Alzheimer's Advisory Council

Meeting Minutes February 9, 2021 2:30-5:00 pm

Date of meeting: Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Start time: 2:30 pm End time: 5:00 pm

Location: Virtual Meeting (WebEx)

Members participating remotely		Vote I*	Vote 2	Vote 3	Vote 4
1	Secretary Elizabeth Chen – EOEA (chair)	X	X	×	×
2	Susan Antkowiak – Alzheimer's Association - MA/NH Chapter	Х	Х	Х	X
3	Michael Belleville – Alzheimer's Advocate	Х	Х	Х	X
4	Andrew Budson – VA Boston Healthcare System	Х	Х	Х	X
5	Tricia Farley-Bouvier – MA House of Representatives	X	Х	X	X
6	Jonathan Jackson – MGH	Х	Х	Х	Х
7	Patricia D. Jehlen – MA Senate	-	Х	X	X
8	Rhiana Kohl – Caregiver	-	-	X	X
9	James Lavery – DPH (designee of Commissioner Bharel)	Х	Х	Х	X
10	Barbara Meehan – Alzheimer's Advocate/Former Caregiver	Х	-	-	X
11	Hector Montesino – Alzheimer's Advocate	X	X	X	X
12	Bernice Osborne-Pollar – Caregiver	X	Х	X	X
13	Linda Pellegrini – UMass Memorial Medical Center	Х	Х	Х	X
14	Heather Sawitsky – Fox Hill Village Homeowners Corp.	X	Х	X	X
15	James Wessler – Alzheimer's Association	Х	Х	Х	Х
Members not in attendance					
16	Maura Brennan – Baystate Health	-	-	-	-
17	Robin Callahan – MassHealth (ret.)	-	-	-	-

^{* (}X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

Proceedings

Secretary Chen called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm. She welcomed members and noted that all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call.

Vote I to approve the I2/I/2020 minutes: Secretary Chen requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Council's last meeting on December I, 2020. Mr. Wessler introduced the motion, which was seconded by Mr. Belleville and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Representative Farley-Bouvier and Mr. Wessler presented on the Diagnosis and Services Navigation Workgroup's recommendations and implementation strategies. For additional details on the workgroup's presentation, refer to the group's presentation on the Alzheimer's Advisory Council's Meeting Materials webpage.

Senator Jehlen and Ms. Kohl joined the discussion at 3:00 pm.

Vote 2 to adopt the Diagnosis and Services Navigation Workgroup's recommendations: Secretary Chen requested a motion to adopt the two recommendations of the Diagnosis and Services Navigation Workgroup. Ms. Pelligrini introduced the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Antkowiak and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Dr. Jackson presented the Equitable Access Workgroup's goals, recommendations and implementation strategies for 2021-2022. For additional details on the workgroup's recommendations and implementation strategies, refer to the presentation on the Alzheimer's Advisory Council's <u>Meeting Materials webpage</u>.

Vote 3 to adopt the recommendations of the Equitable Access and Care Workgroup: Secretary Chen requested a motion to adopt the Equitable Access and Care Workgroup's recommendations for 2021-2022. Mr. Wessler introduced the motion, which was seconded by Mr. Belleville and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Ms. MacLeod presented an overview of the Council's draft Annual Report and ADRD State Plan, which had been circulated to Council members in advance of the meeting. For additional details on the Council's Annual Report and State Plan, refer to the presentation on the Alzheimer's Advisory Council's Meeting Materials webpage.

Based on the group's discussion following Ms. MacLeod's presentation on the draft Annual Report, Secretary Chen requested that Ms. MacLeod work with Ms. Kohl and Mr. Belleville to explore the feasibility of creating a separate workgroup focused on Younger Onset ADRD.

Vote 4 to adjourn:

Secretary Chen requested a motion to adjourn. Representative Farley-Bouvier introduced the motion, which was seconded by Mr. Lavery and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 pm.