

## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

(617) 626-1520 | www.mass.gov/marinefisheries



MAURA T. HEALEY Governor KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL Lt. Governor REBECCA L. TEPPER Secretary THOMAS K. O'SHEA Commissioner DANIEL J. MCKIERNAN Director

May 23, 2025

The Honorable Selectboards of the following Commonwealth of Massachusetts coastal municipalities: Gosnold, Tisbury, West Tisbury, Oak Bluffs and Edgartown

Ladies & Gentlemen,

In accordance with Chapter 130, section 74A of the Massachusetts General Laws, the Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that the shellfish areas listed below, in the Towns of Gosnold, Tisbury, West Tisbury, Oak Bluffs and Edgartown, closed at 8:00am on May 23, 2025, due to heavy rain, now meet the National Shellfish Sanitation Program guidelines for an "Open to Shellfishing" status.

Therefore, under authority of MGL, Chapter 130, Sections 74A and 322 CMR 7.01 (7) the below-defined areas will revert to their former status prior to the closure issued on May 23, 2025, or in the case of CONDITIONALLY APPROVED areas, acquire the status dictated by its Conditional Area Management Plan criteria, and local rules and regulations under authority of MGL Chapter 130, section 52, **effective at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, May 28, 2025**.

Areas classified as "PROHIBITED" shall remain closed to the harvest of shellfish for direct human consumption.

Under authority of 322 CMR 7.01(7) all permits issued thereunder are hereby conditioned to permit the taking, selling or possession of shellfish from the area listed below.

## STATUS: OPEN TO THE TAKING OF SHELLFISH Subject to conditional area management plan criteria where applicable

The waters, flats and all tributaries of the following Shellfish Growing Areas: E2, E3, E5-E14 and V5-V11 in the towns of Gosnold, Tisbury, West Tisbury, Oak Bluffs and Edgartown.

Individual shellfish growing area definition boundaries are mapped on the Division's website at Shellfish classification areas | Mass.gov.

Sincerely,

Daniel J. McKiernan, Director MA Division of Marine Fisheries

cc: C. Mason, C. Baker, MEP

R. Glenn, C. Petitpas, M. Camisa, W. Castonguay, DMF

J. Hobill, DEP

FDA, DPH

S. Garfield, Gosnold Shellfish Constable

D. Ewart, Tisbury Shellfish Constable

W. Diamond, West Tisbury Shellfish Constable

D. McElligatt, Oak Bluffs Shellfish Constable

R. Morrison, Edgartown Shellfish Constable