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10.01: Surety Bond

Inaccordance with M.G.L. c. 147, § 34, no event license shall be granted unless the promoter has
executed and filed with the commission a bond in a penal sum of $50,000, with such surety or sureties
as shall be satisfactory to the Commission, running to the Commission, conditioned upon the payment
to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts of the sums mentioned in M.G.L. ¢. 147, § 40, and upon
faithful compliance by the licensee with the provisions of M.G.L. c. 147, §§ 32 through 47, 523 CMR,
and with such other laws of the Commonwealth as may be applicable to anything done by the licensee
in pursuance of the license. The bond shall also provide for forfeiture to the Commonwealth,
recoverable at the suit of the attorney general, of such sum, not exceeding $10,000, as may be
stipulated in the bond for each case of non-compliance.

10.02: Event License: Submission and Approval of Program and Date; Content; Payment of Fee;
Cancellation of Program

(1) Except as otherwise provided in 523 CMR, a promoter shall not hold a program of unarmed
combat required to be licensed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 147, § 32 unless before the program is held:
(a) The promoter submits to the Commission an application for an event license on a form

provided by the Commission; and
(b) The Commission approves the application and the date for the program.

(2) A written request for an event license must include, without limitation:
(a) The proposed site for the event;
(b) The proposed date of the event;
(c) A copy of the certificate of inspection issued by the municipality for proposed site;
(d) A copy of the certificate of insurance. In accordance with M.G.L. c. 147, § 39B, the
promoter of an event shall take out a policy of accident insurance on each contestant participating
in the match or exhibition in the amount of $5,000 to compensate him for medical and hospital
expenses incurred as the result of injuries received in such match or exhibition and a policy in the
amount of $50,000 to be paid to the estate of the deceased contestant in the event of death to the
contestant resulting from participation in the match or exhibition. The premiums on the policies shall
be paid by the promoter. The terms of the insurance coverage must not require the contestant to
pay a deductible for the medical, surgical or hospital care for injuries he sustains while engaged in
a contest or exhibition.
(e) The name of the licensed matchmaker for the event;
(f) Indication as to whether the program will be televised or otherwise broadcast;
(g) The event license fee.

(3) Ifthe program is cancelled by the promoter, the application fee shall be forfeited. The fee may

be applied to a subsequent event ifit is scheduled to be held within 30 days of the originally scheduled
event.
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10.02: continued
(4) The promoter of a program of unarmed combat shall submit a completed application for licensure
of'an event in accordance with 523 CMR 10.02 at least 30 days prior to the scheduled date of the

event.

10.03: Multiple Requests for Event License on the Same Date

Ifthe Commission receives more than one request for an event license submitted pursuant to 523
CMR 10.02 for the same date, the Commission may issue a license for both events provided that all
applications are complete and the Commission deems it to be in the best interests of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts to license more than one event. In making this determination, the
Commission shall consider, amongst other things, the geographic locations of the proposed events and
the availability of Commission staff and officials. Inthe event that it is deemed contrary to the interests
ofthe Commonwealth of Massachusetts to license more than one event on one date, a license will be
issued to the first applicant that submits a complete application.

10.04: Arrangement of Contest or Exhibition; Use of Licensed Matchmaker by Promoter

A contest or exhibition may not be arranged on behalf of any promoter except by a licensed
matchmaker or the promoter themselves.

10.05: Minimum Number of Rounds for Program

Unless otherwise approved by the Commission, a promoter shall not schedule fewer than:
(1) 28 rounds of boxing, kickboxing or any other form of unarmed combat on any one fight card that
consists of contests or exhibitions of boxing, kickboxing, or other forms of unarmed combat except

mixed martial arts.

(2) 20rounds of mixed martial arts on any one program of unarmed combat that consists of contests
or exhibitions of mixed martial arts.

10.06: Maximum Number of Unarmed Combatants for Program

A promoter shall not schedule any one program of unarmed combat which utilizes more than 32
unarmed combatants unless a different limit is approved by the Commission.

10.07: Certain Persons Retained by Promoter must Have Licenses

A promoter shall not retain a person for any of the following positions unless they are licensed by
the Commission:

(1) Unarmed combatant; or
(2) Matchmaker.

10.08: Selection, Approval and Fees for Ring Officials

(1) The Commission, or its designee, will select and approve all ring officials.

(2) The promoter may select the announcer for a contest or exhibition.

(3) Pursuantto M.G.L.c. 147, § 36, the Commission will set the fees that ring officials are entitled
to receive unless otherwise mandated by law.



523 CMR: STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

10.09: Protest of Assignment of Referees or Judges

Ifany licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a particular referee or judge, the
protesting licensee will be given a hearing by the Commission if time permits. If time does not permit,
the matter will be heard by two Commissioners or a Commissioner and the Chief Deputy in order to
make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made in a timely manner may
be summarily rejected.

10.10: Certain Officials Deemed Independent Contractors; Payment of Fees by Promoters to Commission;
Payment of Officials by Commission

(1) Forpurposesof 523 CMR, ring officials shall be deemed to be independent contractors of the
Commission.

(2) A promoter shall pay to the Commission the total fees set by the Commission for all persons
whom the Commission directs to officiate in a contest or exhibition promoted by that promoter.

(3) The Commission will pay the money collected pursuant to 523 CMR 10.10 to the ring officials
at the conclusion of an event.

10.11: Submission of Fight Card; Change or Substitution

(1) Thepromoter of a program of unarmed combat shall submit a proposed fight card for a licensed
event at least ten days prior to the scheduled date of the event. The fight card, which shall be subject
to the approval of the Commission, or its designee shall be submitted on a form provided by the
Commission. The promoter or matchmaker shall notify the Commission of any proposed changes or
substitutions of unarmed combatants on the approved fight card. Changes and substitutions shall be
subject to approval by the Commission. All fighters on a proposed fight card shall either hold an
unarmed combatant's license issued by the Commission or submit an application for licensure as an
unarmed combatant in accordance with 523 CMR 6.00: Licensing and Registration no later than
seven days prior to the scheduled event, unless a shorter time frame is approved by the Commission
or its designee for just cause.

(2) Fights shall be put together by the matchmaker and shall be evenly matched. The fight card shall
be signed by the matchmaker attesting that the fights have been as evenly matched as possible to the
best of their skill and ability.

(3) Inaccordance with M.G.L. c. 147, § 39A, no unarmed combatant who has been knocked out,
technically or otherwise, or lost a contest by way of submission, six or more times in the preceding 12
months shall take part in a match or exhibition until they have been examined and deemed fit to
compete by a physician approved by the Commission.

10.12: Unarmed Combatant Not Used in Program

Ifapromoter enters into a bout agreement with an unarmed combatant for a contest or exhibition
inaprogram of unarmed combat, but the promoter, without reasonable cause as determined by the
Commission, does not use the unarmed combatant in that program, the unarmed combatant must be
compensated as provided for in the bout agreement

10.13: Limitations on Types of Beverage Containers, Plates Used at Programs

(1) Alldrinks ata program of unarmed combat must be dispensed in paper or plastic cups (or other
containers that cannot reasonably be used as dangerous projectiles per the discretion of the
Commission).
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10.13: continued

(2) Plates provided for patrons at a program of unarmed combat must be made from lightweight,
nonflammable and nontoxic materials.

REGULATORY AUTHORITY

523 CMR 10.00: M.G.L. c. 147, § 46.
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