
What’s New?
New Forklift Sticker

In 2000, a 16-year-old Massachusetts teen was killed when
the forklift he was operating at work overturned.  It is
against both state and federal child labor laws for anyone
under 18 years of age to operate forklifts at work.  In
response to this tragic incident the Occupational Health
Surveillance Program has developed a warning sticker to be
placed on forklifts.  The sticker informs employers, as well
as all operators, that teens are not allowed to operate
forklifts at work, except in certain agricultural settings.  The
sticker has been disseminated in collaboration with the
Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General and the US
Department of Labor.  Teens at Work distributed stickers to
forklift manufacturers, distributors, and repair shops in
Massachusetts. For stickers, call 617-624-5632.
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Project Update
Work is part of everyday life for millions of teens. In
2001, nationwide, approximately one third of teens 15-
17 years of age were in the labor force, on average, at
any given point in time. This figure was similar for teens
in Massachusetts, where, on average, over 77,000
teenagers between the ages of 15-17 were employed on
any given day in 2001. National studies have found that
many younger teens also work, and that eighty percent of
youth have held jobs by the time they finish high school.
Work can provide important benefits for youth; however
it may also pose health and safety risks.  Each year in the
U.S., 200,000 young workers are injured on the job,
65,000 are injured seriously enough to seek emergency
medical care, and 70 are killed at work.

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health’s Teens
at Work Injury Surveillance and Prevention Project
collects data on work-related injuries to teens less than
18 years of age in Massachusetts.  Since 1993, more than
5,500 cases of work-related injuries have been identified
by this surveillance system using a variety of data sources
(primarily workers’ compensation records for injuries
resulting in five or more lost workdays and records from
a sample of twelve hospital emergency departments).  

Follow-up interviews are conducted with injured teens to
learn more about teen work experiences and the
circumstances surrounding their injuries. Data are used
to target intervention and prevention activities in the
Commonwealth.  Findings have been used to develop
recommendations for changes in equipment and job
design in specific workplaces. The Teens at Work staff
also collaborate with other agencies and organizations to
promote health and safety training for youth and
employers, and to develop and disseminate educational
materials on young worker health and safety and child
labor laws for various audiences - parents, employers,
and health care providers, as well as teens themselves.

The last Teens at Work newsletter focused on injuries to
teen restaurant workers.  In this issue, we look at injuries
to teens working in grocery stores, the second most
common industry in which Massachusetts youth are
employed.  Additional information about work-related
injuries to teens in Massachusetts can be found on our
website at www.state.ma.us/dph/bhsre/ohsp/ohsp/htm.
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Materials Available from MDPH's Teens at Work Project
Are You a Working Teen?
Pamphlet for teens contains child labor laws and related information. (2002)

Under 18 and hurt on the job?: Information on Workers’ Compensation
Pamphlet for teens on workers’ compensation (2002)

Massachusetts Employers’ Guide: Young Worker Health & Safety and the
Child Labor Laws 
Recommendations for employers and a poster of the child labor laws. (1999)

Know Your Rights
Poster for teens with information about wages, hours, health and safety. (1996)

Protecting Your Working Teen: A Guide for Parents
One sheet version of former pamphlet containing child labor laws and related
information. (2002)

Safe Work/Safe Workers: A Guide for Teaching High School Students about
Occupational Health and Safety
Three-hour curriculum containing short video and learning activities. (1997)

Call 617-624-5632 or email Teens.atwork@state.ma.us for more information.

Attention Health CarAttention Health Care Pre Prooviders!viders!

Work-Related Injuries to Persons Younger than
18 are Reportable to MDPH

At least semi-annually, health care facilities
must report all work-related injuries to
persons under 18 years of age that are treated
in the facility.  Physicians and other health
care providers must report serious work-
related injuries (and may report other injuries)
among this population within ten days of
diagnosis (105 CMR 300).

A serious work-related injury is defined as an
injury resulting in death, hospitalization, or in
the judgment of the treating physician, results
in, or will result in:

A. Significant scarring or disfigurement; OR

B. Permanent disability; OR

C. Protracted loss of consciousness; OR

D. Loss of a body part or bodily function; OR

E. Is less significant but similar to injuries
sustained by other employees at the same
worksite.

To Report

By telephone: Call 617-624-5632.

