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OVERVIEW

This form is for individuals applying for an EMT-Paramedic certification who are currently NREMT certified as a NRP or EMT-
Paramedic. If you currently hold (or have ever held) EMT certification/licensure in any other state (current or expired),
then you must complete the State Verification Form. Your NREMT certification must be current and in good standing at
the time of application and throughout your certification period.

MDPH/OEMS will review and verify your eligibility for certification. Only those candidates who meet ALL eligibility
requirements will be eligible for certification. Applications will be returned to those candidates who are not eligible for
certification. Please fill out both sides of the form completely and legibly. Sign and date the application form as testimony
that all of the information presented is accurate to the best of your knowledge. The initial application and non-refundable
fee remain valid for 1 year from the date of receipt at MDPH/OEMS.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

1 APPLICATION Completed application for Massachusetts certification as an EMT-Paramedic.

[0 NON-REFUNDABLE FEE Required Massachusetts certification fee, in the form of a check or money order for
$150, payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

[0 NREMT CARD A copy of your current NR-Paramedic/NREMT-Paramedic certification card.

] CPR CARD A copy of both sides of your current Basic Cardiac Life Support (BCLS) card or
equivalent, provided by a nationally recognized organization and reflecting current
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and emergency cardiac care resuscitation science
and treatment recommendations issued by the International Liaison Committee on
Resuscitation (ILCOR)’s International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and
Emergency Cardiovascular Care Science With Treatment Recommendations (CoSTR).

] ACLS CARD A copy of both sides of your current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) card

provided by a nationally recognized organization and reflecting current cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) and emergency cardiac care resuscitation science and treatment
recommendations issued by the International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation
(ILCOR)’s International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency
Cardiovascular Care Science With Treatment Recommendations (CoSTR).

(1 STATE VERIFICATION FORM  Only if you currently have (or have held) EMT certification/licensure in any other
state. This form is available online and must be completed for any state in which you
have (or held) EMT certification/licensure (at any level). Send this form to the State
EMS office of question and they will return it directly to our office.

(] CORI PACKET Only if you answer “YES” to QUESTION 4 (criminal history). Form available at
www.mass.gov/dph/oems
Submit the complete application with your certification fee and required credentials to:

MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

ATTN: CERTIFICATION

67 FOREST STREET

MARLBOROUGH MA 01752

APPLICABLE STATE REGULATIONS

Applicants for EMT certification should be aware of Massachusetts laws and regulations which govern the conduct of EMTs,
including, but not limited to, M.G.L. c. 111C and 105 CMR 170.000. These laws and regulations are available on line, at
www.mass.gov/dph/oems, at the State House Book Store and may be available at your local library for your review.



http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
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This form is for individuals applying for an EMT-Paramedic certification who are currently NREMT certified as a Paramedic or EMT-
Paramedic. If you currently hold (or have ever held) EMT certification/licensure in any other state (current or expired), then you
must complete the State Verification Form. Your NREMT certification must be current and in good standing at the time of
application and throughout your certification period. The initial application and non-refundable fee remain valid for 1 year from the
date of receipt at MDPH/OEMS.

NON-REFUNDABLE FEE: $150.00 non-refundable check or money order made out to the COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

SUBMIT TO: MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
CERTIFICATION
67 FOREST STREET
MARLBOROUGH MA 01752

PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK OR BLUE INK

NAME:

FIRST MIDDLE LAST
MAILING ADDRESS:

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: (SSN required per M.G.L. Chapter 30A Sec. 13A)
DATE OF BIRTH (mm/dd/yyyy): TELEPHONE NUMBER:

EMAIL ADDRESS:

WHERE DID YOU TAKE YOUR PARAMEDIC COURSE?

PARAMEDIC TRAINING INSTITUTION:

DPH/OEMS COURSE APPROVAL #: (MASSACHUSETTS COURSES ONLY)

DO YOU CURRENTLY HOLD (OR HAVE YOU EVER HELD) EMT CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE (AT ANY LEVEL) IN ANY OTHER STATE
BESIDES MASSACHUSETTS?

