

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Office of Medicaid

www.mass.gov/masshealth

MassHealth All Provider Bulletin 317 April 2021

TO: All Providers Participating in MassHealth

FROM: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth

RE: Update to Authorized Providers for Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Vaccine Administration

Background

This bulletin, which supplements <u>All Provider Bulletins</u> 304 (published December 2020), 307 (January 2021), 312 and 313 (both March 2021), lists additional authorized providers who may bill MassHealth for COVID-19 vaccine administration. This bulletin applies to members enrolled in MassHealth fee-for-service, the Primary Care Clinician (PCC) Plan, or a primary care accountable care organization (ACO). Information about coverage through MassHealth managed care entities (MCEs) and the Program for All-inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) will be included in a forthcoming MCE bulletin.

Updated Authorized Providers

In addition to all provider types identified in the All Provider Bulletins above as eligible to receive reimbursement from MassHealth for COVID-19 vaccine administration, through this bulletin, MassHealth is permitting acute treatment services providers, clinical stabilization services providers and dental providers to bill MassHealth for COVID-19 vaccine administration, even if they are not currently authorized to receive payment from MassHealth to administer other vaccines.

Those provider types listed may bill and receive payment from MassHealth for the administration of the COVID-19 vaccines to MassHealth members, provided that they

- ensure the rendering provider is authorized to administer COVID-19 vaccine under state law and fully complies with any requirements set forth by the Department of Public Health and any relevant boards;
- are registered with DPH's Massachusetts Immunization Information System (MIIS); and
- are enrolled in the Massachusetts COVID-19 Vaccination Program via the MIIS to receive COVID-19 vaccines.

Qualified providers may submit claims to MassHealth retroactively to the date of approval for the particular vaccine product. Acute treatment services and clinical stabilization services providers administering the vaccine to members enrolled with MassHealth's behavioral health vendor (including members in the PCC Plan or a Primary Care ACO) should submit claims for payment to MassHealth, and not to MassHealth's behavioral health vendor.

MassHealth All Provider Bulletin 317 April 2021 Page 2 of 3

Acute treatment services and clinical stabilization services providers will use the same codes and receive the same rates as described in All Provider Bulletin 313 (March 2021). Dental providers should use the codes in the following table when submitting claims for COVID-19 vaccine administration.

COVID-19 Vaccine Codes for Dental Providers

MassHealth expects to pay the following rates to dental providers, including but not limited to dentists, public health dental hygienists, and dental clinics, for the following codes, effective April 1, 2021. MassHealth expects that these rates will be formally established through the issuance of an administrative bulletin by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS).

Code	Allowable Fee	Description of Code
D1701	\$45.87	Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine administration – first dose (SARSCOV2 COVID-19 VAC mRNA 30mcg/0.3mL IM DOSE 1)
D1702	\$45.87	Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine administration – second dose (SARSCOV2 COVID-19 VAC mRNA 30mcg/0.3mL IM DOSE 2)
D1703	\$45.87	Moderna COVID-19 vaccine administration – first dose (SARSCOV2 COVID-19 VAC mRNA 100mcg/0.5mL IM DOSE 1)
D1704	\$45.87	Moderna COVID-19 vaccine administration – second dose (SARSCOV2 COVID-19 VAC mRNA 100mcg/0.5mL IM DOSE 2)
D1707	\$45.87	Janssen Covid-19 vaccine administration (SARSCOV2 COVID-19 VAC Ad26 5x1010 VP/.5mL IM SINGLE DOSE)

Dental providers should not bill for the vaccine itself, as it is anticipated that it will be provided at no cost.

MassHealth Website

This bulletin is available on the <u>MassHealth Provider Bulletins</u> web page.

To sign up to receive email alerts when MassHealth issues new bulletins and transmittal letters, send a blank email to <u>join-masshealth-provider-pubs@listserv.state.ma.us</u>. No text in the body or subject line is needed.

MassHealth All Provider Bulletin 317 April 2021 Page 3 of 3

Questions

If you have questions about the information in this bulletin generally, please contact the MassHealth Customer Service Center at (800) 841-2900, email your inquiry to providersupport@mahealth.net, or fax your inquiry to (617) 988-8974. If you have questions about the bulletin relating to dental providers, please contact MassHealth Dental Customer Service at (800) 207-5019, or email your inquiry to inquiries@masshealth-dental.net.

For LTSS Providers (Home Health and Hospice Providers)

The MassHealth LTSS Provider Service Center is open from 8 am to 6 pm ET, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. If you have questions about this bulletin or other MassHealth LTSS provider questions, address them to the LTSS third party administrator (TPA) as follows.

Method	Contact Information for MassHealth LTSS Provider Service Center	
Phone	Toll-free (844) 368-5184	
Email	support@masshealthltss.com	
Mail	MassHealth LTSS PO Box 159108 Boston, MA 02215	
Fax	(888) 832-3006	
LTSS Provider Portal	Trainings, general Information, and future enhancements will be available at www.MassHealthLTSS.com .	