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Background

July, 2020 — Lawsuit Filed

e Attorney General files lawsuit in
Massachusetts against Uber and Lyft.

* Lawsuit sought a determination that Uber
and Lyft drivers are employees entitled to
the benefits and protections of
Massachusetts Wage and Hour Laws.



May-June, 2024
Trial & Ballot Initiatives

 Three-week trial in Massachusetts Superior
Court.

e SJC approves Ballot Initiates



July, 2024 — Settlement Agreement

e Attorney General enters into settlement
agreement with Uber and Lyft.

e Settlement agreement resolves the lawsuit and
U/L agree not to pursue ballot initiatives.

* Uber and Lyft agree to pay $175 million and
provide substantial new benefits and
protections for drivers.



New Benefits and
Protections for Drivers

1. Minimum Driver Pay @ $32.50/hr
S33.48/hr as of 1/15/25

2. Back pay for drivers (2020-2024)

3. Paid sick leave

4. Stipend for paid family medical leave

5. Health insurance stipend

6. Occupational Accident Insurance

7. Guaranteed appeals process for deactivation



Minimum Driver Pay

Overview

Minimum driver pay started August 15, 2024
at $32.50 per hour of “engaged time.”

Each year, the minimum driver pay will be
increased based on inflation.

Beginning January 1, 2025, the floor
increased to $33.48



Minimum Driver Pay

How is minimum pay calculated?

* Uber and Lyft will track each driver’s “engaged
time” during a two-week period.

* For all engaged time, Uber and Lyft will ensure
the driver earns at least $33.48 an hour.

* |f adriver’s hourly earnings for that two-week
period are less $33.48 per hour, Uber or Lyft
will make up the difference.



Minimum Driver Pay

What is “Engaged Time”?

* The time between when a driver accepts a

ride and when the driver drops off the
rider.

* Uber driver app: “Active Time”
e Lyft driver app: “Booked Time”



Minimum Driver Pay

Can | track my engaged time? Where?

 Each company must report “engaged time” to
drivers.

 Uber: Go to the earnings tab in the driver app
and find the tab for “Massachusetts Benefits.”

e Lyft: Go to the Earnings Tab in the driver app
and find the Weekly Breakdown. This will
show your “booked time.”



Minimum Driver Pay

What if | earned more than $33.48 an hour?

* Minimum pay is a floor.

e Supplemental payments are only provided to
drivers who earned less than $33.48 an hour.

* Drivers who earned more do not get
supplemental payment.



Minimum Driver Pay

Example

e Driver’s engaged time (Sep. 1 —Sep. 14) =40 h

* Minimum pay for 40h = 40 hrs. x $33.48 per
hour = $1339.20

* Driver’s actual earnings = $950.00

* Supplemental payment = $1339.20-
$950=5389.20



Minimum Driver Pay

Minimum Pay for 40 hrs. (Sep. 1 — Sep. 14)
$1,600.00

$1,400.00

$1,200.00

$1339.20
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$0.00
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Minimum Driver Pay

Which trips count toward minimum pay?

* MA Rides — covered. Only rides that begin in
MA are covered by minimum driver pay.

* Rides beginning outside MA — not covered.
* Uber eats/food delivery - not covered.



Minimum Driver Pay

Which earnings count?
e All trip earnings (e.g. fares)
e All incentives and bonuses

Which earnings are excluded?
* Tips are excluded.

 Reimbursement for tolls, airport fees, other
fees paid by riders.



Minimum Driver Pay

When do | get paid?
* Drivers will get paid as usual (weekly or
instant/express pay).

* Every two-weeks Uber and Lyft will pay out
the supplemental payment to drivers.



Driver Restitution Payments

How much restitution in total?
— S145 million has been set aside for drivers.
Who qualifies for restitution payments?

— Drivers who completed trips for Uber and Lyft
between July 14, 2020 and July 2, 2024 may
qualify.

— Priority will be to pay restitution to the lowest
paid drivers.



Driver Restitution Payments

How will | know if | am getting payments?

—  The AG has hired settlement administrator Rust Consulting, Inc. Rust
will contact drivers about payment eligibility.

—  You do not need to file a claim and should not pay anyone to file a
claim for you.

