## WHAT IS AN MBTA COMMUNITY?

Section 3A of the Massachusetts Zoning Act ("Chapter 40A"), together with the <u>Section 3A</u> <u>Guidelines</u>, provides multi-family zoning requirements for MBTA Communities. Chapter 40A defines an "MBTA Community" in Section 1A as the following:

"MBTA community", a city or town that is: (i) one of the 51 cities and towns as defined in section 1 of chapter 161A; (ii) one of the 14 cities and towns as defined in said section 1 of said chapter 161A; (iii) other served communities as defined in said section 1 of said chapter 161A; or (iv) a municipality that has been added to the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority under section 6 of chapter 161A or in accordance with any special law relative to the area constituting the authority.

This definition yields 177 communities in Massachusetts:

