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MASSACHUSETTS EMT-BASIC CERTIFICATION 

HOLDING NREMT CERTIFICATION (WITH/WITHOUT STATE CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE) 

 

OVERVIEW 

This form is for individuals applying for an EMT-Basic certification who are currently NREMT certified as an EMT. If 
you currently hold (or have ever held) EMT certification/licensure in any other state (current or expired), then you 
must also complete the State Verification Form. Your NREMT certification must be current and in good standing at 
the time of application and throughout your certification period. 

MDPH/OEMS will review and verify your eligibility for certification. Only those candidates who meet ALL eligibility 
requirements will be eligible for certification. Applications will be returned to those candidates who are not eligible for 
certification. Please fill out both sides of the form completely and legibly. Sign and date the application form as 
testimony that all of the information presented is accurate to the best of your knowledge. 

The initial application and non-refundable fee remain valid for 1 year from the date of receipt at MDPH/OEMS. 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

□ APPLICATION Completed application for Massachusetts certification as an EMT-Basic 

□ NON-REFUNDABLE FEE Required Massachusetts certification fee, in the form of a check or money order 
for $150, payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

□ NREMT CARD A copy of your current NREMT EMT certification card. 

□ CPR CARD A copy of both sides of your current Basic  Cardiac Life Support (BCLS) course or 
equivalent, provided by a nationally recognized organization and reflecting 
current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and emergency c ardiac care 
resuscitation science and treatment recommendations issued by the International 
Liaison Committee on Resuscitation (ILCOR)’s International Consensus on 
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care Science With 
Treatment Recommendations (CoSTR). 

□ STATE VERIFICATION FORM Only if you currently have (or have held) EMT certification/licensure in any other 
state. This form is available online and must be completed for any state in which 
you have (or held) EMT certification/licensure. Send this form to the State EMS 
office of question and they will return it directly to our office. 

□ CORI PACKET Only if you answer “YES” to QUESTION 4 (criminal history). Form available at 
www.mass.gov/dph/oems. 

Submit the complete application with your certification fee and required credentials to: 
MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
ATTN: CERTIFICATION 
67 FOREST STREET 
MARLBOROUGH MA 01752 

Please check your application for completeness and legibility. If your application is incomplete or illegible, it will be 
returned to you and your certification will be delayed. Make sure you have provided all supporting documents, as 
applicable, based on your answers to the questions on the back of the application. 

APPLICABLE STATE REGULATIONS 

Applicants for EMT certification should be aware of Massachusetts laws and regulations which govern the conduct 
of EMTs, including, but not limited to, M.G.L. c. 111C and 105 CMR 170.000. These laws and regulations are available  
on line, at www.mass.gov/dph/oems, at the State House Book Store and may be available at your local l ibrary for 
your review. 

http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
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________________________ 

________________________________ 

_________________________ 

This form is for individuals applying for an EMT-Basic certification who are currently NREMT certified as an EMT. If you 
currently hold (or have ever held) EMT certification/licensure in any other state (current or expired), then you must also 
complete the State Verification Form. Your NREMT certification must be current and in good standing at the time of 
application and throughout your certification period. The initial application and non-refundable fee remain valid for 1 year 
from the date of receipt at MDPH/OEMS. 
NON-REFUNDABLE FEE: $150.00 non-refundable check or money order made out to the COMMONWEALTH OF 
MASSACHUSETTS 

SUBMIT TO: MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
ATTN: CERTIFICATION 
67 FOREST STREET 
MARLBOROUGH MA 01752 

PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK OR BLUE INK 

 
WHERE DID YOU TAKE YOUR EMT COURSE? 

