SUPREME JUDICIAIL COURT
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

NOTICE OF APPROVAL

Notice is hereby given that the Supreme Judicial Court has
approved and promulgated rules as further indicated below.

RALPH D. GANTS
Chief Justice

1. Court Submitting Rules for Approval:

Court Administrator

2. Date Rules Submitted for Approval:

August 11, 2016

3. Date Approved & Promulgated by the Supreme Judicial Court:

September 28, 2016

4. Rule or Rules, or Amendments Thereto, Approved and
Promulgated:

Amendments to Uniform Schedule of Fees for the Trial Court,

as attached.

5. Effective Date:

November 1, 2016

(The original of this notice is to be filed in the office of the
Clerk of the Supreme Judicial Court for the Commonwealth, and a
copy to be sent by the Clerk to the court which requested
approval of the rules.)



THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE TRIAL COURT
John Adams Courthouse
One Pemberton Square, Floor 1M
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
617-878-0203

Harry Spence
Court Administrator

August 11, 2016

Hon. Robert J. Cordy
Supreme Judicial Court
John Adams Courthouse
One Pemberton Square
Boston, MA 02108

Dear Justice Cordy,

Pursuant to G.L. ¢. 262, §4B I submit for review and approval the attached updated Uniform
Schedule of Fees.

The updated Schedule includes three changes from the existing list of fees. The cost of unattested
copies of court documents has been reduced from $1 to $.05. While the Trial Court is not covered by the
recently passed Public Records statute, C. 121 of the Acts of 2016, the change in fee aligns the Trial Court
with other entities of the Commonwealth and will reduce financial impediments to users of the court
systemnl.

Another change to the Schedule is the inclusion of a $10 fee for Electronic Access to Audio
Recordings of hearings. The Trial Court is in the process of implementing a state-of-the-art digital
recording system that will allow online access to court proceedings. The creation of this fee recognizes this

technology. Also to mect changes in technology and in anticipation of expanded use of digital records, a
fee for documents in a pdf format is being instituted.

Tn addition, we propose a language change to the fee relative to “Unattested copy...” in order to

align this description with language in Rule 2(h) of the Proposed Trial Court Rules on Pubhc Access to
Court Records by including a “printout” in that description.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. Please contact me, if you need any additional
information.

cc: Hon. Ralph D. Gants, Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court
Hon. Paula M. Carey, Chief Justice of the Trial Court



UNIFORM SCHEDULE OF FEES Pursuant to G.L., Chapter 262, Section 4B

CURRENT FEE

DESCRIPTION of FEE AMOUNT PROPOSED FEE AMOUNT
Certificate of orders, decrees, rulings, judgments or other proceedings $20.00 $20.00
Attested copy of court documents, records including docket sheets and other papers in possession and
under the control of the clerk, register or recorder, per page 52.50 $2.50
Unattested copy or print out of court documents, records or other papers ._:.vommmmm_os and under the
control of the clerk, register or recorder, per page $1.00 50.05
Blank summons {other than any summons in a small claims action or incident to a petition for victim
compensation) or blank writ {except habeas corpus) $5.00 55.00
Blank subpoena far one or more witnesses 55.00 $5.00
Writ of habeas corpus £15.00 $15.00
Each order of notice, citation or precept in District, Probate & Family and BMC Court Departments $15.00 $15.00
Transcript of judgment $50.00 $50.00
Recording of notorial commission 515.00 $15.00
Certification of notarized document to be used in another state or country $5.00 $5.00
Taking and recording a recognizance under G.L. c. 256 $20.00 $20.00
Approval or disapproval of sureties on bonds or recognizances (but not for approval of appeal or removal
bonds filed in small claims or other civil actions $20.00 520.00

Compact Disk or tape cassette recordings of proceedings, per 80 minutes or portion therof

$50.50 {plus postage)

$50.50 {plus postage)

Commissions to take depositions $20.00 $20.00
Waivers of notice of marriage in the Departments of the Trial Court where no statutory filing fee is

applicable $50.00 $50.00
Utility company warrants under G.L.c. 164, 5116 515.00 $15.00
Affidavit of creditors under G.L.c. 224, § 6 525.00 $25.00
Notice to creditor of debtor's desire for examination under G.L.c. 224, § 6 $20.00 $20.00
Electronic Access to audio recording of court case (hearing) per case, per day. Multi day hearings are $10.00

per day N/A $10.00

APDF or other electronically formatted document N/A $5.00 (plus $4 if CD is mailed)




