of funding, the Department 

may increase the rebate amount for a used Light-Duty Vehicle to no more than 

$5,000.. 

 

(d) Availability of Rebate. The rebate is available through post-purchase rebate or 

POS. Post-purchase rebates must be claimed within 90 calendar days after purchase 

or lease date. Used Vehicles purchased or leased on or after November 10, 2022, 

are eligible for the post-purchase rebate up to 90 days after August 8, 2023. After 

this initial 90-day period has elapsed, rebates must be claimed within 90 calendar 

days after the purchase or lease date. 

 

(e) Pre-qualification Voucher. If purchasing from a Participating Dealership, 

Applicants seeking to take advantage of the used Light-duty Vehicle rebate at the 

POS must submit supporting documentation to the Program Administrator to 

request a Pre-qualification Voucher. Pre-qualification Vouchers are valid for six 

months from date of issue. Supporting documentation must include either: 

 

1. Participation in Income-qualified Program: Documentation that an 

Applicant is participating in an Income-qualified Program must contain the 

Applicant’s name, the name of the Income-qualified Program, the government 

entity (state, federal, or federally-recognized or state-acknowledged tribes) or 

the managed care organization that issued the document, and the issue date. 

Unless otherwise indicated on the MOR-EV website, the supporting 

documentation must be dated within the last 12 months or have a future 

expiration date beyond the date of the MOR-EV low-income adder application. 

Applicants may alternatively submit supporting documentation to request the 

rebate adder following the date of purchase or lease. 

 

2. Federal Clean Used Vehicle tax credit income threshold: Supporting 

documentation for income verification should be an IRS Tax Return Transcript 

for the Applicant from the year the vehicle is purchased or leased. If the Tax 

Return Transcript for that year is not available, the Tax Return Transcript from 
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the previous year will be accepted. In some cases, additional documentation 

beyond a Tax Return Transcript may be required and the Program 

Administrator will work directly with Applicants accordingly. On a case-by-

case basis, similar suitable documentation may be accepted as alternative 

income verification; Applicants are directed to contact the Program 

Administrator to determine next steps. 

 

26.07: MOR-EV Trucks and Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicle Rebates 

 

(1) New Pickup Truck Rebates (MOR-EV Trucks). 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Individuals, Corporate Fleets, and other eligible entities 

are eligible for the MOR-EV Trucks Rebate. Applicant may combine this rebate 

with the MOR-EV+ low-income rebate adder under 225 CMR 26.08(1). 

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. A New Vehicle, Floor Model, or Test Drive Vehicle that is 

also a Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicle that: 

 

1. is either a pickup truck that is between 6,000 and 10,000 pounds GVWR or 

a vehicle of any other body type between 8,501 and 10,000 pounds GVWR; 

and 

2. has a Sales Price that is $80,000 or less. 

 

Floor Model, Test Drive, Unwind, and Rollback vehicles will be assessed on 

a case-by-case basis. Vehicles determined by the Program Administrator to be 

unrebated Rollback or Unwind Vehicles will be eligible under 225 CMR 26.07. 

 

(c) Rebate Amount. A vehicle that meets the requirements of 225 CMR 

26.07(1)(b) shall be eligible for a rebate amount no less than $4,500 and no more 

than $7,500 per eligible vehicle. The initial rebate amount shall be $7,500. In 

response to market conditions or availability of funding, the Department may 

decrease the rebate amount to no less than $4,500. 

 

(d) Availability of Rebate. The rebate is available through a post-purchase rebate 

application in a manner or form to be prescribed by the Department or by POS. 

Post-purchase rebates must be claimed within 90 calendar days after purchase or 

lease date. 

 

(2) New Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles. 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Individuals, Corporate Fleets, and other eligible entities 

are eligible for MOR-EV Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicle Rebates. Applicant 

may combine this rebate with the Environmental Justice Rebate Adder under 225 

CMR 26.08(2). Recipients of Medium- and Heavy-duty Rebates will be subject to 

a data provision requirement, which shall require reporting to the Department the 
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vehicle miles traveled during the first year of operation, at a minimum, to inform 

future programs and policies. 

