

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Massachusetts Environmental Police



Phone: (617) 626-1650 Fax: (617) 626-1670

AFFIDAVIT OF SURVIVING SPOUSE OR HEIRS

Name of Surviving Spouse/Heir:	
DOB of Surviving Spouse/Heir:	
SS # of Surviving Spot	use/Heir:
REFERENCE: Owner:	
Registration Number:	
Title Number:	
ATV/Snow/ Boat Manufacturer:	
ATV/Snow/ Boat Year:	
Hull/Vehicle ID Number:	

I/We certify that the above named decedent (copy of death certificate attached) was the owner of the above-described boat/vehicle registered in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

I/We further certify that the said boat/vehicle has not been disposed of otherwise by will and that under the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, the interest in said boat/vehicle shall pass to me as surviving spouse or heir.

_____ Signed under penalties of perjury.

Signature of Surviving Spouse/Heir

Date: _____

Notary Seal:

Signature of Notary: _____

An Agency of the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

<u>RETAINING THE BOAT/VEHICLE:</u>

- Notarized Affidavit of Surviving Spouse/Heir Form*
- Copy of Death Certificate
- Original title, if boat is 14 feet or longer** (Not applicable to ATV/Snow)
- Required fees to register/title (see fee schedule below)
- ST-6E Tax form
- Completed application

New title and registration numbers will be issued.

SELLING THE BOAT/VEHICLE:

(Documents to provide to a new buyer)

- · Notarized Affidavit of Surviving Spouse/Heir Form*
- Bill of sale or gift letter, written and signed by the surviving spouse/heir
- Copy of Death certificate
- Original title, if boat is 14 feet or longer, signed by spouse/heir (Not applicable to ATV/Snow) **

If the boat title from the deceased cannot be located, the surviving spouse/ heir will be required to obtain a title in their name. See ** note below.

*Note: If the spouse/heir presents a copy of the Probate of Will, the Affidavit of Surviving Spouse/Heir Form need not be notarized.

Note: In the event the title from the deceased cannot be located, the surviving spouse/heir must provide a notarized letter stating the original title has been lost. A **new title must be applied for by the surviving spouse/heir at this time. The spouse/heir need not apply for a **duplicate** title.

FEE SCHEDULE:

Boat Registration (2 Years):

Under 16ft: \$44.00 16 to < 26ft: \$66.00 26 to < 40ft: \$88.00 40ft plus: \$110.00

ATV/Snow (2 years): \$44.00 ATV/Snow - Out of State Resident (1 year): \$33.00 Title (Boat only):\$27.50 Duplicate Title/Add Lien: \$16.50

An Agency of the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs