

Maura T. Healey Governor

KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

TERRENCE M. REIDY SECRETARY

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security Department of Fire Services

P.O. Box 1025 ~ State Road

Stow, Massachusetts 01775

Telephone (978) 567**~**3100

www.mass.gov/dfs



LARRY S. FISHER CHAIRMAN

BOARD OF FIRE PREVENTION REGULATIONS MINUTES OF BOARD MEETING

June 6, 2024 1:00 p.m. Boards & Commissions Room, DFS, 1 State Rd, Stow, MA 01775

The following Board Members were present:

Larry Fisher Chair, BFPR
Jon Davine State Fire Marshal

Chief Arruda Fire Chief from a community with a population of

less than 25,000

John Correia Member of the Public John Cox Chemical Engineer

Alfonso Ibarreta Registered Professional Mechanical Engineer
Keith Pogarian Registered Professional Electrical Engineer
Patrick Ellis Boston Fire Department Commissioner (Designee)

Paul Scheiner, Ph. D.

Graduate Fire Chemist

Kenneth Smith

Blasting Association Member

Paul Kennedy Inspector of Wires

Edward Williams FPAM Representative

The following Board Members were absent:

Chief Joseph Jackson Fire Chief from a community with a population of

more than 50,000

Chief Michael Newbury Fire Chief from a community with a population of

25,000 to 50,000

Patty Sheehan Building Official

Johnathan M. Eisenberg, P.E. Registered Professional Fire Protection Engineer

DFS Staffing were present:

TJ Sahasakmontri DFS, Intern

Mary Ann Smith Code Administrator, Fire Safety Division

Brian Ingram Director, Division of Fire Safety

Glenn Rooney General Counsel

Guests were present:

Jen Hoyt

- 1. Meeting was opened at 1:07 p.m. by Larry Fisher, Chair.
- 2. Introductions, Mary Ann Smith called upon BFPR Members and DFS Staff to introduce themselves for the record.

Monthly Board Meeting

1. Minutes from the May 2, 2024 meeting of BFPR submitted for approval.

Motion to approve the May 2, 2024, meeting minutes made by Paul Scheiner, seconded by Marshal Davine. 10 in favor. 2 abstain (Ed Williams, John Correia). Motion Carries.

New Business

2. Staff requested that the Code Change Proposals review be tabled until next meeting when the Committee's have finished their reviews.

Old Business

Committee/ Reports

1. Administrative Code Committee

No Action

2. General Requirements Code Committee

Motion to accept minutes from March 27, 2024 made by Paul Scheiner, seconded by Chief Arruda. All in favor. Motion Carries.

3. Occupancy Code Committee

No Action

4. Processing Code Committee

No Action

5. Equipment Code Committee

Motion to accept minutes from February 20, 2024 made by Alfonso Ibarreta, Seconded by Paul Scheiner. All in favor. Motion Carries.

6. Hazardous Code Committee

Motion to accept minutes from April 9, 2024 made by John Cox, Seconded by Chief Arruda. All in favor. Motion Carries.

7. Electrical Code Committee

Motion to accept minutes from February 20, 2024 made by Alfonso Ibarreta, Seconded by Paul Scheiner. All in favor. Motion Carries.

8. Massachusetts Electrical Advisory Committee

No Action

9. BFPR/BSEE Work Group

No Action

10. Flame Effects Work Group

No Action

11. Ammunitions Table Work Group

No Action

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Paul Scheiner, seconded by Paul Kennedy. Motion passed unanimously. Meeting ended at 1:32 p.m.

Approved: Larry S. Fisher Date: 8/1/24