

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

(617) 626-1520 | www.mass.gov/marinefisheries



MAURA T. HEALEY Governor KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL Lt. Governor REBECCA L. TEPPER Secretary THOMAS K. O'SHEA Commissioner DANIEL J. MCKIERNAN Director

September 21, 2024

Honorable Coastal Selectboards in the towns of Duxbury, Kingston, Plymouth, Bourne, Sandwich, Falmouth, Mashpee, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

In accordance with Chapter 130, section 74A of the Massachusetts General Laws, the Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that additional shellfish growing areas will need to close due to the continued rainfall totals from this afternoon and the rain forecast for this evening. Division of Marine Fisheries has determined that SC1-SC63, OC1-10, and CCB1-CCB48 in the towns of Duxbury, Kingston, Plymouth, Bourne, Sandwich, Falmouth, Mashpee, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown no longer meet the requirements for an open status following heavy rainfall from the storm event on September 20-21, 2024.

Therefore, under authority of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 130, sections 74A, **effective at 4:00 PM on September 21, 2024**, the areas identified below have been placed in a "**CLOSED TO SHELLFISHING**" status to the taking of all shellfish except carnivorous snails. Digging, harvesting or collecting and/or attempting to dig, harvest or collect shellfish and the possession of shellfish from the below-listed areas is prohibited.

Under authority of 322 CMR 7.01(7) all permits issued thereunder are hereby conditioned to prohibit the taking, selling or possession of shellfish from the below-listed areas.

STATUS: CLOSED TO THE TAKING OF ALL SHELLFISH (With the exception of Carnivorous Snails)

The waters, flats and all tributaries of SC1-SC63, OC1-10, and CCB1-CCB48 in the Towns of Duxbury, Kingston, Plymouth, Bourne, Sandwich, Falmouth, Mashpee, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown.

Individual shellfish growing area definition boundaries are mapped on the Division's website at Shellfish classification areas | Mass.gov.

The preceding areas (SC1-SC63, OC1-OC10, and CCB1-CCB48) shall remain in the closed status until examined by the Division and notification is made that the areas have been placed in the "Open" status.

Sincerely,

Daniel J. McKiernan, Director MA Division of Marine Fisheries

cc: C. Mason, C. Baker, MEP

B. Glenn, C. Petitpas, M. Camisa, DMF

J. Hobill, DEP

FDA, DPH

- J. Emerson, Duxbury Shellfish Constable
- D. Cullivan, Kingston Shellfish Constable
- C. Hunter, Plymouth Shellfish Constable
- H. Lawrence, Bourne Shellfish Constable
- D. DeConto, Sandwich Shellfish Constable
- C. Martinsen, Falmouth Shellfish Constable
- C. Avis, Mashpee Shellfish Constable
- A. Croteau, Barnstable Shellfish Constable
- C. Healy, Yarmouth Shellfish Constable
- J. Halloran, Dennis Shellfish Constable
- D. Yannuzzi, Harwich Shellfish Constable
- R. Gagne, Chatham Shellfish Constable
- N. Sears, Orleans Shellfish Constable
- S. Sykes, M. O'Connor, S. Richards, Eastham Shellfish Constables
- N. Civetta, Wellfleet Shellfish Constable
- T. Jackett, Truro Shellfish Constable
- S. Wisbauer, Provincetown Shellfish Constable