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APPEAL DECISION

Appeal Decision: Denied Issue: Nursing facility
discharge — failure to
pay

Decision Date: 01/10/2025 Hearing Date: 12/17/2024

Respondent’s Rep.: _ Appellant’s Rep.: Spouse

Hearing Location: Tewksbury (remote)  Aid Pending: No

Authority

This hearing was conducted pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 118E, Chapter 30A,
and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

Jurisdiction

By notice dated November 14, 2024,_ (“Respondent” or “the facility”)
informed Appellant of its intent to discharge Appellant from the facility on December 14, 2024.
Exhibit 1. Appellant filed a timely appeal on November 26, 2024. Exhibit 2. 130 CMR 610.615.
Challenging the discharge or transfer from a nursing facility is a valid basis for appeal. 130 CMR
610.032. The hearing record was held open through December 20, 2024 to allow the parties to
provide additional information. Exhibit 5.

Action Taken by Respondent

Respondent informed Appellant of its intent to discharge Appellant from the facility.

Issue

The appeal issue is whether Respondent satisfied its statutory and regulatory requirements when
it issued the notice of intent to discharge Appellant.

Summary of Evidence
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Respondent, a skilled nursing facility licensed in Massachusetts, was represented at telephonic
hearing by its administrator, director of social services, business office representative, and
rehabilitation director. Respondent’s representatives submitted documents in support, Exhibit 4.
Appellant appeared by phone and was represented by her spouse, also a nursing facility resident.
A summary of testimony and documentary evidence follows.

By hand-delivered letter dated November 14, 2024, Respondent informed Appellant of its intent
to discharge Appellant from the facility to her home. Exhibit 1. A copy of the notice was provided
to Appellant’s spouse. The notice stated that Respondent sought to discharge Appellant on
December 14, 2024 because Appellant “has failed after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay
for her stay at the facility.” Id. The notice identified the director of social services as the person
responsible for supervising the discharge and explained Appellant’s appeal rights. The notice
included contact information for a local long term care ombudsman, the disability law center,
centers for public representation (including a disabled persons’ protection commission) and local
legal service offices. Id. Respondent testified that the notice was also delivered to Appellant’s
spouse, who resides in the same room as Appellant. Appellant’s spouse also received a notice of
discharge and filed an appeal (Appeal No. 2418180). On January 7, 2025, the Board of Hearings
denied Appeal No. 2418180 and ordered the facility to proceed with discharge of Appellant’s
spouse after a 30 day stay from the date of decision.

Appellant was admitted to the facility in - with medical history and diagnoses including
multiple sclerosis, hemiplegia on the right side, and type 2 diabetes mellitus with hyperglycemia.
She is wheelchair dependent. Exhibit 4 at 9. Appellant was approved for MassHealth coverage of
long-term care and owed a patient paid amount (PPA). Notices from MassHealth indicated that
the PPA increased from $$771.20 to $2,048.20 effective March 1, 2024, and increased again to
$2,222.20 effective April 1, 2024. Id. at 20-26. Appellant’s PPA has not been paid and Appellant has
an outstanding balance of $24,453.00. /d. at 8. Though the billing statement indicated that
payment was received for October and November 2024, Respondent clarified during the record
open period that this was incorrect. Currently, Appellant has made no PPA payments. Appellant
has not appealed any MassHealth notice.

Respondent representatives testified that the discharge location is Appellant’s home where she
resided with her spouse prior to admission. The home is handicap accessible. Appellant is totally
dependent for daily activities. Appellant was evaluated for personal care attendant (PCA) services
through LifePath and approved for 47.5 PCA hours per week and a referral for meals on wheels. /d.
at 9. Documentation indicated that Appellant had 66 PCA hours prior to her admission and her
spouse is working to appeal this decision to secure more hours for Appellant. A representative
from LifePath is also working to get an updated Hoyer lift for Appellant in the home. /d.
Respondent representatives testified that upon discharge, they will set up a PT-1 through
MassHealth to transport Appellant home. There is no discharge note in the file because the
physician has not issued the letter yet and plans to do so closer to the time of discharge.
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Appellant’s spouse testified that he first admitted to the facility after recovering from an illness.
During that time, Appellant was hospitalized. Appellant’s spouse was satisfied with the care at the
facility and sought to have Appellant admitted. Appellant’s spouse testified that they were urged
to apply for MassHealth and were told that MassHealth would take care of everything. Appellant’s
spouse completed the lengthy application and only after approval learned they would be charged
a huge amount. Appellant’s spouse emphasized that Respondent’s representatives were not at
fault, but that Appellant and spouse received misinformation from previous facility employees.

Appellant’s spouse argued that the VA should be paying the bill, as Appellant is a disabled veteran
who was injured in Vietnam. Appellant’s spouse conceded that the facility is owed money and
should be paid.

Appellant is not able to walk or move around, and Appellant’s spouse suspects that Appellant has
dementia that is increasing. Appellant cannot go anywhere without the spouse. Appellant’s spouse
is her health care proxy and has to advocate on Appellant’s behalf due to staffing shortages.
Appellant’s spouse testified that he was able to perform tasks in the home during a home visit a
year prior and was approved for discharge home by his physical therapist. However, he was
discharged with 24/7 care, which he cannot secure. Appellant’s spouse feels stuck at the facility as
a result. Appellant’s spouse needs time to set up care for Appellant, including appealing the
number of PCA hours approved and hiring a PCA. Appellant’s spouse testified that he was told they
need a safer Hoyer lift, but he has used the one he has at home for Appellant’s transfers for five
years without incident.

Respondent’s administrator offered to rescind the notice of discharge if the October and
November payments were confirmed and payments would continue going forward, to allow time
for the home care situation to be sorted. However, as the October and November payments had
not been made and there were no arrangements for Appellant or her spouse to pay in the months
going forward, Respondent declined to rescind the notice of discharge. Exhibit 5.

Findings of Fact

Based on a preponderance of the evidence, | find the following:

1.  Appellant was admitted to the facility in - with medical history and diagnoses including
multiple sclerosis, hemiplegia on the right side, and type 2 diabetes mellitus with
hyperglycemia. She is wheelchair dependent. Exhibit 4 at 9.

2.  Appellant was approved for MassHealth coverage of long-term care and owes a PPA to the
facility. Notices from MassHealth indicated that the PPA increased from $771.20 to
$2,048.20 effective March 1, 2024, and increased again to $2,222.20 effective April 1, 2024.
Id. at 20-26.
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10.

11.

a. Appellant did not appeal these notices.

Appellant’s PPA has not been paid and Appellant has an outstanding balance of $24,453.00.
Id. at 8.

By hand-delivered letter dated November 14, 2024, Respondent informed Appellant of its
intent to discharge Appellant from the facility to her home. A copy of the notice was
provided to Appellant’s spouse. Exhibit 1.

The notice stated that Respondent sought to discharge Appellant on December 14, 2024
because Appellant “has failed after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for her stay at
the facility.” /d.

The notice identified the director of social services as the person responsible for supervising
the discharge and explained Appellant’'s appeal rights. The notice included contact
information for a local long term care ombudsman, the disability law center, centers for
public representation (including a disabled persons’ protection commission) and local legal
service offices. /d.

Appellant filed a timely appeal on November 26, 2024. Exhibit 2.

Appellant’s home is handicap accessible and has a Hoyer lift. Respondent is working with
LifePath to update Appellant’s Hoyer lift.

Appellant was approved for 47.5 PCA hours per week and received a referral for meals on
wheels. Appellant’s spouse is appealing this approval to try to get an increase of PCA hours.
Id. at 9.

Respondent representatives testified that upon discharge, they will set up a PT-1 through
MassHealth to transport Appellant home.

On January 7, 2025, the Board of Hearings denied Appeal No. 2418180 and ordered the
facility to proceed with discharge of Appellant’s spouse after a 30 day stay from the date of
decision.

Analysis and Conclusions of Law

The federal Nursing Home Reform Act (NHRA) of 1987 guarantees all residents the right to
advance notice of, and the right to appeal, any transfer or discharge action initiated by a nursing
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facility. Massachusetts has enacted regulations that follow and implement the federal
requirements concerning a resident’s right to appeal a transfer or discharge, and some of the
relevant regulations may be found in both (1) the MassHealth Nursing Facility Manual regulations
at 130 CMR 456.000 et seq., and (2) the Fair Hearing Rules at 130 CMR 610.000 et seq.