CNO [] YES (LIST ALL STATES): L{

Please note that you must submit a state verification form for every state in which you hold/have held EMT certification/licensure.
Form is available at mass.gov/dph/oems.

HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY HELD MASSACHUSETTS EMT CERTIFICATION?

[ INnO [ ] YES (LIST NUMBER):
OPTIONAL INFORMATION The following information is requested for statistical purposes. Please check the appropriate boxes:
RACE: [] White Non-Hispanic [ ] Black Non-Hispanic [ ] Hispanic [_] Asian or Pacific Islander
|:| American Indian |:| Other:
EDUCATION: |:| Some High School |:| HS Grad or GED |:| Some College
|:| Bachelor’s Degree |:| Graduate Degree
SEX: |:| Male |:| Female

(CONTINUED ON REVERSE)
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AND ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS

Your failure to answer any of the above referenced questions will result in the return of your application without action. Your failure to

disclose relevant information may result in the denial or revocation of your certification.

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS BELOW, ATTACH A WRITTEN EXPLANATION WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION

EMT BACKGROUND
1. Were you ever certified or licensed as an EMT (at any level) outside of Massachusetts. in another state or
jurisdiction? []ves
2. Were you ever certified or licensed as another type of health care provider in Massachusetts or any other
state or jurisdiction? D YES

3. Was your certification, license, or ability to work as an EMT (at any level) or another type of health care
provider ever restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered in Massachusetts or in any other D YES
state or jurisdiction (including, but not limited to, by the state, your employer, supervising physician or
hospital)?

CRIMINAL HISTORY

4. Have you ever: a) been convicted of; b) entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to; or, c)
admitted to sufficient facts, in connection with a felony or misdemeanor in any jurisdiction, other than a
minor traffic violation, even if the matter was continued without a finding or the court withheld adjudication |:| YES
so that you would not have a record or conviction? For purposes of this question, driving under the influence
or driving while impaired is not a minor traffic violation.

[ ]NO
[ ]Nno

[ ]NO

[ ]NO

With regard to charges of criminal offenses, convictions, and disciplinary proceedings provide documentation, including, but not limited to, that which

fully describes the offense, copies of relevant court documents or administrative proceedings, dispositions and current status.

If you answered “yes” to question #4, you must submit a CORI Acknowledgement form (available on the OEMS website, at
www.mass.gov/dph/oems), WITH a copy of your current driver’s license or government-issued photo identification, and supporting

documentation.

CERTIFICATIONS AND AUTHORIZATIONS

1. | certify that | will fulfill my obligations to report abuse or neglect of children pursuant to M.G.L. c. 119, § 51A and to report abuse of elderly

persons pursuant to c. 19A, § 15.

2. | certify that | have complied with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts relating to taxes, reporting of employees and

contractors, and withholding and remitting of child support.
3. lagree to abide by all rules and regulations of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

4. | agree to keep MDPH/OEMS informed in writing of any name or address changes over the course of my certification period. |

understand that the name and address on this application shall be deemed the appropriate name and address to which all notices from

the Department of Public Health will be sent, unless I notify MDPH/OEMS in writing of any changes.

s.  lauthorize MDPH/OEMS and its staff to contact the Criminal History Systems Board for access to conviction and pending criminal case

data, as well as to contact other agencies as may be necessary to verify information related to this application. As an applicant for

certification or recertification or as an EMT, | understand that a criminal history check may be conducted and that it will not
automatically disqualify me.

6. | hereby certify that | meet all the criteria for certification as required by 105 CMR 170.000 et seq. Further, | certify under the penalty of
perjury that the information contained in this application is correct and | acknowledge that any false, inaccurate, or omitted statement

or document is grounds for denial, revocation or suspension of the certification which | am seeking to regain.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT: DATE:



http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems

