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Authority

This hearing was conducted pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 118E, Chapter 30A,
and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

Jurisdiction

Through a notice dated , a skilled nursing facility (“the
facility”), notified the appellant of its plan to discharge her to her apartment on
because it determined that she had failed to pay for her stay at the facility (Exhibit
1). The appellant filed this appeal in a timely manner on February 23, 2024 (130 CMR 610.015 and
Exhibit 2). The discharge of a nursing home resident is valid grounds for appeal (130 CMR
610.028(A)).

Action Taken by MassHealth

The skilled nursing facility intends to discharge the appellant from the facility.
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Issue

Is the planned discharge correct pursuant to 130 CMR 610.029?

Summary of Evidence

The facility submitted the appellant’s clinical record (Exhibit 4) and was represented telephonically
at the hearing by its administrator, office manager, the appellant’s social worker, and appellant’s
physical therapist. The administrator testified that the appellant has been staying at the facility since

, and as of February 28, 2024 has accrued $91,995.00 in unpaid bills (Exhibit 4, pg.
2). InJanuary and February 2024, the appellant’s daughter made two payments of $100.00 each on
the appellant’s behalf and promised to continue to make similar monthly payments. However, the
facility rejected that offer as the appellant’s bills for staying at the facility are over $500 a day and
will accrue faster than the $100.00 a month could ever hope to pay off. Instead, the facility made a
different offer to the appellant’s daughter that would allow the appellant to continue living at the
facility if she were to apply for MassHealth and pay off the balance not covered by MassHealth with
a 20% discount. The administrator testified that the appellant rejected the offer as the appellant
considers herself a _ resident and does not want to become a Massachusetts resident
to be eligible for MassHealth. Furthermore, the appellant does not have the money available to pay
the remaining balance regardless of the discount.

The appellant was represented telephonically at the hearing by her daughter that conceded to the
facts as laid out by the facility administrator. She testified that the appellant is now willing to apply
for MassHealth but stated that her mother has no money to pay off any balance not covered by
MassHealth and is unwilling to pay off the debt herself. Furthermore, she testified that her mother
had a fall in_ at the facility causing her injury that the daughter believes was negligently
handled by the facility staff. She argued that the facility should remove some of the past due balance
as recompence for that negligence. The facility administrator refused to do so.

The appellant’s daughter further argued that her main reason to contest the discharge is that she
does not believe it will be a safe discharge as there is no care available to her mother if she is
discharged back to her apartment where she lives alone. The facility social worker conceded the
appellant requires regular care and testified that she worked with the appellant to find a suitable
discharge location, but the appellant refused all options that were not her apartment. The
appellant’s daughter added tha does not offer the kind of at home care that her
mother needs and she would likely need to privately pay for such services, a cost the appellant’s
daughter does not think her mother can bare as her only income is through social security.
Regardless, the facility responded that they have been working with the appellant to make the
appellant aware of what home care services will be available to her.
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Findings of Fact

Based on a preponderance of the evidence, | find the following:

1.

10.

11.

12.

The appellant was admitted to the facility in_.

The appellant received a “Notice of Intent to Discharge Resident with Less than 30 Days’

The facility submitted the appellant’s clinical record.

The appellant has past due bills accrued from _ to February 28, 2024
owed to the facility in the amount of $91,995.00.

The appellant has made two payments of $100.00 in January and February 2024 and
promises to continue paying $100.00 each month.

The facility rejected the appellant’s promised pay schedule as the appellant accrues
more than $500 a day in bills for her stay.

The facility made an offer to the appellant to remove 20% of the past due amount if she
applied for MassHealth and paid the amount remaining. The appellant is willing to apply
for MassHealth but does not have the money to pay off the additional past due amount.
The facility’s offer was refused by the appellant’s daughter on the appellant’s behalf.
The appellant requires the services of the facility or an in-home caregiver.

The location of discharge is the appellant's_ apartment.

The facility staff worked with the appellant to find a suitable discharge location, but all
choices except for the appellant’s home were refused.

The facility has worked with the appellant to make her aware of what in-home services
will be available to her.

Analysis and Conclusions of Law

A resident may be transferred or discharged from a nursing facility when the transfer or
discharge is appropriate because the resident has failed to pay for a stay at the facility (130
CMR 610.028(A)(5)). A transfer or discharge on this ground must be documented by the
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resident’s clinical record (130 CMR 610.028(B)).
130 CMR 610.028: Notice Requirements Regarding Actions Initiated by a Nursing Facility
(A) A resident may be transferred or discharged from a nursing facility only when:

(1) the transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident's welfare and the resident's
needs cannot be met in the nursing facility;

(2) the transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident's health has improved
sufficiently so that the resident no longer needs the services provided by the nursing
facility;

(3) the safety of individuals in the nursing facility is endangered;

(4) the health of individuals in the nursing facility would otherwise be endangered;

(5) the resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or failed
to have the Division or Medicare pay for) a stay at the nursing facility; or

(6) the nursing facility ceases to operate.

