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COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 
Supreme Judicial Court 

 
At the Supreme Judicial Court holden at Boston within and 

for said Commonwealth on the third day of September, in the year 
two thousand and twenty-five: 

 
present, 

 
 
    KIMBERLY S. BUDD  )      
         ) Chief Justice 
         ) 
    FRANK M. GAZIANO  ) 
         ) Justices 
         ) 
    SCOTT L. KAFKER    ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    DALILA ARGAEZ WENDLANDT ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    SERGE GEORGES, JR.   ) 
            ) 
         ) 
    ELIZABETH N. DEWAR  ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    GABRIELLE R. WOLOHOJIAN  ) 
 
 
 
ORDERED: That the Massachusetts Rules of Appellate Procedure, 

as amended by order effective March 1, 2019, are 
hereby amended as follows: 

 
 
Rule 4 By deleting Mass. R. A. P. 4(a) and inserting in lieu 

thereof the following Mass. R. A. P. 4(a): 
 

(a) Appeals in Civil Cases. 
 
(1) Time for Filing a Notice of Appeal. 
 

(A) Generally. In a civil case, unless otherwise 
provided by statute, the notice of appeal 
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required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk 
of the lower court 
 

(i) within 30 days of the date of the entry 
of the judgment, decree, appealable order, 
or adjudication appealed from; but 
  
(ii) if the Commonwealth or an officer or 
agency thereof is a party, the notice of 
appeal may be filed by any party within 60 
days of such entry, except 
 
(iii) in child welfare cases, in which the 
notice of appeal shall be filed within 30 
days from the date of the entry of the 
judgment, decree, appealable order, or 
adjudication. 

 
(B) Mistaken Filing in the Appellate Court. If a 
notice of appeal is mistakenly filed in an 
appellate court, the clerk of such appellate 
court shall note the date on which it was 
received and transmit it to the clerk of the 
lower court from which the appeal was taken and 
it shall be deemed filed in such lower court on 
the date so noted. 
 
(C) Multiple Appeals. If a timely notice of 
appeal is filed by a party, any other party may 
file a notice of appeal within 14 days of the 
date on which the first notice of appeal was 
filed, or within 14 days of when the first notice 
becomes effective pursuant to Rule 4(a)(2)(B), or 
within the time otherwise prescribed by this 
rule, whichever period last expires. 

 
(2) Effect of Postjudgment Motion. 
 

(A) Applicable Motions. If a motion is made or 
served in a timely manner under the Massachusetts 
Rules of Civil Procedure and filed with the lower 
court by any party, the time to file an appeal 
runs for all parties from the entry of the order 
disposing of the last remaining motion: 
 

(i) for judgment under Rule 50(b); 
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(ii) under Rule 52(b) to amend or make 
additional findings of fact, whether or not 
an alteration of the judgment would be 
required if the motion is granted; 
 
(iii) to alter or amend a judgment under 
Rule 59 or for relief from judgment under 
Rule 60(b), however titled, but only if 
either motion is served within 10 days after 
entry of judgment; or 
 
(iv) under Rule 59 for a new trial. 

 
(B) Notice of Appeal Filed Before Disposition of 
Motions. If a party files a notice of appeal from 
an underlying judgment, decree, appealable order, 
or adjudication before the court disposes of any 
motion listed in Rule 4(a)(2)(A), the notice 
becomes effective—but only as to such judgment, 
decree, appealable order, or adjudication—upon 
the entry of the order disposing of the last such 
remaining motion. 
 
(C) Appeal After Disposition of Postjudgment 
Motion.  A party intending to challenge an order 
disposing of any motion listed in Rule 
4(a)(2)(A), or a judgment’s alteration or 
amendment upon such a motion, must file a notice 
of appeal, or an amended notice of appeal, within 
the time prescribed by this Rule measured from 
the entry of the order disposing of the last such 
remaining motion. 

 
Rule 4 By deleting the last sentence of Mass. R. A. P. 4(d) 

and inserting in lieu thereof the following sentence: 
 

If such party files the first notice of appeal in a 
civil case under Rule 4(d), the 14-day period provided 
in Rule 4(a)(1)(C) for another party to file a notice 
of appeal runs from the date when the lower court 
enters the first notice, or the date when the first 
notice becomes effective pursuant to Rule 4(a)(2)(B), 
or the date otherwise prescribed by this rule, 
whichever is later. 
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Rule 9 By deleting Mass. R. A. P. 9(e)(1)(A)(iii) and 
inserting in lieu thereof the following Mass. R. A. P. 
9(e)(1)(A)(iii): 

 
(iii) the expiration of the time for filing any other 
notice of appeal after the filing of a first notice of 
appeal, pursuant to Rule 4(a)(1)(C) or 4(d); or 

 
 

The amendments accomplished by this order shall take effect 
on October 1, 2025. 
 
 
 

ORDERED: 
 
 
 

    KIMBERLY S. BUDD  )      
         ) Chief Justice 
         ) 
    FRANK M. GAZIANO  ) 
         ) Justices 
         ) 
    SCOTT L. KAFKER    ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    DALILA ARGAEZ WENDLANDT ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    SERGE GEORGES, JR.   ) 
            ) 
         ) 
    ELIZABETH N. DEWAR  ) 
         ) 
         ) 
    GABRIELLE R. WOLOHOJIAN  ) 
 


