Frequently Asked Questions FAQs Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code 527 CMR 1.00

Chapter 1: Administration

Q: What is 527 CMR 1.00, The Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code?

A: The Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code, 527 CMR 1.00, is the state-wide fire code for Massachusetts. The code, promulgated by the Massachusetts Board of Fire Prevention Regulations (BFPR), is comprised of the National Fire Protection Association 1 (NFPA 1) with Massachusetts amendments. Massachusetts amendments to each chapter of the code deletes, replaces, modifies or adds to the provisions of NFPA 1.

Q: Where can I purchase 527 CMR 1.00?

A: The official 527 CMR 1.00 can be purchased at the <u>State House Bookstore</u>. Through the bookstore, the Massachusetts amendments and NFPA 1 can be purchased separately.

Q: Can I view 527 CMR 1.00 online?

A: Yes. The <u>Massachusetts amendments</u> (unofficial version) can be viewed on the Department of Fire Services website with a link to NFPA for the <u>applicable_Edition of NFPA 1</u> which can be viewed online as well. Remember to select the applicable code edition from the drop down menu on NFPA's website to review NFPA 1.

Q: Who enforces 527 CMR 1.00?

A: The authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) enforces 527 CMR 1.00 as stated in 527 CMR 1.00:1.6. AHJ is defined in 527 CMR 1.00:3.2.2 as follows: "Authority Having Jurisdiction shall be the Head of the Fire Department or the State Fire Marshal and their designees, as defined in M.G.L. c.148."

Q: What if there is a conflict with the 780 CMR requirements and the 527 CMR 1.00 requirements?

A: See the provisions in 527 CMR 1.00:1.3.3 regarding conflicts between 527 CMR 1.00 and other codes or standards. Also see General Considerations 527 CMR 1.00:1.1 which requires the enforcement of the State Building Code and specialized codes provisions. State Building Code and specialized codes provisions are not enforceable by the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ), as defined in 527 CMR 1.00.

Q: Can I file for an appeal of a determination of the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) based upon a 527 CMR 1.00 provision?

A: In certain instances, an appeal may be filed. In accordance with 527 CMR 1.00:1.10.1.3, an appeal must be filed within 45 days following the notice of an order, requirement, directive (etc.) on an <u>Appeal Application</u>. The application must be submitted with the required fee (\$150.00) and must include copies of all records, references, reports, and other information related to the appeal. For more information and to determine if an appeal is available, please visit our <u>Appeals Board website</u> for more detailed guidance.

Q: Where are requirements for permits found in 527 CMR 1.00?

A: In general, permit requirements are found in each chapter of 527 CMR 1.00 by subject and will also refer to 527 CMR 1.00:1.12 for more specific permit requirements.

Chapter 10: General Safety Requirements

Q: Do I need a permit to place a tar kettle on a roof?

A: Yes. Permit requirements for placing a tar kettle on a roof are in 527 CMR 1.00:1.12.8.4 as referenced by 527 CMR 1.00:10.11.1.

Chapter 13: Fire Protection Systems

Q. Are permits required in 527 CMR 1.00 for the installation of fire suppression or detection systems?

A. In general, permits for the installation of systems (fire suppression or detection) are required by 780 CMR, the Massachusetts State Building Code, not 527 CMR 1.00. However, permits are required in 527 CMR 1.00:1.12 for special items such as (but not limited to) refueling, hazardous materials, and flammable combustible materials.

Please refer to the <u>joint advisory</u> dated February 6, 2015 from State Fire Marshal Stephen Coan, and Department of Public Safety Commissioner Thomas Gatzunis for additional information.

Q: Does 527 CMR 1.00 have a provision for the property owner to transmit a written report relative to the inspection, testing and maintenance activity (required by old 527 CMR 40.00) on a form prescribed by the Marshal?

A: No. There is no provision in 527 CMR 1.00 to require a property owner to transmit a test/maintenance report; however, there are provisions to maintain the system through regular testing and to keep records. 527 CMR 1.00 specifies the inspection and testing

requirements for fire protection systems in 527 CMR 1.00:13.3.3.4.3. 527 CMR 1.00:13.3.3.4.3. for fire protection systems in 527 CMR 1.00:13.3.3.4.3.1 requires detailed records documenting all systems and equipment is tested and maintained and be made available to the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) upon request.

Q: Where are smoke and carbon monoxide detection requirements for one- and two-family dwellings?

A: Smoke and carbon monoxide detection requirements are located in 527 CMR 1.00:13.7.

Q: Does the 10 year replacement of smoke alarms required by 527 CMR 1.00:13.7.2.1.5 only apply to household devices (110v or battery operated), not system detectors?

A: Yes. 527 CMR 1.00:13.10.7 applies **only** to single- and multiple-station smoke alarms installed in one- and two-family dwellings constructed prior to January 1, 1975 (without substantial renovation to constitute new). The provision requires these devices to be replaced 10 years of the date of manufacture (printed on the back of the smoke alarm) or earlier if required by the manufacturer's instructions. If the alarms are combination devices (smoke and carbon monoxide) 527 CMR 1.00:13.10.2 provisions requires replacement for carbon monoxide detection devices at its end of life signal or 10 years of the date of manufacture (printed on the back of the smoke alarm) or earlier if negative detection devices at its end of life signal or 10 years of the date of manufacture (printed on the back of the smoke alarm) or earlier if negative detection devices at its end of life signal or 10 years of the date of manufacture (printed on the back of the smoke alarm) or earlier if negative detections.

Chapter 30: Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages

Q: Are solid-fuel stoves (wood, pellet, coal) allowed in automobile repair garages? A: No. Solid-fuel stoves are not permitted in areas of repair garages used for repairing or servicing of vehicles in accordance with 527 CMR 1.00:30.2.10.2.

Chapter 50: Commercial Cooking Equipment

Q: Where are the requirements for cleaning of commercial cooking vents?

A: The requirements for cleaning cooking vents are found in 527 CMR 1.00:50.2 and 527 CMR 1.00:50.5. Also see 527 CMR 1.00:1.12 for permit requirements and 527 CMR 1.00:1.13 for certificate requirements.

Chapter 60: Hazardous Materials

Q: Were the requirements for hazardous materials process (old 527 CMR 33) included in 527 CMR 1.00?

A: Yes. The requirements for hazardous materials process or processing are found in Chapter 60 of 527 CMR 1.00. Specifically, the requirements from the old 527 CMR 33 are found in 527 CMR 1.00:60.8. Administrative provisions are located in 527 CMR 1.00:1.12 for permits and 527 CMR 1.00:1.13 for certificates and licenses.