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REINSTATEMENT OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE 

Instructions 

Your reinstatement process may be different depending on how long your license has been 

expired. 

IF YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN EXPIRED FOR LESS THAN 20 MONTHS, YOU DO 

NOT NEED TO SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION. 

You may renew your license here: https://elicensing.mass.gov/CitizenAccess/Default.aspx.  

Please email dplauthcodes@mass.gov if you do not have your renewal notice and need your 

record identification and authorization codes. Please note that if your license has not been 

expired for at least 20 months, it will only be renewed until the next two-year renewal date 

for your license, and you will be required to submit 80 additional CPE credits to renew 

your license again.  For example, if your license expired on June 30 of an even-numbered year, 

it will only be renewed until June 30 of the next even-numbered year before you will have to 

renew again with 80 new CPE credits.  The same applies if your license expired in an odd-

numbered year.  For this reason, you may wish to wait until your license has been expired for 

more than 20 months before reinstating your license so that the new expiration date is more than 

two years in the future.  

IF YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN EXPIRED FOR MORE THAN 20 MONTHS, PLEASE 

FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW TO SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION.   

Please note that if you license expired on an even-numbered year, and you are reinstating your 

license before March 1 of an even-numbered year, you will have to renew your license again by 

June 30 of the same year and submit 80 CPE credits that you did not submit to reinstate your 

license upon renewal.  The same applies if your license expired in an odd-numbered year, and 

you are reinstating your license before March 1 in an odd-numbered year. 

After your application has been approved, you will receive a payment coupon in the mail.  

After you return the signed coupon with payment, your license will be reinstated. 



REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION CHECKLIST: 

1. Application and CORI Form:

A complete Application for Reinstatement of an Expired License form, including a

notarized Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement form

located at the end of this application.

2. Explanation of Professional Employment:

Submit a brief explanation of your professional employment since your license lapsed.  If

you did practice in Massachusetts without proper licensure, you must include an

explanation and description of your practice and the services you provided.

3. License Verification(s) (If Applicable):

If you are or have been licensed in another jurisdiction in any profession, you must

arrange for each jurisdiction to submit an official license verification or certification to

the Board either through the mail at the address above or email to

accountingboard@mass.gov.

CPE Exception:

If you were licensed as a CPA in another state during the entire period your

Massachusetts license has been expired, you are not required to submit proof of 160 CPE

hours to reinstate your license.  You must submit a copy of the policy, regulation, or

statute from that state that requires you to take CPE hours to renew your license.

4. Proof of 160 CPEs:

If you were not licensed as a CPA in another state during the entire period your Massachusetts

license has been expired, proof of completion of 160 CPE hours within four years from when this

application is received by the Board, including 80 hours of courses in the attest function and/or

financial statement preparation and 8 hours in ethics.

See the list below and 252 CMR 2.14 for what CPE credits are acceptable:

https://www.mass.gov/regulations/252-CMR-2-requirements-for-certification.



Additional Information Required for Proof of CPEs: 

 CPE Courses: A list of the 80 hours of courses in the attest function and/or financial

statement preparation, including the sponsor or provider, the course or program title, the

location, the date, and the number of hours.  Please also include certificates of

completion for all courses listed.

 College Courses: If you are claiming a college course for CPE hours, you must list the

college or university, course title, date, and number of credits for each course and submit

an official transcript.  The Board awards 15 CPE hours for each semester credit, and 7.5

CPE hours for each quarter credit.

 Formal Correspondence or Other Individual Study Program: If you are claiming a

formal correspondence or other individual study program for CPE credit, you must list the

program title and the dates you began and completed the program.  You must also list the

number of CPE hours you are claiming for the program, proof that you completed the

program, e.g., proof that you passed an examination, and proof that the work you are

claiming was actually accomplished.  See the Board’s “Policy Regarding Approval of

Continuing Professional Education Hours for Correspondence or Individual Study

Programs and for Presentations” for more information.

 Presenting a Class or Program: If you are claiming a class or program that you

presented for CPE credit, you must list the course or program title, the location, the date,

the number of hours you prepared to present the course or program, and the number of

hours you presented the course or program.  You must also submit a course syllabus.

