
  

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Division of Professional Licensure 

Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers 
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 

Boston, MA 02118-6100 
617-727-3055 

INFORMATION FOR REAL ESTATE APPRAISER TRAINEES (EFFECTIVE DATE 10-8-15) 
 
To obtain an Appraiser Trainee license from the Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers (Board), an Applicant 
must be supervised by a State-Certified Real Estate Appraiser (Supervising Appraiser). A Supervising Appraiser shall be in 
good standing with the Board and the Appraisal Subcommittee’s (ASC) National Registry, must be licensed for a minimum 
of three (3) years as a State-Certified Real Estate Appraiser and may not have been subject to any disciplinary action within 
the last three (3) years that affects the Supervising Appraiser’s legal ability to engage in the appraisal practice. Applicants 
should utilize the Board’s website located at mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra to verify the Supervising Appraiser’s license status and 
length of licensure.  
 
All Applicants and Supervising Appraisers must be familiar with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP) and the Board’s rules, regulations and statutes located at mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra.  
 
An Appraiser Trainee may assist a Supervising Appraiser in the performance of an appraisal assignment BUT ONLY under 
the DIRECT supervision and control of a Supervising Appraiser. An Appraiser Trainee may be supervised by more than one 
(1) Supervising Appraiser. A Supervising Appraiser may only supervise a maximum of three (3) Appraiser Trainees or 
Appraisers-in-Training at one time.1  
 
An appraisal experience log shall be maintained jointly by the Appraiser Trainee and the Supervising Appraiser. The 
Supervising Appraiser shall personally inspect at least five (5) appraised properties with the Appraiser Trainee. The 
Supervising Appraiser shall personally inspect additional properties with the Appraiser Trainee until the Supervising 
Appraiser determines that the Appraiser Trainee has obtained competence in accordance with USPAP for the property type. 
 
Education Requirements: An Applicant must complete seventy-five (75) hours of pre-licensure real estate appraiser 
education (Board approved classroom primary education courses only) in the following: a 15-hour USPAP course, Basic 
Appraisal Principles (30 hours) and Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours). Also, prior to the submission of the 
Application, the Applicant and the Supervising Appraiser MUST complete a Board approved Supervising Appraiser 
and Trainee course. All pre-licensure education by the Trainee Applicant MUST be completed within the five (5) 
year period prior to the date of the submission of the Application. The Supervising Appraiser and Trainee course cannot 
be utilized towards the seventy-five (75) hours of pre-licensure education. All Applicants must attach a certificate of 
completion for each and every course. 
 
If you have been convicted of a criminal offense, prior to submitting the application, please review the Board’s Criminal 
Conviction and Discipline Review policy located on the Board’s website. 
 
Continuing Education: Licensees shall complete a minimum of twenty-eight (28) hours of Board approved continuing 
education which shall include a current 7-hour USPAP Update course. The initial Trainee license is valid for a period of 
two (2) years from the next occurring birthday following the issuance date. Therefore, the first license will be valid for a 
period of two (2) to three (3) years. If the licensure period equals to or exceeds two (2) years and 185 days then an 
additional fourteen (14) hours of continuing education must be completed for a total of forty-two (42) hours. A 
Trainee license may be renewed four (4) times. Therefore, a Trainee wishing to obtain a State-Licensed or State-Certified 
Appraiser license should obtain such experience during the licensure period.  
 
Applications: You must fully and correctly complete the attached application. The non-refundable application fee is 
$113.00 and the license fee $113.00. You must submit two (2) separate checks payable to Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts together with the application.  
 
If you have any questions, the Board’s mailing address and telephone number are listed above. 

                                                           
1 An Appraiser-in-Training is a State-Licensed Appraiser or State-Certified Residential Appraiser working under the direct supervision of an appraiser 
licensed at a higher level on assignments outside the scope of practice of the credential held by the appraiser being supervised. 



 

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Division of Professional Licensure 

Board of Registration of  
Real Estate Appraisers 

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 
Boston, MA 02118-6100 

617-727-3055 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A MASSACHUSETTS REAL ESTATE APPRAISER TRAINEE 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Please read all instructions before completing the application. Fill out the 
application carefully and completely. A $113.00  license fee and $113.00 non-
refundable application fee must be submitted together with this application. 
The fee must be paid by two (2) SEPARATE checks or money orders payable 
to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Do not send cash. Mail the completed 
application, Education Reporting Form, fee and other requested documents to 
the address listed above. 

