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10.01: Introduction

606 CMR 10.00 is adopted pursuant to Federal law at 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8),
which requires the Department of Early Education and Care (EEC), as the Lead Agency for
administering the Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) in Massachusetts, to promulgate rules
and regulations to administer the CCDF Plan, and in accordance with M.G.L. c. 15D, § 1, which
states the policy of state government to assure every child and family "a fair and full opportunity
to reach their full potential". 606 CMR 10.00 is established in keeping with EEC's mission of
providing the foundation that supports all children in their development as lifelong learners and
contributing members of the community, and supporting families in their essential work as
parents and caregivers.

606 CMR 10.00 sets forth the conditions for eligibility, for the provision and termination of
child care services, for payment, and for the review of decisions to terminate services provided
to children and families through child care financial assistance programs. The goals of 606
CMR 10.00 include:

(a) including families and children at the center of all phases of the efficient and equitable

distribution of child care financial assistance;

(b) creating an integrated system of child care that ensures the seamless delivery of quality,

accessible and affordable child care for children from birth through school age;

(c) standardizing eligibility requirements and intake procedures for families; and

(d) administering consistent procurement and payment policies and procedures.

10.02: Definitions

Terms listed in 606 CMR 10.00 shall have the following meanings, unless the context
requires otherwise.

Absence. Any day that a child is authorized to attend an early education and care program, but
is not in attendance.

Approved Break-in-car. A written request, approved by EEC or a Family Access Administrator,
to place a child care placement in inactive status for up to 90 consecutive days during the
12-month authorization period.

Assets. Items of value that may be converted into cash. Liquid assets include, but are not
limited to, cash on hand, bank deposits, securities, lump sum payments, IRAs, and certain Keogh
plans. The countable value of a liquid asset shall be its accessible cash value. Nonliquid assets
are those that are not readily convertible to cash. These include land, buildings, and any real
property. The countable value of a nonliquid asset shall be its equity value which is determined
by fair market value less any encumbrances.

Authorization/Reauthorization. An assessment/reassessment and provision of financial
assistance benefits to a family in accordance with regulations and policies defined by EEC.
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10.02: continued

Caregiver. A person who lives with, supervises, and cares for a child or children such as a foster
parent, legal guardian (temporary or permanent), or designated caretaker.

Child. A person younger than 13 years old, or younger than 16 years old if such person has a
disability.

Child Care Educator/Provider. A licensed or exempt center-based child care program, or a
licensed, family-based child care program located within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Child Care Resource and Referral Agency (CCRR). An agency that contracts with EEC to
provide child care resource information, referral services, and/or financial assistance
management.

Child Care Financial Assistance. Financial assistance given to eligible parents for child care
provided by a child care educator/provider pursuant to a contract or agreement with EEC,
CCRR, or a contracted child care educator/provider.

Contracted Child Care Educator/Provider. A licensed, or license exempt, child care program or
family child care system that holds a contract with EEC for the provision of child care services
supported by EEC financial assistance.

Days. Calendar days, unless otherwise specified.
DCEF. Massachusetts Department of Children and Families.

Dependent Child. A person younger than 18 years old, or a person younger than 24 years old
if they are a full-time student.

Dependent Relative. A relative of the child receiving care who resides in the household with
the child and is financially dependent on the child's parent(s), as certified in accordance with
EEC policy.

DHCD. Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development.

Disability. One or both of the following:
(a) a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life
activities (including but not limited to caring for one's self, performing manual tasks,
walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working as defined in M.G.L.
c. 151B, § 1(20)) of a person, and/or
(b) arecord of having such impairment. This definition is intended to be inclusive of the
term 'handicap' as defined in M.G.L. c. 151B, § 1(17)(a) - (b). Disability is not intended to
exclude participation in a substance abuse treatment or rehabilitation program as a possible
qualification for purposes of eligibility, nor other documented physical or mental
impairments which may otherwise qualify an individual for financial assistance at the
discretion of EEC.

Domestic Violence. Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship that
is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner.
Domestic violence can be physical, sexual, emotional, economic, psychological, or technological
actions or threats of actions or other patterns of coercive behavior that influence another person
within an intimate partner relationship. This includes any behaviors that intimidate, manipulate,
humiliate, isolate, frighten, terrorize, coerce, threaten, blame, hurt, injure, or wound someone.

DTA. Massachusetts Department of Transitional Assistance.

EEC. Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care, the state education agency for
the purposes of early education and care services as created and authorized pursuant to
M.G.L. c. 15D.
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Eligible Family. A family that qualifies for a child care financial assistance based on criteria
determined by EEC in regulation and policy.

ESOL. An English language training program for people whose primary language is not
English.

Excessive Explained Absence. More than 45 non-attended days, including any unexplained
absences, within a 12-month authorization period, or more than 15 non-attended days during an
initial 12-week provisional authorization period. Explained absences shall include, but not be
limited to: absences due to child illness, death in the family, emergency circumstances, religious
holidays, and vacation days.

Excessive Unexplained Absence. A non-approved break in care that shall subject a family to
possible termination of financial assistance in accordance with 606 CMR 10.10 and EEC policy.

Family. One of the following:
(a) Parent(s) or caregivers and their dependent child(ren) and any dependent relative(s) who
reside in the same household; or
(b) A young parent and their child(ren) who reside in the same household.

Family Access Administrator. A person or organization authorized or designated by EEC to
conduct eligibility determinations for child care financial assistance, subject to EEC oversight
and review.

Full Time Child Care. Care for at least 25 hours but not more than 50 hours per week at any one
placement, unless otherwise approved by EEC.

Full Time Service Need. Participation in an approved activity for an average of 25 hours or
more per week.

Guardian Child. A child on whose behalf a caregiver has legal authority to make decisions and
provide care.

Homeless Family. A family meeting the requirements established under the McKinney-Vento
Act (42 U.S.C. 11434 a) as certified in accordance with EEC policy.

Informal Child Care Provider. An individual who meets informal child care provider standards
and requirements established by EEC and is exempt from EEC licensure because the individual
either provides care in the child's own home or is a relative of the child.

Intentional Program Violation (IPV). A parent's intentional non-adherence to EEC's financial
assistance requirements, including: not reporting a non-temporary change to the family's income
exceeding 85% SMI; an out of state change of address; a change in contact information;
inaccurately reporting income at eligibility authorization/reauthorization; and non-payment of
fees.

Non-approved Break in Care. A child care placement that has been inactive (not used) for more
than 30 consecutive days during a 12-month authorization, or more than 20 days during a
12-week provisional authorization, unless the family has requested and received an approved
break in care. A non-approved break in care shall subject a family to possible termination of
financial assistance in accordance with 606 CMR 10.10.

Non-temporary Change. A change to a parent's circumstances, including: increases in total
household income exceeding 85% SMI; changes in family contact information; changes in
household composition for more than 30 total days in a 12-month authorization; changes in child
custody arrangements; any out of state change in address; or any change or cessation of a
parent's work, training, or education participation that lasts for more than 12 weeks.

Parent. A biological or adoptive parent or stepparent who resides in the household with their
dependent child(ren), or a caregiver.
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Part Time Child Care. Care up to 25 hours per week.

Part Time Service Need. Participation in an approved activity for an average of 20 hours, but
less than 25 hours per week.

Protective Services. Any parent authorized for child care financial assistance based on DTA
referral or a clinical decision by DCF, including foster care; any parent who is unable to provide
child care for any portion of a 24-hour day due to a situation of domestic violence or
homelessness; a physical, mental, emotional, or medical condition; or participation in a
substance abuse treatment or rehabilitation program.

Provisional Authorization. An authorization for 12 weeks to support parents who are seeking
an approved activity, certifying an activity or employment, enrolled in a non-approved training
program, including parents who lose their approved activity during the last 30 days prior to
reauthorization.

Referral. A notice issued by DTA, DFC, or DHCD that a family is eligible for child care
funding.

Relative. Sibling, aunt, uncle, or grandparent, whether by birth, marriage, or adoption.

State Median Income (SMI). The dollar amount which represents the midpoint in a rank
ordering of the incomes of all families of the same size in Massachusetts.

Substantiated Fraud. Intentionally providing false or misleading information or documentation
to EEC or Family Access Administrator for the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility
or increasing the level of child care assistance that has been verified as false or misleading by
EEC or Family Access Administrator; or the intentional concealing or withholding of
information for the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility or increasing the level of
child care assistance as determined by the Bureau of Special Investigations (BSI).

TAFDC. Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children.

Temporary Change. A change to a parent's circumstances including: any time-limited absence
from a parent's approved activity due to an illness or need to care for a family member; any
interruption in work for a seasonal worker who is not working between regular industry work
seasons; any reduction in work, training or education hours, as long as the parent is still working
or attending training or education; any other cessation of a parent's approved activity that does
not exceed 12 weeks; and any change in residency within the Commonwealth.

Vocational Training Program. An approved program other than graduate school, which is
intended to teach a specific skill leading to employment.

Voucher Child Care Educator/Provider. A program or individual who provides child care
services pursuant to an EEC voucher services agreement.

Young Parent. A biological parent who is younger than 24 years old, and who resides in the
household with their dependent child(ren). This shall include young parents who attain the age
of 24 years old during their third trimester of pregnancy.

10.03: General Provisions

9/29/23

The following general provisions apply to all child care financial assistance administered by
EEC, unless otherwise stated.
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(1) Eligibility.

(a) Family Composition and Size. Prior to issuing a child care financial assistance
authorization, Family Access Administrators shall verify, through documentary evidence in
accordance with EEC policy, the family size and household composition of the applicant by
verifying the relationship of each child younger than 18 years old, or younger than 24 years
old if the child is a full-time student, who resides in the household and is financially
dependent on the parent(s) applying for child care financial assistance. Documents that
reasonably establish the family composition and size shall be acceptable. Parents of young
parents may include the young parent and their child(ren) in the applicant's family size
provided that the young parent is not receiving EEC financial assistance for their child(ren).
(b) Identity. Prior to the initial authorization, the Family Access Administrator shall verify,
through documentary evidence in accordance with EEC policy, the identity of each parent(s)
applying for child care financial assistance. Required documentary evidence shall contain
a photo of the applicant. If a parent cannot provide documentary evidence with a photo of
the applicant, a parent may submit a combination of two secondary documents without
photos to verify the identity of the applicant, in accordance with EEC policy. Secondary
documents that reasonably establish identity shall be acceptable.

(c) Residency. The Family Access Administrator must verify, through documentation in
accordance with EEC policy, that families seeking child care assistance reside in a
Massachusetts household because financial assistance administered by EEC is available only
to residents of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Documents that reasonably establish
residency in Massachusetts shall be acceptable.

(d) Citizenship or Immigration Status. In accordance with federal law, the Family Access
Administrator shall verify, through documentary evidence in accordance with EEC policy,
the United States citizenship status or immigration status of each child for whom care is
requested. Any documents that reasonably establish the citizenship or immigration status
of the child must be accepted, and no requirement for a specific type of documentation may
be imposed. No child shall be denied child care financial assistance based solely on an
applicant's failure to demonstrate citizenship or immigration status without final review by
EEC.

(e) Eligibility Periods. Families shall be eligible for authorizations of a minimum of 12
months, and renewal is subject to the family's continued eligibility for child care financial
assistance. Family Access Administrators shall notify families no fewer than two times that
their eligibility period is ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing and
shall be provided no fewer than 60 days prior to the end of their eligibility period.

(f) Contact Information. To ensure continued eligibility for child care financial assistance,
parents must maintain current contact information, if any, with the Family Access
Administrator and as directed in accordance with EEC policy. A family experiencing
homelessness who does not have an address or telephone number must maintain as much
current contact information as possible with the Family Access Administrator.

(g) Reauthorization. Prior to the end of the current authorization period, families must
provide current documentation of continued income eligibility and service need to their
Family Access Administrator, and shall provide documentation verifying their residency
only if it has changed since their last reauthorization. Such documentation must be provided
within a reasonable time prior to the authorization end date so that the authorization can be
completed before the end of the current authorization. Parents who lose their approved
activity during the last 30 days prior to reauthorization may be granted a 12-week
provisional authorization to seek and certify an approved activity in accordance with 606
CMR 10.04(2)(b)2.

Parents who lose their approved activity during the last 30 days prior to reauthorization
may be granted a 12-week provisional authorization to seek and certify an approved activity
in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b)2.

(h) Current Eligibility Information. Parents receiving child care financial assistance must
notify their Family Access Administrator when there is a change in circumstances as
follows:

1. Reporting Changes.

a. During the Authorization Period. A parent must notify their Family Access
Administrator within 30 days of such a change.

1. The family's income exceeding 85% SMI;

il. An out of state change of address;

iii. A change in contact information; or
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iv. Loss of employment or cessation of attendance at a job training or
educational program that lasts for more than 12 weeks. The parent shall be
entitled to a 12-week period from the time the parent reports such a loss of
employment or cessation of attendance at job training or an educational program
to certify a new approved activity. If documentation of a new approved activity
is not provided prior to the end of the 12-week period, child care financial
assistance may be terminated.

Failure to notify the Family Access Administrator of these changes within 30
days of each such change may result in an IPV, and may be subject to
disqualification pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12.

b. At Reauthorization. A parent shall report all other changes at reauthorization.
Failure to report these changes at reauthorization will not result in an IPV or
disqualification. A parent may voluntarily choose to report a change prior to
reauthorization if it will benefit the family to do so.
(1) Child Attendance. In order to remain eligible for a child care financial assistance, all
children receiving EEC financial assistance shall attend the early education and care
program, in accordance with the terms of the child care authorization. A non-approved break
in care may result in the termination of child care financial assistance in accordance with
606 CMR 10.10.
(j) Data Sharing. For purposes of program integrity and in an effort to establish front end
detection necessary to combat fraud, waste, and abuse, EEC may use data collected from
child care financial assistance applicants to conduct data matches with other governmental
entities. If data matches demonstrate inconsistencies with the statements or documents
submitted by the child care applicant(s), the Family Access Administrator or EEC may
request additional documentation. Failure to resolve the inconsistencies may result in the
termination of an applicant's child care financial assistance, in accordance with 606 CMR
10.10.

