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Summary of Evidence 
 
The MassHealth MEC representative testified that the appellant and her two children under age  
are currently eligible for and receiving MassHealth Standard benefits. She stated that appellant has 
health insurance through her job but was denied Premium Assistance payments (Exhibit 1).  
 
The MassHealth Premium Assistance representative testified that the appellant was denied 
Premium Assistance because her employer’s health insurance does not meet the Basic Benefit 
Level criteria for Premium Assistance payments. The representative explained that private health 
insurance must meet minimum creditable coverage guidelines found in 956 CMR 503 for the 
health insurance to meet the Basic Benefit Level requirement of Premium Assistance. 956 CMR 
503 states that a health insurance family deductible must not exceed $4,000.00 to be considered 
minimum creditable coverage. For 2025, The Massachusetts Health Connector Bulletin has since 
increased this family minimum creditable coverage deductible amount to $5,900.00. In the case of 
the appellant’s employer’s health insurance however, the family deductible is $12,000.00. 
Therefore, she was denied MassHealth Premium Assistance for not meeting the minimum 
creditable coverage requirement. 
 
The appellant testified that she would like to keep her employer’s health insurance along with her 
MassHealth Standard, because not all her doctors accept MassHealth. She did not dispute that her 
family deductible was $12,000.00 but stated that this has not changed. 
 

Findings of Fact 
 
Based on a preponderance of the evidence, I find the following: 
 
1. The appellant received notice dated February 18, 2025 that MassHealth had approved her for 

MassHealth Standard but not Premium Assistance because her employer’s insurance did not  
meet the guidelines for Premium Assistance payments (Exhibit 1).   

 
2. The appellant is offered health insurance through her employer (Exhibit 1 and testimony). 

 
3. The appellant’s employer’s health insurance has a family deductible of $12,000.00 (testimony). 

 
4. For 2025, The Massachusetts Health Connector Bulletin has determined that the minimum 

creditable coverage deductible amount for family health insurance cannot exceed $5,900.00 
(testimony). 

 



 

 Page 4 of Appeal No.:  2503670 

 

Analysis and Conclusions of Law 
 
130 CMR 505.002 (N) Access to Employer-sponsored Insurance and Premium Assistance 
Investigations for Individuals Who Are Eligible for MassHealth Standard.  
 
(1) MassHealth may perform an investigation to determine if individuals receiving MassHealth 
Standard (a) have health insurance that MassHealth may help pay for; or (b) have access to 
employer-sponsored health insurance in which MassHealth wants the individual to enroll and 
for which MassHealth will help pay.  
 
(2) The individual receives MassHealth Standard while MassHealth investigates the insurance.  
 
(a) Investigations for Individuals Who Are Enrolled in Health Insurance.  
 
1. If MassHealth determines that the health insurance the individual is enrolled in meets the 
criteria at 130 CMR 506.012: Premium Assistance Payments, the individual is notified in writing 
that MassHealth will provide MassHealth Standard Premium Assistance Payments as described 
at 130 CMR 506.012: Premium Assistance Payments.  
 
2. If MassHealth determines that the health insurance the individual is enrolled in does not 
meet the criteria at 130 CMR 506.012: Premium Assistance Payments, the individual is eligible 
for MassHealth Standard Direct Coverage.  
 
3. Individuals described at 130 CMR 505.002(F)(1)(d) will not undergo an investigation.  
 
(b) Investigations for Individuals Who Have Potential Access to Employer-sponsored Health 
Insurance.  
 
1.If MassHealth determines the individual has access to employer-sponsored health insurance 
and the employer is contributing at least 50% of the premium cost and the insurance meets all 
other criteria described at 130 CMR 506.012: Premium Assistance Payments, the individual is 
notified in writing that they must enroll in this employer sponsored coverage. MassHealth 
allows the individual up to 60 days to enroll in this coverage. Once enrolled in this health 
insurance plan, MassHealth provides MassHealth Standard Premium Assistance Payments as 
described in 130 CMR 506.012: Premium Assistance Payments. Failure to enroll in the 
employer-sponsored health insurance plan at the request of MassHealth will result in the loss 
or denial of eligibility for all individuals unless the individual is younger than  years old or is 
pregnant. 2. If MassHealth determines the individual does not have access to employer 
sponsored health insurance, the individual is eligible for MassHealth Standard Direct Coverage. 
3. Individuals described at 130 CMR 505.002(F) and (G) will not undergo an investigation. 
 
130 CMR 506.012(B) Criteria. MassHealth may provide a premium assistance payment to an 
eligible member when all of the following criteria are met. (1) The health insurance coverage 



 

 Page 5 of Appeal No.:  2503670 

meets the Basic Benefit Level (BBL) as defined in 130 CMR 501.001: Definition of Terms. 
Instruments including but not limited to Health Reimbursement Arrangements, Flexible 
Spending Arrangements, as described in IRS Pub. 969, or Health Savings Accounts, as described 
at IRC § 223(c)(2), cannot be used to reduce the health insurance deductible to meet the basic-
benefit level requirement. (2) The health insurance policy holder is either (a) in the PBFG; or (b) 
resides with the individual who is eligible for the premium assistance benefit and is related to 
the individual by blood, adoption, or marriage. (3) At least one person covered by the health 
insurance policy is eligible for MassHealth benefits as described in 130 CMR 506.012(A) and the 
health insurance policy is a policy that meets the criteria of the MassHealth coverage type for 
premium assistance benefits as described in 130 CMR 506.012(C). 
 
130 CMR 501.001 Basic-benefit Level (BBL) − (1) benefits provided under a health insurance 
plan that include a broad range of medical benefits as defined in the minimum creditable 
coverage core services requirements in 956 CMR 5.03(1)(a); provided that the annual 
deductible and the annual maximum out-of-pocket costs under that plan do not exceed the 
maximum amounts the Massachusetts Health Connector sets for deductibles and out-of-pocket 
costs in order for a plan to be considered minimum creditable coverage, as set forth at 956 
CMR 5.03(2)(b)2 and 3, and 956 CMR 5.03(2)(c), respectively, and as may be illustrated in 
administrative bulletins published by the Massachusetts Health Connector, and as are in effect 
on the first day coverage under that plan begins. 
 
956 CMR 5.032(b)(2) provides a maximum family deductible may not exceed $4,000.00. 
 
In this case, the appellant and her two children are eligible for and receiving MassHealth 
Standard benefits. MassHealth denied her Premium Assistance benefits because her employer’s 
health insurance does not meet the guidelines for Premium Assistance payments. I have found 
that the appellant’s employer’s health insurance has a family deductible of $12,000.00. 
 
In accordance with the regulations set forth above, a MassHealth Standard recipient’s employer’s 
health insurance must meet Basic Benefit level requirements for the recipient to be eligible for 
Premium Assistance payments. Part of the requirement is that the employer’s insurance meets the 
minimum creditable coverage guideline for deductibles that has now been set at $5,900.00 for a 
family. The insurance offered by the appellant’s employer exceeds this threshold with a deductible 
of $12,000.00. 
 
Accordingly, in accordance with 130 CMR 506.012, MassHealth was correct to deny the appellant 
Premium Assistance payments. 
 
The appeal is therefore denied. 
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Order for MassHealth 
 
None. 

 
Notification of Your Right to Appeal to Court 

 
If you disagree with this decision, you have the right to appeal to Court in accordance with 
Chapter 30A of the Massachusetts General Laws.  To appeal, you must file a complaint with the 
Superior Court for the county where you reside, or Suffolk County Superior Court, within 30 days 
of your receipt of this decision. 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 Stanley Kallianidis 
 Hearing Officer 
 Board of Hearings 
  
 
 
 cc: 
  
Taunton MEC 
 
Premium Assistance 
UMASS Schrafft’s Center 
529 Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Charlestown, MA 02129 