Please note that if you claimed presenting a class or course for a license renewal in

the past you may not claim it again to reinstate your license unless the course or

program has “substantially changed.”  See the Board’s “Policy Regarding Approval of

Continuing Professional Education Hours for Correspondence or Individual Study

Programs and for Presentations” for more information.  The Board may allow up to 80

CPE hours for presenting or preparing to present classes or programs.

 Publications: If you authored an article or a book, please include a copy for Board

evaluation.  The Board may allow up to 40 CPE hours for authoring an article or book.



Board of Public Accountancy 

1 Federal Street, Suite 0600 

Boston, MA  02110-2012
617-727-1806

Application for Reinstatement of an Expired License 

Name: ______________________________________       CPA License #: __________________________ 

Mailing Address ______________________________       Email Address:___________________________ 

No.  Street 

___________________________________________      Phone: _________________________________ 

  City State  Zip 

Current and Past Licenses in Other Jurisdictions (If Any) 

State:     License Number:           Profession: 

If you are or have been licensed in another jurisdiction in any profession, you must arrange for each jurisdiction 

to submit an official license verification or certification to the Board either through the mail at the address 

above or email to accountingboard@mass.gov.  

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 

Please include a list of 160 CPE hours taken within four years from when this application is received by the 

Board, including 80 hours of courses in the attest function and/or financial statement preparation and 8 hours in 

ethics. See the Instructions above for more information. 

Attestation Questions 

1. Within the courses listed, have you completed 8 hours in the area of professional ethics?

YES □ NO □

2. Has any finding of unlawful practice been made against you by the Massachusetts Commission Against

Discrimination (MCAD)?

YES □ NO □
If YES, please attach a letter explaining the details. 



3. Has any licensing or disciplinary authority ever refused to issue or revoked, annulled, cancelled,

accepted surrender of, placed on probation, or refused to renew any professional license or certificate

held by you now or previously, or ever fined, censured, reprimanded or otherwise disciplined you?

YES □ NO □
If YES, please attach a letter explaining the details. 

4. Are charges pending against you in any jurisdiction for any sort of professional misconduct?

YES □ NO □
If YES, please attach a letter explaining the details. 

5. Have you ever been found guilty after trial, or pleaded guilty, no contest, or nolo contendere to a

crime (felony or misdemeanor) in any court?

YES □ NO □
If YES, please attach a letter explaining the details. 

6. Are criminal charges pending against you in any court?

YES □ NO □
If YES, please attach a letter explaining the details. 

Quality Review (QR) Questions 

1. Do you practice public accountancy as a sole proprietor either full-time or part-time?

YES □ NO □

If YES, and you practice in any manner at an address other than the address on the previous page, 

please list the address below: 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 

       No.   Street   City  State  Zip 



2. Do you practice public accountancy in an ownership position, such as shareholder, partner, or member,

of a CPA firm licensed in Massachusetts?

YES □ NO □
 If YES, list your title and the firm’s name and address below: 

Title: __________________________________________________________________________ 

Firm Name: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Firm Address: ___________________________________________________________________ 

No.   Street   City  State  Zip 

3. If you answered YES to question 1 or question 2 above, have you as a sole proprietor or has your firm

issued reports on financial statements?

YES □ NO □

If YES, every licensed practice of public accountancy that issues reports on financial statements 

must submit to a Quality Report Review.  Therefore, the Board requires that the licensee indicate 

which review acceptance body monitors the Quality Report Review for the CPA practice, per 252 

CMR.   

The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants  □ 

Massachusetts Society of Certified Public Accountants  □ 

Massachusetts Association of Public Accountants   □ 

Other, please write in the name of review acceptance body below: □

 ___________________________________________ 

If NO to question 3, you cannot issue reports on financial statements in your practice of 

public accountancy until you have notified the Board that you have contacted a Review 

Acceptance Body and become a member of their Quality Review program. 

4. If NO to question 1 and question 2, and you are not employed as a public accountant, list your current

employment and job title.

Company: ___________________________________________ Title: ______________________

Address: ________________________________________________________________________

No. Street City State Zip 



5. If you are employed by a public accounting firm but not in an ownership position, list your employer

and your job title.

CPA Firm: __________________________________________ Title: ______________________

Address: _________________________________________________________________________

No.  Street   City  State  Zip 

Has your employer complied with the Quality Report Review requirement?

