

## Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of the State Treasurer Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission 239 Causeway Street Boston, MA 02114

Kim S. Gainsboro, Esq. Chairman

## ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES CONTROL COMMISSION ("ABCC") ADVISORY REGARDING POWDERED ALCOHOL

On March 14, 2016, Governor Baker signed into law, "An Act Relative to Substance Use, Treatment, Education, and Prevention." This Act, in part, updates the Liquor Control Act, Mass. Gen. Laws Chapter 138. The Act defines powdered alcohol as "a nonmedicinal product in powdered or crystalline form that contains alcohol and is intended for consumption by direct use or when mixed with water or another substance." The Act prohibits anyone, including all licensees in the Commonwealth, from selling, manufacturing, and/or possessing powdered alcohol. Please be aware that violation of this law is now punishable by a fine of not less than \$100 and up to \$1,000.

This Advisory replaces the ABCC's March 12, 2015, Advisory regarding powdered alcohol. As a reminder, all licensees must ensure that they are in compliance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and that sale of alcohol and alcoholic beverages take place only as authorized by applicable law.

(Issued March 22, 2016)

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> M.G.L. c. 138, § 1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> M.G.L. c. 138, § 2A.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> M.G.L. c. 138, § 2A.