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. A New Vehicle that is also a Qualifying Zero Emission 

Medium- or Heavy-duty Vehicle with a Sales Price of $2,000,000 or less.  

 

(c) Rebate Amount. The rebate amount will vary depending on GVWR, with a 

minimum amount of $4,500. Rebates will follow a declining value as blocks are 

exhausted, with incentives per GVWR further detailed in 225 CMR 26.07(2)(e).  

 

(d) Availability of Rebate. Rebates are available through a two-stage process:  

 

1. Applicants must request and receive an approved Rebate Reservation 

Voucher prior to seeking a post-purchase rebate. The Rebate Reservation 

Voucher for this vehicle class will be provided by the Department. 

2. Once issued, the Rebate Reservation Voucher must be redeemed (i.e., 

submitted along with other documentation to request a post-purchase rebate) 

within 12 months of the issue date, with one optional 12-month voucher 

extension. An additional extension may be granted for demonstrated good 

cause. Extension requests to be submitted through the Program Administrator 

and approved by the Department. A voucher that is not extended or redeemed 

within 12 months will be deemed expired, will be canceled, and that voucher 

number retired. The vehicle is eligible for a post-purchase rebate for up to 90 

calendar days after Applicant has taken delivery of vehicle. 

 

(e) Rebate Blocks. Rebates follow a declining block incentive structure. There will 

be three blocks, with a minimum number of 200 rebates per block. The Department 

shall publish the remaining number of rebates available in a given block and the 

corresponding rebate amounts for that block. The respective incentive values 

decline as each block of rebates is claimed. The rebate amount per GVWR shall be 

established as follows: 

 

Vehicle Class GVWR (lbs.) Initial Incentive Amount 

3 10,001-14,000 $15,000 

4 14,001-16,000 $30,000 

5 16,001-19,500 $45,000 

6 19,501-26,000 $60,000 

7 26,001-33,000 $75,000 

8 33,001+ $90,000 

 

 

1. Incentive values will decline by a maximum of 15% following each full 

block. Incentives will remain static at Block 3 values until the Department 

completes a program review. 
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2. Vehicle End Users may only reserve a maximum of 10% of an available 

rebate block; subsequent rebates to that end user will be at the subsequent 

block value regardless of if the previous block is filled. 

 

(f) Restrictions on Combining Funding Other Sources. If a Medium- or Heavy-duty 

Vehicle has received incentive funds from other Massachusetts programs, either 

funded or run by the Commonwealth, then the vehicle will not be eligible for a 

MOR-EV rebate. In no instance may an Applicant receive more than 100% cost 

coverage of an eligible Medium- or Heavy-duty Vehicle when combining a MOR-

EV rebate or MOR-EV rebate adders with other grants or incentives (such as federal 

tax incentives). 

 

(2) Used Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicles. The Department, in conjunction with 

input from key stakeholders, shall determine whether there is sufficient market 

availability to enable effective implementation of a program for MOR-EV Rebates 

for used Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicles no later than June 30, 2024. 

 

26.08: Rebate Adders  

 

(1) MOR-EV+ (MOR-EV Plus) Low-income Rebate Adder. 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Massachusetts residents who are participating in specific 

state or federal Income-qualified Programs and provide supporting 

documentation.  

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. All Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicles are eligible for the 

Low-income Rebate Adder. The Applicant must be seeking the standard rebate for 

a New Vehicle or Used Vehicle that is eligible for the Low-income Rebate Adder 

and the New Vehicle or Used Vehicle must meet the applicable eligibility 

requirements. 

 

(c) Rebate Adder Amount. The rebate adder shall be equal to $1,500.  

 

(d) Rebate Adder Availability. The rebate adder is available through a post-

purchase rebate or at POS with a Pre-qualification Voucher. Post-purchase rebate 

adders must be claimed within 90 calendar days after purchase or lease date. 

Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicles purchased or leased on or after November 10, 

2022, are eligible for the MOR-EV+ rebate adder post-purchase up to 90 days after 

August 8, 2023. After this initial 90-day period has elapsed, the Department will 

only allow rebates within the normal 90-calendar day window without appeal. 