(2) Fees. Parents receiving child care financial assistance may be required to contribute to the
cost of the child care services they receive, in accordance with a sliding fee scale established by
EEC.

(a) Parent Fee Scale. In accordance with M.G.L. c. 15D § 2(e) and pursuant to 45 CFR
98.45, EEC shall establish a schedule for revising its parent fee scale within six months of
its most recent market rate survey or a federally-approved and adopted alternative
methodology.
(b) How Fees Are Assessed for Siblings. Fees for siblings will be assessed in accordance
with EEC policy.
(c) Additional Fees. No additional fees may be charged to parents, except in accordance
with EEC policy.
(d) Reauthorizations. Fee obligations will be reviewed every 12 months or sooner in
accordance with the parent's mandatory reporting requirements pursuant to 606 CMR
10.03(1)(h), or voluntary reporting by a parent.
(e) Payment and Collection.
1. Parent fees must be paid on a payment schedule in accordance with EEC policy.
2. Educators/Providers are responsible for collecting parent fees in a timely fashion and
must take appropriate action if parents fail to pay fees as required. Educators/providers
who allow parents to accrue balances in excess of the value of three weeks of parent fees
may be responsible for the balance.

(3) Priority in Funding.

(a) Children will be authorized for child care financial assistance in accordance with
priorities and policies established by EEC, and subject to available funding.

(b) Parents whose eligibility for a specific EEC financial assistance program is ending have
priority for access to other EEC financial assistance over parents who have not previously
received EEC child care financial assistance. In order to maintain priority access and
facilitate transition to another financial assistance program, a parent must provide
documentation in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1).
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(4) Location of Care. Child care financial assistance may only be used for care provided within
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, unless exempted in accordance with EEC policy.

(5) Non-discrimination. EEC and its agents shall not discriminate against any child care
financial assistance applicant or recipient on the basis of age, sex, gender identity, race,
ethnicity, religion, color, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, military status or status
as a veteran, or pregnancy or a condition related to pregnancy. All activities conducted by EEC
and its agents must be carried out in accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
(42 U.S.C. § 2000d, et seq.), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29
U.S.C. § 794), the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, the Age Discrimination
Act of 1975, as amended (42 U.S.C. § 6101, et seq.), and the Massachusetts Constitution.

(6) Confidentiality. EEC and its agents shall maintain and handle a child care financial
assistance applicant or recipient's personal information in a manner that complies with all state
and federal laws concerning the confidentiality of information, including M.G.L. c. 66A;
M.G.L. c. 93H; 801 CMR 3.00: Privacy and Confidentiality; and 201 CMR 17.00: Standards
for the Protection of Personal Information of Residents of the Commonwealth. Notwithstanding
the prior sentence, EEC reserves the right to disclose an applicant or recipient's personal
information to an appropriate agency without the prior consent of the subject of the personal
information if EEC determines that such disclosure is necessary to prevent a serious threat to the
health or safety of an individual.

Income Eligible Child Care Financial Assistance

9/29/23

Subject to appropriation, income eligible child care financial assistance is available to
eligible parents for care by a contracted or voucher child care educator/provider, or an in home
or relative child care provider, in accordance with regulations, guidelines, and policies
established by EEC.

(1) Referral and Waitlist.
(a) Family Access Administrator. Based on availability and in accordance with EEC
enrollment priorities and policies, the Family Access Administrator must:
1. issue a child care financial assistance (contract slot or voucher) to the eligible parent,
subject to an eligibility determination; or
2. place the child on the waitlist for child care financial assistance.
(b) Parent Choice. Parents may not be required to enroll their children at a particular child
care program. Upon 14 days notice, parents may choose to withdraw their children from one
child care program and enroll in another available program for the duration of the child care
financial assistance, subject to funding availability and in accordance with EEC policy.
(¢) Enrollment Prior to Service Need. Eligible children may be enrolled in care 14 days
prior to the start of the parent's service need.

(2) Eligibility Criteria. To be eligible for income eligible child care financial assistance,
parents must meet both income eligibility and service need requirements established by EEC.

(a) Financial Requirements. Income eligibility is based on the income and the size of the

family. Families headed by caregivers are exempt from financial eligibility guidelines,

except as provided in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4.
1. General Rule. Families seeking child care financial assistance meet the financial
requirements for the income eligible child care program provided that the total gross
monthly income for the household is at or below 50% of the State Median Income at the
time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross monthly income is at or
below 50% of the State Median Income at the initial authorization, will continue to meet
the financial requirements provided that the total gross monthly income for the
household remains at or below 85% of the State Median Income.
2. Families with a Child with a Disability. Families with a child with a disability will
meet the financial requirements for the income eligible child care program provided that
the total gross monthly income for the household is at or below 85% of the State Median
Income at the time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross monthly
income is at or below 85% of the State Median Income at the initial authorization, will
continue to meet the financial requirements provided that the total gross monthly income
for the household remains at or below 85% of the State Median Income. The disability
of the child must be verified and documented in accordance with EEC policy.
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3. Relevant Income. When determining financial eligibility, relevant income shall
include the income of the parents living with the child and income of the child receiving
financial assistance (except for any earnings of a minor). Child support shall not be
considered relevant income for determining financial eligibility.
4. Assets. Families seeking child care financial assistance shall not have assets that
exceed $1,000,000. Documentation of assets shall be certified in accordance with EEC
Policy.
(b) Service Need Requirements. Both parents residing in the household must document
either a part time or full time service need.
1. Approved Activities. Activities acceptable for establishing a service need are:
employment; participating in an approved education or training program; or receiving
or at risk of receiving protective services. Each activity is outlined as follows:
a. Employment. The following activities meet the service need requirement of
employment: paid employment; self-employment, including paid in cash; active
deployment in the military; and retirement, if the head of household is a parent and
65 years of age or older.
i. Paid Employment. Eligible paid employment is considered a position that
pays no less than the minimum wage in the state wherein the employment takes
place for no less than an average of 20 hours per week.
ii. Self-employment, Including Paid in Cash. All self-employed parents must
participate in self-employment activities for no less than an average of 20 hours
per week as certified in accordance with EEC policy.
b. Maternity/Paternity Leave. Parents on maternity/paternity leave at
authorization/reauthorization shall be eligible for a 12-month authorization. For
parents currently receiving child care financial assistance, maternity/paternity leave
shall be considered a temporary change, in accordance with 606 CMR
10.03(1)(h)1.b. Parents must provide documentation as required under EEC policy.
c. Education or Training. Parents will qualify for a service need of education or
training if they are enrolled in and attending any of the following: a full time high
school program; an approved high school equivalency program; an approved
vocational training program; an approved ESOL program; or an accredited college
or university, leading to an associate's or a bachelor's degree. Parents attending an
advanced professional training or graduate program will qualify for a service need
of education or training at reauthorization only, in order to continue a previously
authorized education or training service need as listed in the first sentence of this
subsection. Approved vocational training programs, high school equivalency
programs, or ESOL programs will be certified in accordance with EEC policy.
i. The service need of education or training shall continue through a semester
break for parents registered for the following semester.
ii. The service need for parents participating in a full time high school program
will be considered full time, regardless of the program's schedule.
iii. The service need for parents participating in college or graduate school
coursework with 12 credit hours or more will be considered full time. For
parents participating in less than 12 credit hours, the actual credit hours shall be
multiplied by 2.5 to establish a child care need. For accelerated semester
schools, parents who present with a classroom schedule reflecting 12 hours or
more per week of classroom time will be determined to have a Full-time Service
Need. Those with a class schedule of at least eight hours, but less than 12 hours
per week of classroom time will be determined to have a Part-time Service Need.
iv. The service need for parents participating in education or training programs
other than college, or high school, (including high school equivalency programs),
or graduate school is 2.5 hours of service for each hour spent in the education or
training program per week.
v. Work study hours and required practical and clinical experiences (including
student teaching or internships) are counted as hours of employment, for the
purpose of determining service need.
d. Disability of Parent. Families with a documented physical or mental disability
of a parent, that is certified in accordance with EEC policy, may be eligible for either
full time or part-time care, subject to the following:
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i. All authorizations must be approved in writing by EEC in accordance with
EEC policy.
ii. Authorizations shall be authorized for up to three years. At the end of the
authorization period, a parent may apply to EEC for a reauthorization upon
certification in accordance with EEC policy that the disability persists or is a
permanent condition,
iii.  All authorizations are reviewed under EEC's variance policy and may be
appealed in the form of an Informal Hearing in accordance with the provisions
of 606 CMR 10.11(7).
e. Homelessness. Families meeting EEC's definition for a family experiencing
homelessness will qualify for full time child care.
i. The asset requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4. shall be waived
for all families meeting the homelessness service need.
ii. Parent fees shall be waived for all families meeting the homelessness service
need.
f. Domestic Violence. Families with a parent experiencing a situation of domestic
violence, certified in accordance with EEC policy, will qualify for full-time care.
2. Seeking Approved Activity. Parents who do not have an approved activity at time
of initial authorization or at reauthorization may be granted a provisional authorization
of 12 weeks to seek and certify an approved activity. This may include parents enrolled
in a non-approved training program, or parents unable to certify employment at time of
initial eligibility authorization.
a. Parents who are able to provide documentation of an approved activity and meet
all other program requirements described in 606 CMR 10.04(2) before the end of the
12-week period will be issued a 12-month authorization.
b. Parents who are able to provide preliminary proof of an approved activity but are
unable to provide documentation in accordance with EEC policy at the end of the
12-week period may be granted an extended period of eight weeks to provide the
documentation required to qualify for a 12-month authorization.
3. Combining Service Need Activities. Work, education or training, and disability of
parent may be combined to meet service need requirements.
4. Travel Time. Travel time may be added to a parent's weekly service need, in
accordance with EEC policy, provided that the travel is related to the necessary time
to/from the child care program and the parent's service need activity. Before travel time
may be added to a service need, the parent must establish an average of at least 20 hours
in an EEC approved activity, pursuant to 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b)1.
5. Amount of Care. Parents who document a full time service need will be eligible for
full time child care. Parents who document a part time service need will be eligible for
part time child care.
a. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a part time service need at
authorization and provide preliminary documentation of a full time service need may
be granted a provisional authorization for full time child care for the duration of the
12-week period.
b. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a full time service need in
accordance with EEC policy at the end of the 12-week period will be granted a
12-month authorization for full time child care.
c. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a part time service need in
accordance with EEC policy at the end of the 12-week period will be granted a
12-month authorization for part time child care.

Eligibility Determination. A Family Access Administrator will make eligibility

determinations based on the parent(s)' application and documentation and based upon relevant
regulations and policies.
(a) Application. A parent may apply for income eligible child care financial assistance with
a Family Access Administrator. Atthe time of application, each subsequent reauthorization,
a parent applying must execute a child care application and fee agreement.
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(b) Documentation. No more than 30 days after an application is received by a Family
Access Administrator, parents must submit documentation that verifies the identity,
residency, citizenship, or immigration status of any child seeking child care financial
assistance; and documentation that verifies income, service need, family size, and
relationship to all children and dependent relatives in the family, in accordance with EEC
policy. Ateach subsequent reauthorization, parents must submit documentation that verifies
their income and service need in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(g), and shall provide
documentation verifying their residency only if it has changed since their last
reauthorization.

(c) Notice to Applicants. Upon receiving an application, a Family Access Administrator
shall notify the applicant of the 30 day deadline for documentation submission. An
application shall be deemed to have been received on the first date on which a Family Access
Administrator reviews the application.

10.05: Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA)-related Child Care Program

9/29/23

Subject to appropriation, DTA may issue referrals for TAFDC and/or certain SNAP
recipients, certain former TAFDC recipients, or any other DTA client seeking child care
supported by financial assistance, to the extent allowed by state and federal law, through the
DTA-related child care program, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(1) through (7). DTA referrals
for child care supported by financial assistance shall be issued in accordance with the
regulations, guidelines, and policies established by DTA and in accordance with 606 CMR
10.03, unless otherwise noted.

(1) Authorization. For any eligible parent seeking child care through the DTA-related child
care program, DTA may issue a child care referral to the eligible parent based on the family's
participation in the TAFDC, SNAP Pathways to Work, or DTA-related programs.
(a) TAFDC and/or SNAP Families. Parents who currently receive TAFDC and/or SNAP
and participate in a DTA-approved educational or employment-related activity may be
issued a child care referral for priority access to child care supported by financial assistance
for no less than 12 months, unless referral is for job development or placement, whereby a
12-week job search referral may be issued.
(b) Transitional Families. Parents who have received TAFDC within the 24 months prior
to their application for child care financial assistance and who obtain a child care referral
from DTA will have priority access to child care financial assistance, provided they meet
EEC eligibility guidelines as established in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04.

(2) Referral. DTA shall issue parents a child care referral to the appropriate EEC Family
Access Administrator. The family access administrator shall help the parents identify a child
care educator/provider who can provide care supported by financial assistance as defined in
606 CMR 10.08.