 
PLEASE COMPLETE IN INK OR TYPEWRITE 

(Effective Date 10-8-15) 
 

1. Affix passport size photograph (2 inches X 2 inches) above. 
 
2. Name of applicant: _______________________________________________________________ 
                                         (First)                (Middle)                  (Last)                     (Generation) 
 
    Maiden name of applicant: _________________________________________________________ 
 
3. Sex: M ___ F ___                          
 
4. Date of birth  _____/______/______       
                               mm/dd/yy 
 
5. Telephone:   Day: (____) _____-_________                           Evening: (____) _____-__________ 
 
6. Mailing address:  
 
__________________________________   ____________________    ______     _______________ 
          (Street and P0 Box/Apt number)                        (City )                       (ST)           (Zip Code) 
 
7. Permanent address if different: 
 
__________________________________   ____________________    ______     _______________ 
         (Street and P0 Box/Apt number)                          (City )                     (ST)            (Zip Code) 

Affix photo here 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
License Number: ___________________________________ 
Issue Date: ________________________________________ 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________ 

 
 



8. Business address if applicable: 
 
__________________________________   ____________________    ______     _______________ 
           (Street and P0 Box/Apt number)                       (City )                      (ST)              (Zip Code) 
 
9. Have you ever changed your name?   Yes      No 
If yes, state previous name(s):__________________________   
   
10. Have you ever held a professional license in Massachusetts or any 
state or American jurisdiction? 

  
 Yes      No 

If yes, where? ______________________________________   
   
11. Are you or have you ever been the subject of any disciplinary actions 
by a licensing/certification board located in the United States or any 
country or foreign jurisdiction? 

  
 
 Yes      No 

If yes, attach a statement containing the nature of complaint(s) and 
name(s) of licensing authority (ies). 

  

   
12. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the 
United States or any country or foreign jurisdiction, other than a traffic 
violation for which a fine of less than $200.00 was assessed? 

  
 
 
Yes      No 

If yes, attach a statement containing the name of court(s) and jurisdiction 
where conviction(s) occurred, the nature of the conviction, the date(s) of 
conviction and a description of any events in connection with the 
conviction that you feel are relevant to the Board’s understanding of the 
conviction. Also provide three (3) letters of reference and, if probation 
was served, a letter from the probation officer. 

  

   
13. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or resigned a professional 
license to a license/certification board in the United States or Foreign 
jurisdiction? 
If yes, provide details on a separate sheet. 

  
 
 Yes      No 

   
14. List all license(s)/certification(s) you hold in the United States or any country or foreign 
jurisdiction and the state/jurisdiction from which the license/certification was originally issued. 
Indicate the status of your license, license number, type of license and any relevant disciplinary 
information. Also, please attach an original Certified Record of License History issued by that state or 
jurisdiction. 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 



15. This application must be SIGNED by one reference who is not a relative and is personally known 
to the applicant. 
 
I, ____________________________________, certify that the applicant, who is known to me, has a 
good reputation for honesty and fair dealing and is of good moral character. I will be willing to 
interpret or substantiate to the Board my endorsement should the Board desire to contact me at a later 
date. 
 

NAME ADDRESS PHONE 
 
 

  

 
Signature of reference: __________________________________ 
 
 
16. I, ____________________________________________ (the applicant), hereby state under the 
pains and penalties of perjury that the information provided on this application for licensure or 
certification as a Massachusetts Real Estate Appraiser or attached or incorporated herein is truthful and 
accurate.  I further attest that, pursuant to M.G.L. 62C, s.49A, to the best of my knowledge and belief, I 
have filed all state tax returns and paid all state taxes required by law. I further understand and agree 
that should any information that I have provided be false it will be grounds for the Massachusetts 
Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers to suspend or revoke any license issued to me in 
accordance with Massachusetts law. 
 
The Board is certified by the Criminal History Systems Board [ID# MAREG G] to access data about 
convictions and pending criminal cases.  Those records—and other Federal and professional records—
may be checked as part of your licensing process. No records are automatic disqualifiers; you will be 
given an opportunity to discuss any issues with the Board. 
 
______________________________                  ________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                          Date 
 
 
 
_____________________________                   My commission expires on: 
Signature of Notary 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



CRIMINAL OFFENDER RECORD INFORMATION (CORI)  
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 

 
The Division of Professional Licensure by itself and on behalf of boards of registration pursuant to M.G.L. c. 13, §9 
[hereinafter, “Division of Professional Licensure” ] is registered under the provisions of M.G.L. c. 6, § 172 to receive CORI 
for the purpose of screening current and otherwise qualified prospective license applicants and current licensees.  
 
As a license applicant or current licensee, I understand that a CORI check will be submitted for my personal information to 
the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services (“DCJIS”). I hereby acknowledge and provide permission to the 
Division of Professional Licensure to submit a CORI check for my information to the DCJIS.  This authorization is valid for 
one year from the date of my signature. I may withdraw this authorization at any time by providing the Division of 
Professional Licensure written notice of my intent to withdraw consent to a CORI check. 
 
FOR LICENSING PURPOSES ONLY: 
 
The Division of Professional Licensure may conduct subsequent CORI checks within one year of the date this Form was 
signed by me provided, however, that the Division of Professional Licensure must first provide me with written notice of 
this check. 
 
By signing below, I provide my consent to a CORI check and acknowledge that the information provided on Page 2 of this 
Acknowledgement Form is true and accurate. 
 
