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MEMORANDUM 

 

To: Heads of Fire Department 

 

From: Peter J. Ostroskey 

 State Fire Marshal 

 

Date: May 1, 2018 

 

RE: Update to the Fire Code Violations Book (“Red Book”)  

 

 

As you are aware, the Board of Fire Prevention Regulations recently adopted the Massachusetts 

Comprehensive Fire Safety Code, 527 CMR 1.00 (NFPA 1, 2015 edition with MA amendments), 

effective January 1, 2018.   

 

As a result of the revisions, the Department of Fire Services has updated the familiar “red book” 

which contains a list of common fire code violations that are typically cited and subject to the 

civil M.G.L. Chapter 148A enforcement option.  The updated “red book” includes modifications 

to code section citations, as applicable, and has been expanded to include additional common 

violations. It will facilitate in the completion of the Massachusetts Non-Criminal Fire Code 

Violation Notice which has been previously approved by the courts and remains unchanged at this 

time.  The approved penalties, as stated in the red book, also remain unchanged:  1st offense - 

$100.00; 2nd offense - $500.00 and 3rd or subsequent offense - $1,000.00.   

 

Any city or town, who is authorized to write violations pursuant to M.G.L. c. 148A (by proof of 

the appointment of a designated hearings officer and receipt of Non-Criminal Code Violation 

Ticket books, as confirmed by the Division of Professional Licensure, Office of Public Safety 

Inspections (formerly known as the Department of Public Safety)), may request copies of this 

revised red book for their use.   

 

To request copies of the updated “red book”, please contact Ms. Lynch-Lent at (978) 567-3181 or 

by e-mail at MaryElizabeth.Lynch@state.ma.us.  Please be sure to include the minimum number 

of “red books” needed by your fire department.     
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If your community currently does not participate in the c. 148A Ticketing Program, and you 

would like more information on how to participate, please contact MaryElizabeth Lynch-Lent at 

the contact information listed above.   

 

“Fire Ticket Books” 

 

In addition, Departments are reminded that the Massachusetts Non-Criminal Fire Code Violation 

Code Tickets (“ticket books”) were updated in 2015 upon the adoption of 527 CMR 1.00 to 

reflect the new citation method.  The only change from the old ticket is the citation numbering 

scheme.    

 

“Ticket books” may be ordered at a cost of $21.80 per book (plus postage costs, which will be 

assessed at the time of ordering), by contacting: 

 

Lane Printing & Advertising 

210. S. Franklin Street 

Holbrook, MA 02343 

www.laneprint.com 

(781) 767-4450  

 

I hope that this information is helpful as we continue to assist you in your code enforcement 

efforts.  If you have any questions, please contact the Code Compliance and Enforcement Unit at  

(978) 567-3375.  
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