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10.01:  Introduction 
 

606 CMR 10.00 is adopted pursuant to federal law at 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8), which 
requires the Department of Early Education and Care, as the Lead Agency for administering the 
Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) in Massachusetts,., to promulgate rules and regulations to 
administer the CCDF Plan, and, in accordance with M.G.L. c. 15D which states the policy of state 
government to assure every child and family "a fair and full opportunity to reach his full potential". 
606 CMR 10.00 is established in keeping with the Department of Early Education and Care's 
mission of providing the foundation that supports all children in their development as lifelong 
learners and contributing members of the community, and supporting families in their essential work 
as parents and caregivers. 

 
606 CMR 10.00 sets forth the conditions for eligibility, for the provision and termination of 

child care services, for payment, and for the review of decisions to terminate or reduce services 
provided to children and families through subsidized child care programs. The goals of 606 
CMR 10.00 include: 

(a)  creating an integrated system of child care that ensures the seamless delivery of quality, 
accessible and affordable child care for children from birth through school age; 
(b)  standardizing eligibility requirements and intake procedures for families; and 
(c)  administering consistent procurement and payment policies and procedures. 
 

 
10.02:  Definitions 

The following words listed below shall have the following meanings unless the context 
otherwise requires: 
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Abandonment of Subsidy.  A family’sies’ failure to have an active child care placement for more 
than 30 consecutive days during the 12 month authorization period, unless family has requested 
an approved break-in-care.  
 
Absence.  Any day that a child is authorized to attend an early education and care program, but is 
not in attendance. 
 
Caretaker.Approved Break-in-Care.  A written request, approved by EEC or Subsidy 
Administrator, to place a child care placement in inactive status for up to 90 consecutive days 
during the 12 month authorization period.  
 
Assets.  Valuables including, but not limited to, all houses or other buildings, real property, 
vehicles, cash, bank accounts, cash value of life insurance policies, trusts, stocks, bonds, and 
overall business value, including equipment, jewelry, livestock, or other goods. 
 
Caregiver.  A person who lives with, supervises, and cares for a child or children whose parents 
do not live in the home, such as a foster parent, legal guardian (temporary or permanent), or 
designated Ccaregiver., in accordance with M.G.L. c. 201F. 
 
Child.  A person younger than 13 years old, or 16 years old if such person has special needs. . 
 
Child Care Educator/Provider.  A licensed or exempt center-based child care program, or a 
licensed, family-based child care program located within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
 
Child Care Resource and Referral Agency. (CCRR).  An agency that contracts with the Department 
of Early Education and Care (EEC), or subcontracts with an agency that contracts with EEC, ) to 
provide child care resource information, referral services, and/or child care vouchersubsidy 
management services. 
 
Child Care Subsidy.  Financial assistance given to eligible parents for child care provided by a 
contracted or voucher child care educator/provider. Child Care Educator/Provider pursuant to a 
contract or agreement with EEC, CCRR or a Contracted Child Care Educator/Provider.  
 
Contracted Child Care Educator/Provider.  A licensed, or license exempt, child care program or 
family child care system that holds a contract with EEC for the provision of subsidized child care 
services. 
 
Days.  Calendar days, unless otherwise specified. 
 
DCF.  Massachusetts Department of Children and Families, or successor agency. 
 
Dependent Child.  A person younger than 18 years old, or a person younger than 24 years old if he 
or she is a full time student. 
 
Dependent Grandparent.Relative.  A grandparentrelative of the child receiving care who resides in 
the household with the child and is financially dependent on the child's parent(s), as certified 
through the parent(s) most recent tax returns. 
 
DHCD.  Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development, or successor 
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agency. 
 
DTA.  Massachusetts Department of Transitional Assistance, or successor agency. 
 
EEC.  Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care, or successor agency. 
 
Eligible Family.  A family that qualifies for a child care subsidy based on criteria determined by 
EEC in regulation and policy. 
 
ESOL.  An English language training program for people whose primary language is not English. 
 

Excessive Absence. More than three consecutive days of unexplained absences or more than 30 
explained absences within a six month period.Explained Absence.  Absence More than forty-five 
non-attended days within a twelve month authorization period, or more than 15 non-attended days 
during an initial twelve week provisional authorization period.. Explained absences shall include, 
but not be limited to, absences due to : 

(a) child illness or medical condition; 
(b) , death in the family; 
(c) , emergency circumstances; 
(d) , religious holidays;, and 

Up to ten days of vacation in a 12 month period.days.  
 
Excessive Unexplained Absence.  Failure to attend a subsidized child care program for more than 
three consecutive non-attended days without contacting the provider.  
 
Family.  One of the following: 
(a) parent(s) and their dependent child(ren) and any dependent grandparentrelative(s) who reside 
in the same household; or 
(b) a teenYoung Parent and his/her child(ren) who reside in the same household. 
 
Full Time Child Care.  Care for not less than 30 hours nor more than 50 hours per week at any 
one placement, unless otherwise approved by EEC. 

 
Full Time Service Need.  Service need ofParticipation in an approved activity for 30 hours or more 
per week. 
 
Homeless Family.  A family meeting the requirements established under the McKinney-Vento Act (42 
U.S.C. 11434 a) as certified in accordance with EEC policy. 
 
In Home or Relative Informal Child Care Provider. A caregiver An individual who meets the In 
Home or Relativeinformal child care provider standards and requirements established by EEC, 
and is exempt from EEC licensure because the caregiverindividual either provides care in the 
child's own home, or is a relative of the child. 
 
Intentional Program Violation (IPV).  A parent’s willful failure to adhere to EEC’s subsidy 
requirements, including: failing to report a Nnon-Ttemporary Cchange, with the exception of a 
cessation in a parent’s work, training, or education participation, within 30 days from the date the 
change occurred; failingure to accurately report income at eligibility authorizationassessment;; 
failing to respond to an EEC request for more information;  and non-payment of fees, including 
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fees associated with excessive absences.  
 
Non-Temporary Change.  A change to a parent’s circumstances, including: increases in total 
household income exceeding 85% SMI; changes in family contact information; changes in 
household composition for more than 30 total days in a 12 month authorization; changes in child 
custody arrangements; any out of state change in address; or any change or cessation of a parent’s 
work, training, or education participation for more than 30 days. 
 
Parent.  A biological or adoptive parent or step-parent who resides in the household with his or her 
dependent child(ren), or a caretakerCcaregiver. 

 
Part Time Child Care.  Care up to 30 hours per week. 

 
Part Time Service Need.  Service need betweenParticipation in an approved activity for more than 
20 and up tobut less than 30 hours per week. 

 
Protective Services.  Families Any Parent authorized for a child care subsidy based on a clinical 
decision by DCF will be deemed to be in need of protective services, including foster care, or any 
Parent who. Additionally, children may be deemed at risk of needing protective services in special 
circumstances, wherein families are is unable to provide child care for any portion of a 24 hour 
day due to a situation of domestic violence or homelessness; a physical, mental, emotional or 
medical condition; or participation in a drug treatment or drug rehabilitation program. 
 
Relative.  Sibling, aunt, uncle, or grandparent, whether by birth, marriage or adoption. 
 

 Service Need. The amount of time child care is required due to the parent's participation in an 
approved activity. 
 

State Median Income. (SMI).  The dollar amount which represents the midpoint in a rank ordering 
of the incomes of all families of the same size in Massachusetts. 

 
Subsidy Administrator.  A person or organization authorized or designated by EEC to conduct 
eligibility determinations for child care subsidies, subject to EEC oversight and review, including but 
not limited to a CCR&R or contracted child care educator/provider. 

 
Supportive Child  Care. A program of comprehensive educational and developmentally 
appropriate activities augmented by health and nutritional services, case management, social 
services and transportation, provided by child care educators/providers under contract with EEC to 
families determined eligible by DCF. 
 
Substantiated Fraud.  Willfully Pproviding false or misleading information or documentation to 
EEC or a subsidy administrator or the concealing or withholding of information for the purpose of 
establishing or maintaining eligibility or increasing the level of child care assistance that has been 
verified as false or misleading by EEC or a subsidy administrator; or the concealing or withholding 
of information for the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility or increasing the level of 
child care assistance as determined by the Bureau of Special Investigations (BSI), or successor 
agency. 

 
TAFDC.  Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children. 
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Vocational Training Program. A An approved program other than graduate, medical or law school, 
which is intended to teach a specific skill leading to employment. 

 
Voucher Child Care Educator/Provider. A caregiver A program or individual who provides child 
care services pursuant to an EEC voucher services agreement. 
 
Young Parent.  A biological parent whothat is younger than 20 years old, and who resides in the 
household with his or her dependent child(ren). This shall include young parents whothat attain the 
age of 20 years old during their third trimester of pregnancy.  

 
10.03:  General Provisions 
 

The following general provisions apply to all child care subsidies administered by EEC, 
unless otherwise stated. 

 
(1)  Eligibility. 

(a)  Family Composition and Size.  Prior to issuing a child care subsidy authorization, 
subsidy administrators shall verify, through documentary evidence, the family size and 
household composition of the applicant by verifying the relationship of each child younger 
than 18 years old, or younger than 24 years old, if the child is a full-time student, who resides 
in the household and is financially dependent on the parent(s) applying for child care 
financial assistance. Required documentary evidence shall be readily available to the 
applicant. Examples of acceptable documentation include, but are not limited to: birth 
certificates; hospital birth records; copies of previously issued EEC child care 
authorizations or vouchers; social security benefits records; court orders establishing 
custody or guardianship; or school records verifying the address of the child, as well as 
the name and relationship of the relative responsible for the child. Any documents which 
reasonably establish family composition and size must be accepted, and no requirement for 
a specific type of documentation may be imposed. 

Parents of teen parentsYoung Parents may include the teen parent Young Parent and 
his or her child(ren) in the applicant's family size provided that the teen parentYoung 
Parent is not receiving EEC financial assistance for his or her child(ren). 
(b)  Identity.  Prior to the initial authorization, the Subsidy Administrator shall verify, through 
documentary evidence, the identity of each parent(s) applying for subsidized child care. 
Required documentary evidence shall contain a photo of the applicant and must be readily 
available to the applicant.. Examples of acceptable documentation include, but are not 
limited to: U.S. passports; certificates of naturalization; driver's licenses, permits or state 
identification cards; U.S. military cards; non-U.S. passports; or school identification 
cards. Any documents which reasonably establish identity must be accepted, and no 
requirement for a specific type of documentation may be imposed.Documentation must 
include original, valid, and unexpired documents.  
(c)  Residency.  The Subsidy Administrator must verify that families seeking child care 
assistance reside in a Massachusetts household because subsidies administered by EEC are 
available only to residents of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Required documentary 
evidence shall be readily available to the applicant. Examples of acceptable documentation 
include, but are not limited to: utility bills; property tax bills; individual income tax returns; 
mortgage documents or home owner insurance documents; vehicle registration cards; 
residential rental or lease agreements; or letters from shelter programs confirming residence 
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in a Massachusetts shelter program. Any documents which reasonably establish residency 
must be accepted, and no requirement for a specific type of documentation may be imposed. 
(d)  Citizenship or Immigration Status.  In accordance with federal law, the  subsidy 
Subsidy Administrator shall verify, through documentary evidence, the United States 
citizenship status or immigration status of each child for whom care is requested. 
Required documentary evidence shall be readily available to the applicant. Examples of 
acceptable documentation include: U.S. passports; birth certificates; or reports of birth 
abroad. Any documents which reasonably establish the citizenship or immigration status of 
the child must be accepted, and no requirement for a specific type of documentation may 
be imposed. No child shall be denied child care financial assistance based solely on an 
applicant's failure to demonstrate citizenship or immigration status without final review by 
EEC. 
(e)  Eligibility Periods. Eligibility is determined Families shall be eligible for 
periodsauthorizations not to exceed 12 months, and is renewablerenewal is subject to the 
family's continued eligibility for child care financial assistance. Subsidy administrators 
shall notify families, in writing, that their eligibility period is ending no less than 3045 days 
prior to the end of the eligibility period. 
(f)  Contact Information.  In order to remain eligible for a child care subsidy, parents must 
maintain current address and telephone number information, if any, with the contracted child 
care educator/provider or CCR&R. A parentSubsidy Administrator. A homeless family 
who does not have an address or telephone number must maintain as much current contact 
information as possible with the contracted child care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy 
Administrator. 
(g)  Documentation of Continued Eligibility.  In order to remain eligible for a child care 
subsidy, parents must provide current documentation of income, service need and residence 
to their Subsidy Administrator. Parents must also provide documentation establishing a 
service need for at least 35 weeks from the prior 12 month period that matches the level of 
service previously authorized. Such documentation must be provided in full within a 
reasonable time prior to each voucher orthe authorization end date so that the 
assessmentauthorization can be completed before the end of the current authorization. ends. 

1. Parents who lose their approved activity during the last 30 days prior to 
reauthorization may be granted a 12 week provisional authorization to seek and 
certify an approved activity in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(21)(b)(2).   

(h)  Current Eligibility Information.  Parents receiving a child care subsidy must notify their 
contracted child care educator/provider or CCR&R Subsidy Administrator whenever there 
is a substantialNnon-Ttemporary Cchange that might affect their eligibility to receive 
financial assistance for early education and care, including significant changes in income 
(i.e., increases to total household income equaling or exceeding 20% of the previously 
reported gross income or increases to household income that may render the family 
ineligible for child care financial assistance, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(1)(a)), 
service need change (i.e., job loss, new employer, change in work or school/training 
schedule), change in address or change in family size (i.e., new household members). 
Parents must notify their Subsidy Administrator and provide documentation within 1430 
days of such a change. A Non-Temporary Change may not immediately result in the 
termination of the child care subsidy, unless the change results in the families’ income 
exceeding 85% SMI, or an out of state change of address. If parent reports a Non-
Temporary Change of an approved activity, parent may be entitled to a 12 week period 
from the time of the non-temporary change to seek and certify a new approved activity. 
Failure to certify a new approved activity will result in termination of the subsidy. Failure 
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to notify the Subsidy Administrator of a Non-Temporary Change within 30 days of each 
such change will result in an IPV, and may be subject to disqualification pursuant to 606 
CMR 10.12. 
(i)  Child Attendance.  In order to remain eligible for a child care subsidy, all children 
receiving EEC financial assistance shall attend the early education and care program, in 
accordance with the terms of the child care authorization. Failure to attend the child care 
program may result in the termination of the child care subsidy for Eexcessive absence, 
in accordance with 606 CMR 10.13.Uunexplained Aabsences in accordance with 606 
CMR 10.10, or render the parent responsible for payment of explained absences exceeding 
45 days at the daily reimbursement rate paid by the Commonwealth.  Families with active 
referrals pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06 will be exempt from this provision so long as DCF-
related child care is reauthorized. Children shall not be authorized for early education and 
care on days that they are regularly scheduled to be absent (e.g.i.e., non-custodial 
visits, school activities, every Friday, homework clubs, etc.). 

Payment for Child Care Absences. Educators/Providers shall not be paid for more 
than 

30 child absence days in a six month period or for more than three consecutive 
unexplained absences without written approval from EEC. 

 (j)  Data Sharing.  For purposes of program integrity and in an effort to establish front end 
detection necessary to combat fraud, waste and abuse, EEC may use data collected from child 
care subsidy applicants to conduct data matches with other government entities. If data 
matches demonstrate inconsistencies with the statements or documents submitted by the 
child care applicant(s), the subsidy administrator or EEC may request additional 
documentation. Failure to resolve the inconsistencies may result in the termination or 
reduction of an applicant's child care subsidy, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.1310. 

 
(2)  Fees.  Parents receiving child care subsidies may be required to contribute to the cost of the 
child care services they receive, in accordance with a sliding fee scale established by EEC. 

(a) How Fees are Assessed. The full weekly parent fee will be assessed for the oldest 
child in the family enrolled in EEC subsidized care; one half the weekly fee (appropriate 
for the child's program type) will be assessed for the second oldest child in the family 
enrolled in EEC subsidized care, and one quarter of the weekly fee (appropriate for the 
child's program type) will be assessed for each additional child in the family enrolled in 
EEC subsidized care. 

(a)  How Fees are Assessed for Siblings.  Fees for siblings will be assessed in accordance 
with EEC policy. 
(b)  Additional Fees.  No additional fees may be charged to parents, except in accordance 
with EEC policy. 
(c)  ReassessmentsReauthorizations.  Fee obligations will be reviewed at least every 12 
months, or sooner if the parent reports or the educator/provider learns of a change in the 
family's size, income, or service need, or the child's program type, in accordance with the 
self-in accordance with the parent’s mandatory reporting requirements set forth inpursuant 
to 606 CMR 10.03 (1)(h).), or voluntary reporting in accordance with EEC policy.  
(d)  Payment and Collection. 

1.  Parents must pay 1 week deposit plus the cost of the first week of care prior to 
the start of the subsidy.  
2.  Parent fees must be paid no later than the first business day of the week in which 
care is being provided.  
3.  Parent fees must be paid, at a minimum, in weekly amounts. 
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4.  Educators/Providers are responsible for collecting parent fees in a timely fashion, 
and must take appropriate action if parents fail to pay fees as required. 
Educators/Providers who allow parents to accrue balances in excess of the value of 
three weeks’ parent fees may be responsible for the balance. 

 
(3)  Priority in Funding. 

(a)  Children will be authorized for child care subsidies in accordance with priorities 
established by EEC, and subject to available funding. 
(b)  Parents whose eligibility for a specific EEC subsidy program is ending have priority for 
access to other EEC subsidies over other parents who have not previously received an EEC 
child care subsidy. In order to maintain priority access and facilitate transition to another 
subsidy program, parents must submit the information required to determine eligibility at 
least two weeks prior to termination from their current program.subsidy program, parent 
must provide documentation in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(g). 
 

(4)  Location of Care.  A child care subsidy may only be used for care provided within the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

 
: 10.04:  Income Eligible Child Care Subsidy 
 

Subject to appropriation, an income eligible child care subsidy is available to eligible parents 
for care by a contracted or voucher educator/provider, or in home or relative child care provider, in 
accordance with regulations, guidelines and policies established by EEC. 

 
(1)  Referral and Waitlist. 

(a)  Subsidy Administrator.  Based on availability and in accordance with EEC enrollment 
priorities and policies, the Subsidy Administrator must: 

1.  issue a child care subsidy (contract slot or voucher) to the eligible parent, subject 
to an eligibility determination; or 
2.  enter the child on the waitlist for a child care subsidy. 

(b)  Parent Choice.  Parents may not be required to enroll their children at a particular child 
care program. Upon 14 days’ notice, parents may choose to withdraw their children from one  
child care program and enroll in another available program for the duration of the child care 
subsidy, subject to appropriation. 
(c)  Enrollment Prior to Service Need.  Eligible children may be enrolled in care 14 days 
prior to the start of the parent's service need, when appropriate. 

 
(12)  Eligibility Criteria.  To be eligible for an Income Eligible Child Care Subsidy, parents must 
meet both income eligibility and service need requirements established by EEC. 

(a)  Financial Requirements.  Income eligibility is based on the income and the size of the 
family.  Families headed by caretakersCcaregivers are exempt from financial eligibility 
guidelines., except for 606 CMR 10.04(21)(a)(34). 

1.  General Rule.  Families seeking child care financial assistance meet the 
financial requirements for the Income Eligible Child Care Program provided that 
the total gross monthly income for the household is at or below 50% of the State 
Median Income at the time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross 
monthly income is at or below 50% of the State Median Income at the initial 
assessmentauthorization, will continue to meet the financial requirements provided 
that the total gross monthly income for the household remains at or below 85% of the 
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State Median Income. 
2. Families wWith an Incapacitated Parent or a Child with Special Needs. Families 
with an incapacitated parent or a child with special needs will meet the financial 
requirements for the Income Eligible Child Care Program provided that the total 
gross monthly income for the household is at or below 85% of the State Median 
Income at the time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross monthly 
income is at or below 85% of the State Median Income at the initial 
authorizationassessment, will continue to meet the financial requirements provided 
that the total gross monthly income for the household remains at or below 10085% 
of the State Median Income. The incapacity of the parent and/or special need of the 
child must be verified and documented on a case by case basis, as required by federal 
and state law. 

23.  Relevant Income.  When determining financial eligibility, relevant income 
includes, but is not limited to, wages or salary (including overtime), social 
security benefits, alimony, child support, and public assistance. 
34.  Assets.  Families seeking child care financial assistance shall not have assets 
that exceed $1,000,000. 

(b)  Service Need Requirements.  Both parents living in the household must document either 
a part time or full time service need. 

1.  Approved Activities.  Activities acceptable for establishing a service need are: 
seeking paid employment for a maximum of eight weeks; paid employment; 
maternity leave from paid employment for a maximum of 12 weeks; participating 
in an approved education or training; or receiving or at risk of receiving protective 
services. Each activity is outlined in 606 CMR 10.04(1)(b)1.a. through e.:as 
follows: 

a. Seeking Paid Employment. Parents seeking paid employment may comply 
with the service need requirement in 606 CMR 10.04(1)(b)1.a. i. and ii.: 

i. Parents with a full or part time child care subsidy for work, education 
or training who lose their job or finish their education or training and are 
actively seeking employment will qualify for the equivalent full or part time 
service need for a period of job search not to exceed eight weeks in a 52 
week period. An additional four weeks may be available in exigent or 
emergent circumstances with written approval from EEC. Examples of 
circumstances that may qualify for additional job search include: 
involuntarily separation from employment; natural disasters; or domestic 
violence situations. 
ii. Parents who have not been receiving a child care subsidy and are 
actively seeking employment will qualify for a full time service need for a 
period of job search not to exceed eight weeks in a 52 week period. 

Paid Employment.  The following activities meet the service need requirement 
of employment: paid employment: existing ; self– employment, including 
self employmentpaid in cash; active deployment in the military; and 
retirement, if the head of household is a caretaker, as defined in 606 CMR 
10.02Parentparent/caregiver, and 65 years of age or older. 

i.  Paid Employment.  Eligible paid employment is considered a position 
that pays no less than the minimum wage in the state wherein the 
employment takes place for no less than an average of 20 hours per week. 
ii.  Self-employment and Minimum Wage. , including paid in cash.  All 
self-employed parents must participate in self-employment activities for no 



606 CMR:   DEPARTMENT OF EARLY EDUCATION AND CARE  

less than an average of 20 hours per week and show income equivalent to the 
minimum wage in the Commonwealthof the state wherein the employment 
takes place. Minimum wage shall be verified by dividing the gross income 
reported, after allowable deductions, by the minimum wage of the state 
wherein the employment takes place to determine the number of eligible 
hours the parent(s) may use towards establishing a service need for child 
care subsidy. 
iii.  Limitations on Self-employment.  For parents engaged in home-based 
self-employment activities, the self-employment activity shall not qualify as 
an approved activity, unless: 

(a)  The type of work performed entails a clear and present danger 
to children; or 
(b)  The primary type of work performed consists of face-to-face 
meetings/ appointments with clients, which prevents direct supervision 
of children. 

b. b.  Maternity/Paternity Leave.  AParents currently receiving a child care 
subsidy may take up to 12 weeks of maternity/paternity leave and continue 
to receive financial assistance. Parents must provide documentation from the 
employer indicating the allowance of maternity/paternity leave, the income 
the parent may receive during the leave, and the duration of the leave.  
parent, whose child care has been subsidized by EEC, may 

c. take Up to 12 weeks of maternity (parental)/paternity leave from paid 
employment and continuemay be included towards a parents documentation 
of continued eligibility requirements pursuant to receive financial assistance, 
provided that the parent expects to return to any EEC approved activity, 
except for job search, at the end of the maternity leave.606 CMR 10.03(1)(g).   

c.  Education or Training.  Parents will qualify for a service need of education 
or training if they are enrolled in and attending any of the following: a full time 
high school program; aan approved high school equivalency program; aan 
approved vocational training program, not including graduate, medical or law 
school; an; an approved ESOL program; or an accredited college or university, 
leading to an Associate's or a Bachelor's degree.  Graduate, medical, or law 
degrees programs do not qualify. Approved vocational training programs, high 
school equivalency programs, or ESOL programs will be certified in 
accordance with EEC policy. 

i.  The service need of education or training shall continue through a 
semester break for parents registered for the following semester. The 
service  need  of  education shall not continue during the summer break unless 

parents are enrolled in and attend school or training during the summer.Parents 
registered for the following semester will not be required to report the 
semester break as a Nnon-Ttemporary Cchange under 606 
CMR10.03(1)(h).   
The service need for parents participating in a full time high school program 
will be considered full time, regardless of the programprogram’s schedule. 
ii.  The service need for parents participating in college coursework with 
12 credit hours or more will be considered full time. For parents participating 
in less than 12 credit hours, the actual credit hours shall be multiplied by 2.5 
to establish a child care need. For accelerated semester schools, 
parents/guardians who present with a classroom schedule reflecting twelve 
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hours or more per week of classroom time will be determined to have a full-
time service need.  Those with a class schedule of at least eight hours, but 
less than twelve hours per week of classroom time will be determined to 
have a part-time service need. 
iii.  The service need for parents participating in education or training 
programs other than college or high school including high school 
equivalency programs (i.e., GED program), is 2.5 hours of service need 
for each hour spent in the education or training program per week. 
iv.  Service need for parents participating in high school equivalency 
programs or ESOL programs are limited to one 12 month authorization 
period. The one 12 month authorization period limit does not apply to 
parents that combine this service need with other work, education, or 
training service needs.   
v.  Work study hours and required practical and clinical experiences 
(including student teaching or internships) are counted as hours of 
employment, for the purpose of determining service need. 

d. d.  Incapacity of Parent.  Families with an incapacitated parent(s) meet 
documented physical or mental disability of a parent, that is certified in 
accordance with EEC policy, may be eligible for either full time or part-time 
care, in accordance with the service 

need requirementsupporting documentation, subject to the following limitations:  
i.  All authorizations must be approved in writing by EEC on yearly case by 
case basis in accordance with EEC policy.  
ii.  Authorizations may not be authorized for more than two years, unless 
parent presents acceptable justification for why this condition persists and 
why it requires a waiver of the two year limit, as reviewed by EEC on a case 
by case basis. 
iii.  Parents are not entitled to utilize this alternative service need and denials 
are not subject to EEC’s appeal processes. 

e.  Homelessness.  Families meeting the EEC definition for a homeless family 
will qualify for full time child care.  

i.  The service need for a homeless family shall be limited to two 12 month 
authorization periods, unless approved by EEC in writing on a case by case 
basis.  
ii.  The asset requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04 2(a)(34) shall be 
waived for all families meeting the homelessness service need. 