By mail: Send reporting form to MDPH address listed on the front of
this newsletter.
By fax: Fax reporting form to 617-624-5696.

For more information about reporting, to request reporting forms, or
to discuss hospital computer-generated reporting: 
Call 617-624-5632.



Injuries to Young Grocery Store Workers
More Massachusetts teens work in grocery stores than in any other
industry except restaurants.  Approximately 12% of all employed
15-17-year-olds - more than 10,000 teens - worked in grocery
stores in 1996.  Grocery stores are also second only to restaurants
in terms of the numbers of injuries to teen workers in
Massachusetts. Of the 4,475 injuries among workers less than 
18-years-old identified by the Teens at Work Project from 1993-
2000, 13% (n=558) occurred in grocery stores.1

Although approximately the same numbers of teenage boys and
girls were employed in grocery stores, boys sustained 72% of all
injuries to young grocery store workers.  This finding is similar to
patterns of work-related injuries to teens among all industries
combined and is likely explained, at least in part, by the
assignment of more hazardous tasks to boys.  

Sprains and strains were the most common injuries (37%, n=186)
sustained by young grocery store workers (Figure 1). Slightly less
than half (48%) of all sprains and strains affected the back.
Bagging groceries and lifting items were listed as the causes of
injury for 47% (n=76) of the sprain and strain cases identified
through workers’ compensation claims. Back injuries among
young workers are of particular concern because individuals with
back injuries may be at increased risk for other back injuries later
in life.

Cuts and lacerations were the second most common type of injury
(33%, n=169) among teens working in grocery stores. Sixty-five
percent (n= 72) of the cases identified through workers’
compensation claims indicate that the injuries were sustained
while using knives, razor blades or box cutters.  Connecticut

17-year-old shelf stocker

I had worked a 13-hour shift on Saturday.
On Sunday morning my back was sore and
after two hours at work, it really hurt.  I
grabbed a back brace from the meat
department and told my manager that I was
in pain.  He asked me to stay because we
were short staffed that day.  He told me not
to lift anything anymore, but by 3 p.m. my
back really hurt and I could barely walk.  I
drove myself home and went to see my
doctor the next morning.

Note: Child labor laws limit work shifts for
16 and 17-year-olds to a maximum of nine
hours per day.

16-year-old produce stocker

I was cutting up big cardboard boxes (used
to display watermelons) to throw them in the
compactor.  While holding the box, I stuck
the box cutter in and pulled it down the
cardboard. The blade was not deep enough
into the box, so the knife slipped and cut my
hand.  I told my manager right away and a
co-worker took me to the hospital.

17-year-old deli clerk

I was cleaning the deli meat slicer which has
a blade that can be opened (exposed) and
closed (unexposed).  There is a sign on the
slicer that says you must be over 18 year old
to operate it, but I use it all the time.  In
order for the blade to be open to clean, the
machine has to be on.  I was cleaning the
front of the slicer when my foot slipped on a
piece of saran wrap that had been thrown on
the floor.  My body fell forward into the
slicer.  I cut about 3/4 of my nail and the tip
of my finger off.  A co-worker called 911 and
I was taken by ambulance to the ER.

Note: Child labor laws prohibit anyone
under the age of 18 from using or cleaning
meat slicers.

Source: Teens at Work Injury Surveillance and Prevention Project: July 1993 - December 2000.

continued on page 3
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Figure 1: Occupational Injuries to Teens Employed in Grocery Stores
by Injury Type Massachusetts: 1993-2000
Number of injuries reported=507*

Sprains, Strains, Tears 37%

Cuts, Lacerations, Punctures 33%*Excludes 51 injuries for which
information about injury type was not
available

Heat Burns, Scalds 1%

Bruises,
contusions,
Crushings 13%

Fractures 6%

Other 10%

What You Can Do to Prevent Injuries to
Young Workers

Employers
• Identify and eliminate hazards as much as possible.
• Comply with child labor laws and occupational

health and safety regulations applicable to your
business.

• Train teen workers to use safe work practices, 
recognize hazards, be prepared for emergencies, and
speak up with concerns.

• Assure that teen workers are appropriately supervised.

Educators
• Be familiar with federal and state child labor laws.
• Discuss workplace hazards and students' rights and

responsibilities as workers.
• Ensure that school-based work experience programs

provide safe and healthful environments.

Parents
• Take an active role in the employment decisions of

your teens.

• Discuss the types of tasks involved and the training
and supervision provided by the employer.

• Know where you can get information about child 
labor laws.

Teens
• Know your rights to a safe and healthful workplace.

• Learn to recognize hazards at work and speak up
when you see them.

• Participate in training programs at work or request
training if none is offered.

• Use safe work practices.

• Learn where you can get information about child
labor laws, health and safety, and your rights.

Health Care Providers
• Recognize that work issues may be relevant to the

health of your teen patients.

• Consider disseminating educational materials about
work to your patients. (See back cover for a list of
materials.)  

• Know the child labor laws if signing off on work
permits.

• Establish if diagnosed injuries are work-related.

• Comply with the reporting law (105 CMR 300) by 
reporting work-related injuries to teens to the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health.

Adapted from DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 95-125.

For More Information
On child labor laws or wages:
Mass. Attorney General's Office
Fair Labor and Business Practices Division
617-727-3465; www.ago.state.ma.us/labor

U.S. Dept. of Labor 
Wage & Hour Division
617-624-6700; www.dol.gov/esa/whd

On workers' compensation:
Mass. Dept. of Industrial Accidents
617-727-4900, ext. 470 or 800-323-3249, ext. 470;
www.state.ma.us/dia

On discrimination at work or in hiring:
Mass. Commission Against Discrimination (MCAD)
617-727-3990

U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
617-565-3200 or 800-669-4000; www.eeoc.gov

On workplace health and safety:
U.S. Dept. of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
617-565-9860; www.osha.gov

Mass. Dept. of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Occupational Safety
617-969-7177; www.state.ma.us/dos

Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety and
Health (MassCOSH)
617-825-7233

Western MassCOSH
413-731-0760; www.westernmasscosh.org

Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Teens at Work Project • teens.atwork@state.ma.us
617-624-5632; www.state.ma.us/dph/bhsre/ohsp
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Massachusetts Task Force Releases Report
on Protecting Young Workers 

Ron Vega*, a 17-year-old Boston resident, was stocking
shelves in the storeroom of the toy store where he worked.
He was standing on a ladder leaning against the shelves, and
his coworker was passing 60-lb boxes up the ladder to him.
Suddenly, the whole shelf unit fell backwards, pulling Ron
down with it.  By the next morning he couldn’t move his arm
and decided to go to the hospital.  The doctor at the
emergency room told him he had sprained his back and
rotator cuff.  The injury caused him to miss 11 days of work,
and cut down on activities for more than two months.  At
only 17 years of age, he expects pain for the rest of his life as
a result of this injury.

Concerned with the high number of teen work-related
injuries in the state, community groups, employers,
educators, and parent organizations joined forces to establish
a state-wide task force focused on protecting teen workers in
Massachusetts. In January 2003 the Task Force released a
report containing a comprehensive list of recommendations
developed by the Task Force for key decision-makers that, if
enacted, could prevent thousands of teens from becoming
injured or ill from unsafe working conditions. 

“Previous efforts in Massachusetts to protect teens in the
workplace have been fragmented,” said Marcy Goldstein-
Gelb, executive director of the Massachusetts Coalition for
Occupational Safety and Health (MassCOSH), a non-profit
workplace health and safety advocacy group, “We need a
comprehensive plan that will encompass parent, teen and
employer education, enforcement of regulations, and changes
in the environments in which teens work,” said Goldstein-
Gelb.

Hopefully, through the efforts of the task force, fewer injuries
like Ron’s will occur, thus ensuring positive and healthful
work experiences for Massachusetts’ teenagers.

To learn more about issues facing teens in the workplace and

about the Massachusetts Young Worker Initiative Task Force,
contact Marcy Goldstein-Gelb at MassCOSH, 
617-825-7233 x15.