(3) Eligibility Criteria. Eligibility for child care financial assistance through the DTA related
child care program shall be determined by DTA and verified by the Family Access
Administrator based on the parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR
10.05(3)(a) and (b).
(a) TAFDC Families. The child care referral is sufficient documentation that the parent is
eligible for child care financial assistance for each child included in the referral. Family
Access Administrators shall verify the identity of the parent(s) listed on the child care
referral issued by DTA, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(b).
1. Fee Assessment. TAFDC families with child care referrals who currently receive
TAFDC benefits from DTA shall not be charged any parent fees. TAFDC families with
child care referrals who currently receive TAFDC benefits from DTA shall be exempt
from payment of explained absences exceeding 45 days in accordance with 606 CMR
10.03(10)(1) through the end of the eligibility period.
2. Asset Limits. The asset requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4. shall be
waived for all families referred for child care financial assistance through the
DTA-related child care program.
(b) Transitional Families. The child care referral is evidence of family relationship for all
children included in the referral. Family Access Administrators shall verify the identity of
the parent(s) listed on the child care referral issued by DTA, in accordance with 606 CMR
10.03(1)(b).
(c) Fee Assessment. Transitional child care authorizations shall not be assessed a parent
fee during the initial 12-month transitional period in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(2).
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(4) Eligibility Period. Family Access Administrators should approve child care based on the
parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a) through (d).
(a) TAFDC Families. Family Access Administrators shall approve the child care financial
assistance authorization based on the DTA referral, for no less than 12 months unless the
referral is for job development or placement, whereby a 12-week job search referral may be
authorized.
(b) Transitional Families. Family Access Administrators shall approve the child care
financial assistance authorization in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b), not to exceed
12 months from the date the family's TAFDC case closed.
(c) Notification. The Family Access Administrator shall notify families no fewer than two
times, including at least once in writing, that their eligibility period is ending no fewer than
60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period.

(5) Enrollment. Parents will enroll children directly at the child care educator/provider child
care site in accordance with the procedures of the child care educator/provider.

(6) Denial or Termination of Authorization. Parents aggrieved by DTA's denial or termination
of a child care referral may pursue their grievance through the DTA Fair Hearing Process.

(7) Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the end of the family's
DTA-related child care program authorization or termination of transitional TAFDC care may
continue to receive child care financial assistance through the income eligible child care program
provided that the family meets the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04.

10.06: Department of Children and Families (DCF)-related Child Care Program

9/29/23

Subject to appropriation, DCF may issue referrals for children with active cases at DCF or
during a transitional period following their case closure through the DCF-related child care
program, as described in 606 CMR 10.06(1) through (9). DCF referrals for child care financial
assistance shall be issued in accordance with the regulations, guidelines, and policies established
by DCF and in accordance with the general provisions for child care financial assistance
described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted.

(1) Authorization. For any child with active cases at DCF, DCF may issue a referral for child
care services to the parent.

(2) Referral and Waitlist. DCF or its designee will determine the appropriateness of and
authorize all referrals for DCF-related child care, and may either:
(a) refer the parent to a Family Access Administrator authorized by EEC to provide
DCF-related child care appropriate to the age and needs of the child; or
(b) enter the child on a waitlist for child care, if there are no appropriate openings available.

(3) Eligibility Criteria. DCF or its designee shall determine eligibility of its clients for
DCF-related child care, in accordance with DCF regulations and policy. The child care referral
is sufficient documentation that the children listed on the referral are eligible for DCF-related
child care. Family Access Administrators shall verify the identity of the parents listed on the
child care referral issued by DCF in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(b). The asset
requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4. shall be waived for all families referred for
child care financial assistance through the DCF-related child care program.

(4) Eligibility Period. The DCF-related child care financial assistance will be authorized by
the Family Access Administrator for not less than 12 months, and may be renewed by DCF for
an additional 12-month period as needed. Unless approved by the DCF social worker and DCF
supervisor, referrals for DCF-related child care may not be renewed more than once. Family
Access Administrators shall notify families no fewer than two times that their eligibility period
is ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing and shall be provided no fewer
than 60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period.
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(a) Transitional Families. DCF may authorize transitional DCF-related child care to
continue beyond the closure of the DCF case for no less than 12 months. Parents who seek
eligibility following the parent's initial 12-month transitional period may receive priority
access to child care financial assistance for one additional, transitional 12-month period, not
to exceed 24 months from the date the family's DCF case closed. A parent fee shall not be
assessed at the initial 12-month transitional period in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(2).
(b) Fee Assessment. DCF families with child care referrals who currently have an open
case with DCF shall not be charged any parent fees. Transitional child care authorizations
shall not be assessed a parent fee during the initial 12-month transitional period in
accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(2).

(5) Information Sharing. Subject to the authorization of the parents, DCF or its designee will
share information with the child care educator/provider regarding the child's behavior and the
family's psychosocial history to assist the child care educator/provider in meeting the needs of
the child and family.

(6) Enrollment. The parents shall complete the enrollment process in accordance with the child
care educator/provider's policies and procedures.

(7) Denial or Termination of DCF-related Child Care. DCF-related child care will continue
until the end of the authorization period under 606 CMR 10.06(4). DCF-related child care will
not be renewed at the reauthorization period once the protective case has closed, or when DCF
has determined that services are no longer appropriate, whichever first occurs. Parents wishing
to appeal the termination or denial of DCF-related child care may do so through the DCF Fair
Hearing Process, in accordance with DCF policy and 110 CMR 10.00: Fair Hearings and
Grievances.

(8)  Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the end of the
DCF-related child care services may continue to receive child care financial assistance through
the income eligible child care program provided that the family meets the requirements set forth
in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04.

10.07:  Young Parent Child Care Services Program

9/29/23

Subject to appropriation, young parents may be eligible to receive child care financial
assistance through the young parent child care services program, as described in 606 CMR
10.07(1) through (6), and provided they meet the requirements of the general provisions for child
care financial assistance described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted:

(1) Application and Referral. Young parents may apply for child care financial assistance at
a CCRR, a program contracted to provide young parent child care services, a local DTA office,
or any other location authorized by EEC. At the time of application, the young parent must
complete a child care application and fee agreement on forms provided or approved by EEC.

At the initial authorization, the young parent must submit documentation that verifies their
identity, income, service need, residence, and family relationships, in accordance with EEC
regulation and policy. Atreauthorization, the young parent must only submit documentation that
verifies their income and service need, and shall provide documentation verifying their residency
only if it has changed since their last reauthorization. If a young parent has a current child care
referral from DTA under 606 CMR 10.05(1)(a), the referral is sufficient documentation of their
income, service need, residence, and family relationships.

(2) Referral and Waitlist. Based on availability, parents will be referred to and/or enrolled,
subject to an eligibility determination, in the young parent child care services program. Parents
unable to enroll in the young parent child care services program, due to a lack of available
funding, will be placed on a child care financial assistance waitlist.

(3) Eligibility Criteria. Young parents seeking access to child care financial assistance through
the young parent child care services program must comply with the financial and service need
requirements of 606 CMR 10.04, unless excepted in 606 CMR 10.07(3)(a) and (b).
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(a) Service Need Requirements. Unless authorized by DTA or DCF, young parents must
participate in a full-time high school program, or a high school equivalency (GED) program,
or must have received a GED or high school diploma and be participating in an approved
higher education, training, and/or work activity as specified at 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b).

(b) Age Requirements. Young parents are eligible to participate in the young parent child
care services program until they reach their 24™ birthday. Enrolled young parents who turn
24 years of age during their 12-month authorization may continue through the end date of
their authorization.

(4) Eligibility Periods. Eligibility is determined for periods not less than 12 months, subject
to the family's continued eligibility for child care financial assistance. Family Access
Administrators shall notify young parents no fewer than two times that their eligibility period
is ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing and shall be provided no fewer
than 60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period.

(5) Denial or Termination of Services. All denials or terminations related to the young parent
child care services program shall comply with 606 CMR 10.10 and 10.11.

(6) Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the closure of the family's
young parent child care services may continue to receive child care financial assistance through
the income eligible child care program provided that the family meets the requirements set forth
in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04 and any unpaid fee balance or disqualification period under
606 CMR 10.12(1) through (5) is resolved.

10.08: Child Care Educators/Providers and Informal Child Care Providers

9/29/23

(1) Care by Licensed Educators/Providers. Except as set forth in 606 CMR 10.08(2), child care
supported by financial assistance may be provided by an EEC licensed family child care
educator/provider, a licensed group or school age child care program or through a family child
care system, if the educator/provider, program or system holds a contract or agreement with EEC
to provide child care supported by financial assistance services.

(2) Care Exempt from Licensure.
(a) Child care supported by financial assistance may be provided by a group or school age
child care program that has been determined by EEC to be exempt from licensure, and with
whom EEC holds a contract or an agreement to provide child care services supported by
financial assistance or with whom a CCRR holds a voucher agreement. Prior to providing
and being reimbursed for child care supported by financial assistance, license exempt
providers providing care must:
1. complete EEC's background record check certifying the child care provider exempt
from licensure, as determined by EEC, has a background free of conduct which, in the
judgment of EEC and in accordance with EEC's Background Record Check Regulations
at 606 CMR 14.00: Criminal Offender and Other Background Record Checks, bears
adversely upon their ability to provide for the safety and well-being of a child.
2. complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings;
3. agree to and complete annual trainings;
4. satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements;
5.
6.

agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and
sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance.
(b) Informal Child Care.

1. Relative of the Child. Child care supported by financial assistance may be provided
in a private residence by an informal child care provider who is a relative of the child,
provided that the informal child care provider is 18 years of age or older and is not the
child's parent or caregiver. Relative informal child care providers who provide child care
supported by financial assistance services must submit to the CCRR documentation of
their relationship to the child receiving care, which may include birth certificates,
baptismal certificates, and marriage certificates. The informal child care provider must
not be amember of the parent's TAFDC assistance unit, unless the parent is younger than
18 years old. Prior to providing and being reimbursed for child care supported by
financial assistance, relative informal child care providers must:
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a. complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings;
b. satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements; and
c. sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance.
2. Non-relative of the Child. Child care supported by financial assistance may be
provided in the home of the child by an informal child care provider unrelated to the
child on the condition that the informal child care provider is at least 18 years of age or
older. Prior to providing and being reimbursed for child care supported by financial
assistance, informal child care providers providing care in the child's own home must:
a. complete EEC's background record check certifying the informal child care
provider has a background free of conduct which, in the judgment of EEC and in
accordance with EEC's Background Record Check Regulations at 606 CMR 14.00:
Criminal Offender and Other Background Record Checks, bears adversely upon their
ability to provide for the safety and well-being of a child;
complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings;
agree to and complete annual trainings;
satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements;
agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and
sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance.
3. Relative informal child care providers and non-relative informal child care providers
providing care in the child's own home may not care for more than six children younger
than 13 years old.

mo oo o

10.09: Reimbursement

(1) Rates. Reimbursement to child care educators/providers shall be made on an enrollment
basis in accordance with rates and policy established by EEC.

(2) Denial. EEC may deny reimbursement of child care services when:
(a) the care provided does not meet EEC health and safety standards;
(b) the care provided is not in the best interest of the children served; or
(c) the child care educator/provider fails to follow EEC regulations, policies, procedures,
or contract requirements.

(3) Payment for Child Care Absences. Educators/providers shall not be paid by the
Commonwealth for care provided to an authorized child if the child's financial assistance has
been terminated by EEC due to a non-approved break in care, in accordance with EEC policy.

10.10: Denial and/or Termination of Services

9/29/23

Parents aggrieved by the denial or termination of their DTA authorization for a child care
financial assistance may request a fair hearing on the matter from DTA in accordance with DTA
regulations and policies. Parents aggrieved by the denial or termination of their eligibility for
DCF-related child care services may request a fair hearing on the matter from DCF in
accordance with DCF regulations and policies. All others whose financial assistance is
terminated or denied may request EEC to review the decision through the EEC Review Process,
as specified at 606 CMR 10.11.

(1) Reasons for Denial. In accordance with EEC policies, EEC may deny child care financial
assistance for the following reasons:
(a) lack of service need;
(b) lack of financial eligibility including, but not limited to, exceeding income or asset
limits;
(c) outstanding unpaid parent fee balance;
(d) failure to submit the required documentation at authorization or reauthorization in
accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1);
(e) Substantiated Fraud;
(f) disqualification pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12;
(g) non-approved break in care; or
(h) residency outside of the Commonwealth in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(c).
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(2) Reasons for Termination. EEC child care financial assistance may be terminated due to the
following:

(a) lack of service need;

(b) Intentional Program Violation;

(c) Substantiated Fraud,

(d) residency outside of the Commonwealth in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(c).

(e) income exceeding limits detailed in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)l1.; or

(f) non-approved break in care.

(3) Notice. Whenever financial assistance is being denied or terminated, EEC or the Family
Access Administrator must give the parent(s) written notice of the denial or termination and the
option to request a review of the action through EEC's review process and to request
continuation of child care financial assistance services pending the outcome of the review and,
if necessary, Informal Hearing. EEC or the Family Access Administrator shall use a notice
provided or prescribed by EEC and shall provide the parent with the notice immediately upon
the decision to deny child care financial assistance or at least 14 calendar days before the
effective date of the termination.

At a minimum, the notice shall include the following:

(a) aclear and plain statement of the action to be taken;

(b) the effective date of the action;

(c) an explanation of the reason(s) for the action;

(d) the regulation or other legal authority on which the action is based;

(e) contact information to obtain further information related to the action;

(f) an explanation of the right to request a review;

(g) an explanation of the continuation of child care financial assistance pending the outcome

of the review and, if necessary, Informal Hearing;

(h) a copy of the request for review process;

(1) the circumstances under which child care financial assistance may continue pending the

outcome of a review, if applicable;

(j) anotice ofthe right to be represented during the request for review and informal hearing

process; and

(k) contact information for the EEC unit that receives appeal requests.

