APPRENTICE AGREEMENT



☐ Prevailing rate work

☐ Non-prevailing rate work

For office use only	,
Compliance Officer Number:	
Sponsor Number:	
Apprentice status	Date:
Date Entered:	
Completed/Certificate:	
Suspended:	
Cancelled:	
Military Service:	
Deceased:	

Annual Fee: \$35.00 for photo ID (please include one passport size photo)

Apprentice ID Number:

Pursuant to the Standards of Apprenticeship adopted by the Sponsor and registered with the Massachusetts Division of Apprentice Standards, the provisions of which are hereby made part of this Agreement, and in compliance with the Massachusetts Plan for Equal Employment in Apprenticeship Standards, WITNESSETH: that the Agreement is entered into by the undersigned:

Name of Apprentice		Address of A	Address of Apprentice			
Name of Program Spo	onsor, Employer, JAC, JAT	C, Association of Emp	oloyers, or Organization o	of Employers		
Trade occupation: Terr		Term of apprei	n of apprenticeship:			
Date apprenticeship begins:		Projecte	Projected completion date:			
Credit for previous on-the job experience: Rela			ng hours: Starting	step number:		
[on projects where th		et by law, the rate of	pay shall comply with the	on journey person wages) e wage rate or percentages		
% 1st:	% 3rd:	% 5th:	% 7th:	% 9th:		
% 2nd:	% 4th:	% 6th:	% 8th:	% 10th:		
Minimum Journey person rate as of (Date):			is \$	per hour		
The parties hereto agree	andards to request access t	ne reverse side of this fo	orm are part of this agreem	ent. I hereby authorize the school/training program I may		
Signature of Apprentice		Signatu	Signature of Program Sponsor			
Signature Parent/Guardian, If Minor		Addres	Address of Program Sponsor			
		Signatu	Signature of Union JAC, JATC			
Approved by the Division of Apprentice Standards:			Date:			

The Program Sponsor and the Apprentice, by affixing their signatures in conformity with the terms and conditions provided herein, hereby agree to the following:

The sponsor will not necessarily be responsible for paying the cost of the related instruction or any books, other written materials, or supplies necessary for instruction. If, however, the apprentice is to be responsible for all or any portion of such costs it must be specified below.

Cost to be incu	arred by a	pprentice: (piease nave a	ipprentice initial all item(s)	tnat apply)		
Tuition:		Books:	Tools:	None:		
Prior employm	ent hourl	y pay rate:	Received copy of <i>D</i>	AS Apprentice handbook:		
Apprentice Sp	onsor (E	ach should initial the blar	ıks below to indicate they u	understand and agree to each	າ requirement below)	
				urs of employment as an app practice, in the occupation to		
		The Program Sponsor agrees to abide by all applicable provisions of the Massachusetts Plan for Equal Employment in Apprenticeship Standards.				
		The apprentice shall receive a minimum of 150 hours per year of related classroom instruction during the period of apprenticeship in the occupation to which he is apprenticed, or in the case of licensed trades, as required by regulation of the licensing entity, as applicable and any examinations administered during such instruction shall be monitored by a proctor. The sponsor shall also have readily available to the apprentice a schedule of the work processes to be learned in the occupation.				
		The agreement may be terminated, within the lesser of (1) 1 year of (2) 25% of the length of the apprentice program from the date of its execution, by either the employer of the apprentice, for any reason.				
		This agreement must be approved by and filed with the Division of Apprentice Standards within 30 days of its execution, before the apprentice starts work and copies must be returned to sponsor.				
		The Deputy Director of Apprentice Standards may terminate the agreement at any time during the duration of the agreement if the Deputy Director deems it proper.				
		The parties recognize that prevailing wage rates for public works projects are set by the Department of Labor Standards, and that the wages listed in these program standards do not supersede or replace the wage rates determined by the Department of Labor Standards.				
		The Division of Apprentice Standards is available to receive, investigate and resolve any complaints the apprentice has about the apprentice training program in which the apprentice is registered.				
		The apprentice has the legal right to work in the United States.				
MANDATORY	To be see	mpleted by Apprentice:				
WANDATOKT.	TO DE COI	inpleted by Appletitice.				
Social Security	Number:		Email:			
Date of Birth:			Phone:			
Gender:	Ethnicity			Veteran:	Disabled:	
☐ Male ☐ Female	☐ White ☐ Black ☐ American Indian or Alaskan Native		☐ Vietnam Era Veteran☐ Other Veteran	□ Yes □ No		
Check highest				ge □ 13 □ 14 □ 15 □ 16	5 □ 17 □ 18	

Phone: (617) 626-5409 Fax: (617) 626-5427

www.mass.gov/das

To all Apprentices

Papers need with this application:

- 1. All highlighted areas filled out
- 2. Passport size photo of yourself for the Identification card
- 3. Schooling past and present
- 4. \$35 check made out to the **Commonwealth of Massachusetts**

Rules:

The Department of Labor Standards, Division of Apprentice Standards ("DLS/DAS") is committed to expanding apprentice training in Massachusetts. To encourage additional sponsorships, DLS/DAS has agreed to waive its annual registration fee for sponsor programs that do not bid or work on prevailing wage jobs. Sponsors of fee-waived programs are required to execute a *Waiver of Fee and Declaration that Sponsor shall not Bid Prevailing Wage Jobs*. Apprentices in fee-waived programs shall receive the same credit for completion of their apprenticeship work as their counterparts in programs that have paid a registration fee in regards to qualifying for trade certification and licensure; however, apprentices in fee-waived programs shall be given unique identification cards. All apprentices must be in school unless you can prove that you have completed all your schooling.

All apprentices must renew their ID card every year and that would include showing that you completed schooling the previous year and that you are registered for the following year. Failing to do these things will result in canceling your ID card and NOTIFYING the proper Licensing Authority that you are no longer an apprentice and cannot sit for a License Test or work on any prevailing wage jobs.

Please note that all HVAC/Refrigeration, Pipefitter, and Sprinklerfitter Apprentices also need to register with Public Safety. You will get back two copies of the Apprentice Agreement from us; one stays with the company you are working for, and the other copy goes with your application for registration with the Department of Public Safety. If you visit mass.gov/das and find the link to Public Safety, you can download their registration application.