CHARLES D.

BAKER
GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

MIKE KENNEALY SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

# Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, Massachusetts 02118

EDWARD A. PALLESCHI UNDERSECRETARY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

LAYLA R. D'EMILIA COMMISSIONER, DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE

#### **Minutes**

Board of Elevator Regulations
This meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams
May 25, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

#### **Board Members Present:**

Sarah Wilkinson Christopher Towski David Gaudet Cheryl Davis David Morgan Brian Ronan

## **Board Members Absent:**

Eric Morse, Acting Chairman

## The Board discussed the following:

The discussion and review of 524 CMR Section 9.00: Operation of Non-Automatic Elevators, Section 10.00: Requirements for Permits and Inspections of Existing Elevators Undergoing Alterations and Replacements, and Section 11.00: Elevators Placed Out of Service or Decommissioned, was tabled until the next code review on June 29, 2021.

The Board went on to further discuss additional information/research needed so to allow continued hearings on June 22, 2021 for outstanding variance petitions. Board members expressed their concerns of sprinklers being installed in elevator machine rooms and hoistways. The Board also had follow-up questions to possible solutions for the specific facilities seeking a variance from 524 CMR 35.00 Section 3.7 – Machinery Spaces, Machine Rooms, Control Spaces, and Control Rooms. A motion was put forth by

**Division of Professional Licensure Staff:** 

Peter M. Kelley Ruthy Barros Christopher Towski to form a subcommittee comprised of all members currently present specifically to discuss machine room and hoistway sprinkler coverage and to report recommendations to the full Board. The motion was seconded by David Morgan.

**Motion:** Christopher Towski **Seconded:** David Morgan

Vote: 6-0; Subcommittee formed.

#### Roll Call Vote:

•	David Gaudet	☑ yea	nay
•	Christopher Towski	☑ yea	nay
•	Brian Ronan	☑ yea	nay
•	Sarah Wilkinson	☑ yea	nay
•	Cheryl Davis	☑ yea	nay
•	David Morgan	☑ yea	nay

## **Approval of meeting minutes:**

## **April 6, 2021 [Exhibit 1]**

A motion was put forth by Cheryl Davis to accept the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by David Morgan. **Vote: 5-0; Granted**. Christopher Towski abstained.

## Roll Call Vote:

•	David Gaudet	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Christopher Towski	Abstained	
•	Brian Ronan	☑ yea	nay
•	Sarah Wilkinson	☑ yea	nay
•	Cheryl Davis	☑ yea	nay
•	David Morgan	☑ yea	☐ nay

## **April 20, 2021 [Exhibit 2]**

A motion was put forth by Cheryl Davis to accept the minutes with the noted correction. The motion was seconded by David Morgan. **Vote: 5-0; Granted**. Christopher Towski abstained.

#### Roll Call Vote:

•	David Gaudet	☑ yea	nay
•	Christopher Towski	Abstained	
•	Brian Ronan	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Sarah Wilkinson	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Cheryl Davis	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	David Morgan	☑ yea	☐ nay

## **April 27, 2021 [Exhibit 3]**

• David Gaudet

A motion was put forth by David Gaudet to accept the minutes with the noted correction. Th abs

The motion was seconded by Cheryl Davis. <b>Vote: 5-0; Granted</b> . Christopher Towski			
abstained.			
Roll Call Vote:	✓ yea Abstained ✓ yea ✓ yea ✓ yea ✓ yea ✓ yea ✓ yea	□ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay	
May 5, 2021 [Exhibit 4]			
A motion was put forth by Christopher Towski to a	ecept the minut	es as written. The	
motion was seconded by Brian Ronan. Vote: 6-0; C	Granted.		
Roll Call Vote:  David Gaudet Christopher Towski Brian Ronan Sarah Wilkinson Cheryl Davis David Morgan	✓ yea	□ nay	
May 18, 2021 [Exhibit 5]			
A motion was put forth by Christopher Towski to accept the minutes as written. The			
motion was seconded by David Morgan. Vote: 5-0;	Granted. Bria	n Ronan abstained.	
Roll Call Vote:  David Gaudet Christopher Towski Brian Ronan Sarah Wilkinson Cheryl Davis David Morgan  Motion to Adjourn: David Morgan Seconded: Christopher Towski Vote: 6-0; Adjourned.	<ul><li>✓ yea</li><li>✓ yea</li><li>Abstained</li><li>✓ yea</li><li>✓ yea</li><li>✓ yea</li><li>✓ yea</li></ul>	□ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay □ nay	
Roll Call Vote:			

☐ nay

☑ yea

•	Christopher Towski	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Brian Ronan	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Sarah Wilkinson	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	Cheryl Davis	☑ yea	☐ nay
•	David Morgan	✓ yea	□ nay

Hearing concluded at 9:49 a.m. Prepared by: Ruthy Barros

## **Exhibit List:**

- Exhibit 1: Meeting minutes from April 6, 2021
- Exhibit 2: Meeting minutes from April 20, 2021
- Exhibit 3: Meeting minutes from April 27, 2021
- Exhibit 4: Meeting minutes from May 5, 2021
- Exhibit 5: Meeting minutes from May 18, 2021