

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

MIKE KENNEALY SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure BOARD OF REGISTRATION IN OPTOMETRY 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, Massachusetts 02118

EDWARD A. PALLESCHI UNDERSECRETARY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

LAYLA R. D'EMILIA COMMISSIONER, DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE

POLICY ON ONLINE CE COURSES FOR THE 2020 CALENDAR YEAR

April 27, 2020

Optometrists licensed in Massachusetts are required to complete 18 hours of Board-approved continuing education courses ("CE") each calendar year. The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Optometry ("the Board") is aware that numerous in-person/live CE programs have been cancelled or postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic. For this reason, at its March 25, 2020 meeting, the Board voted to waive the 6 hour limitation on the number of distance based learning (including on-line) CE courses a licensee may count towards their 2020 calendar year requirement. This means that <u>for CE completed between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 only</u>, an optometrist may receive credit for up to 18 hours of distance-based CE courses provided that each course completed is Board-approved and meets all other regulatory requirements. As a reminder, the Board has approved courses that are: (a) approved by the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (C.O.P.E), (b) specifically approved by the Board under 246 CMR 2.01(3)(d), or (c) offered by a Continuing Education Entity 246 CMR 2.01(3)(e). The Board will continue to accept live courses that meet all regulatory requirements. Board regulations may be accessed through the following link: <u>https://www.mass.gov/lists/statutes-and-regulations-optometry#rules-and-regulations-governing-optometrists-</u>

###