
          

       

      

         

       

       

        

         

    

        

        

       

        

              

         

          

      

        

        

          

       

          

        

        

        

       

         

      

        

          

          

        

          

830 CMR:   DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
 

830 CMR 64C.00: CIGARETTE EXCISE 

Section 

64C.34.1:   Penalty for Possession or Transportation of Unstamped Cigarettes 

64C.34.1:   Penalty for Possession or Transportation of Unstamped Cigarettes 

(1) Purpose. The purpose of 830 CMR 64C.34.1 is to describe the conditions under which the 

Commissioner may assess the civil penalties provided under M.G.L. c. 64C, §§ 34 and 35 

against: 

(a) Whoever, not being a licensed transportation company or a person specifically 

authorized by the Commissioner, whether by license or otherwise, holds for sale, offers for 

sale, sells, possesses with intent to sell, or otherwise disposes of cigarettes within the 

Commonwealth, unless each individual package containing said cigarettes has affixed thereto 

a Massachusetts cigarette excise stamp showing that said excise has been paid; or 

(b) Whoever, not being a stamper or licensed transportation company or such other person 

as the Commissioner may specifically authorize, whether by license or otherwise, knowingly 

possesses, delivers or transports unstamped cigarettes in the Commonwealth. 

The procedural requirements set out in M.G.L. 64C, § 8 will govern the criminal fines and 

penalties authorized under M.G.L. c. 64C, §§ 34 and 35. 

The administrative notice and assessment provisions of 830 CMR 62C.26.1, as applicable, 

will apply to the civil penalties imposed under M.G.L. c. 64C, §§ 34 and 35. 

(2) Definitions. 

Civil Penalty, a penalty up to, but not more than $5,000 for each violation. 

Commissioner, the Commissioner of Revenue or the Commissioner's duly authorized 

representative. 

Criminal Penalty, a fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in state prison for not more 

than five years, or both; provided, however, that a violation involving fewer than 12,000 

cigarettes shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more 

than one year, or both. 

Massachusetts Cigarette Excise Stamp, the adhesive stamp evidencing the payment of the 

Massachusetts cigarette excise under M.G.L. c. 64C. 

Violation, for the purposes of M.G.L. c. 64C, §§ 34 and 35, each instance of the doing of any act 

forbidden by M.G.L. c. 64C, §§ 34 and 35 and by 830 CMR 64C.34.1(a) and (b) shall constitute 

a separate violation. 

(3) General Rule. No person, other than a licensed transportation company or a person 

specifically authorized or licensed by the Commissioner, whether by license or otherwise, may 

hold for sale, offer for sale, sell, possess with intent to sell, or otherwise dispose of cigarettes 

within the Commonwealth, unless each individual package containing said cigarettes has affixed 

thereto a Massachusetts cigarette excise stamp showing that said excise has been paid. No 

person, other than a stamper or licensed transportation company or such other person as the 

Commissioner may specifically authorize, whether by license or otherwise, may knowingly 

possess or deliver or transport unstamped cigarettes in the Commonwealth. 

(4) Civil penalty for unauthorized persons holding for sale, offering for sale, selling, possessing 

with intent to sell, or otherwise disposing of cigarettes in the Commonwealth in individual 

packages not having a Massachusetts cigarette excise stamp affixed Thereto. 

(a) General. If the Commissioner determines that a person, other than a licensed 

transportation company or a person specifically authorized by the Commissioner, whether 

by license or otherwise, performs any act forbidden by 830 CMR 64C.34.1(1)(a), the 

Commissioner may assess a penalty against that person under M.G.L. c. 64C, § 34 for the 

failure to act in a manner as required by M.G.L. 64C in connection with the holding for sale, 

offering for sale, possession with intent to sell, the sale or other disposition of unstamped 

cigarettes in the Commonwealth. The amount of the penalty assessed shall not exceed 

$5,000 for each violation. 
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64C.34.1:   continued 

(b) Notice and Assessment of Penalty. The Commissioner will assess the civil penalty as 

allowed by M.G.L. c. 64C, § 34 under the notice of intention to assess and notice of 

assessment provisions of M.G.L. c. 62C and 830 CMR 62C.26.1 for each violation. The 

Commission may issue a non-compliance warning for a first violation in lieu of assessing the 

civil penalty. 

(5) Civil Penalty for unauthorized persons knowingly possessing, delivering or transporting 

unstamped cigarettes in the Commonwealth. 

(a) General. If the Commissioner determines that a person, other than a stamper or licensed 

transportation companyor such other person as the Commissioner mayspecificallyauthorize, 

whether by license or otherwise, performs any act forbidden by 830 CMR 64C.34.1(1)(b), 

the Commissioner may assess a penalty against that person under M.G.L. c. 64C, § 35 for the 

failure to act in a manner as required by M.G.L. 64C in connection with the transportation 

of unstamped cigarettes in the Commonwealth. The amount of the penalty assess shall not 

exceed $5,000 for each violation. 

(b) Notice and Assessment of Penalty.  The Commissioner will assess the civil penalty as 

allowed by M.G.L. c. 64C, § 35 under the notice of intention to assess and notice of 

assessment provisions of M.G.L. c. 62C and 830 CMR 62C.26.1 for each violation. The 

Commission may issue a non-compliance warning for a first violation in lieu of assessing the 

civil penalty. 

(6) Persons Wishing to Report Violations. Any person who wishes to report a violation of 

830 CMR 64C.00 should write to the Department of Revenue, Cigarette Excise Unit, P.O. Box 

7004, Chelsea, MA 02150, file Form CCRP, Cigarette Complaint Referral Form available at 

www.mass.gov/dor, or call 1-617-887-5090. 

REGULATORY AUTHORITY 

830 CMR 64C.00:   M.G.L. c. 14, § 6(1); c. 62C, § 3; 
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