Per 130 CMR 456.701(A) and 130 CMR 610.028(A), a nursing facility resident may be transferred or
discharged only when:

(1) the transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident's welfare and the
resident's needs cannot be met in the nursing facility;

(2) the transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident's health has
improved sufficiently so that the resident no longer needs the services provided by
the nursing facility;

(3) the safety of individuals in the nursing facility is endangered;

(4) the health of individuals in the nursing facility would otherwise be endangered;
(5) the resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or
failed to have the MassHealth Agency or Medicare pay for) a stay at the nursing
facility; or

(6) the nursing facility ceases to operate.

Prior to discharge or transfer, the nursing facility must hand deliver to the resident and mail to a
designated family member or legal representative (if the resident has made such a person known
to the facility), a notice written in 12-point or larger type that contains, in a language the member
understands, the following:

(1) the action to be taken by the nursing facility;
(2) the specific reason or reasons for the discharge or transfer;
(3) the effective date of the discharge or transfer;
(4) the location to which the resident is to be discharged or transferred;
(5) a statement informing the resident of his or her right to request a hearing
before the MassHealth agency including:
(a) the address to send a request for a hearing;
(b) the time frame for requesting a hearing as provided for under 130 CMR
610.029; and
(c) the effect of requesting a hearing as provided for under 130 CMR
610.030;
(6) the name, address, and telephone number of the local long-term-care
ombudsman office;
(7) for nursing facility residents with developmental disabilities, the address and
telephone number of the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of
developmentally disabled individuals established under Part C of the
Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act (42 U.S.C. § 6041 et
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seq.);

(8) for nursing facility residents who are mentally ill, the mailing address and
telephone number of the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of
mentally ill individuals established under the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally
Il Individuals Act (42 U.S.C. § 10801 et seq.);

(9) a statement that all residents may seek legal assistance and that free legal
assistance may be available through their local legal services office. The notice
should contain the address of the nearest legal services office; and

(10) the name of a person at the nursing facility who can answer any questions the
resident has about the notice and who will be available to assist the resident in
filing an appeal.

130 CMR 610.028(C).

Pursuant to 130 CMR 610.029(A), the notice of discharge or transfer required under 130 CMR
610.028 must be made by the nursing facility at least 30 days before the date the resident is to be
discharged or transferred, except as provided for under 130 CMR 610.029(B) and (C) when the
discharge is being made on an emergency basis. See also 130 CMR 456.702(A).

Further, Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, §70E provides that “[a] resident, who requests a hearing
pursuant to section 48 of chapter 118E, shall not be discharged or transferred from a nursing
facility licensed under section 71 of this chapter, unless a referee determines that the nursing
facility has provided sufficient preparation and orientation to the resident to ensure safe and
orderly transfer or discharge from the facility to another safe and appropriate place.” Finally,
federal regulations require that a nursing facility “provide and document sufficient preparation
and orientation to residents to ensure safe and orderly transfer or discharge from the facility.
This orientation must be provided in a form and manner that the resident can understand.” 42 CFR
483.15(c)(7) (emphasis added).

In this matter, Respondent seeks to discharge Appellant for failure to pay her PPA. There is little
dispute between the parties, as Appellant’s spouse acknowledges the outstanding bill, and
Respondent recognizes that Appellant has significant care needs in returning to the community.
The records and testimony demonstrate that Respondent is engaging in appropriate discharge
planning for Appellant and her spouse. Respondent has satisfied its statutory and regulatory
requirements in providing notice of discharge to Appellant. Accordingly, this appeal is denied.

Order for Respondent

Proceed with the discharge as set forth in the notice dated November 14, 2024, but not earlier
than 30 days from the date of this decision.
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Notification of Your Right to Appeal to Court

If you disagree with this decision, you have the right to appeal to court in accordance with Chapter
30A of the Massachusetts General Laws. To appeal, you must file a complaint with the Superior
Court for the county where you reside, or Suffolk County Superior Court, within 30 days of your
receipt of this decision.

Cynthia Kopka
Hearing Officer
Board of Hearings

—
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