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Summary of Evidence 
 
Both parties appeared by telephone. At the hearing, MassHealth submitted a one-page 
appeal worksheet along with copies of financial verifications (Exhibit B). Appellant filed a 
packet of documents. After the hearing, Appellant filed additional documentation (Exhibit 
F) and refiled a number of documents that included those filed at the time of hearing 
(collectively, Exhibit C).  MassHealth filed a written response (Exhibit D). 
 
The MassHealth representative testified that Appellant, a resident of a skilled nursing 
facility in Massachusetts, filed an application for MassHealth Long Term Care benefits.  
The application revealed that Appellant had the following assets: Life Insurance cash 
surrender value: $181.81; bank account: $510.03; and a mobile home located in the state 
of Louisiana valued at $38,340.00. The MassHealth representative testified that because 
these assets total more than the eligibility limit of $2,000.00, the application was denied 
and Appellant was advised of the need to properly spend down the excess assets (Exhibit 
A).1 
 
Appellant was represented by the manager of the business office of the skilled nursing 
facility where Appellant resides. Appellant’s representative testified that the mobile home 
belongs to Appellant’s daughter, not Appellant.  Appellant’s representative referred to the 
“Final Sales Order” dated November 11, 2014, showing that Appellant’s daughter 
purchased a new mobile home from a manufacturer in Louisiana and the home was to be 
set-up in Louisiana (Exhibit C, page 10). 
 
In response, the MassHealth representative stated that the sales document identifies a 
set-up address that differs from Appellant’s former home in Louisiana.  Appellant’s 
representative testified that the mobile home was moved between the time it was initially 
set-up and the time that Appellant left it to return to Massachusetts.  According to 
Appellant’s representative, Appellant lived with her daughter in the mobile home while she 
was living in Louisiana.  
 
The MassHealth representative further testified that the value of the mobile home was 
garnered from a document from the local Assessor’s Office which identifies Appellant as 
the 100% owner of the mobile home as of January 4, 2016 (Exhibit B, page 2). 
 
In response, Appellant’s representative noted that the tag number identifying the mobile 
home is the same on both the sales document and the Assessor’s Office document 
indicating that this is the same mobile home that Appellant’s daughter purchased in 2014.  
Appellant’s representative also testified that when Appellant went to live with her daughter 
in 2016, she went to the local Assessor’s Office to apply for a Homestead tax exemption in 
the mobile home. According to Appellant’s representative, Appellant does not own the land 

 
1 The subject notice contains an error in that the mobile home value was incorrectly listed as $3,834.00 
(Exhibit A).  This was later corrected by notice dated January 18, 2023 (Exhibit F) 
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on which the mobile home is situated, but under Louisiana law, a Homestead tax 
exemption may still be granted for a mobile home even if the land is not owned by the 
person who owns the mobile home. Appellant’s representative also asserts that you do not 
need to establish that you are the owner of the mobile home in order to get the tax 
exemption. Appellant’s representative highlighted a section of a document from the local 
Assessor’s Office which states that the only documentation a Homestead applicant needs 
to provide is copy of the applicant’s valid driver’s license or government-issued ID and 
proof of the square footage of the home (Exhibit C, page 22).  According to Appellant’s 
representative, an applicant does not need to establish that he/she is the owner. 
Appellant’s representative testified that Appellant went to the Assessor’s office and applied 
for the Homestead tax exemption when she moved into the mobile home in 2016 and 
provided a copy of her license and the square footage. 
 
The hearing officer question Appellant’s representative as to who paid the taxes.  
Appellant’s representative testified that the daughter paid the taxes.  The record was left 
open for Appellant to verify that the daughter pays the taxes on the mobile home. 
 
Appellant filed two post-hearing submissions (Exhibits C and F).  Exhibit C largely consists 
of documentation already filed by Appellant prior to hearing.  Exhibit F is an email from 
Appellant’s representative asserting that taxes are not paid on the mobile home.  This was 
reasserted along with supporting documentation in Exhibit C, pages 1 and 2. 
 
MassHealth filed a response by email stating the additional documentation still does not 
prove that the daughter is the owner of mobile home (Exhibit D). 
 
Findings of Fact 
 
Based on a preponderance of the evidence, this record supports the following findings: 
 

1. Appellant is a resident of a skilled nursing facility in Massachusetts who filed an 
application for MassHealth Long Term Care benefits.   