*Name has been changed to protect confidentiality of a minor.

National Young Worker Safety Resource
Center
Massachusetts teachers and job placement professionals can
take advantage of the services of the National Young Worker
Safety Resource Center. This center—with offices at the
Education Development Center, Inc in Newton, MA and the
Labor Occupational Health Program in Berkeley,
California—is funded by OSHA to use a train-the-trainer
model to promote the safety of young workers. The Center
primarily serves California and the Northeast states. 

Young Worker Safety Resource Center staff train a master
trainer in each state to use the Safe Work/Safe Workers
curriculum, a three-hour workshop for high school students
originally developed by EDC and the OHSP.  The master
trainer then uses the curriculum to train teachers, job
placement professionals, employers, and anyone else
interested in giving teens the skills they need to be safe at
work. The Center provides copies of the curriculum to those
who participate in the training, and offers a small stipend to
teachers and others who actually deliver the workshop to
students. 

The training is free, hands-on, informative, and fun. For
information on upcoming trainings, or more information
about the National Young Worker Safety Resource Center,
contact 

Chris Miara, EDC 
55 Chapel St. 
Newton, MA 02458 
phone: 617-618-2238
email: cmiara@edc.org 

researchers found similar problems with case cutters several
years ago. The good news is that when they conducted a
follow-up intervention study, they found that a combination
of new safety cutters and training reduced cutting injury rates
among young grocery store workers.2

What Injured Teens Have to Say

Teens at Work Project staff have conducted phone interviews
with 82 young grocery store workers injured on-the-job.
While the information from these interviews is not necessarily
representative of all young grocery store workers who have
been injured, it nevertheless provides some important
insights. Of these interviewed teens:

• Forty-five percent reported they had received no 

on-the-job training on how to work safely and 
avoid injury;

• Fourteen percent did not have work permits or educational
certificates;

• Teens reported having to limit or not participate in their
usual activities an average of 27 days as a result of their
injuries; and 

• Seventy-two percent believed their injuries
were preventable. 

1 Percent based on 4,234 injuries for which industry was known. 
2 Banco I, Lapidus G, Monoploi J, Zavoski R. Safe teen work project:
A study to reduce cutting injuries among young and inexperienced
workers.  Am J Ind Med 1997 May; 31 (5):619-622

continued from page 2New Workers in New England:
Health and Safety Ideas from Around the
Region

This column highlights efforts of various organizations and
agencies within New England to promote health and safety
for working youth.  This year’s focus is on the Maine
Departments of Labor and Education.

Using Focus Groups to Create Effective Educational
Strategies
* Teen Focus Groups: The Maine Department of Education
has used focus groups to explore what teenagers know
about workplace safety, where they came across this
information, and how likely they are to speak up about
workplace hazards.  Some of the results include: teens knew
little about the child labor laws and viewed them more as
restrictions than rights; the level of supervision varied
greatly; and the primary safety concern was late night
security. The information gleaned from these groups has
informed Maine’s development of educational materials for
teens and employers. 

* Employer Focus Groups: The Maine Department of Labor
has held focus groups for representatives of companies that
employ young people to learn about the types of jobs where
young people are employed, whether young people are
given safety training on the job, and what the department
can do to help employers prevent injuries to young workers.
Some of the results include: employers do not have in-depth
knowledge of the child labor laws; they provide teen
workers the same training as adults; they need activity-
based training and welcome resources and collaboration. 

Training and Educational Materials for Employers
The Maine Department of Labor has used funds from a child
labor violation settlement to produce SAFETEEN, a kit that
helps employers teach their teen employees about workplace
safety. Each SAFETEEN kit includes a book of safety training
exercises that employers can use to teach teens about
workplace safety, a booklet about workplace safety and child
labor laws for employers, multiple copies of a booklet about
workplace safety for teens, wallet cards, posters, and
information about obtaining Starting Safely, Maine’s young
worker safety curriculum. The kit is sent to employers under
a cover letter signed by Maine’s governor and is distributed
through Maine’s Career Center network. Maine is currently
evaluating this effort. 

Occupational Safety Training for Teachers
* The Department of Labor and the Jobs for Maine

Graduates program provide workshops for teachers and
job placement professionals, training them to use the 
Starting Safely curriculum. 

* The Department of Labor, in collaboration with the
University of Southern Maine, provides a week-long
Summer Safety Institute for Educators on OSHA regulations
and occupational safety issues. 

* The Department of Education has a vocational education
consultant responsible for safety education in vocational
education programs. 

Public Service Announcements (PSAs)
* The Maine Department of Labor has produced PSAs that

have been shown in movie theatres (at a special nonprofit
rate). Other theatre chains around the country have 
agreed to show young worker safety PSAs without charge. 

* Maine also has produced two 30-second PSAs for
television on teen worker safety that have been aired
across the state. 

For more information or to receive a copy of SAFETEEN,
contact Chris Miara, National Young Worker Safety Resource
Center, EDC at cmiara@edc.org or 617-618-2238 or 
Lynne Lamstein, Maine Department of Labor, at
Lynne.C.Lamstein@state.me.us or 207-624-6465 

Teens at Work: Injury Surveillance and Prevention Project is a project of the Occupational Health Surveillance Program of the Massachusetts Department
of Public Health.  Teens at Work is funded by a grant from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) of the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention (CDC).



• Get support from family, friends, a supervisor, a union, an 
employee assistance program, or another resource listed
below;

• Consider filing a complaint with the employer, or with the
police if the employer is unresponsive; and

• Consider filing a complaint with the Massachusetts 
Commission Against Discrimination, Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission, and/or through the courts.

The resources below can provide support to teens who have
experienced workplace violence, as well as to their
employers. 

Resources for Teens and Their Employers Concerned About
Violence in the Workplace:

Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination (MCAD),
617-338-0500 (voice): state agency for filing complaints of

sexual harassment and other forms of discrimination.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), 
1-800-669-EEOC (voice)/ 1-800-800-3302 (TDD): federal
agency for filing complaints of sexual harassment and other
forms of employment-related discrimination.

9 to 5 National Association of Working Women, 
1-800-522-0925 (voice): job problem hotline. 

Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety and Health,
617-825-7233: a non-profit organization dealing with
workers’ health and safety and rights.

MA Office of Victim Assistance (MOVA) 617-727-5200
(voice): independent state agency that advocates for and
assists victims of crime.
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Violence in the Workplace: What Teens
and their Employers Need to Know
By Lisa McCarthy and Marci Diamond, MDPH 
Sexual Assault Prevention and Survivor Services
(with contributions from Beatriz Pazos)

Did you know?

• Each year in the US nearly 1 million individuals become
victims of violent crime while working (U.S. Department
of Justice, 1994). 

• Homicide is the leading cause of death in the workplace for
women (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2001).

• Homicide is the leading cause of work-related death 
among 16- and 17-year-olds (NIOSH, 2002).

• Violent crime in the workplace results in the loss of 
1,751,100 days of work each year, with over $55 million
in lost wages annually (U.S. Department of Justice, 1994). 

• Among working teens surveyed in one large
Massachusetts high school, 26% reported having been
verbally assaulted at work, 10% reported being sexually
harassed, and 11% reported being physically assaulted on
the job (Personal communication with K. Rauscher, 2002).

Workplace violence includes physical and sexual violence,
stalking, threats of violence, verbal abuse and sexual
harassment.  It can involve current or former employers,
employees, coworkers, visitors, contractors, and customers.
Violence of any kind can leave a person feeling vulnerable,
fearful, angry, uncomfortable, embarrassed, and humiliated.
Physical and/or emotional injury may occur, with
devastating and long-lasting effects.  Under state and federal
regulations, employers are responsible for providing a safe
workplace for employees.

Many teens work in industries at high-risk for robbery and
other violence, such as retail trade and service industries
(Current Population Survey).  Characteristics of workplaces
that are particularly vulnerable to violence include:

• Contact with customers or clients;

• Access to cash; 

• Unsecured working environment; and

• Late-night operation (National Consumers League) 2002.
Working alone is another risk factor, especially when
combined with the above elements.  

As with other occupational risks, employers can take
steps to identify hazards, and reduce the opportunity
for and consequences of violence in the workplace.

OSHA released its “Recommendations for Workplace
Violence Prevention Programs in Late Night Retail
Establishments” in 1998 to help employers keep their
employees safe.  There are five program components
with steps employers can take to reduce risks (for
more information visit the OSHA website at
www.osha.gov):

1) Management Commitment and Employee Involvement

• Create and share a policy of violence prevention. 

• Take all incidents seriously.  

• Work with outside agencies such as the police and
landlords to improve physical safety.

2) Worksite Analysis 

• Perform a step-by-step look at the workplace to find
existing and potential hazards.

• Review records and past incidents.

• Workplace security analysis

• Reduce the risk of robbery.

• Increase the effort that a perpetrator must expend.

• Increase risks to the perpetrator.

• Reduce the rewards to the perpetrator.

3) Hazard Prevention and Control 

• Increase visibility and lighting.

• Increase the number of workers at night.

• Use drop safes.

• Limit access to areas of the establishment.

• Install video surveillance equipment.

• Keep minimal cash in register.

• Lock doors when not open.

• Establish emergency procedures, systems of 
communication.

4) Training  

• Train all staff on potential security hazards and procedures 
to protect themselves.

5) Evaluation 

• Keep records of all injuries, incidents, policies, trainings.

Prompt, effective responses to potentially violent situations,
including sexual harassment, promote workers safety,
improve retention, and can reduce employer liability.   It is
extremely important to respond to the potential for violence
before an incident occurs.

If a young worker is harassed or threatened at work, s/he
should take the following steps:

• Be clear about personal boundaries;

• Document all forms of harassment or threats including
dates, locations, actions, statements, and any witnesses;
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National News Flash – Recommended
Changes in Jobs Considered Off-Limits
for Youth

Both state and federal child labor laws prohibit young
workers from working in certain high hazard jobs. However,
the federal and many state child labor laws have remained
largely unchanged for decades. (See below for list of jobs
currently prohibited for youth less than 18 years old in
Massachusetts.) Experts have recommended that the list of
prohibited activities be updated to reflect changes in
patterns of youth employment and new knowledge about
occupational health and safety risks.  The U.S. Department
of Labor commissioned the National Institute for
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) to review the
scientific literature on job hazards and make
recommendations regarding changes in the list of prohibited
work activities for youth.  In July 2002, the U.S Department
of Labor released the NIOSH report, which recommends a
number of changes in the federal list of jobs considered too
dangerous for youth. For example, NIOSH recommends
prohibiting youth less then 18 years old from employment in
garbage collection, construction and at heights greater than
6 feet. For a copy of the report National Institute for
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Recommendations
to the U.S. Department of Labor for Changes to Hazardous
Orders contact the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S.
Department of Labor at rglass@fenix2.dol-esa.gov. 

Jobs Currently Prohibited for Youth Less Than 18 in
Massachusetts
This list is a compilation of jobs prohibited by either state or
federal child labor laws. There are some exceptions for student
learners in school sponsored programs, and there are different
restrictions that apply to youth employed in agriculture. There
are additional restrictions for youth less than 16 years of age. 

Persons under 18 years old may NOT:
Drive a vehicle or forklift

Use meat slicers or power-driven bakery machines

Work 30 feet or more above ground or water

Handle, serve or sell alcoholic beverages

Use circular or ban saws, guillotine shears or box crushers

Use power-driven woodworking machines

Use power-driven hoisting apparatus

Use power-driven paper-products
machines

Use power-driven metal-forming,
punching or shearing machines

Use buffing or polishing equipment

Manufacture brick, tile or kindred
products

Manufacture or store
explosives

Work in wrecking, demolition,
shipbreaking or excavation

Work slaughtering, packing or
processing meat

Work in roofing, railway or
excavation operations

Work in foundry or around blast furnaces

Work manufacturing phosphorous matches

Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances

Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat

Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion

In Washington, minors are prohibited from working alone
in service occupations past 8 pm without an adult
present.  Maine law prohibits minors from working alone
in cash-based businesses, day or night.