 
2.  Seeking Approved Activity.  Parents who do not have an approved activity at 
time of initial assessmentauthorization or at reauthorization may be granted 
provisional authorization a period of 12 weeks to seek and certify an approved 
activity.  This includes parents on maternity or paternity leave at initial 
assessmentauthorization, parents enrolled in a non-approved training program, or 
parents unable to certify employment at time of initial eligibility 
assessmentauthorization. 

a.  Parents who are able to provide documentation of an approved activity and 
meet all other program requirements described in 606 CMR 10.04(12)() before 
the end of the 12 week period, will be issued a 12 month authorization. 
b)4. The incapacity of a parent(s) must be verified and documented on a case by 
case basis, as .  Parents who are able to provide preliminary proof of an approved 
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activity (i.e. an employment verification form) but are unable to provide full 
documentation at the end of the 12 week period, may be granted an extended 
period of 8 weeks to provide full documentation required by federal and state 
law.to qualify for a 12 month authorization.  

3.  Combining Service Need Activities.  Work and education or training may be 
combined to meet service need requirements. An activity of seeking paid 
employment or incapacity of parent may not be combined with any other 
approved activity to establish a service need. 

2.1. Travel Time. Up to five hours of travel time per week may be added to a 
parent's 

service need, provided that the travel is reasonably related to the necessary time 
to/from the child care program and the parent's service need activity. Before travel 
time may be added to a service need, the parent must establish a minimum of at least 
20 hours in an EEC approved activity, pursuant to 606 CMR 10.04(12)(b)1. 

4.  Amount of Care.  Parents who document a full time service need will be eligible 
for full time child care. Parents who document a part time service need will be 
eligible for part time child care. Parents unable to document either a full time or a 
part time service need are not eligible for subsidized child care. 

i. Children with Disabilities/Special Needs. Children with documented 
special needs may be eligible for either full time or part-time care, in accordance 
with the supporting documentation, provided that the child's parent(s) 
establishes at least a part time service need, in accordance with 606 CMR 
10.04(1)(b). 
ii. Parents with Disabilities/Special Needs. Families with documented physical 
or mental disability of a parent may be eligible for either full time or part-time 
care, in accordance with the supporting documentation. Unless approved in 
writing by EEC, authorizations based on the physical or mental disability of a 
parent may not be authorized for more than two years. 

 
 

 (2)  Referral and Waitlist. 
Child Care Resource and Referral Agency.(a)  Subsidy Administrator.  Based on availability 
and in accordance with EEC enrollment priorities and policies, the CCR&RSubsidy 
Administrator must: 

3. 1.  issue a child care subsidy (contract slot or voucher) to the eligible parent that 
may be used toward payment of a voucher 

child care educator/provider, subject to an eligibility determination; or 
4. refer the eligible parent to a contracted child care educator/provider who has 
an opening appropriate for the age and needs of the child in need of care; or 

2.  enter the child on the waitlist for a child care subsidy. 
(b) (b)  Contracted Child Care Educator/Provider. Based on availability and in 
accordance with EEC enrollment priorities and policies, the contracted 
educator/provider must: 

1. enroll the eligible child in his or her child care program if a contract slot 
appropriate to the age and needs of the child exists, subject to an eligibility 
determination; or 
2. if an appropriate contract slot does not exist, refer the parent to the regional 
CCR&R; and 
3. enter the child on the waitlist for a child care subsidy. 
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Parent Choice.  Parents may not be required to enroll their children at a particular child care 
program. Upon 14 daysdays’ notice, parents may choose to withdraw their children from one  
child care program and enroll in another available program for the duration of the child care 
subsidy, subject to appropriation. 
(c)  Enrollment Prior to Service Need.  Eligible children may be enrolled in care 14 days 
prior to the start of the parent's service need, when appropriate. 

 
(3)  Eligibility Determination.  A Subsidy Administrator will make eligibility determinations 
based on the parent(s)’ application and documentation and based upon relevant regulations and 
policies. 

(c) (a)  Application.  Parents may apply for an income eligible child care subsidy at a 
contracted 

child care program or atwith a CCR&RSubsidy Administrator. At the time of application 
and at each subsequent reassessmentreauthorization, parents must complete and sign a child 
care application and fee agreement on forms provided or approved by EEC. 
(b)  Documentation.  At the time of application, in accordance with the requirements 
established in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04, parents must submit documentation that verifies 
their identity, residency, citizenship or immigration status of any child seeking subsidized 
child care, income, service need, family size,  and relationship to all children and dependent 
grandparents in the family. At each subsequent reassessment,reauthorization, parents must 
submit documentation that verifies their residency, income and service need. in accordance 
with 606 CMR 10.03 (1)(g). 

 
:   Employment Services Program10.05:  Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA) Related Child 
Care Program 
 

Subject to appropriation, DTA may issue authorizations or referrals for TAFDC recipients, 
certain former TAFDC recipients, or any other DTA client seeking child care financial assistance, 
to the extent allowed by state and federal law, through the Employment ServicesDTA Related 
Child Care Program, as described below. DTA authorizations or referrals for subsidized child care 
shall be issued in accordance with the regulations, guidelines and policies established by DTA 
and in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted. 

 
(1)  Authorization.  For any eligible parent seeking child care through DTA's Employment 
Servicesthe DTA Related Child Care Program, DTA may issue a written or electronic child care 
authorizationreferral to the eligible parent based on the family's participation in the TAFDC or 
DTA-related programs status. 

(a)  TAFDC Families.  Parents, who currently receive TAFDC cash assistance and 
participate in the Employment Services Program,a DTA-approved educational or 
employment-related activity may be issued a written or electronic child care 
authorizationreferral for priority access to subsidized child care. for no less than 12 months, 
unless referral is for job development or placement, whereby a 12 week job search referral 
may be issued.  
(b)  Transitional Families.  Parents who have received TAFDC benefits within the 12 
months prior to their application for a child care subsidy and who obtain a written or 
electronic child care authorizationreferral from DTA will have priority access to a child care 
subsidy, provided they meet EEC eligibility guidelines. as established in 606 CMR 10.03 
and 10.04 and any unpaid fee balance or disqualificationsanction period underpursuant to 
606 CMR 10.12 (1) through (4) is resolved.. 
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(c)  Post-Transitional Families:  Parents who seek eligibility following the parent’s 
transitional TAFDC authorization may receive priority access to a child care subsidy for 
one additional 12 month period, provided they meet EEC eligibility guidelines as 
established in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04 and any unpaid fee balance or disqualification 
period under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) through (4) is resolved.  

 
(2)  Referral.  DTA shall refer issue parents with a written or electronic child care 
authorizationreferral to the appropriate EEC Subsidy Administrator. Parents with a  DTA 
authorizationsreferral must contact the Subsidy Administrator to obtain either a voucher or a 
referral to a contracted child care slot, depending upon availability. The Subsidy Administrator 
shall help the parents identify a child care educator/provider who can provide subsidized care 
as defined in 606 CMR 10.1108. 

 
(3)  Eligibility Criteria.  Eligibility for a child care subsidy through the Employment ServicesDTA 
Related Child Care Program shall be determined by DTA and verified by the Subsidy 
Administrator based on the parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(3)(a) 
and (b). 

(a)  TAFDC Families.  The written or electronic child care authorizationreferral is sufficient 
documentation that the parent is eligible for a child care subsidy for each child included 
in the authorization.referral. Subsidy Administrators shall verify the identity of the 
parent(s) listed on the child care authorizationreferral issued by DTA, in accordance with 
606 CMR 10.03(1)(b). 

(1)  Fee Assessment.  TAFDC families with written or electronic child care 
authorizations who currently receive TAFDC benefits from DTA shall not be 
charged any parent co-payment fees. 

 (b)  Transitional Families. and Post-Transitional Families.  The written or electronic child 
care authorizationreferral is evidence of family relationship for all children included in the 
authorization.referral. Subsidy Administrators shall verify the identity of the parent(s) 
listed on the child care authorizationreferral issued by DTA, in accordance with 606 
CMR 10.03(1)(b). Parents must also submit evidence of their income, service need, 
residence, and their relationship to children or dependent grandparents not included in 
the child care authorizationreferral. 

(1)  Fee Assessment.  Transitional and Post-Transitional families with written or 
electronic child care authorizations shall be assessed a parent fee in accordance with 
606 CMR 10.03(2). 

 
(4)  Eligibility Period.:  Subsidy Administrators should approve the length of time for subsidized 
child care based on the parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a)-(c) 
and (b) and (c). The Subsidy Administrator shall notify families, in writing, that their eligibility 
period is ending no less than 3045 days prior to the end of the eligibility period. 

(a) (a)  TAFDC Families.  Subsidy administrators shall approve the subsidized child 
care based 

on the DTA authorization, not to exceed based on the DTA referral, for no less than 12 
months, provided that the family continues to receive TAFDC cash assistance unless 
referral is for job development or placement, whereby a 12 week job search referral may 
be authorized. 
(b)  Transitional Families.  Subsidy administrators shall  approve the subsidized child care 
based on the parent's service need,authorization in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(1)(b), 
not to exceed 12 months from the date the family'sfamily’s TAFDC case closed. 
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(c)  Post-Transitional Families:  Following the family’s TAFDC transitional child care 
authorization, Subsidy Administrators shall approve the subsidized child care authorization 
in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(1)(b), not to exceed 24 months from the date the 
family’s TAFDC case closed.  

 
(5)  Enrollment.  Parents will enroll children directly at the educator/provider child care site, in 
accordance with the procedures of the educator/provider. 

 
(6)  Denial or Termination of Authorization.  Parents aggrieved by theDTA’s denial or termination 
of a child care authorization by the Department of Transitional Assistancereferral may pursue 
their grievance through the DTA Fair Hearing Process. 

 
(7)  Continuity of Care.  Subject to appropriation, parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the 
closure of the family's DTA Employment ServicesRelated Child Care Program authorization or 
termination of transitional or post-transitional TAFDC benefits may continue to receive child care 
financial assistance through the Income Eligible Child Care program provided that the family meets 
the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04 and any unpaid fee balance or 
disqualification period under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) through (4) is resolved. 

 
:   Supportive10.06  Department of Children and Families (DCF)-Related Child Care Program 
 

Subject to appropriation, DCF may issue authorizations or referrals for children that are 
receiving, or at risk of receiving protective services, as defined at 606 CMR 10.02, through the 
SupportiveDCF-Related Child Care Program, as described in 606 CMR 10.06(1) through (9). 
DCF authorizations or referrals for subsidized child care shall be issued in accordance with the 
regulations, guidelines and policies established by DCF and in accordance with the general 
provisions for subsidized child care described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted. 

 
(1)  Authorization.  For any child receiving or at risk of receiving protective services through DCF, 
DCF may issue a written authorizationor electronic referral for child care services to the parent. 

 
(2)  Referral and Waitlist.  DCF or its designee will determine the appropriateness of and 
authorize all referrals for supportiveDCF-related child care, and may either: 

(a) (a) refer the parent to a Subsidy Administrator authorized by EEC to provide DCF-
related child care educator/provider with supportive child care openings 

appropriate to the age and needs of the child; or 
(b) enter the child on a waitlist for child care, if there are no appropriate openings available. 

 
(3)  Eligibility Criteria.  DCF or its designee shall determine eligibility of its clients for 
supportiveDCF-related child care services, in accordance with DCF regulations and policy. The 
written or electronic child care authorizationreferral is sufficient documentation that the children 
listed on the authorizationreferral are eligible for supportiveDCF-related child care services. 
Subsidy Administrators shall verify the identity of the parent(s) or caregiverParents listed on the 
child care authorizationreferral issued by DCF, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(b). 

 

 (4)  Eligibility Period.  The supportiveDCF-related child care subsidy will be authorized by 
DCFthe Subsidy Administrator for a maximum of sixnot less than 12 months, and may be renewed 
by DCF for a second sixan additional 12 month period as needed. Unless approved by the DCF 
Area Director, authorizationsocial worker and DCF supervisor, referrals for supportive services 
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DCF-related child care may not be renewed more than once. Subject to appropriation, DCF may 
authorizerefer transitional supportiveDCF-related child care to continue beyond the closure of 
the DCF case for up to sixno less than 12 months. The EEC Subsidy Administrator shall notify 
families, in writing, that their eligibility period is ending no less than 3045 days prior to the end of 
the eligibility period. 

 
(5)  Fee Assessment. On a case by case basis, DCF will determine whether applicablefamilies with 
written child care referrals who currently receive DCF-related child care shall not be charged any 
parent fees shall be waived. 

 
(6)  Information Sharing.  Subject to the authorization of the parent or caregiverParents, DCF or 
its designee will share information with the child care educator/provider regarding the child's 
behavior and the family's psychosocial history to assist the educator/provider in meeting the needs 
of the child and family.of the child and family. 

 
(7) Enrollment.  The parent or caregiversParents must meet with the contractedchild care 
educator/provider to complete the enrollment process in accordance with the educator’s/provider's 
policies and procedures. 

 
(8)  Denial or Termination of SupportiveDCF-Related Child Care Services. Supportive Child Care 
Services.  DCF-related child care will end when the protective case closes, or when DCF 
determines that services are no longer appropriate, whichever first occurs. Parents wishing to 
appeal the termination or denial of Supportive Child Care ServicesDCF-related child care may do 
so through the DCF Fair Hearing Process, in accordance with DCF policy and 110 CMR 10.00: 
Fair Hearings and Grievances. 

 
(9)  Continuity of Care.  Subject to appropriation, parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the 
closure of the family's SupportiveDCF-related child care Services may continue to receive child 
care financial assistance through the Income Eligible Child Care program provided that the family 
meets the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. and any unpaid fee balance or 
disqualification period under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) through (4) is resolved.  

 
:   Teen10.07  Young Parent Child Care Services Program 
 

Subject to appropriation, teenYoung Parents may be eligible to receive subsidized child care 
through the TeenYoung Parent Child Care Services Program, as described in 606 CMR 10.07(1) 
through (7), and as provided they meet the requirements of the general provisions for subsidized 
child care described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted: 

 
(1)  Application and Referral. Teen Young Parents may apply for child care subsidies at a 
CCR&RCCRR, a program contracted to provide TeenYoung Parent Child Care services, a local 
DTA office, or any other location authorized by EEC. At the time of application and at each 
subsequent redeterminationreauthorization, reassessment the parentsYoung Pparent must 
complete a child care application and fee agreement on forms provided or approved by EEC, 
and must submit documentation that verifies their income, service need, residence and family 
relationships, in accordance with EEC regulation and policy. If a teenYoung Parent has a current 
child care authorization from DTA, the authorization is sufficient documentation of their income 
and, service need. and residence and family relationships.  
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(2)  Referral and Waitlist.  Based on availability, parents will be referred to and/or enrolled, 
subject to an eligibility determination, in a program eligible to provide Teen the Young Parent Child 
Care Services Program. Parents unable to enroll in a Teenthe Young Parent Child Care Services 
Program due to a lack of available funding will be placed on a child care subsidy waitlist. 

 
(3)  Eligibility Criteria. Teen Young Parents seeking access to subsidized child care through the 
TeenYoung Parent Child Care Services Program must comply with the financial and service need 
requirements of 606 CMR 10.04, unless excepted in 606 CMR 10.07(3)(a) and (b). 

(a)  Service Need Requirements.  Unless authorized by DTA or DCF, teenYoung Parents 
must participate in a full time high school program or a high school equivalency (GED) 
program, or must have received a GED or high school diploma and be participating in an 
approved higher education, training, and/or work activity, as specified at 606 CMR 
10.04(1)(b). 
(b)  Age Requirements. Teens in their third trimester of pregnancy and teen Young Parents 
are eligible to participate in the TeenYoung Parent  
Child Care Services Program until they reach their 20th24th birthday. Enrolled teensYoung 
Parents who turn 2024 years of age during their 12 month authorization may continue 
through the completionend date of their service need activityauthorization. 

 
(4)  Eligibility Periods.  Eligibility is determined for periods not to exceedless than 12 months, 
subject to the family's continued eligibility for child care financial assistance. The EEC Subsidy 
Administrator shall notify teenYoung Parents, in writing, that their eligibility period is ending no 
less than 3045 days prior to the end of the eligibility period. 

 
(1) Participation Requirements. In addition to the Eligibility Criteria outlined in 606 
CMR 10.07(3), teen parents participating in the Teen Parent Services Child Care Program 
must comply with the requirements in 606 CMR 10.07(5)(a) through (c): 

(a) Teens must participate at least eight hours per month in structured social service 
support 
activities through the Teen Parent Child Care Services Program unless they are 
receiving equivalent services from other sources. 
(b) Teens must participate in child care activities in their child's classroom or family 
child care home at least one hour each month. 
(c) Teen parents receiving TAFDC must comply with all TAFDC 

requirements. 
 

)  Denial, or Termination or Reduction of Services.  All denials, or terminations or reductions 
related to the TeenYoung Parent Child Care Services Program shall comply with 606 CMR 10.1310 
and 10.1411. 

 
(6)  Continuity of Care.  Subject to appropriation, parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the 
closure of the family's TeenYoung Parent Child Care Services may continue to receive child care 
financial assistance through the Income Eligible Child Care Program provided that the family 
meets the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. and any unpaid fee balance or 
disqualification period under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) through (4) is resolved.. 

 
10.7 :   Homeless Child Care Services Program 
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Subject to appropriation, child care subsidies may be available for children 
experiencing homelessness or at risk of homelessness, through the Homeless Child Care 
Services Program, as described in 606 CMR 10.08(1) through (8), and in accordance with 
606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted. 

 
(1) Authorization. DHCD and/or DCF may issue a written child care authorization or 
referral for any family seeking to enroll a child in the Homeless Child Care Services Program, 
provided that the family is participating in an approved homeless activity, including, but 
not limited to: residing in an emergency assistance shelter, domestic violence shelter or 
residential family substance abuse treatment shelter; placement in temporary housing at a 
motel/hotel; or participation in either a homeless stabilization or diversion program. 

 
(2) Referral and Waitlist. Upon issuance of the written child care authorization, DHCD, 
DCF or their respective designees shall refer parents to a child care educator/provider with 
homeless child care openings appropriate to the age and needs of the child. If no appropriate 
child care openings are available, the family may be placed on a waiting list for Homeless 
Child Care Services. 

 
(3) Eligibility Criteria. Unless authorized for a child care subsidy through 606 CMR 10.05 
or 10.06, homeless families seeking subsidized child care through the Homeless Child 
Care Services Program must comply with the financial and service need requirements of 
606 CMR 10.04, unless excepted in the following. 

Service Need Requirement. Receipt of a current, active referral form from either DHCD 
or 

DCF serves as sufficient documentation to establish the service need requirement of the 
child care financial assistance laws and policies of the Commonwealth. Families with 
homeless child care referrals from DHCD or DCF establish a full-time need for child care. 

 
(4) Eligibility Period. The length of the child care authorization shall be established by 
the authorizing agency, either DHCD or DCF, for a period not to exceed 12 months. In 
determining the eligibility period, DHCD or DCF shall take into account the individual 
needs of the family. 

 
(5) Fee Assessment. On a case by case basis, DHCD or DCF will determine whether 
applicable parent fees shall be waived. 

 
(6) Enrollment. The parent must meet with the child care educator/provider to complete 
the enrollment process in accordance with the educator’s/provider's policies and 
procedures. 

 
(7) Denial, Termination or Reduction of Services. Homeless Child Care Services will 
end when the applicant family is longer homeless or when DHCD or DCF determines that 
child care services are no longer appropriate, whichever occurs first, or in accordance with 
EEC's reasons for denial, termination and reduction at 606 CMR 10.13. All denials, 
terminations or reductions related to the Homeless Child Care Services Program shall 
comply with 606 CMR 10.13 and 10.14. 

 
(8) Continuity of Care. Subject to appropriation, parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility 
upon the closure of the family's Homeless Child Care Services may continue to receive 
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child care financial assistance through the Income Eligible Child Care Program provided 
that the family meets the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. 

 
10.8 :   Trial Court Child Care 
 

(1) Eligibility. Children whose parents have occasional business with the trial court are 
eligible for short term care on a first come, first served basis. 

 
(2) Enrollment. A parent who has business with the trial court may enroll his or her 
child directly at the Trial Court Child Care Program on the day the care is needed, in 
accordance with the program's procedures and EEC policies. 

 
(3) Waitlist. If the child care program has reached its licensed capacity at the time the 
parent requests care, the child will be entered on a waitlist for care and notified as soon 
as space is available for the child. 

 
10.9 :   Child Care for Special Populations 
 

Families with specialized child care needs may be eligible for assistance in receiving 
child care and other supportive services through EEC's Specialized Child Care Services 
programs, in accordance with EEC policies. Parents and children who wish to participate 
in a specialized child care services program must meet eligibility criteria established by EEC. 
Parents may apply through their local CCR&R or through a child care program that holds a 
contract to provide these specialized services. 

 
10.10:   Child Care Educators/Providers and Caregivers 
 
Care 10.08:  Child Care Educators/Providers and Informal Child Care Providers 
 

(1)  Care by Licensed Educators/Providers.  Except as set forth in 606 CMR 10.1108(2), 
subsidized child care may be provided by an EEC licensed family child care educator/provider, a 
licensed group or school age child care program or through a family child care system, if the 
educator/provider, program or system holds a contract or agreement with EEC to provide 
subsidized child care services or holds a voucher agreement with a CCR&RCCRR. 

 
(2)  Care Exempt from Licensure. 

(a)  Subsidized child care may be provided by a group or school age child care program that 
has been determined by EEC to be exempt from licensure, and with whom EEC holds a 
contract or an agreement to provide subsidized child care services. or with whom a CCRR 
holds a voucher agreement Prior to providing and being reimbursed for subsidized child 
care, license exempt providers providing care must: 

(a) In Home or Relative Child Care. 
1.  complete EEC’s background record check certifying the informal child care 
provider has a background free of conduct which, in the judgment of EEC and in 
accordance with EEC’s Background Record Check Regulations at 606 CMR 14.00 
et seq., bears adversely upon his or her ability to provide for the safety and well-
being of a child.  
2.  complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings; 
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3.  agree to and complete annual trainings;  
4.  satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements;  
5.  agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and 
6.  sign an agreement to provide subsidized child care. 

 
(b)  Informal Child Care. 

1.  Relative of the Child Care by a Relative of the Child..  Subsidized child care 
may be provided in a private residence by an Informal Child Care Provider who is 
relative of the child in a private residence, provided that the caregiverIinformal 
Cchild care Pprovider is at least 18 years old and is not the child's parent. or 
caregiverParent or Caregiver. Relative caregiversIinformal Cchild Ccare 
Pproviders who provide subsidized child care services must submit to the CCR&R 
CCRR evidence of their relationship to the child receiving care. Such evidence may 
include birth certificates, baptismal certificates, and marriage certificates. The 
caregiver Informal Child Care Provider must not be a member of the parent’s 
TAFDC assistance unit, unless the parent is under the age of 18. Prior to providing 
and being reimbursed for subsidized child care, Rrelative Iinformal Cchild Ccare 
Pproviders must:  

In Homea.  complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care 
trainings; 
b.  satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements; and 
c.  sign an agreement to provide subsidized child care. 

2.  Non-Relative of the Child Care..  Subsidized child care may be provided in the 
home of the child by an caregiverinformal child care provider unrelated to the child, 
providedon the condition that the caregiverinformal child care provider is at least 18 
years of age and. Prior to providing and being reimbursed for subsidized child care, 
informal child care providers providing care in the child's own home must: 

a.  complete EEC’s background record check certifying the informal child care 
provider has a background free of conduct which, in the judgment of EEC and 
in accordance with EEC’s Background Record Check Regulations at 606 CMR 
14.00 et seq., bears adversely upon his or her ability to provide for the safety 
and well-being of a child. Such conduct shall include, but not be limited to, 
conduct identified in EEC's Enforcement Regulations, 102 CMR 1.05(1): 
Applicants and Family Day Care. 

1. Prior to providing and being reimbursed for subsidized child care, relative 
caregivers 

and caregivers providing care in the child's own home 
must: 

b.  complete an all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings; 
c.  agree to and complete annual trainings;  
d.  satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements;  
e.  agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and 
f.  sign an agreement to provide subsidized child care services. 

3.  Relative caregiversinformal child care providers and caregiversinformal child 
care providers providing care in the child's own home may not care for more than 
six children younger than 13 years old. 

 
: 10.09:  Reimbursement 
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(1)  Rates.  Reimbursement to child care educators/providers shall be made in accordance with 
rates and policy established by EEC. 

 
(2)  Hours.  Unless approved by EEC or authorized by DTA, providers shall not be reimbursed for 
more than ten hours of care per day or 50 hours of care per week per child. 

 
(3)  Denial.  EEC may deny reimbursement of child care services when: 

(a)  the care provided does not meet EEC health and safety standards; 
(b)  the care provided is not in the best interest of the children served; or 
(c)  the educator/provider fails to follow EEC regulations, policies, procedures, or contract 
requirements. 
 

: (4)  Payment for Child Care Absences.  Educators/Providers shall not be paid by the 
Commonwealth for more than 45 child absence days per authorized child in a 12 month 
authorization period, more than 15 absences per authorized child during an initial twelve week 
provisional authorization, or for more than three consecutivetwo instances of Excessive 
Uunexplained Aabsences per authorized child. without written approval from EEC. 

 
 

 
10.10:  Denial, Reduction and/or Termination of Services 
 

Parents aggrieved by the denial, reduction or termination of their DTA authorization for a 
child care subsidy may request a fair hearing on the matter from DTA in accordance with DTA 
regulations and policies. Parents aggrieved by the denial, reduction or termination of their 
eligibility for supportiveDCF-related child care services may request a fair hearing on the matter 
from DCF in accordance with DCF regulations and policies. All others whose subsidies are 
terminated, reduced or denied may request EEC to review the decision through the EEC Review 
Process, as specified at 606 CMR 10.1411. 

 
(1)  Reasons for Denial or Termination.  In accordance with EEC policies, EEC may deny 
child care subsidies may be terminateddenied for reasons including, but not limited to, for the 
following reasons: 

(a)  lack of service need; 
(b)  lack of financial eligibility, including but not limited to, exceeding income or asset limits; 

(a) non-payment or late payment of fees; 
(b) unexplained or excessive absence; 

(c)  outstanding unpaid parent fee balance; 
(e)  failure to submit the required documentation at assessment authorization or 
reauthorization or in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03 (1), (g);  
(f)  failure to submit the required documentation at reassessment; in accordance with 606 
CMR 10.03 (1)(g).; or 
(fg)  submission of false or misleading information or documentation to the contracted child 
care educator/provider, CCR&R or EEC, which is material to EEC or the parent’s 
eligibility; orSubsidy AdministratorSubstantiated Fraud;  
(gh)  disqualification pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12; or 
(hi)  abandonment of subsidy. 
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(c) failure of the parent(s) to comply with EEC policies, the child care 
educator’s/provider's policies, or the CCR&R's policies. 

 
(2) Reasons for Reduction. If the parent(s)' service need changes from full time to part 
time, or otherwise diminishes, the amount of child care subsidy must be reduced 
proportionately. 

 
(2)  Reasons for Termination.  EEC child care subsidies may be terminated due to  the following: 

(a) lack of service need; 
(b)  Intentional Program Violation; 
(cb)  Substantiated Fraud;  
(dc)  residency outside of the Commonwealth in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(c);  
(ed)  income exceeding limits detailed in 606 CMR 10.04(1)(a)(1); or 
(fe)  abandonment of subsidy; or 
(g)  Excessive Unexplained Absences  

 
(3)  Notice. Whenever a family is being removed from a waiting list, the contracted child care 
educator/provider or CCR&R shall give to the parent written notice of the removal within 14 
calendar days of the decision using a notice form provided or prescribed by EEC. Whenever a 
subsidy is being denied, reduced or terminated, the contracted child care educator/provider or 
CCR&REEC or the  Subsidy Administrator must give the parent(s) written notice of the denial, 
reduction or termination and the option to request a review of the action through the EEC review 
process. The contracted child care educator/provider or CCR&REEC or the Subsidy Administrator 
shall use a notice form provided or prescribed by EEC and shall provide the parent with the notice 
immediately upon the decision to deny a child care subsidy or at least 14 calendar days before the 
effective date of the reduction or termination or within 14 calendar days of the decision to deny 
access to child care subsidy.. At a minimum, the notice shall include the following: 

(a)  a clear and plain statement of the action to be taken; 
(b)  the effective date of the action; 
(c)  an explanation of the reason(s) for the action; 
(d)  the regulation or other legal authority on which the action is based; 
(e)  contact information to obtain further information related to the action; 
(f)  an explanation of the right to request a review; 
(g)  a copy of the request for review form; 
(h)  the circumstances under which child care services may continue pending a review, if 
applicable; 
(i)  a notice of the right to be represented; and 
(j)  contact information for the EEC unit that receives appeal requests. 

All notices required by EEC regulation and policy will be deemed adequately served if they are  
mailed via regular mail to parents at their last known address, or if they are otherwise mailed or 
delivered to parents based on the contact information that they maintain with their contracted 
child care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator. 

 
(4)  Continuation of Care.  

(a)   The child care subsidy shall continue after receipt of a notice of termination or 
reduction if: 

(i) the parent takes appropriate action to resolve the circumstancesany unpaid fee 
balance under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) which caused the notice of termination or 
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reduction prior to the effective date of the notice; or 
(ii) prior to the effective date of the notice, the parent files with EEC  a request for a 
Review and a request for continuation of child care  services; and while the 
Review is pending, the parent keeps all undisputed fee payments current, and the 
child continues to attend care in accordance with EEC attendance policiesthe child’s 
authorization. 

(b)  Continuation of care shall not be allowed after receipt of a notice of denial. 
 
(5)  Restoration of Care.  The child care subsidy shall be restored after receipt of a notice of 
termination or notice of denial if: 

(a)  the parent takes appropriate action to resolve the circumstances which caused the notice 
of termination no later than 30 days from the effective date of the notice; or 
(b)  the parent takes appropriate action to resolve the circumstances of the denial notice 
no later than 30 days from the end date of the previous child care authorization; or 
(c)  the parent resolves any unpaid fee balance under 606 CMR 10.12 (1) no later than 30 
days from the termination date.  

 
10.11  Review Process 
 

(1)  Reasons for Review.  A parent may request an EEC Review when a contracted child care 
educator/provider or CCR&REEC or a Subsidy Administrator: 

(a)  denies, terminates or reduces the parent'sparent’s child care subsidy.  A denial based on 
failure of a parent to submit timely documentation in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03 (1)(g) is not 
eligible for review; 
(b)  terminates the parent’s child care subsidy; 
(c)  assesses a fee that the parent believes is not in accordance with EEC regulation or 
policy; or 
(d)  acts or fails to act in a way that the parent believes violates EEC subsidy regulations or 
policy.; or  
(e)  imposes a sanction pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12 

 
(2)  Scope of Review.  A parent may not challenge the legality of state or federal law in the EEC 
review process. The scope of an EEC review shall be limited to determining whether the 
contracted child care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator acted, or failed to act, 
in accordance with state or federal laws or regulations. 

 
(3)  Filing a Request for Review.  The parent shall submit to EEC a written, signed, and dated 
request for a review within 30 days of notice that their child care is being terminated or 
reduceddenied, or within 30 days of an action or determination by the child care 
educator/providerSubsidy Administrator which the parent claims violates EEC subsidy regulations 
or policy. The request for a review shall contain the parent's name, address, and telephone number; 
the name, address and telephone number of the contracted child care educator/provider or 
CCR&RSubsidy Administrator and the reason for the request. If a parent wishes to submit evidence 
in support of his or her request, such as documents or receipts, the evidence must be received by 
EEC within 14 calendar days of submitting the request for review, in order to make such evidence a 
part of the review record. 

 
(4)  Representation.  The parent may be represented by a person of his or /her choosing at any stage 
of the review process. 
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(5)  Continuation of Subsidized Child Care Services.  

(a)  In order for subsidized child care services to continue pending outcome of the review, 
the parent shall: 

(i)  file with EEC a written request for the continuation of child care services on a 
form provided or prescribed by EEC prior to the termination of the child care 
services; 
(ii)  at all times during the review process and any subsequent appeals keep all 
undisputed fee payments current; and 
(iii)  at all times during the review process and any subsequent appeals ensure that 
the child continues to attend care in accordance with EEC attendance policiesthe 
child’s authorization. 

(b)  Requests for review of a denial notice will not be eligible for continuation of care. 
 

(6)  Termination of Continued Subsidized Child Care.  Subsidized child care services continued in 
accordance with 606 CMR 10.1411(5)(a) shall be terminated if at any time during the review 
process or any subsequent appeals: 

(a)  a determination is made that the sole issue is a challenge to the validity of a particular 
law or EEC regulation; 
(b)  a change affecting the parent'sparent’s subsidy occurs subsequent to the filing of the 
request for a review which makes the previously filed request for a review moot, and the 
parent fails to request a hearingreviewappeal on the subsequent matter within the 
applicable time period; or 
(c)  the parent fails to comply with the requirements for continuing subsidized care listed 
in 606 CMR 10.1411(5)(b) and (ca). 

 
(7)  Preliminary Review. 

(a)  Notification.  Within seven days of receipt of the parent's request for review, the EEC 
Review Officer shall notify the contracted child care educator/provider or the 
CCR&RSubsidy Administrator of the Request for Review, and shall request that the child 
care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator submit evidence in support of his 
or her determination. The EEC Review Officer shall also notify the parent and the contracted 
child care educator/provider or the CCR&RSubsidy Administrator whether the subsidized 
child care shall continue pending the outcome of the review. 
(b)  Response.  Within seven days of the date of notification from EEC the contracted child 
care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator must submit to the EEC Review 
Officer its evidence in support of his or herits decision, action or inaction which allegedly 
forms the basis for the parent's request for review. 
(c)  Record.  The case record shall consist of any evidence submitted by the contracted child 
care educator/provider or the CCR&RSubsidy Administrator, any evidence submitted 
by the parent, and, if applicable, any evidence obtained by the EEC Review Officer, 
including, but not limited to, documentary evidence obtained from other local, state, and/or 
federal agencies. 
(d)  Decisions. 