 
2. The application revealed that Appellant had the following assets: life Insurance 

cash surrender value: $181.81; bank account: $510.03; and a mobile home located 
in the state of Louisiana valued at $38,340.00.  

 
3. Because these assets total more than the eligibility limit of $2,000.00, MassHealth 

denied the application and advised Appellant she needed to properly spend down 
the excess assets (Exhibit A). 
 

4. A “Final Sales Order” dated November 11, 2014, shows that Appellant’s daughter 
purchased a new mobile home from a manufacturer in Louisiana and the home 
was to be set-up in Louisiana (Exhibit C, page 10). 
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5. In 2016, Appellant left Massachusetts to live with her daughter in the mobile home 
in Louisiana. 
 

6. The mobile home was moved between the time it was initially set-up and the time 
that Appellant left it to return to Massachusetts.   

 
7. The tag number identifying the mobile home is the same on both the sales 

document and the Assessor’s Office document indicating that this is the same 
mobile home that Appellant’s daughter purchased in 2014.   
 

8. A document from the local Assessor’s Office identifies Appellant as the 100% 
owner of the mobile home as of January 4, 2016 (Exhibit C, page 14). 
 

9. At some time, Appellant went to the local Assessor’s Office to apply for a 
Homestead tax exemption in the mobile home and the application was granted.  

 
10. Taxes are not paid on the mobile home (Exhibit C, pages 1 and 2). 

 
Analysis and Conclusions of Law 
 
"The burden of proof is on the appealing party to show that the order appealed from is 
invalid, and we have observed that this burden is heavy” (Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. 
Department of Pub. Utils., 425 Mass. 856, 867, 684 N.E.2d 585 (1997)). 
 
This record presents MassHealth with two documents to consider in determining the 
ownership of the subject mobile home.  First, the Final Sales Order clearly shows that 
on November 11, 2014, Appellant’s daughter purchased the mobile home, not 
Appellant.  The Final Sales Order does not reveal anything about the disposition of the 
mobile home after November 11, 2014.  Second, a copy of the 2023 Assessment Listing 
from the Assessor’s Office which shows that Appellant, not the daughter, has been the 
“primary owner” of 100% of the subject property since January 4, 2016. 
 
Appellant’s representative essentially argues that the identification of Appellant as the 
owner of the mobile home in the 2023 Assessment Listing arises from Appellant’s 
application for a Homestead tax exemption in 2016.  This assertion has not been 
adequately supported.  The 2023 Assessment Listing does indicate that the property is 
subject to a Homestead, but there is no reliable indication of exactly when the 
Homestead was applied for and granted.  What is clear, however, is that as of January 
4, 2016, Appellant was deemed by the Assessor’s Office to own 100% of the subject 
property (Exhibit C, page 14).   
 
To be entitled to receive the Homestead tax exemption, an applicant must be the owner 
(either in total or in part) of the property and reside at the property (see, Louisiana Laws 
CONST 7 20, section 20.(A)(1) at Exhibit C, page 17). Appellant obtained a Homestead 
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tax exemption, so a reasonable inference can be made that Appellant must be an owner 
of the property. Appellant’s representative asserts, however, that a Homestead 
applicant in Louisiana only needs to produce their legal identification and proof of the 
square footage, but they do not need to prove ownership of the property.  Again, there 
is not enough evidence in this record to support this assertion.  Production of the 
applicant’s legal identification could easily be the means to verify that the Homestead 
applicant is the same person who is already on record at the assessor’s office as being 
the owner and resident of the property.   
 
On this record, Appellant has not put forth sufficient reliable evidence that the 
determination/designation of Appellant as the owner of the subject property by local 
government officials in Louisiana was made in error. It bears mentioning that this record 
lacks any testimony from either Appellant or her daughter.  Additionally, no explanation 
was provided as to why the daughter hasn’t taken steps to correct the ownership issue 
with the Assessor’s Office if an error regarding the designation of the proper owner of 
the mobile home had in fact been made.  
 
MassHealth has relied on a current government document issued by a proper authority 
to conclude that Appellant has been the sole owner of the property since January 4, 
2016.  Appellant has not met her burden of showing that MassHealth’s determination is 
invalid. 
 
For the foregoing reasons, the appeal is DENIED. 






