

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS AUTO DAMAGE APPRAISER LICENSING BOARD

1000 Washington Street • Suite 810 • Boston, MA 02118-6200 (617) 521-7794 • FAX (617) 521-7475 TTY/TDD (617) 521-7490 http://www.mass.gov/doi

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR GILBERT W. COX JR. CHAIRMAN

Joseph Coyne Richard Starbard William Johnson Lyle Pare

<u>Minutes of Meeting of the Board on August 18, 2015, Approved by the Board on</u> <u>September 29, 2015; Motion of Board Member William Johnson Second by Board Member</u> <u>Richard Starbard. The Motion Passed by a Vote of: 4-0, Chairman Cox Abstained.</u>

August 18, 2015 Minutes of Board Meeting Automobile Damage Appraiser Licensing Board Meeting Held at Division of Insurance, 1000 Washington Street, Boston, Massachusetts

Members Present:

Gilbert Cox, Chairman Richard Starbard William Johnson Lyle Pare

Attending to the Board:

Michael D. Powers, Counsel to the Board Steven Zavackis for the Division of Insurance, assigned to the Office of the General Counsel, took the minutes of the Board meeting.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Cox. Representatives from Geico Insurance Company and Liberty Mutual Insurance Company were present to submit applications for temporary motor vehicle damage appraiser's licenses because of the inordinate amount of motor vehicle damage claims that had been filed due to a sudden hailstorm that had occurred over various locations in Massachusetts on or about August 4, 2015. A representative from Geico Insurance Company submitted one application for a temporary license, Derek Jovan Vertreese.

GEICO:

Mr. Derek Jovan Vertreese's application was reviewed by Board Member Johnson and Mr. Johnson asserted that as long as applicants were licensed in other states he would agree to a temporary license for 90 days. After discussion, a motion was made by Mr. Johnson to grant a temporary license for 90 days subject to the payment of \$100. The motion was seconded by Board Member Pare and the motion passed by a vote of: 3-0, Chairman Cox abstained.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company submitted several applications for temporary motor vehicle damage appraiser licenses. Board Member Richard Starbard reviewed each of the applications and at the conclusion of his review of each application a motion was made by Mr. Starbard and

seconded by Board Member Pare. The following named individuals were granted a temporary license for 90 days and required to pay a fee of \$100. Each motion passed by a vote of: 3-0, Chairman Cox abstained.

Liberty Mutual:

Sais Maharaj Kenneth Poole Nathan Smith Craig Whitaker John Edmiston Jennifer Fitzgerald Robert Zuckerman Glen Whitaker Jacob Vlakancu Michael Froelich **Robert Potter** Joseph Peyton Joseph Parker Philip Jannazzo Thomas Kernan Barry Hyde Scott Honcharevich Michael Grogan David Guckiean Patrick DePaepe Oladapo Adeoti

Two of the applications that were submitted by Geico Insurance Company's representatives were not approved by the Board.

During the review of the application of Guillermo Delgado Board Member Starbard found that it was incomplete, and so informed the other Members of the Board. A suggestion was made by Board Member Starbard to set-aside the application with the other Board Members approving, and the application was not voted on by the Board.

The application of Mr. Thomas Batterson was reviewed by Board Member Starbard and found to have insufficient background experience indicated on the application. Board Member Johnson made a motion to deny the application which was seconded by Board Member Starbard, the motion to deny was passed by a vote of: 3-0, Chairman Cox abstained.

Board Member Starbard made a motion to adjourn the Board Meeting which was seconded by Board Member Johnson, and the motion passed by a vote of 4-0.

Whereupon, the Board's business was concluded.

The form of these minutes comports with the requirements of M.G.L. c. 30A, §22(a).