All notices required by EEC regulation and policy will be deemed adequately served if they
are mailed via regular mail to parents at their last known address, or if they are otherwise mailed
or delivered to parents via the parents' preferred method of delivery based on the contact
information that they maintain with their Family Access Administrator.

(4) Continuation of Child Care Financial Assistance Pending Request for Review and Request
for Informal Hearing
(a) Child care financial assistance shall continue after receipt of a notice of termination or
denial at reauthorization pending the outcome of the request for review and, if necessary,
Informal Hearing if the parent:
1. submits to EEC a request for review, which shall serve as a request for the
continuation of child care financial assistance, prior to the effective date of the
termination or denial of the child care financial assistance;
2. takes appropriate action to resolve any unpaid fee balance under 606 CMR 10.12(1)
which caused the notice of termination prior to the effective date of the notice.
3. atall times during the review process, including any Informal Hearing, if necessary,
keep all undisputed fee payments current; and
4. atall times during the review process, including any Informal Hearing, if necessary,
ensure that the child continues to attend care in accordance with the child's
Authorization.
(b) If the denial was issued at an initial authorization, child care financial assistance shall
not be available during the request for review or Informal Hearing process.
(c) Child care financial assistance that is continued pending the outcome of a request for
review or an Informal Hearing, and any unpaid fee balance, are subject to recoupment by
EEC in cases where fraud is substantiated.
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(1) Reasons for Review. A parent may request an EEC review when EEC or the Family Access

(a) denies the parent's child care financial assistance.
(b) terminates the parent's child care financial assistance;
(c) assesses a fee that the parent believes is not in accordance with EEC regulation or

(d) acts or fails to act in a way that the parent believes violates EEC financial assistance
regulations or policy; or
(e) 1mposes a sanction pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12.

(2) Scope of Review. A parent may not challenge the legality of state or federal law in the EEC
review process. The scope of an EEC review shall be limited to determining whether the Family
Access Administrator acted, or failed to act, in accordance with state or federal laws or EEC
regulations or policies. A parent may raise specific issues of fact for consideration as part of
their request, and the EEC Review Officer may overturn a decision on those grounds even if the
Family Access Administrator otherwise acted in accordance with state or federal laws or EEC
regulations or policies.

(3) Filing a Request for Review. The parent shall submit to EEC a written and dated request,
which may be made via email, for a review within 30 days of notice that their child care is being
terminated or denied, or within 30 days of an action or determination by the Family Access
Administrator which the parent claims violates EEC financial assistance regulations or policy.
The request for a review shall contain the parent's name, address, and telephone number, and the
reason for the request. If a parent wishes to submit evidence in support of their request, such as
documents or receipts, the evidence must be received by EEC within 14 calendar days of
submitting the request for review in order to make such evidence a part of the review record.

(4) Representation. The parent may be represented by a person of their choosing at any stage
of the review process.

(5) Termination of Continued Child Care Financial Assistance. Child care financial assistance
continued in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(5)(a) shall be terminated if at any time during the
review process or any subsequent appeals:
(a) adetermination is made that the sole issue is a challenge to the validity of a particular
law or EEC regulation;
(b) achange affecting the parent's financial assistance occurs subsequent to the filing of the
request for a review which makes the previously filed request for a review moot, and the
parent does not appeal the subsequent matter within the applicable time period; or
(c) the parent fails to comply with the requirements for continuing child care financial
assistance listed in 606 CMR 10.10(4).

(6) Preliminary Review.
(a) Notification. Within seven days of receipt of the parent's request for review, the EEC

Review Officer shall notify the Family Access Administrator of the request for review, and
shall request that the Family Access Administrator submit evidence in support of their
determination. EEC's Review Officer shall also notify the parent and the Family Access
Administrator whether the child care financial assistance shall continue pending the outcome
of the review.

(b) Response. Within seven days of the date of notification from EEC, the Family Access
Administrator must submit to EEC's Review Officer evidence in support of their decision,
action or inaction which allegedly forms the basis for the parent's request for review.

(¢) Record. The case record shall consist of any evidence submitted by the Family Access
Administrator, any evidence submitted by the parent, and, if applicable, any evidence
obtained by EEC's Review Officer including, but not limited to, documentary evidence
obtained from local, state, and/or federal agencies.

10.11: Review Process
Administrator:
policy;
9/29/23
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(d) Decisions.
1. How Made. EEC's Review Officer will review all information submitted by the
parent and Family Access Administrator and seek clarification from the parties, if
necessary. The Review Officer may take administrative notice of general, technical or
scientific facts within their specialized knowledge and may use their experience and
specialized knowledge in the evaluation of the evidence presented. The EEC Review
Officer may also take administrative notice of any public records or information from
other local, state, and/or federal agencies.
2. When Made. Within 60 days of EEC's receipt of the request for review for a
termination or denial at Reauthorization or as promptly as administratively feasible,
EEC's Review Officer shall issue a written decision to the parent and the Family Access
Administrator which upholds, reverses, or modifies the Family Access Administrator's
decision, action, or inaction. Within 60 days of EEC's receipt of the request for review
for denial at initial Authorization, EEC's Review Officer shall issue a written decision
to the parent and the Family Access Administrator which upholds, reverses, or modifies
the Family Access Administrator's decision.
3. When Implemented. Unless 606 CMR 10.10(4) applies, the EEC Review Officer's
decision will be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth in the decision.
4. Notice of Right to Appeal. The Review Officer's written decision shall inform the
parent of the parent's right to appeal the written decision by requesting an Informal
Hearing in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(7). If the parent does not appeal, the
Review Officer's written decision shall become EEC's final agency decision and child
care financial assistance shall be terminated immediately.

(7) Informal Hearing. After a Preliminary Review, aggrieved parents may appeal the EEC
Review Officer's decision by requesting an Informal Hearing.