YES □ NO □

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT ALL STATEMENTS MADE HEREIN ARE TRUTHFUL 

AND ARE MADE UNDER THE PAINS AND PENALTIES OF PERJURY.  

___________________________________________ 

 Signature    Date 



CRIMINAL OFFENDER RECORD INFORMATION (CORI)  

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 

 

The Division of Professional Licensure by itself and on behalf of boards of registration pursuant 

to M.G.L. c. 13, §9 [hereinafter, “Division of Professional Licensure”] is registered under the 

provisions of M.G.L. c. 6, § 172 to receive CORI for the purpose of screening current and 

otherwise qualified prospective license applicants and current licensees.  

 

As a license applicant or current licensee, I understand that a CORI check will be submitted for 

my personal information to the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services (“DCJIS”). 

I hereby acknowledge and provide permission to the Division of Professional Licensure to 

submit a CORI check for my information to the DCJIS.  This authorization is valid for one year 

from the date of my signature. I may withdraw this authorization at any time by providing the 

Division of Professional Licensure written notice of my intent to withdraw consent to a CORI 

check. 

 

FOR LICENSING PURPOSES ONLY: 

 

The Division of Professional Licensure may conduct subsequent CORI checks within one year of 

the date this Form was signed by me. 

 

By signing below, I provide my consent to a CORI check and a subsequent CORI check, both 

within one year of the date of this Form, and acknowledge that the information provided on Page 

2 of this Acknowledgement Form is true and accurate. 

 

 

 

_________________________________  _________________________________ 

Signature      Date 

 

 

 

NOTE:  DPL CANNOT ACCEPT THIS TWO-PAGE CORI ACKNOWLEDGMENT FORM 

UNLESS IT IS EITHER (1) SIGNED IN PERSON AT THE BOARD'S OFFICES IN THE 

PRESENCE OF A DPL EMPLOYEE WHO HAS VERIFIED THE APPLICANT'S IDENTITY 

THROUGH ACCEPTABLE IDENTIFICATION, OR (2) SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF A 

NOTARY PUBLIC WHO HAS LIKEWISE VERIFIED IDENTITY AND THEN MAILED OR 

OTHERWISE DELIVERED TO THE BOARD'S OFFICES AT THE ADDRESS SET FORTH 

ABOVE. 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 



SUBJECT INFORMATION: (A red asterisk (*) denotes a required field) 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

*Last Name   *First Name   Middle Name   Suffix 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

*Maiden Name (or other name(s) by which you have been known) 

 

___________________  ____________________________ 

*Date of Birth   Place of Birth 

 

*Last Six Digits of Your Social Security Number: ________ - ___________    

 

Sex: ______    Height: ____ ft. ____ in.   Eye Color: _________  

 

Driver’s License or ID Number: ___________________ State of Issue: ___________________ 

 

Current and Former Addresses:  

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Street Number & Name   City/Town   State  Zip 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

IDENTITY VERIFICATION SECTION: If this form is submitted by hand at DPL Offices, Section A must be completed.  

Otherwise, Section B must be completed.   

  

SECTION A: VERIFICATION BY DPL EMPLOYEE:  I hereby certify that I verified the identity of the above-referenced subject by 

reviewing the following form(s) of government-issued identification:1 

 

  Passport    State Issued driver’s license        Military identification      State-issued identification card  

 

VERIFIED BY:   ________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Name of Verifying DPL Employee (Please Print) 

    

________________________________________________________________________________ 

      Signature of Verifying DPL Employee   Date  

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SECTION B:  VERIFICATION BY NOTARY:   

 

On this ______ day of _____________, 20____, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally appeared 

_________________________________ (name of document signer), and proved to me through satisfactory evidence of identification, 

which was the following:†   

 

                 Passport    State-issued driver’s license    Military identification    State-issued identification card 

 

to be the person whose name is signed on the preceding or attached document, and acknowledged to me that (he) (she) signed it 

voluntarily for its stated purpose.  

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Notary Public:       Notary Commission Expires On  

 

 

 

 

                     
1 If a subject does not have an acceptable government-issued identification, his or her identity shall be verified by other forms of 

documentation as determined by DCJIS.  803 CMR 2.09(2). 


