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An Advisory from the Massachusetts Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division on 

Chapter 306 of the Acts of 2004,  
An Act Relative to the Health and Safety on Public Construction Projects 

2008/2 
 
The Massachusetts Attorney General’s Office (AGO) issues the following Advisory regarding Chapter 
306 of the Acts of 2004, An Act Relative to the Health and Safety on Public Construction Projects (the 
“Act”).  This Advisory provides guidance with respect to the AGO’s understanding of and enforcement of 
the Act.  This Advisory is not a formal opinion.  Opinions of the Attorney General are formal documents 
rendered pursuant to specific statutory authority.  M.G.L. c. 12, s. 3, 6, and 9.  The Advisory is intended 
to provide guidance only and does not create any rights or remedies. 
 
 
I. Introduction 
 
The Act, which was signed into law on July 30, 2004, and became effective July 1, 2006, requires “any 
person submitting a bid for, or signing a contract to work on” any public works or public building, 
estimated to be worth more than $10,000, to certify that “all employees to be employed at the worksite” 
have successfully completed a 10-hour course in construction safety approved by the United States 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), referred to as the OSHA 10 course.  In order to 
demonstrate compliance, the Act requires persons to submit documentation of successful completion of 
the OSHA 10 course with the submission of the first prevailing wage certified payroll report (CPR) for 
each employee.  The AGO is responsible for enforcement of the Act and is authorized to undertake two 
actions to remedy violations of the Act.  First, the AGO can institute proceedings in Superior Court to 
restrain the awarding of and performance of contracts, and second, it may remove employees who do not 
have OSHA 10 training from the worksite. 
 
Since 1971, OSHA has promoted workplace safety and health by authorizing trainers to teach 
construction and general industry occupational safety and health standards and policy.  Construction 
industry outreach trainers are authorized to conduct 10- and 30-hour1 construction industry outreach 
courses.  According to the OSHA Outreach Training Program Guidelines, the 10-hour course is intended 
to provide training on construction safety and health to entry-level workers.2  Mandatory topics to be 
addressed include an introduction to OSHA, electrical training, and fall protection.  During the course, the 
trainers must also discuss at least three of the following topics:  

(i) personal protective and lifesaving equipment;  
(ii) materials handling, storage, use and disposal;  
(iii) tools – hand and power;  
(iv) scaffolds;  
(v) cranes, derricks, hoists, elevators and conveyers;  
(vi) excavations; and  
(vii) stairways and ladders.   

The 30-hour course is more detailed.  Trainers provide individuals who have completed an OSHA course 
a card issued by OSHA (the “OSHA Completion Card”).   
 
 
 

                                                 
1 The 30-hour course is also sufficient for OSHA 10 compliance. 
2 Questions regarding whether time spent at OSHA 10 training courses are compensable, as well as questions 
regarding who pays for the course, should be directed to the Commonwealth’s Division of Occupational Safety. 
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II.  Covered Individuals 
 
The Act requires “all employees to be employed at the worksite” to have the appropriate OSHA 10 
training.  In enforcing the Act, the AGO will require two categories of employees to have OSHA 10 
training.  The first category includes any employee who is entitled to receive the prevailing wage while on 
the worksite as determined by the Division of Occupational Safety.  See M.G.L. c. 149, s. 26-27D and 
27F.  The second category includes any other employee of any entity that is required to pay the prevailing 
wage at the worksite.  Generally, supervisors (with the exception of so-called “working foremen”) are not 
entitled to receive the prevailing wage and therefore serve as an example of employees who fall into this 
second category.  Employees who fall into one of these two categories and work on a public works or 
public building worksite shall be required to have the OSHA 10 training (the “Covered Employees”).  
Examples of individuals who are not Covered Employees are truck drivers and individuals delivering 
materials provided they are not entitled to the prevailing wage while on the worksite. 
 
 
III.  Responsibilities of Employers 
 
 
A.  Certification 
 
The Act requires “any person submitting a bid for, or signing a contract to work on” any public works or 
public building project to certify OSHA 10 compliance.  M.G.L. c. 30, s. 39M(c) and 39S(a)(2); M.G.L. 
c. 149, s. 44E-44F.   In order to comply with this certification requirement, public awarding authorities 
should include language in their public works and public buildings contracts requiring the contracting 
entities to certify that “all employees to be employed at the worksite shall have successfully completed a 
course in construction safety approved by the United States Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration that is at least 10 hours in duration at the time that the employee begins work.”  Likewise, 
all contracts between general contractors and subcontractors and between subcontractors and sub-
subcontractors for public works and public building contracts must contain the certification language. 
 
 
B.  Submission of Documentation 
 
All employers of “Covered Employees” shall be required to submit documentation of OSHA 10 training.  
The Act requires employers to submit documentation of “successful completion of said courses with the 
submission of the first [CPR] for each employee.”  M.G.L. c. 30, s. 39M(c); M.G.L. c. 149, s. 44E(2)(E) 
and 44F(2)(I).  In order to comply with this provision, any entity that files CPRs for a public works or 
public building contract should include with their CPRs documentation that every individual listed 
thereon has completed a course in construction safety approved by OSHA that is at least 10 hours in 
duration at the time that the individual begins work at the site.  The entity must only provide the 
documentation the first time the individual is listed on the CPR.  In addition, the CPR will include a 
column for the entity to “check off” that each individual listed therein has received the OSHA 10 training.  
Likewise, in order to capture the Covered Employees who are not entitled to the prevailing wage, any 
entity that is required to pay the prevailing wage at the worksite is required to provide a list of its 
employees not listed on the CPRs who work at the worksite and documentation of their OSHA 10 training 
within three days of the Attorney General’s request. 
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C.  Remedies 
 
In the event that there is a failure to meet the requirements described in Sections A or B, the Act 
authorizes the AGO to proceed to Superior Court to enjoin the award of contracts and the performance of 
contracts.  M.G.L. c.30, s. 39S(c). 
 
 
IV.  Removal of Individuals 
 
The Act provides “[a]ny employee found on the worksite without documentation of successful 
completion of a course in construction safety and health approved by the United States Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration that is at least 10 hours in duration shall be subject to immediate 
removal.”  M.G.L. c.30, s. 39S(b).  All Covered Employees must carry documentation of OSHA 10 
training on their person when they are on the worksite or be able to immediately direct a representative of 
the AGO to where documentation is kept on the worksite.3  In the event that a Covered Employee cannot 
provide documentation for representative of the AGO while the representative is on site, the Employee 
will be required to leave the worksite until the documentation is provided to the AGO. 
 
 
V.  Documentation 
 
An OSHA Completion Card or a copy thereof will be accepted as documentation that a Covered 
Employee has completed an OSHA 10 course.  The AGO will use its discretion to accept other forms of 
documentation only in rare situations where circumstances warrant.4 

                                                 
3 Accordingly, the AGO recommends that employers maintain copies of their employees’ OSHA Completion Cards 
on the worksite. 
4 The OSHA Outreach Training Program Guidelines note that it can take up to five weeks after a student has taken 
an OSHA course for an instructor to receive the OSHA Completion Card from OSHA.  The AGO will use its 
discretion to initially accept other forms of valid documentation that show a Covered Employee has taken the OSHA 
10 course in the preceding five weeks followed by the submission of the OSHA Completion Card or a copy thereof 
to the AGO upon receipt by the Covered Employee. 


