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Delivery of alcohol:

• A Section 15 licensee is allowed to deliver to Massachusetts consumers 
if the entity holds a Section 22 transportation permit.  They may also 
use third parties licensed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, Section 22 as an 
express transportation licensee.

• Takeaway/delivery of mixed drinks (Mixed Drinks To-Go): Section 12 
establishments licensed for on-premises consumption of mixed drinks 
may permanently continue takeaway and delivery sales of mixed 
drinks.  All mixed drinks sold for takeaway/delivery must be sold with 
food and at the same price/proportion as mixed drinks for on-premises 
consumption.  Beer and wine by themselves are not included nor are 
unopened “ready to drink” cocktails.

• A Section 12 licensee is allowed to deliver mixed drinks with at least 1 
item of food prepared on-site sufficient to serve 1 individual to 
Massachusetts consumers if the entity holds a Section 22 
transportation permit.  They may also use third parties licensed 
pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, Section 22 as an express transportation 
licensee.

• Sale and delivery of the alcohol extends to the front door of the home 
to which alcohol is being delivered.

• Licensee’s Delivery Agent must verify the legal age and check ID of 
recipient at the time of delivery. 
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COMPLIANCE CHECKS

• Compliance Checks are a training tool required by law.

• Municipality and ABCC must conduct compliance checks.

• Compliance checks are intended to help the licensee comply with the law and local 
regulations.

• Compliance checks occur at brick-and-mortar locations as well as at deliveries of 
alcoholic beverages.
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IDENTIFICATIONS THAT LICENSEES MAY 
REASONABLY RELY ON

KNOW THE SIX ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION
1. Massachusetts Driver’s License 
2. Massachusetts Liquor ID Card 
3. Massachusetts ID Card 
4. Passport Issued by the United States or a government that is officially 

recognized by the United States 
5. A Passport Card for a Passport issued by the United States
6. A Military Identification Card
7. Valid Driver’s License issued by another state (beginning 4/8/2025)
8. Global Entry Card issued by US Customs and Border Protection (beginning 

4/8/2025)

Identification of Patrons. Licensees shall ensure that the identification of persons 
purchasing alcoholic beverages occurs at the point of sale or service. 
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204 CMR 2.05(2)- Permitting an illegality on the licensed premises, to wit: M.G.L. c. 138, § 34C- Possession of 
an alcoholic beverage by a person under 21 years of age (Underage drinking with parent(s) or guardian(s) is 
not allowed by law).

Exception: 18,19, and 20 year olds may handle alcoholic beverages in the course of their employment. This 
includes selling and transporting alcoholic beverages as well as working as a bartender, stocking shelves, and 
removing alcoholic beverages from tables (No person under 21 may drink an alcoholic beverage at any time).

Employees 17 years old and under cannot handle alcoholic beverages in any manner during their 
employment. 



OVERSERVING COMES BACK TO THE 
LICENSEE

“last place of drink”

MGL c. 90 § 24J 

Prior to sentencing for conviction of 
DUI or guilty plea for DUI, 

the guilty party must identify the 
name and location of the last place at 

which the individual was served.
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ABCC, Police, Fire, City Inspectors are authorized 
to inspect the licensed premises at any time.

Police Department has authority to investigate 
potential violations of the law at a licensed 
premises on behalf of the Board, and conduct 
enforcement.

The Licensee should ensure that  staff is aware 
and prepared to assist in allowing inspection of 
the licensed premises and responsive to 
questions during inspection.
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MGL c. 138 § 63A- Hindering or delaying investigator, inspector, or agent of Commission



A Licensee’s duty to protect patrons may be 
triggered when the conduct of another patron 
puts the Licensee or its employees on notice that 
harm is imminent.

A Licensee may discharge its duty to protect 
patrons by taking steps to prevent the harm, 
such as calling the police.

It is the responsibility of each licensee to exercise 
close supervision of its premises to ensure
compliance with the law.

There has been an increase in non-consensual 
drugging at bars, clubs, and other licensed 
premises.  Licensees are asked to be vigilant.
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Licensees have a duty to protect their patrons and others from foreseeable harm
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