Department of Fire Services
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Massachusetts
Burn Injury
Reporting System

www.mass.gov/dfs

Department of Fire Services
Stow Campus

1 State Road, P O. Box 1025
Stow, Massachusetts 01775
978-567-3100

Springfield Campus
100 Grochmal Aveenue
Springfield, MA 01151
978-567-3100

November 2018



The Massachusetts Burn Injury
Reporting System:
Questions and Answers

1. What is the burn injury reporting law in
Massachusetts?

Chapter 112, Section 12A of the Massachusetts General Laws
provides for the mandatory reporting of the treatment of
burn injuries.

2.  What kinds of burns must be reported?

Any burn injury of 5% or more of the surface body area must be
reported immediately by attending physician and/or emergency
room personnel.

3. How are burns reported?

By calling the state’s toll-free, 24-hour Burn Hotline at 1-800-
475-3443 and completing a written burn injury report and
mailing it immediately to: M-BIRS, Office of the State Fire
Marshal, P O. Box 1025, Stow, MA 01775.

or by

Completing the written report and faxing it to the Office of the
State Fire Marshal at 978-567-3199.

and by

Notifying the police chief/department of the city or town where
the burn occurred.



Who is legally responsible for reporting burns?

"Every physician attending or treating a burn injury, or whenever
any such case is treated in a hospital, sanitarium or other institution,
the manager, superintendent or other person in charge thereof”

When did the burn injury reporting system go
into effect?

On June 1, 1984, a joint memo was issued to all Massachusetts
hospitals, police chiefs, and fire chiefs from the state Commissioners
of Public Safety and Public Health advising that, as of that date,
the Massachusetts Burn Injury Reporting Law would be in effect.
It remains a cooperative effort between the Department of Public
Health and the Department of Fire Services.

What is the purpose of the burn injury

reporting law?

Primarily enacted as an aid in detecting arsonists who may burn
themselves accidentally during the course of their crime, the M-BIRS
program has proven useful in developing a sound burn data base
from which effective burn prevention and education programs may
be and have been developed.

What about burns which occur out of state but
which are treated here in Massachusetts?

All burns treated in Massachusetts must be reported.
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10.

11.

Does this include burns treated by a private
physician in a private setting?

Yes. All burns of 5% or more of the surface body area must
be reported.

What about patient transfers?

The physician and/or hospital, clinic etc. providing treatment of
a burn must make the required notifications immediately.

Is there a penalty for non-compliance?

Yes. Massachusetts law provides for punishment by a fine of up
to one hundred dollars for violation of the burn injury reporting
law. (C. 112, § 12A, MGL)

Where do we obtain more burn injury

reporting forms?

Forms are available online at www.mass.gov/dfs. Enter MBIRS in
the search box for the correct page. You can also obtain forms by
calling the 24-hour Burn Hotline at 1-800-475-3443 and leaving a

request. In addition, you can write or call the State Fire Marshal's
Office at P.O. Box 1025, Stow, MA 01775, 978-567-3382.



The Burn Reporting Process

Physician,
Hospital

Emergency Room

DO BOTH

Call 1-800-475-3443 and
send the written report to:

M-BIRS

Dept. of Fire Services
State Fire Marshal’s Office
P.O. Box 1025

Stow, MA 01775

Fax the written report
immediately to the State
Fire Marshal's Office to
978-567-3199

Call Police Chief in
city or town where
burn occurred

Fire Department
(Arson Squad)




How To Report Burns...

Immediately!
1. Call the Massachusetts 24-Hour, Toll-Free Burn Hotline

1-800-475-3443

2. Give the following information:

A
B.
C.
D.
E.
F.

G.
H.
L

J.

K.

Name of Hospital and Attending Physician

Victim's Name and Address (including city/town)
Age of Victim

Gender

Local Police Notified?

Date of Injury

Work Related? (If "yes", Employer Name?)

Address Where Burn Occurred (including city/town)
Part of Body Injured or % BSA

Cause of Burn

Type of Burn (flame, scald, chemical, fire, electrical,
sunburn, explosion, contact)

L. Severity (minor, moderate, severe, life-threatening, dead)

3. Notify the police chief/department of the city or town where
the burn occurred.

4. Complete the burn injury reporting form (Form FP-84-F,
supplied by the State Fire Marshal’s Office) and forward
immediately to:

M-BIRS

Office of the State Fire Marshal
PO. Box 1025

Stow, MA 01775

5. You may combine the immediate telephone notification
and the written report by faxing the written report
immediately to 978-567-3199.
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