Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Professional Licensure

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-cosmetology-and-barbering

617-701-8792

Important Information for All Barber Shop Applicants

e The barber shop must be completely set up with signage and ready for business to pass final
inspection for licensing. You will be contacted by an investigator with an inspection date.

e A barber shop license is NOT Transferable. A barber shop license only covers the barber
shop at the location or space to which it was issued. If you change locations or move to a
different space, even at the same address, you must submit a new application.

e If the layout of your barber shop changes after you are licensed, you must submit an
expansion/renovation application with the board.

e Barber shop owners must immediately notify the board if they plan to sell an operating
barber shop, and the new owners must file a new barber shop application. After a change in
ownership, the barber shop may remain open for 30 days before the new owners must obtain
a new license.

e If your barber shop is a new business or is changing locations, you must remain closed until
you are approved for a license after inspection.

e See the Board’s website at https://www.mass.gov/lists/statutes-and-regulations-cosmetology-
and-barbering for the Board’s rules and regulations about operating a barber shop.

e Every barber shop owner must contact the town where the barber shop is located to arrange
any required inspections and obtain all required town permits and certificates. Every barber
shop owner must pass all required town inspections and obtain all required town permits and
certificates before applying for a barber shop license.

e In addition to the sink located in the bathroom, every barber shop must have one non-
shampoo bowl sink. Please make sure this sink is labeled on the floorplan.
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Barber Shop Application Checklist

Your application will not be complete without all items on this checklist. Incomplete

applications will only be held for a maximum of 90 days, after which you will be required to reapply.

Your complete, original signed application must be accompanied by:

{1 A check or money order for $130 made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. All
money orders must be signed and dated. Application fees are non-refundable.

71 Afloor plan which must include the entire layout of the barber shop (8.5” x 117 only). The
applicant must retain a copy of the floor plan on the premises at all times. The floor plan must
include all of the following:

O

O

All rooms, equipment, chairs, and doors. Each room must be labeled

Additional sinks (cannot be located in the bathroom). Barber shops must have at least one
non-shampoo bowl sink with hot and cold running water in addition to a bathroom sink. Your
floorplan must clearly indicate the additional non-shampoo bowl sink. Shop that do not
have an additional non-shampoo bowl sink with hot and cold running water will not
pass inspection.

Shop sign

The location of the barber pole or decal

Bathrooms

{1 One 2” x 2” photo of each owner / partner

[1 Copy of the driver’s license or photo ID for each owner, and a copy of the barber license of a
person who will be working at the barber shop. This person may also be the owner.

[J A notarized Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgment Form for each
owner. This form must be notarized or your application will be incomplete.

[1 Business Certificate from the city or town where the shop is located.

[0 An original completed “Plumbing and electrical” work form if work has been done. If no work
has been done, the “no work required” form must be completed.

[ If the business is incorporated, submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation; if it is a partnership
or LLP, a copy of the partnership agreement; for LLCs, submit a copy of the Certificate of
Organization.

[ Price List (Gender Pricing is Prohibited)
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Barber Shop Application

Include a check or money order for $130 payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Anticipated Opening Date:

U Change of Owner? (Circle): Yes No
O Change of Location? (Circle): Yes No
O New Shop (Circle): Yes No

If Yes, list the address of the previous location:

Applicant Information

Name of Applicant:

Last

First Middle

Name, License Number, and License Expiration Date of a Barber Who Will Work at the Shop

(May Also be Owner):

Shop Address:

No.

Street P.O. Box

City/Town

Shop Name:

Zip Code

Contact Phone Number:

Email Address:
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Location of Shop:

O Store 0 Home O Office Building O Mall/Plaza

Business Structure of Shop (check one):

O Individually Owned
O Partnership or LLP

List the
partners:

Note: All partners must sign the application, individually answer all background questions
and submit their own notarized CORI Form. The partnership must designate one partner as
the applicant whose name will appear on the license.

A partnership agreement signed by all partners must be submitted with the application.

If any partner leaves the partnership, then the partnership is considered dissolved and the
shop license is invalid. The new ownership structure must apply for a new shop license.

O Corporation

Name of Corporation:

Note: If the shop is owned by a corporation, an officer of the corporation must sign the
application.