(B) When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of the circumstances
specified in 130 CMR 610.028(A)(1) through (5), the resident's clinical record must be
documented. The documentation must be made by:

(1) the resident's physician when a transfer or discharge is necessary under 130 CMR
610.028(A)(1) or (2); and

(2) a physician when the transfer or discharge is necessary under 130 CMR 610.028(A)(4).
M.G.L. Ch. 111, § 70E states that,

a resident, who requests a hearing pursuant to section 48 of chapter 118E, shall not be
discharged or transferred from a nursing facility licensed under section 71 of this chapter,
unless a referee determines that the nursing facility has provided sufficient preparation and
orientation to the resident to ensure safe and orderly transfer or discharge from the facility to
another safe and appropriate place.

The first issue is whether the appellant’s discharge is appropriate because she has failed to pay for

her stay at the facility (130 CMR 610.028(A)(5). Here, it is found that the facility has appropriate
grounds to discharge the appellant. Although the appellant has offered to pay $100.00 a month to
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settle the debt, the facility has refused that pay schedule. The hearing officer agrees that it is
unreasonable to expect the facility to accept such an amount as satisfactory as the appellant’s bills
of over $500 a day will accrue much faster than $100.00 a month can possibly pay off.

The appellant’s daughter argues that regardless of the lack of payment the appellant cannot be
discharged as the services the facility provides are medically necessary and she cannot afford to pay
for them at home. However, the appellant offers no legal support for the medical needs of the
resident to be considered to avoid discharge for lack of payment.

The appellant’s daughter further argues that the appellant suffered a fall ir_ that was
handled negligently by the facility staff causing the appellant injury and some of the past due
amount should be removed due to that negligence. The facility administrator refused, and the
hearing officer cannot impose such liability on the facility through this decision. The appellant may
have a separate cause of action against the facility due to the described incident. However, this
decision makes no finding on the merits on such an action if the appellant chooses to do so.

Based on the above, it is found that is appropriate for the facility to discharge the appellant for lack
of payment and we move onto the second issue.

The second issue is whether the nursing facility has met the requirements of all other applicable
federal and state regulatory requirements in addition to the MassHealth-related regulations
discussed above, including MGL ¢.111, §70E, which went into effect in November of 2008. The key
paragraph of that statute, which is directly relevant to this appeal, reads as follows:

A resident, who requests a hearing pursuant to section 48 of chapter 118E, shall not
be discharged or transferred from a nursing facility licensed under section 71 of this
chapter, unless a referee determines that the nursing facility has provided sufficient
preparation and orientation to the resident to ensure safe and orderly transfer or
discharge from the facility to another safe and appropriate place.

(Emphasis added.)

The notice of discharge lists the appellant’s discharge location as the appellant’s apartment in
Here, | find that the facility has given sufficient preparation and orientation to the
appellant to satisfy MGL c.111, §70E. The appellant was consulted about the choice of discharge
location and refused all choices that were not her own apartment. The appellant’s daughter
argues that the appellant’s apartment will not be a safe place for her due to her need for in-home
care and her inability to afford it. However, the facility testified they have worked with the
appellant to make her aware of the in-home care options available to her and how to request
them. Furthermore, the appellant has refused to accept any other facility options that may be
more appropriate for her needs. Thus, the facility has met its burden to prepare and orient the
appellant for transfer to a safe and appropriate place.
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Therefore, the appellant’s appeal is DENIED.

Order for Nursing Facility

The nursing facility may proceed with the notice of discharge. Pursuant to 130 CMR 610.030(B) and
130 CMR 456.704(B), the appellant may not be discharged any earlier than 5 days from the date of
this decision.

Implementation of this Decision

If this nursing facility fails to comply with the above order, you should report this in writing to the
Director of the Board of Hearings, at the address on the first page of this decision.

Notification of Your Right to Appeal to Court

If you disagree with this decision, you have the right to appeal to Court in accordance with Chapter
30A of the Massachusetts General Laws. To appeal, you must file a complaint with the Superior
Court for the county where you reside, or Suffolk County Superior Court, within 30 days of your
receipt of this decision.

David Jacobs
Hearing Officer
Board of Hearings
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