

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Division of Medical Assistance 600 Washington Street Boston, MA 02111

MassHealth Adult Day Health Bulletin 9 April 2000

- **TO:** Adult Day Health Providers (Contracted to Provide Dementia Services) Participating in MassHealth
- FROM: Mark E. Reynolds, Acting Commissioner
 - RE: Reimbursement for Dementia Day-Care Services

Background

In November 1999, the Legislature appropriated \$1,014,170 to be used for payment of dementia-specific adult day-care services. This bulletin explains the implementation of a new rate for dementia day-care services covered under the Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver (Waiver).

Only those providers that have a contract with an Aging Service Access Point (ASAP) to provide dementia day-care services may bill MassHealth for these services. Elder Affairs has issued instructions about MassHealth member eligibility standards for these services, and how to complete required documentation before a provider can bill for dementia day-care services. A copy of the Elder Affairs instructions is attached.

Once member eligibility is established and documentation is completed, Elder Affairs will notify providers of the effective date the member is enrolled in the Waiver. Providers may submit claims for dementia daycare services provided on or after July 1, 1999, only if the member was enrolled in the Waiver effective as of the date the service was rendered. If the effective date of enrollment in the Waiver is after the start date of services, then the provider may submit claims only for dates of service on or after the effective date of enrollment in the Waiver. Providers may not submit claims for dementia day-care services rendered before July 1, 1999.

Dementia Day Rate The rate for dementia day-care services covered under the Waiver has been established at \$55 per day, effective July 1, 1999.

MassHealth Adult Day Health Bulletin 9 April 2000 Page 2

Service Code	The new service code for dementia day-care services is X9842— Administrative Rate-Dementia. When dementia day-care services are billed in conjunction with the Adult Day Health (ADH) Service Code X9841, the combined rate is \$55.
Retroactive Billing	For dates of service for which the provider has already submitted ADH claims, the provider must submit claims with the new Service Code X9842 to receive the difference between the ADH rate for the date of service and the dementia-day rate of \$55.
	When billing for service dates that exceed the Division's 90-day billing deadline requirement, providers must submit their claims with the new Service Code X9842 to the 90-Day Waiver Unit at Unisys at the following address:
	90-Day Waiver Unit P.O. Box 9126 Somerville, MA 02145.
Current Billing	For dates of service for which the provider has not yet submitted ADH claims, the provider must submit claims for dementia day care using the standard ADH service code and the service code for dementia day-care services—X9842. These current claims can be submitted directly to Unisys.
Questions	If you have any questions about the information in this bulletin, please contact the Unisys Provider Services Department at (617) 628-4141 or 1-800-325-5231.