

## COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS OFFICE OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

## DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS & ENERGY Cable Television Division

Docket No. CTV 01-1

Petition of MediaOne of Massachusetts, Inc.; MediaOne Enterprises, Inc.; MediaOne of Brockton, Inc.; MediaOne of Milton, Inc.; MediaOne of Needham, Inc.; MediaOne of Ohio, Inc.; MediaOne of Southern New England, Inc.; MediaOne of Virginia, Inc.; and MediaOne of Western New England, Inc. to adjust the basic service tier programming and equipment rates for the communities of: Acushnet, Agawam, Amherst, Ashland, Attleboro, Avon, Bellingham, Berkley, Bernardston, Beverly, Billerica, Blackstone, Boxford, Bridgewater, Brockton, Buckland, Burlington, Cambridge, Canton, Chelmsford, Chelsea, Chester, Clinton, Cohasset, Conway, Dartmouth, Dedham, Deerfield, Dighton, Dover, East Bridgewater, Eastham, Easton, Erving, Everett, Fairhaven, Fall River, Foxborough, Franklin, Freetown, Gill, Granby, Granville, Greenfield, Hamilton, Hanover, Hanson, Hardwick, Hatfield, Hingham, Holbrook, Holliston, Holyoke, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Hull, Huntington, Ipswich, Lakeville, Lancaster, Lawrence, Longmeadow, Lowell, Lynn, Malden, Mansfield, Marblehead, Marion, Marlborough, Mattapoisett, Medfield, Medford, Medway, Melrose, Mendon, Methuen, Middleborough, Milford, Millis, Milton, Monson, Montague, Nahant, Natick, Needham, New Bedford, Newbury, Norfolk, North Andover, North Attleborough, Northampton, Northfield, Norton, Norwell, Orleans, Palmer, Pelham, Phillipston, Plainville, Provincetown, Quincy, Randolph, Raynham, Reading, Rehoboth, Revere, Rochester, Rowley, Salem, Saugus, Scituate, Seekonk, Sharon, Shelburne, Sherborn, Somerset, South Hadley, Southwick, Springfield, Stoneham, Stoughton, Sunderland, Swampscott, Taunton, Tewksbury, Topsfield, Truro, Upton, Wakefield, Walpole, Ware, Wareham, Warren, Watertown, Wayland, Wellesley, Wellfleet, Wenham, West Bridgewater, West Newbury, West Springfield, Westfield, Westhampton, Weston, Weymouth, Whitman, Williamsburg, Wilmington, Winchendon, Winchester, Winthrop and Wrentham.

Docket No. CTV 01-3

Petition of MediaOne of Massachusetts, Inc. to adjust the basic service tier programming and equipment rates for the communities of: Andover, Barnstable, Chatham, Dennis, Dracut, Harwich, Middleton, Nantucket, North Reading, Waltham and Yarmouth.

## ORDER CONSOLIDATING PROCEEDINGS

On March 1, 2001, AT&T Broadband ("AT&T") filed with the Cable Television Division ("Cable Division") of the Department of Telecommunications and Energy proposed basic service tier ("BST") programming and equipment rates on Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") Form 1240s and Form 1205, respectively, for many communities. Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. § 76.933(g), the rates proposed in the FCC Form 1240s and FCC Form 1205 became effective on July 1, 2001. The Cable Division docketed this matter as CTV 01-1.

Page 2

On March 29, 2001, AT&T filed with the Cable Division proposed basic service tier ("BST") programming and equipment rates on Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") Form 1240s and Form 1205, respectively, for many other communities.<sup>2</sup> These proposed rates also became effective on July 1, 2001. The Cable Division docketed this matter as CTV 01-3.

Upon initial review of these matters, the Cable Division determines that there are issues common to both dockets and that separate proceedings will be inefficient and burdensome to the parties and the Cable Division. Therefore, in the interest of administrative efficiency, the Cable Division, on its own motion, hereby consolidates these dockets. The consolidated docket will be referred to as CTV 01-1/01-3.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The communities are: Acushnet, Agawam, Amherst, Ashland, Attleboro, Avon, Bellingham, Berkley, Bernardston, Beverly, Billerica, Blackstone, Boxford, Bridgewater, Brockton, Buckland, Burlington, Cambridge, Canton, Chelmsford, Chelsea, Chester, Clinton, Cohasset, Conway, Dartmouth, Dedham, Deerfield, Dighton, Dover, East Bridgewater, Eastham, Easton, Erving, Everett, Fairhaven, Fall River, Foxborough, Franklin, Freetown, Gill, Granby, Granville, Greenfield, Hamilton, Hanover, Hanson, Hardwick, Hatfield, Hingham, Holbrook, Holliston, Holyoke, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Hull, Huntington, Ipswich, Lakeville, Lancaster, Lawrence, Longmeadow, Lowell, Lynn, Malden, Mansfield, Marblehead, Marion, Marlborough, Mattapoisett, Medfield, Medford, Medway, Melrose, Mendon, Methuen, Middleborough, Milford, Millis, Milton, Monson, Montague, Nahant, Natick, Needham, New Bedford, Newbury, Norfolk, North Andover, North Attleborough, Northampton, Northfield, Norton, Norwell, Orleans, Palmer, Pelham, Phillipston, Plainville, Provincetown, Quincy, Randolph, Raynham, Reading, Rehoboth, Revere, Rochester, Rowley, Salem, Saugus, Scituate, Seekonk, Sharon, Shelburne, Sherborn, Somerset, South Hadley, Southwick, Springfield, Stoneham, Stoughton, Sunderland, Swampscott, Taunton, Tewksbury, Topsfield, Truro, Upton, Wakefield, Walpole, Ware, Wareham, Warren, Watertown, Wayland, Wellesley, Wellfleet, Wenham, West Bridgewater, West Newbury, West Springfield, Westfield, Westhampton, Weston, Weymouth, Whitman, Williamsburg, Wilmington, Winchendon, Winchester, Winthrop and Wrentham.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The communities are: Andover, Barnstable, Chatham, Dennis, Dracut, Harwich, Middleton, Nantucket, North Reading, Waltham and Yarmouth.

AT&T Broadband Page 3

Docket Nos. CTV 01-1, CTV 01-3 Order Consolidating Proceedings

Pursuant to the foregoing, it is hereby

ORDERED: that effective November 16, 2001, the Cable Division consolidates Docket CTV 01-1 and Docket CTV 01-3.

By Order of the Department of Telecommunications and Energy Cable Television Division

> /s/ Alicia C. Matthews Alicia C. Matthews Director

Issued: November 16, 2001