

Jean M. Lorizio, Esq. Chairman Commonwealth of Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission 95 Fourth Street, Suite 3 Chelsea, MA 02150

## ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES CONTROL COMMISSION ("ABCC") ADVISORY REGARDING OBLIGATIONS OF CATERERS LICENSED PURSUANT TO <u>M.G.L. c. 138, § 12C</u>

The Commission would like to remind caterers licensed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, § 12C of their obligations when selling and serving alcoholic beverages to be consumed on the premises of a private event that is not open to the public as well as what is prohibited by state law.

Licensed caterers pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, § 12C must:

- 1. Purchase their inventory of alcoholic beverages from licensed wholesalers;
- 2. Transport alcoholic beverages in a motor vehicle covered by a M.G.L. c. 138, § 22 transportation permit;
- 3. Store alcoholic beverages only on the premises approved by the ABCC that is either owned by the licensee or that the licensee has the exclusive right to occupy;
- 4. Maintain liquor liability insurance providing security for the liability of the licensee in a minimum amount of \$250,000 on account of injury to or death of 1 person and \$500,000 on account of any 1 accident resulting in injury to or death of more than 1 person;
- 5. Only permit individuals who have been certified by a nationally recognized alcoholic beverages server training program to serve alcoholic beverages; and
- 6. Prior to 48 hours before any private event:

(a) notify the police chief and the local licensing authority of the private event in the city/town;

(b) provide a copy of the caterer's license to the police chief and the local licensing authority;

(c) provide proof of liquor liability insurance to the police chief and the local licensing authority; and

(d) provide an emergency contact number for the license manager to the police chief and the local licensing authority.

Licensed caterers pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, § 12C may not sell or serve alcoholic beverages:

- 1. In a city or town where the granting of on-premises licenses pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, § 12 is not allowed by that municipality;
- 2. At the caterer's principal place of business;
- 3. At a private event not open to the public for greater than five hours; and
- 4. At events which occur in a licensed premises, i.e. a restaurant, hotel, club, etc.

As always, all licensees must ensure that they comply with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and that sales of alcoholic beverages take place only as authorized by federal, state, and local law.

Questions concerning this Advisory may be directed to Ralph Sacramone, Executive Director of the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission at (617) 727- 3040 x 731.

(Issued 6/12/2025)