 

(e) Pre-qualification Voucher. If purchasing from a Participating Dealership, 

Applicants seeking to claim the Low-income Rebate Adder at the POS must 

submit supporting documentation to the Program Administrator to request a Pre-

qualification Voucher. Pre-qualification Vouchers are valid for six months from 

date of issue. Supporting documentation must include: 
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1. Participation in Income-qualified Program:  Documentation that an 

Applicant is participating in an Income-qualified Program must contain the 

Applicant’s name, the name of the Income-qualified Program, the government 

entity (state, federal, or tribal) or the managed care organization that issued the 

document, and the issue date. Unless otherwise indicated on the MOR-EV 

website, the supporting documentation must be dated within the last 12 months 

or have a future expiration date beyond the date of the MOR-EV Low-income 

Rebate Adder application. Applicants may alternatively submit supporting 

documentation to request the rebate adder following the date of purchase or 

lease. 

 

(f) Culturally Competent Outreach. The Department shall establish a culturally 

competent outreach program to ensure that MOR-EV rebates are effectively 

communicated to all residents of the Commonwealth, particularly Environmental 

Justice Populations, and allow for regular feedback on the design and 

implementation of the program. The Department will collaborate with a network 

of stakeholders and community-based organizations across the Commonwealth to 

develop and deliver culturally competent outreach, including but not limited to 

internal and external stakeholders focused on environmental justice. 

  

(2) Environmental Justice Rebate Adder. 

 

(a) Applicant Eligibility. Individual, Corporate Fleets, and other eligible entities 

that are registered in or operating in an Environmental Justice Population as 

defined by the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs are eligible 

for the adder. The Applicant shall provide information demonstrating registration 

location or that the Vehicle End User operates the vehicle in an Environmental 

Justice Population at least 50% of the time in a manner and form to be established 

by the Department.  

 

(b) Vehicle Eligibility. All Qualifying Zero Emission Vehicles 10,001 pounds 

GVWR or greater that meet the program requirements of the New Medium- and 

Heavy-duty Vehicles Rebates are eligible for the adder. The Applicant must be 

seeking the standard rebate for a New Medium- and Heavy-duty Vehicle that is 

eligible for the Environmental Justice Rebate Adder and the vehicle must meet the 

applicable eligibility requirements. 

 

(c) Rebate Adder Amount. Rebate adder amount is equal to 10% of the total rebate 

value.  

 

(d) Rebate Adder Availability. The vehicle is eligible for a post-purchase rebate 

adder 90 calendar days after purchase or lease date.   

 

26.09: Program Administrator and Website  
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(1) A third-party Program Administrator will be responsible for providing some or all 

of the following services: 

(a) receiving MOR-EV rebate and rebate adder applications, application review 

and verification processes, and appeals process management;  

(b) establishing a culturally competent outreach campaign;  

(c) rebate payment processing and payment issuance to consumer, dealerships, and 

other Applicants; and 

(d) any other duties prescribed in a request for proposals.  

 

(2) The Department shall maintain a website for the MOR-EV program at 

www.mor-ev.org, including on the website appropriate Guidelines and updated 

program information. 

 

26.10: Applications, Exemptions, and Appeals  

 

(1) Post-purchase Rebate and Voucher Application Process. A post-purchase rebate 

application for a rebate, an application for a Pre-qualification Voucher, or an 

application for a Rebate Reservation Voucher shall be submitted to the Department by 

the Applicant. The Applicant must use the most current forms and associated 

instructions provided by the Department, and must include all information, 

documentation, and assurances required by such forms, instructions, and terms and 

conditions.  

 

(2) Point-of-sale Rebate Application Process. Participating Dealerships will offer 

some rebates or rebate adders to be provided at POS. An Applicant must purchase or 

lease from a Participating Dealership and meet all of the eligibility requirements listed 

for that vehicle type, including providing documentation to verify eligibility. 

Applicants may also be required to sign or agree to additional MOR-EV Terms and 

Conditions.  

 

(3) Participating Dealership Application Process.  

(a) Licensed dealerships in Massachusetts will apply with the Program 

Administrator and shall sign a Participating Dealership agreement prior to being 

enrolled in the POS program. Additional documentation or review may be required 

at the Department or Program Administrator’s discretion.  