(a) Requesting an Informal Hearing. Parents may request an Informal Hearing by
submitting to EEC's General Counsel a written dated request, which may be made via email,
for an Informal Hearing within 14 days of the date of the EEC Review Officer's written
decision. The request for Informal Hearing must state the reason for the appeal. The
General Counsel, or designee, may make disposition of the appeal, at the request of and with
the consent of the parent, prior to the holding of a hearing; a parent shall have the continued
right to an Informal Hearing after any such disposition or may choose to waive the hearing.
(b) Continuation of Benefits Pending an Informal Hearing. In order for child care financial
assistance to continue pending the outcome of the appeal, the parent shall timely appeal the
decision in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(7)(a), and shall comply with the requirements
under 606 CMR 10.10(4).
(c) Notice of Hearing. The General Counsel or the designated EEC Hearing Officer shall
notify the parent, the Family Access Administrator, and EEC's Review Officer of the date,
time, and place of the hearing. The notice shall also describe the hearing procedure and the
right to contact EEC to obtain further information, including the case file and documents to
be submitted by EEC at the hearing.
(d) Hearings.
1. Timing. Within 60 days of EEC's receipt of the request for an Informal Hearing,
EEC shall hold the hearing.
2. Procedure. The Informal Hearing shall be conducted in accordance with 801 CMR
1.02: Informal/Fair Hearing Rules. The General Counsel may appoint an EEC Hearing
Officer to preside over the hearing.
3. Adjustment of Matters Relating to the Hearing. EEC's Hearing Officer may make
informal disposition of the adjudicatory proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement,
consent order, or default, and may limit the issues to be heard, in accordance with
M.G.L. c. 30A, § 10.
4. Submission without a Hearing. The parent may elect to waive a hearing and to
submit any documents without appearing at the time and place designated for the
hearing. Submission of a case without a hearing does not relieve the parties from
supplying all documents supporting their claims or defenses. Affidavits and stipulations
may be used to supplement other documentary evidence in the record.
5. Location. The Informal Hearing shall be held in EEC's Central Office, or a location
designated by EEC. The parent may request that the Informal Hearing be held atan EEC
regional office more conveniently located to the parent or be scheduled via telephone or
via a virtual, video enabled platform.
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6. Hearing Record. EEC's Hearing Officer shall ensure that a record is made of the
hearing. All documents and other evidence offered and accepted shall become part of
the record. The record shall also include the request for review, the request for Informal
Hearing and the decision by EEC's Review Officer.
7. Burden of Proof. The EEC Hearing Officer's decision shall be supported by
substantial evidence presented at the hearing. EEC shall have the burden of proof to
uphold the decision of the EEC Review Officer.
(e) Reasons for Dismissal. EEC's Hearing Officer may dismiss a request for an informal
hearing if a parent:
1. fails to appear at the informal hearing, in accordance with 801 CMR 1.02:
Informal/Fair Hearing Rules;
2. fails to prosecute their claim, in accordance with 801 CMR 1.02: Informal/Fair
Hearing Rules; or
3. withdraws the request for Informal Hearing in writing or on the record at the hearing.
(f) Decisions. If the denial was issued at reauthorization, or if child care financial
assistance was terminated, EEC's Hearing Officer shall issue the written decision in
accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, § 11(8) within 60 days of conducting the Informal Hearing
or as soon as administratively feasible. If the denial was issued at an initial authorization,
EEC's Hearing Officer shall issue a written decision in accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, §
11(8) within 60 days of conducting the Informal Hearing.
(g) Judicial Review and Finality of Decision. The decision of EEC's Hearing Officer
following an Informal Hearing shall be the final agency decision for purposes of judicial
review under M.G.L. c. 30A.
(h) Further Appeal and Stay of Decision. Following the Informal Hearing, the decision of
EEC's Hearing Officer shall be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth in the
EEC Hearing Officer's decision unless the parent:
1. timely appeals the decision to superior court pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A;
2. submits a written request for a stay of the decision to EEC's General Counsel; and
3. the General Counsel grants the request for a stay.

Sanctions

9/29/23

(1) Intentional Program Violation (IPV) and Substantiated Fraud. A parent determined by EEC
to have committed Substantiated Fraud or an Intentional Program Violation shall have a period
of disqualification from eligibility for each child the parent is authorized for pursuant to the
following:
(a) First Offense of IPV. If a parent is determined to have committed an IPV then the
parent shall receive a warning notification putting the parent on notice that subsequent
offenses will result in disqualification.
(b) Second Offense of IPV. Ifa parent is determined to have committed a second IPV, then
the parent shall be disqualified from eligibility for a period of 12 months from the date of
termination. After that time the parent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with
606 CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the applicable referral, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05
and 10.06.
(c) Third Offense of IPV. Ifa parent is determined to have committed a third [PV, then the
parent shall be disqualified from eligibility for a period of 24 months from the date of
termination. After that time the parent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with
606 CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the applicable referral, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05
and 10.06
(d) Fourth or More Offense of IPV or Substantiated Fraud. If a parent is determined to
have committed a fourth or more I[PV, or Substantiated Fraud, the parent shall be disqualified
from eligibility until any debt resulting from the Substantiated Fraud is repaid or for a period
of 36 months from the date of termination, whichever is greater. After that time the parent
is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the
applicable referral, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05.
(e) 606 CMR 10.12 shall not apply to the issuance of an IPV for non-payment of parent
fees, which shall follow the process pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12(2).
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(2) Non-payment of Fees. If a parent is determined to be in violation of the parent fee
obligation required by 606 CMR 10.03(2), the parent may incur an Intentional Program
Violation pursuant to the following:

(a) Upon the non-payment of a parent fee, the provider shall issue a written warning to the
parent that payment is due. If, after receiving the warning, the parent pays the balance owed
prior to the due date for the next scheduled parent fee payment, no further action or sanction
shall apply and an IPV shall not issue.

(b) Ifthe parent does not pay the balance owed following receipt of the warning and does
not pay the next scheduled parent fee payment owed on or by its due date, the provider may
enter a repayment plan with the parent or the provider or Family Access Administrator may
issue a notice of termination for non-payment of fees to the parent.

(c) The provider may choose to enter into a repayment plan with the parent in lieu of
issuing a termination notice, the terms of which must be agreed upon by both parties. If a
parent adheres to the payment schedule of the repayment plan, no further action or sanction
shall apply and no IPV shall issue. If a parent does not adhere to the payment schedule of
the repayment plan, the provider or Family Access Administrator may issue a notice of
termination for non-payment of fees to the parent.

(d) A termination notice for non-payment of fees must be delivered to the parent 14
calendar days prior to termination of care and must state that services to the family will end
14 calendar days from the date the notice is delivered if the parent does not pay the overdue
balance.

(e) Ifthe parent does not pay the overdue balance prior to the termination date listed in the
termination notice, EEC shall issue the parent an IPV and child care financial assistance shall
be terminated until the unpaid balance is paid in full. Following termination, if the parent
pays the unpaid balance in full, the parent is eligible to return to care if allowable under
606 CMR 10.10(4) or (5) or is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 CMR
10.04, or pursuant to the applicable referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05 and 10.06.

(3) Exemptions to Sanctions.

(a) A parent with an active TAFDC case in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a) shall be
exempt from the termination or disqualification sanctions during the period their TAFDC
case remains open or through the end of their eligibility period under 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a),
whichever is later.

(b) A parent with an active DCF referral pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06 will be exempt from
the termination or disqualification sanctions during the period the parent receives
DCF-related child care pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06(4).

10.13: Applicability

If any provision contained in 606 CMR 10.00 or the application thereof'is held invalid to any

person or circumstance, the remainder of 606 CMR 10.00 and the application of the provision
in question to other persons not similarly situated, or to other circumstances, shall not be
affected thereby.

REGULATORY AUTHORITY

9/29/23

606 CMR 10.00: M.G.L. c. 15D, and 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8).
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