1.  How Made.  The EEC Review Officer will review all information submitted by 
the parent and the child care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator 
and seek clarification from the parties, if necessary. The Review Officer may take 
administrative notice of general, technical or scientific facts within his or her 
specialized knowledge and may use his or her experience and specialized 
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knowledge in the evaluation of the evidence presented. The EEC Review Officer 
may also take administrative notice of any public records or information from other 
local, state, and/or federal agencies. 
2.  When Made.  Within 3060 days of EEC's receipt of the Request for Review 
or as promptly as administratively feasible, the EEC Review Officer shall issue a 
written decision to the parent and the child care educator/provider or 
CCR&RSubsidy Administrator which upholds, reverses, or modifies the 
educator’s/provider's or CCR&R'sSubsidy Administrator’s decision, action or 
inaction. 
3.  When Implemented.  Unless 606 CMR 10.1411(8)(b) applies, the EEC Review 
Officer's decision will be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth in 
the decision. 
4.  Notice of Right to Appeal.  The Review Officer's written decision shall inform 
the parent of the parent's right to appeal the written decision by requesting an 
Informal Hearing in accordance with 606 CMR 10.1411(8). If the parent does 
not appeal, the Review Officer's written decision shall become EEC's final agency 
decision. 

 
(8)  Informal Hearing.  After a Preliminary Review, aggrieved parents may appeal the EEC 
Review Officer's decision by requesting an informal hearing. 

(a)  Requesting an Informal Hearing.  Parents may request an informal hearing by submitting 
to the EEC General Counsel a written, signed, and dated request for an informal hearing on 
a form prescribed or provided by EEC within seven days of the date of the EEC Review 
Officer's written decision. The request for informal hearing must state the groundsreason 
for the appeal. 
(b)  Continuation of Benefits Pending an Informal Hearing.  If In order for subsidized child 
care services to continue pending the outcome of the appeal, the parent shall timely 
appealsappeal the decision in accordance with 606 CMR 10.1411(8)(a), the child care 
subsidy will automatically continue pending the outcome of the appeal unless EEC has 
determined, in writing, thatand shall comply with the requirements under 606 CMR 
10.14(6) applies.11 (5)(a). 
(c)  Notice of Hearing.  The General Counsel or the designated EEC Hearing Officer shall 
notify the Pparent, and the child care educator/provider or CCR&RSubsidy Administrator, 
and the EEC Review Officer of the date, time, and place of the hearing. The notice shall 
also describe the hearing procedure and the right to contact EEC to obtain further 
information, including the case file and documents to be submitted by EEC at the hearing. 
(d)  Hearings. 

1.  Procedure.  The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with 801 CMR 
1.02: Informal/Fair Hearing Rules. The General Counsel may appoint an EEC 
Hearing Officer to preside over the hearing. 
2.  Adjustment of Matters Relating to the Hearing.  The EEC Hearing Officer may 
make informal disposition of the adjudicatory proceeding by stipulation, agreed 
settlement, consent order, or default, and may limit the issues to be heard, in 
accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, § 10. 
M.G.L. c. 3.  30A, § 10.Submission Without a Hearing.  The parent may elect to 
waive a hearing and to submit any documents without appearing at the time and place 
designated for the hearing. Submission of a case without a hearing does not relieve 
the parties from supplying all documents supporting their claims or defenses. 
Affidavits and stipulations may be used to supplement other documentary evidence 
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in the record. 
4.  Location.  The Informal Hearing shall be held in EEC's Central Office, or a 
location designated by EEC. If the parent has a disability or is otherwise unable to 
appear at the Central Office, the parent may request that the hearing be held at an 
EEC regional office more conveniently located to the parent, subject to approval by 
EEC. 
5.  Hearing Record.  The EEC Hearing Officer shall ensure that a record is made of 
the hearing. All documents and other evidence offered and accepted shall become 
part of the record. The record shall also include the Request for Review, the 
Request for Informal Hearing and the decision by the EEC Review Officer. 
6.  Burden of Proof.  The EEC Hearing Officer's decision shall be supported by 
substantial evidence presented at the hearing. 

(e)  Reasons for Dismissal.  The EEC Hearing Officer may dismiss a request for an informal 
hearing if a parent: 

1.  fails to appear at the informal hearing, in accordance with 801 CMR 
1.02:Informal/Fair Hearing Rules; 
2.  fails to prosecute his or her claim, in accordance with 801 CMR 1.02: 
Informal/Fair Hearing Rules(10)(e);)€; or 
3.  withdraws the request for Informal Hearing in writing or on the record at the 
hearing. 

(f)  Decisions.  Within 30 days of60 days of conducting the Informal Hearing, or as 
promptly as administratively feasible, the EEC Hearing Officer shall issue a written 
decision in accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, § 11(8). 
(g)  Judicial Review and Finality of Decision.  The decision of the EEC Hearing Officer 
following an Informal Hearing shall be the final agency decision for purposes of judicial 
review under M.G.L. c. 30A. 
(h)  Further Appeal and Stay of Decision.  Following the Informal Hearing, the decision of 
the EEC Hearing Officer shall be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth 
in the EEC Hearing Officer'sOfficer’s decision unless the parent: 

1.  timely appeals the decision to superior court pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A; 
2.  submits a written request for a stay of the decision to the EEC General Counsel; 
and 
3.  the General Counsel grants the request for a stay.  

 
10.12  Sanctions 
 

A Pparent determined by EEC to have committed Substantiated Fraud or an Intentional 
Program Violation shall have a period of disqualification from eligibility for each child the Parent 
is authorized for pursuant to the following: 

 
(1)  Non-Payment of Fees.  If a Parentparent is determined to be in violation of the fee obligation 
pursuant to 606 CMR 10.03(2), then the family’seach child care subsidy shall be terminated until 
the unpaid balance is paid in full. After that time, the familyParent is eligible to return to care if 
allowable under 606 CMR 10.10 (4) or (5) or is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 
606 CMR 10.04, or pursuant to the applicable referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05 and 
10.06.   
 
(2) First Offense of IPV or Third Offense of Non-Payment of Fees. If a Parent is determined to 
have committed an IPV (other than non-payment of fees) or a third offense of non-payment of fees 
then the Parent shall receive a warning notification putting the Parent on notice that subsequent 
offenses will result in disqualification.  
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(23)  SecondFirst Offense of IPV or FourthThird Offense of Non-Payment of Fees.  If a Pparent 
is determined to have committed a secondn IPV (other than non-payment of fees) or a fourththird 
offense of non-payment of fees,  

10.12:  continued 
 
then the familyParent shall be disqualified from eligibility until the debt is repaid or for a period 
of 12 months from the date of termination, whichever is greater. After that time, the familyParent 
is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04, or pursuant to the applicable 
referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05 and 10.06.  
 
(43)  ThirdSecond Offense of IPV or FifthFourth Offense of Non-Payment of Fees.  If a Pparent 
is determined to have committed a thirdsecond IPV (other than non-payment of fees) or a 
fifthfourth offense of non-payment of fees, then the familyParent shall be disqualified from 
eligibility until the debt is repaid or for a period of 24 months from the date of termination, 
whichever is greater. After that time, familyParent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance 
with 606 CMR 10.04, or pursuant to the applicable referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05 
and 10.06  
 
(54)  FourthThird or More Offense of IPV, Substantiated Fraud, or SixthFifth or More Offense of 
Non-Payment of Fees.  If a Pparent is determined to have committed a fourththird or more IPV 
(other than non-payment of fees), or a sixthfifth or greater offense of non-payment of fees, or 
substantiated fraud then thefraud, the familyParent shall be disqualified from eligibility until the 
debt is repaid or for a period of 36 months from the date of termination, whichever is greater.  After 
that time, familyParent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04, or 
pursuant to the applicable referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05.  
 
(65)  A Parents with an active anTAFDC case in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a) shall be 
exempt from the termination or disqualification sanctions under this heading during the period 
theirhis or her TAFDC case remains open.  
 
(76)  A Parents with an active DCF referrals pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06 will be exempt from the 
termination or disqualification sanctions under this heading during the period the parent receives 
DCF-related child care pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06(4).  

 

10.13  Applicability 
 

If any provision contained in 606 CMR 10.00 or the application thereof is held invalid to any 
person or circumstance, the remainder of 606 CMR 10.00 and the application of the provision in 
question to other persons not similarly situated, or to other circumstances, shall not be affected 
thereby. 

 
 
 
REGULATORY AUTHORITY 
 

606 CMR 10.00:   M.G.L. c. 15D and 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8). 


