

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Office of Medicaid www.mass.gov/masshealth



MassHealth Transmittal Letter ADH-27 October 2022

- TO: Adult Day Health Providers Participating in MassHealth
- **FROM:** Amanda Cassel Kraft, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth [Signature of Amanda Cassel Kraft]
  - **RE:** Adult Day Health Manual (Revised Service Codes and Descriptions)

MassHealth has revised Subchapter 6 of the *Adult Day Health Manual* to conform with the amended regulations 130 CMR 310.000. The amended regulations and service codes and descriptions for 130 CMR 310.000 (July 1, 2022) are available on the MassHealth Web site at www.mass.gov/masshealth.

Subchapter 6 contains the service codes and modifiers that Adult Day Health (ADH) providers must use to bill for ADH services provided to members. The revisions remove the health promotion and prevention (HPP) level of service, the lowest level of ADH services (see TL ADH–26). The revisions also remove the 15-minute unit codes and add a partial per diem unit code for both the basic and complex levels of service to be used for services rendered up to three hours per day.

Revisions have been made to nonemergency transportation, ambulatory and wheelchair, codes with the removal of the rates from provider customary rate structure and incorporated into Subchapter 6.

Notwithstanding the removal of the HPP level of care service codes, the service codes and modifiers are not allowed to be interchanged. MassHealth ADH providers are authorized to use the partial per diem service code for ADH services of fewer than three hours per day and the per diem service code for services rendered more than three hours per day.

If you have questions about the information in this transmittal letter, please contact MassHealth's LTSS Provider Service Center at (844) 368-5184 or email your inquiry to support@masshealthltss.com.

MassHealth Transmittal Letter ADH-27 October 2022 Page 2

## NEW MATERIAL

Adult Day Health Manual

Page 6-1

## **OBSOLETE MATERIAL**

(The pages listed here are no longer in effect.)

Adult Day Health Manual

Page 6-1 — transmitted by Transmittal Letter ADH-24

Commonwealth of Massachusetts MassHealth Provider Manual Series	<b>Subchapter Number and Title</b> 6. Service Codes and Descriptions	<b>Page</b> 6-1
Adult Day Health Manual	Transmittal Letter ADH-27	<b>Date</b> 10/17/22

## 601 Service Codes and Descriptions: Adult Day Health Services

MassHealth pays for the services represented by the codes listed in Subchapter 6 in effect at the time of service, subject to all conditions and limitations in MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 404.000 and 450.000. An adult day health provider may request prior authorization for any medically necessary service reimbursable under the federal Medicaid Act in accordance with 130 CMR 450.144, 42 U.S.C. 1396d(a), and 42 U.S.C. 1396d(r)(5) for a MassHealth Standard or CommonHealth member younger than 21 years of age, even if it is not designated as covered or payable in Subchapter 6 of the *Adult Day Health Manual*.

Service <u>Code - Modifier</u>	Service Description
\$5102	Day care services, adult; per diem. (Use for adult day health-basic level of care services over three hours per day.)
S5102-TG	Day care services, adult; per diem. (Use for adult day health-complex level of care services over three hours per day.)
S5101	Day care services, adult; partial per diem. (Use for adult day health-basic level of care services up to three hours per day.)
S5101-TG	Day care services, adult; partial per diem. (Use for adult day health-complex level of care services up to three hours per day.)

602 Service Codes and Descriptions: Transportation Services

See 130 CMR 404.413.

Service <u>Code - Modifier</u>	Service Description
T2003	Nonemergency transportation; non-wheelchair transportation; encounter/trip. (Use for transportation furnished on a single date or on consecutive dates.
	All transportation services must be billed as one-way trips; round trips should be billed as two one-way trips.)
T2003-U6	Nonemergency transportation; wheelchair transportation; encounter/trip. (Use for transportation furnished on a single date or on consecutive dates. All transportation services must be billed as one-way trips; round trips should be billed as two one-way trips.)

Commonwealth of Massachusetts MassHealth Provider Manual Series	Subchapter Number and Title6. Service Codes and Descriptions	<b>Page</b> 6-2
Adult Day Health Manual	Transmittal Letter	Date
	ADH-24	11/15/09

This page is reserved.