 
 
_________________________________  _________________________________ 
Signature      Date 
 
 
 
NOTE:  DPL cannot accept this two-page CORI acknowledgment form unless it is signed in the presence of a notary public 
who has likewise verified identity. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
SUBJECT INFORMATION: (An asterisk (*) denotes a required field) 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
*Last Name   *First Name   Middle Name   Suffix 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
*Maiden Name (or other name(s) by which you have been known) 
 
___________________  ____________________________ 
*Date of Birth   Place of Birth 
 
*Last Six Digits of Your Social Security Number: ________ - ___________    
 
Sex: ______    Height: ____ ft. ____ in.   Eye Color: _________  
 
Driver’s License or ID Number: ___________________ State of Issue: __________________ 
 
Current and Former Addresses: 
 
 __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
IDENTITY VERIFICATION SECTION:  
 
VERIFICATION BY NOTARY:   
On this ______ day of _____________, 20____, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally appeared 
_________________________________ (name of document signer), and proved to me through satisfactory evidence of 
identification, which was the following:   
 
               �  Passport  �  State-issued driver’s license  �  Military identification  �  State-issued identification card 
 
 to be the person whose name is signed on the preceding or attached document, and acknowledged to me that (he) (she) 
signed it voluntarily for its stated purpose.  

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Notary Public:       Notary Commission Expires On  
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



TRAINEE APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

INCLUDE WITH YOUR APPLICATION 
 

• The application is fully completed and signed by the applicant. 
 

• Enclosed is the non-refundable application fee of $113.00 (check or money order) payable to the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
 

• Enclosed is the license fee of $113.00 (check or money order) payable to the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts. 
 

• The character reference is completed and signed. 
 

• The application and the two (2) pages of the CORI form are notarized. 
 

• All documents concerning criminal or disciplinary proceedings are attached. 
 

• Enclosed are the completed Appraisal Education Reporting Forms for the Trainee Applicant and the 
Supervising Appraiser(s).  
 

• Enclosed are original or certified copies from the Provider of certificates of completion for each course. 
All pre-licensure education by the Trainee Applicant MUST be completed within the five (5) year 
period prior to the date of the submission of the Application. 

 
IMPORTANT: A letter will be mailed to you when you are approved. You may also check the Board’s 
website located at mass.gov/dpl/boards/ra for your license status under “Online Services” then click “Check a 
Professional License”. You can insert your name and if you have been approved the information will appear.  
The actual wallet license will be mailed within three (3) to five (5) weeks after the license is listed in current © 
status on the web page. 
 
Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 49A, the Division of Professional Licensure is required to obtain your  
Social Security Number and forward it to the Department of Revenue. The Department of Revenue will 
use your Social Security Number to ascertain whether you are in compliance with the tax laws of the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 
 
 
MANDATORY: My Social Security Number is:  ___   ___   ___   -   ___   ___   -   ___   ___   ___   ___ 
 
 

ApplicationsForms/Traineeapp 



APPRAISER EDUCATION REPORTING FORM – TRAINEE APPLICANT  
 
This form must be completed by all Applicants with original certificates of completion attached. All pre-licensure education by the Trainee 
Applicant MUST be completed within the five (5) year period prior to the date of the submission of the Application. 
 
Trainee Applicant’s Name: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Course Type School or Organization Name Course number and title  

(See list of approved appraisal 
courses) 

Date(s) attended  
 

Hours 

Board approved 15-hour Uniform 
Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice (USPAP) (15 
hours) 
 

    

Board Approved Basic Appraisal 
Principles (30 hours) 
 

    

Board Approved Basic Appraisal 
Procedures (30 hours) 
 

    

    Total Classroom Hours 
 
 
 
Course Type School or Organization Name Course number and title  

(See list of approved appraisal 
courses) 

Date(s) attended  
 

Hours 

Supervising Appraiser and 
Trainee course 
 

    



APPRAISER EDUCATION REPORTING FORM – SUPERVISING APPRAISER  
 
 
This form must be completed by ALL Supervising Appraisers. Also, attach the certificate of completion for the Supervising Appraiser and Trainee 
course completed by the Supervising Appraiser. 
 
 
Supervising Appraiser’s Name: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
License Number of Supervising Appraiser: ______________________________________________________ 
 
Type Classification of Supervising Appraiser: _____ State-Certified Residential Appraiser  _____ State-Certified General Appraiser   
 
 
Course Type School or Organization Name Course number and title  

(See list of approved appraisal 
courses) 

Date(s) attended  
 

Hours 

Supervising Appraiser and 
Trainee course 
 

    

 
 
I shall serve as a Supervising Appraiser for _________________________________________________.  
                   (Print Trainee Applicant’s Name) 
 
I certify that I am a State-Certified Appraiser in good standing with the Board and the Appraisal Subcommittee’s (ASC) National Registry, have been 
licensed as a State-Certified Appraiser for a minimum of three (3) years and have not been subject to any disciplinary action within the last three (3) 
years that would have affected my legal ability to engage in the appraisal practice. Also, as a Supervising Appraiser, I shall only supervise a 
maximum of three (3) Appraiser Trainees or Appraisers-in-Training at one time.  
 
Signature of Supervising Appraiser:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Date: ____________________________________________ 
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