 

EMT TRAINING INSTITUTION: 
 

MDPH/OEMS COURSE APPROVAL #: (MASSACHUSETTS COURSES ONLY) 
 

OPTIONAL INFORMATION The following information is requested for statistical purposes. Please check the appropriate boxes : 

RACE:  White Non-Hispanic  Black/African American  Hispanic  Pacific Islander      Iranian 
 Native American  Asian                                        Indian                 Arabic                     Other: 

EDUCATION:  Some High School  HS Grad or GED  Some College  
 Bachelor’s Degree  Graduate Degree   

(CONTINUED ON REVERSE) 

EMAIL ADDRESS: 

TELEPHONE NUMBER: DATE OF BIRTH (mm/dd/yyyy): 

(SSN required per M.G.L. Chapter 30A Sec. 13A) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: 

ZIP CODE STATE CITY STREET 

LAST MIDDLE FIRST 
MAILING ADDRESS: 

NAME: 

DO YOU CURRENTLY HOLD (OR HAVE YOU EVER HELD) EMT CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE (AT ANY LEVEL) IN ANY OTHER STATE 
THAN MASSACHUSETTS? 
 

NO YES (LIST ALL STATES): 
 

 
HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY HELD MASSACHUSETTS EMT CERTIFICATION? 

NO YES (LIST NUMBER): 
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AND ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS 

Your failure to answer any of the above referenced questions will result in the return of your application without action. 
Your failure to disclose relevant information may result in the denial or revocation of your certification. 

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS BELOW, ATTACH A WRITTEN EXPLANATION WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 

EMT BACKGROUND   

1. Were you ever certified or licensed as an EMT (at any level) outside of Massachusetts, in another 
state or jurisdiction? YES NO 

2. Were you ever certified or licensed as another type of health care provider in Massachusetts or any 
other state or jurisdiction? 

 
YES 

 
NO 

3. Was your certification, license, or abil ity to work as an EMT (at any level) or another  type of health 
care  provider ever restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily  surrendered in Massachusetts or 
in any other state or jurisdiction (including, but not limited to, by the state, your employer, 
supervising physician or hospital)? 

 
YES 

 
NO 

CRIMINAL HISTORY   

4. Have you ever: a) been convicted of; b) entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to; 
or, c) admitted to sufficient facts , in connection with a felony or misdemeanor in any jurisdiction, 
other than a minor traffic violation, even if the matter was continued without a finding or the court 
withheld adjudication so that you would not have a record or conviction? For purposes of this 
question, the following traffic violations are not minor: driving under the influence, reckless driving, 
driving to endanger, and motor vehicle homicide. 

 
 
 

YES 

 
 
 

NO 

With regard to charges of criminal offenses, convictions, and disciplinary proceedings provide documentation, including, but not limited to, 
that which fully describes the offense, copies of relevant court documents or administrative proceedings, dispositions and current status. 

 
If you answered “yes” to question #4, you must submit a CORI Acknowledgement form (available on the OEMS website, 
at www.mass.gov/dph/oems), WITH a copy of your current driver’s license or government-issued photo identification, 

and supporting documentation. 
CERTIFICATIONS AND AUTHORIZATIONS 

 

1. I certify that I will fulfill my obligations to report abuse or neglect of children pursuant to M.G.L. c. 119, § 51A and to report abuse of 
elderly persons pursuant to c. 19A, § 15. 

2. I certify that I have complied with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts relating to taxes, reporting of employees and 
contractors, and withholding and remitting of child support. 

3. I agree to abide by all rules and regulations of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
4. I authorize MDPH/OEMS to use my Social Security Number to verify certification and recertification status with the National Registry of 

EMTs. 
5. I agree to keep MDPH/OEMS informed in writing of any name or address changes over the course of my certification period.  I 

understand that the name and address on this application shall be deemed the appropriate name and address to which all notices from 
the Department of Public Health will be sent, unless I notify MDPH/OEMS in writing of any changes. 

6. I authorize MDPH/OEMS and its staff to contact the Criminal History Systems Board for access to conviction and pending criminal case 
data, as well as to contact other agencies as may be necessary to verify information related to this application.  As an applicant for 
certification or recertification or as an EMT, I understand that a criminal history check may be conducted and that it will not 
automatically disqualify me.  

7. I hereby certify that I meet all the criteria for certification as required by 105 CMR 170.000 et seq. Further, I certify under the penalty of 
perjury that the information contained in this application is correct and I acknowledge that any false, inaccurate, or omitted statement 
or document is grounds for denial, revocation or suspension of the certification which I am seeking to gain. 
 

  SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT:                                                                                                                                DATE: 

 

http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
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