— Rust will be provided information about your driving history and
calculate how much you are owed based on the rules the AGO sets.

—  You may need to confirm your address when Rust contacts you.
When will | get restitution payments?

— Eligible drivers will receive payments starting in Summer 2025.



Paid Sick Leave

What is paid sick leave?

* Drivers earn one hour of paid sick leave for
every 30 hours “engaged time.”

How much are drivers paid?

* Uber and Lyft will pay drivers $20.60 per hour
for sick leave.

 This benefit began in November 2024 at $20 per
hour.



Paid Sick Leave

Is there a maximum sick leave?
* Yes. 40 hours per year per company.

How do drivers use paid sick leave?
* Drivers can claim sick leave on Uber and Lyft apps.
* Drivers can claim sick leave in 1-hour blocks.

e Uber and Lyft will not ask about reasons for using
paid sick leave.

e Uber and Lyft will not require documentation of
the reason for using paid sick leave.



Paid Sick Leave

What qualifies for paid sick leave?

e Care for yourself, your child, spouse, parent,
or spouse's parent.

 Mental or physical illness or injury.

* Regular check ups, treatment or preventive
care.



Health Insurance Stipend

New health insurance benefit.

 Uber and Lyft will pay a stipend to drivers to
be used to obtain a qualifying health
insurance plan.

e When does it start? March 1, 2025.



Health Insurance Stipend

Who is entitled to the stipend?

 Anyone who has more than 15 hours engaged
time per week—for either or both
companies—will be able to earn a health
insurance stipend.

* Drivers can pool their hours driving for the
two companies to obtain access to a health
insurance stipend.



Health Insurance Stipend

How much is the health insurance stipend?

15+ hours average engaged time per week = 50%
stipend.

e 25+ hours average engaged time per week =
100% stipend.

The Health insurance stipend will be paid quarterly.

What do | need to do to get my health insurance

stipend?

 More information will be provided in February
2025.



Paid Family Medical Leave

Drivers receive a paid stipend to buy into the state’s
paid family and medical leave program.

 Uber and Lyft to pay drivers 50% of the cost of
joining the Massachusetts Paid Family Medical
Leave Program.

* Stipend paid by Uber and Lyft to drivers quarterly.

 Stipend will be approximately $2 per S500 in
driver earnings.

* Starts January 30, 2025.



Paid Family Medical Leave

For more information to buy into the MA PFL
program, Visit:

* https://www.mass.gov/info-details/paid-
family-and-medical-leave-coverage-for-self-
employed-individuals



Occupational Accident Insurance

What is it?

* Drivers are eligible for occupational accident insurance
coverage paid by Uber and Lyft.

* |nsurance that covers medical expenses and lost
income for injuries sustained while the Driver is online.

How much coverage?

* |nsurance cover up to $1 million in work-related
Injuries.

 Up to 156 weeks following an injury.
* Benefits for partial and total disability, and death.



Occupational Accident Insurance

When does it start?
e Started October 1, 2024.
Do drivers need to enroll?

* No, the benefit is automatically provided by
Uber and Lyft.

Do drivers pay?

* No, Uber and Lyft will not deduct or charge
drivers for benefit.



Account Deactivation Appeals

* Drivers will receive written notification of
deactivation with information about why a
driver was deactivated as well as the right to
appeal any deactivation.

* Drivers will be able to appeal all Lyft or Uber
decisions to deactivate that driver.

e Started September 2, 2024.

* The AG does not have authority to reverse or
review the deactivation reason.



Driver Trip Information

Uber and Lyft must:

* Provide drivers with information about the
length of a trip, the destination, and the
expected earnings before they are expected to
accept a ride.

* Provide drivers with detailed pay
information about their earnings and how
much a rider has paid once a trip is
completed.



Protections from Retaliation

e Lyft and Uber will not in any manner retaliate
against any Drivers because they complained
to the Attorney General or made claims under

the settlement agreement.



More resources

e Visit AGO website
https://www.mass.gov/ago/uberlyft



https://www.mass.gov/ago/uberlyft

Contact AGO/FLD

www.mass.gov/ago/fairlabor

Fair Labor Division Hotline:
(617) 727-3465
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