O LLC

Name of LLC:

Note: If the shop is owned by an LLC, a member or manager must sign the application.
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Background Questions (Required for All Applicants)

Name of Applicant:

Social Security Number (REQUIRED):
Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, s. 47A, the Division of Professional Licensure is required to obtain your social
security number and forward it to the Department of Revenue. The Department of Revenue will use your
social security number to ascertain whether you are in compliance with the tax laws of the
Commonwealth.

Note: If the ownership structure is a partnership, each partner must answer these background
guestions on a separate copy of this page and submit their own notarized CORI Form.

1. Has any disciplinary action been taken against you by a licensing board in any jurisdiction?
Yes: U No: U4

If yes, a notarized letter must be submitted with this application. The letter should contain an explanation
and description of the incident.

2. Do you hold or have you held a professional license in any jurisdiction?
Yes: O No: Q
If your license is with the Board, please list your license number:
For other licenses, please contact the jurisdiction’s licensing authority and arrange for that authority to

send a certificate of standing directly to the Board indicating the status of your license, information on any
pending actions, and any disciplinary information.

For questions 3-6, if you answer yes, you must submit a notarized letter explaining the incident.
3. Are you the subject of pending disciplinary action by a licensing board in any jurisdiction?
Yes: O No: O
4. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a professional license to a licensing board in any jurisdiction?
Yes: Q No: Q
5. Have you ever applied for and been denied a professional license in any jurisdiction?
Yes: Q No: Q
6. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in any jurisdiction?

Yes: 4 No: 4
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Certification

I certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the information | have provided pursuant to this
application for licensure is truthful and accurate. | understand that the failure to provide accurate information
may be grounds for the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering to deny me the
right to sit as a candidate or to suspend or revoke a license issued to me in accordance with Massachusetts
Law. | further attest that, pursuant to G.L. ¢. 62C, 849A, to the best of my knowledge and belief, | and/or the
business entity I represent have filed all state tax returns and paid all state taxes required by law. | further
agree that | am responsible for ensuring that the actions of the above referenced shop will adhere to all
applicable Massachusetts laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of barbering.

I certify that | have obtained all required local permits and certificates to operate a barber shop and the barber
shop has passed all required local inspections.

If your business is a partnership, all partners must sign.

If your business is incorporated or otherwise organized, only a member, manager, or officer of the organization
who is authorized to sign on behalf of the business may sign below.

Signature of Applicant Date
Print Name Position (if applicable)
Signature of Applicant Date
Print Name Position (if applicable)
Signature of Applicant Date
Print Name Position (if applicable)
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Plumbing Inspection Form

INSTRUCTIONS: This form should be completed only if plumbing work has been
done in the shop after purchase.

Date:

This is to certify that | am a Plumbing Inspector for , and that the plumbing

Name of city or town
alterations or installations for :

Name of Shop Applicant

Street Number Street Name

City State

are in accordance with the specifications of the state plumbing code found at 248 CMR,

Name of Plumbing Contractor

License #
Exp. Date
Address
No. Street City/Town
Signed:
Plumbing Inspector License # Exp. Date
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Electrical Inspection Form

INSTRUCTIONS: This form should be completed only if electrical work has been
done in the shop after purchase.

Date:

This is to certify that | am an Electrical Inspector for , and that the electrical

Name of city or town
alterations or installations for:

Name of Shop Applicant

Street Number Street Name

City State

is in accordance with the specifications of the state electrical code found at 527 CMR,

Name of City or Town Where Shop is Located

Name of Electrical Contractor

License #
Exp. Date
Address
No. Street City/Town
Signed:
Electrical Inspector License # Exp. D
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INSTRUCTIONS: This form should be completed only if no plumbing and/or no
electrical work has been done in the shop after purchase.

No Work Required Form
Circle all that apply:

No Plumbing work done No Electrical work done

Date:

This is to certify that all electrical and/or plumbing work on these premises
complies with the rules and regulations of state electrical and plumbing codes.
There have been no changes in the electrical or plumbing systems. No
changes will take place unless I first notify the Board of Registration of
Cosmetology and Barbering and obtain and complete the proper forms.

NAME OF SHOP

NAME OF SHOP APPLICANT

ADDRESS OF SHOP

TELEPHONE NUMBER

SIGNATURE OF SHOP APPLICANT
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