(b) Participating Dealerships will create an account with the Program 

Administrator and will be added to a list of Participating Dealerships on the MOR-

EV website (www.mor-ev.org). 

(c) Participating Dealerships shall keep the information provided to the Program 

Administrator up to date and comply with any requests for maintaining the 

dealership’s participation or verification of information related to rebates or Pre-

qualification Vouchers associated with the MOR-EV Program.  

(d) Participating Dealerships shall ensure that documentation clearly indicates the 

MOR-EV rebates or vouchers included at POS and the amount(s). 

(e) Participating Dealerships shall offer POS rebates for new eligible ZEVs if a 

dealership is selling or leasing New Vehicles, shall offer MOR-EV+ rebate adders 

http://www.morev.org/
http://www.mor-ev.org/
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with valid Pre-qualification Voucher at POS for any Participating Dealership, and 

offer used EV rebates with valid Pre-qualification Voucher at POS if a dealership 

sells Used Vehicles. 

(f) Participating Dealerships shall submit requests for reimbursement to the 

Program Administrator within 30 calendar days of purchase or lease date. 

 

(4) Review Procedures. 

(a) For post-purchase rebates or vouchers, the Department or Program 

Administrator will notify the Applicant when the application is administratively 

complete or if additional information is required. 

(b) For POS rebates, the Participating Dealership will determine that the customer 

is eligible to receive a MOR-EV rebate. After issuing the rebate at the POS, the 

Participating Dealership will submit a copy of the customer’s driver’s license, 

purchase or lease agreement, vehicle registration, a rebate transfer or rebate 

assignment form, and any other necessary documentation for the Program 

Administrator to review. The Program Administrator will review the 

documentation and notify the dealership if the reimbursement is approved, denied, 

or if additional information is required.   

 

(5) Issuance or Non-issuance of a Rebate or Voucher. 

(a) If the Department or Program Administrator find that an Applicant meets the 

requirements for eligibility for a rebate or voucher pursuant to 225 CMR 26.00, 

the Department or Program Administrator will provide the Applicant a rebate or 

voucher. 

(b) The associated forms and terms and conditions shall include any applicable 

restrictions and conditions that the Department deems necessary to ensure 

compliance by an Applicant with the provisions of 225 CMR 26.00. 

(c) If the Applicant does not meet the requirements for eligibility, the Department 

or Program Administrator shall provide written notice to the Applicant, including 

the reasons for such finding. 

(d) If the Department does not have sufficient funding for rebates in the Electric 

Vehicle Adoption Incentive Trust Fund or other designated sources, the 

Department will provide at least 30 days’ notice for any POS, pre-qualification 

and other pre-purchase options, and will create a waitlist for MOR-EV rebates, 

subject to availability of future funds.  

 

(6) Exemptions. 

(a) If a vehicle for which a rebate payment was issued is sold, returned, or traded 

in, or if a lease is transferred or assumed by another party prior to expiration of the 

minimum Ownership Period or lease agreement, or if the vehicle moves out of 

state, the purchaser or lessee may be required to reimburse the program.  

(b) Exemption from the Ownership Period requirements set forth in 225 CMR 

26.05(1)(b) may be allowed if necessitated by unforeseen or unavoidable 

circumstances, such as military relocation outside of Massachusetts, death of an 

Applicant, or determination by the Program Administrator that the vehicle has 

been totaled. To qualify for an exemption, Applicants will be required to submit a 
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written request to the Program Administrator and include official documentation 

demonstrating proof of one of the above noted circumstances. 

(c) To request an exemption for a special circumstance other than those listed in 

225 CMR 26.10(6)(a) and (b), an Applicant can submit a written request to the 

Program Administrator explaining the circumstances along with any official 

corresponding documentation.  

(d) The Program Administrator will review exemption requests with the 

Department to determine if the requirements for an exemption have been met. 

Exemption requests will be approved or denied by the Department at its sole 

discretion. 

 

(7) Appeals. 

(a) The Department will consider appeals to the denial of a rebate application, in 

full or in part, on a case-by-case basis. To request an appeal, a Participating 

Dealership, Licensed Dealership, or Applicant must contact the Program 

Administrator using the contact information on the MOR-EV website to initiate 

the appeals process within 90 calendar days of the date of application denial. The 

appeal must include all facts that form the basis for the appeal.  

1. Any appeals submitted more than 90 days following application denial will 

not be eligible for review and consideration.  

2. In instances where the initial 90-day application window was missed, appeals 

may be granted on a case-by-case basis no more than six months following the 

purchase or lease date of the eligible vehicle.  

3. Failure of a dealer to advise a consumer of the MOR-EV Program or the 

provision of false or incorrect information from a dealer to a consumer does not 

form the basis for appeal. 

4. Appeals for vehicle purchases or leases that exceed the maximum Sales Price 

cap (New Vehicles) or Purchase Price cap (Used Vehicles) will be denied. 

5. If the only basis for the appeal is that the Applicant or other party disagrees 

with the policies set forth in these regulations, the MOR-EV Terms and 

Conditions, any relevant Guidelines, or other MOR-EV policy, the appeal will 

be denied. 

 

26.11: Inspection and Noncompliance.  

 

(1) Inspection.  

(a) Document Inspection. The Department may audit the accuracy of all 

information submitted pursuant to 225 CMR 26.00. As a condition of participating 

in the MOR-EV rebate process, including Applicants and Participating Dealers, 

parties agree to provide the Department any information that the Department 

determines necessary to monitor compliance with and enforcement of 225 CMR 

26.00. 

(b) Audit and Site Inspection. Upon reasonable notice to an Applicant, Vehicle 

End User, Participating Dealership, Licensed Dealership, or other entity that 

participates in the MOR-EV Program, the Department may conduct audits, which 

may include inspection and copying of records and/or site visits to a dealership, 
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including, but not limited to, all files and documents that the Department 

determines are related to compliance with 225 CMR 26.00. 

 

(2) Noncompliance. Any Applicant, Vehicle End User, Licensed Dealership, or 

Participating Dealership that fails to comply with the requirements of 225 CMR 26.00 may 

be subject to the provisions in 225 CMR 26.11(2)(a) through (e).  

(a) Return of Rebate. A failure to substantially comply with the requirements of 

225 CMR 26.00 shall be determined by the Department on a case-by-case basis. 

An Applicant that fails to substantially comply with these requirements may be 

required to forfeit the rebate, rebate adder, or other funds provided under the 

MOR-EV Program, in full or in part, in an amount to be determined by the 

Department up to the amount received under the MOR-EV Program.  

(b) Notice of Noncompliance. A failure to substantially comply with the 

requirements of 225 CMR 26.00 shall be determined by the Department on a case-

by-case basis. A written Notice of Noncompliance shall be prepared and delivered 

by the Department to any individual, corporation, or non-profit Applicant, Vehicle 

End User, Licensed Dealership, Participating Dealership, or other entity that 

participates in the MOR-EV Program that fails to comply with the requirements 

of 225 CMR 26.00. The Notice of Noncompliance shall describe the 

requirement(s) with which the Applicant or dealership failed to comply, the time 

period of such noncompliance, and the possible penalties for noncompliance. 

(c) Publication of Notice of Noncompliance. A Notice of Noncompliance may be 

published on the Department’s website and in any other media deemed appropriate 

by the Department. Such publication may remain posted until the Applicant or 

dealership returns to compliance as determined by the Department. 

(d) Suspension or Revocation of Participation in MOR-EV. The Department may 

suspend or revoke a Participating Dealership’s participation in the MOR-EV 

Program due to noncompliance with 225 CMR 26.00.  

(e) Future Participation in the MOR-EV Program. They Department may 

determine that an individual, Applicant, Vehicle End User, Participating 

Dealership, Licensed Dealership, or other entity involved with the MOR-EV 

Program may be suspended for a time or barred from participating in the MOR-

EV Program due to noncompliance with 225 CMR 26.00. 

 

26.12: Severability  

 

If any provision of 225 CMR 26.00 is declared invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 

other provisions or applications that can be given effect without the invalid provision or 

application.  

 

REGULATORY AUTHORITY  

 

225 CMR 26.00: M.G.L. c. 25A, § 19; St. 2022, c. 126, § 123. 


