

## CHARLES D. BAKER Governor

KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor

# The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Tel: (617) 727-7775
TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618
Fax: (617) 727-4764
www.mass.gov/eops

TERRENCE M. REIDY Secretary

### **MEETING MINUTES**

**Building Code Coordinating Council (BCCC) Microsoft Teams Meeting** 

Thursday, July 21, 2022 1:00 p.m.

#### **Meeting Link**

Or call in (audio only)

+1 857-327-9245,,361149684# United States, Boston

Phone Conference ID: 361 149 684#

#### 1. Welcome

Undersecretary Benincasa opened the meeting at 1:15 p.m. and asked council members and staff to introduce themselves.

#### 2. Council Members and Staff Introductions

The following board members were present at this meeting:

Jeanne Benincasa-Thorpe, Undersecretary of Homeland Security, and designee for the Co-Chair,

Executive Office of Public Safety and Security

Jennifer Robertson, designee for the Department of Public Health

Jennifer Hoyt, designee for the Board of Fire Prevention Regulations

Ian Finlayson, designee for the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

Peter Ostroskey, State Fire Marshal, Department of Fire Services

Joseph McNamee, designee for the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters

Robert Garrett, designee for the Department of Housing and Community Development

Eric Morse, Chairperson, Board of Elevator Regulations

Maurice Pillette, Chairperson, Fire Safety Commission

Maja Kazmierczak, designee for the Attorney General's Office

Richard Baldacci, designee for the Division of Professional Licensure

Karalyn O'Brien, Chairperson, Bureau of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians and Sprinklers

Kathy Guinee, Chairperson, Board of State Electrical Examiners

Christopher Ryan, consultant for the Plumbing Board

James Ballin, Deputy General Counsel, Department of Public Health David Riquinha, Chairperson Board of Building Regulations and Standards David Bragg, designee Department of Environmental Protection

Other organizational representatives and guests:

Kelly Caiazzo, Attorney General's Office Amber Villa, Attorney General's Office Paul Ormond, Department of Energy Resources Charles Kilb, Counsel, Division of Occupational Licensure Glenn Rooney, General Counsel, Department of Fire Services John Dean, Deputy General Counsel, Department of Fire Services Paul Vigneau, Department of Fire Services Christina Rodriguez, Department of Fire Services

3. Meeting Minutes: Review and approve January 16, 2020 draft meeting minutes. MOTION made to approve the minutes as submitted made by Jennifer Hoyt, seconded by Maurice Pillette. Motion was approved unanimously with seven members abstaining as follows: Joseph McNamee, David Riquinha, Jennifer Robinson, Eric Morse, Karalyn O'Brien, Maurice Pillette, Maja Kazmierczak.

#### 4. Old Business:

a. None

#### 5. New Business:

a. Review and potential vote of the proposed amendments to the Housing Code 105 CMR 410

Jennifer Robinson presented on the amendments to 105 CMR 410. Continuing to work through the redline document. Following discussion on the presentation, Co-Chair Benincasa-Thorpe tabled a vote on the regulations until the next meeting upon a recommendation by Jennifer Robinson.

b. Review and potential vote of the proposed amendments to 225 CMR 22.00 The Residential low-rise chapter (amendments to IRC Ch 11 or IECC residential)

Ian Finlayson presented on the amendments. Following a motion made by Maurice Pilette, seconded by Peter Ostroskey, to approve the amendments to 225 CMR 22.00 as presented, and with no further discussion the motion was approved by roll call vote unanimously with abstention by members Joseph McNamee and Maja Kazmierczak. Motion carries.

c. Review and potential vote of the proposed amendments to 225 CMR 23.00 The Commercial chapter (amendments to 780 CMR CH13 Energy Efficiency)

Ian Finlayson presented on the amendments. Following a motion made by Maurice Pilette, seconded by Peter Ostroskey, to approve the amendments to 225 CMR 23.00 as presented, and with no further discussion the motion was approved by roll call vote unanimously with abstention by members Joseph McNamee and Maja Kazmierczak. Motion carries.

**6.** Any additional matters not reasonably anticipated by the co-chairs two (2) business days in advance of the meeting.

Paul Vigneau discussed next meeting being via Teams again and established the date as August 18, 2022.

#### 7. Adjourn

MOTION made by Maurice Pilette, seconded by Peter Ostroskey, it was unanimously voted to adjourn at 1:51 p.m.

Submitted by:	PSR	1	Date: _	8/18/22	
• -					