

Bureau of Water Resources - Well Driller Program

WS 38a

Initial - Well Driller Certification

Table of Contents & Instructions

Table of Contents

- introduction
- guidance
- permit application fact sheet
- completeness checklist

Introduction

MassDEP *Permit Applications*, as well as *Instructions & Support Materials*, are available for download from the MassDEP Web site at <u>mass.gov/dep</u> in two file formats: Microsoft Word™ and Adobe Acrobat PDF™. Either format allows documents to be printed.

Instructions & Support Materials files in Microsoft Word™ format contain a series of documents that provide guidance on how to prepare a permit application. Although we recommend that you print out the entire package, you may choose to print specific documents by selecting the appropriate page numbers for printing.

Permit Applications in Microsoft Word[™] format must be downloaded separately. Users with Microsoft Word[™] 97 or later may complete these forms electronically.

Permitting packages in Adobe Acrobat PDF™ format combine *Permit Applications* and *Instructions & Support Materials* in a single document. Adobe Acrobat PDF™ files may only be viewed and printed without alteration. *Permit Applications* in this format may not be completed electronically.



Bureau of Water Resources – Well Driller Program

WS 38a

Initial - Well Driller Certification

Certification Fact Sheet

1. What is the purpose of this plan approval?

This certification protects the Commonwealth's groundwater resources from impairment by ensuring that productive and non-productive wells are drilled, constructed, altered, and decommissioned properly. The law also assists consumers by requiring that all well drillers have professional qualifications in their field.

This certification grants approval to allow the applicant to engage in the business of digging or drilling wells in the Commonwealth. Legislative authority for this certification is stated in M.G.L. Chapter 21G §20, Persons engaged in the business of digging or drilling wells. Regulatory authority for this certification is stated in 310 CMR 46.00, Registration of Well Drillers and Filing of Well Completion Reports.

2. Who must apply?

Any individual who meets the required minimum qualifications for the digging and drilling of wells is eligible to apply for a certification.

3. What are the requirements for certification?

Unless a holder of a certificate of registration in accordance with 310 CMR 46.00, no person shall engage in the business of well drilling in the Commonwealth. This registration requirement does not include wells used on a temporary basis for the purpose of dewatering excavations, stabilizing hillsides or earth embankments, sampling soil gases, or sampling groundwater if the installation tool is left in the ground less than 48 hours. 310 CMR 46.00 To obtain a certification of registration, an applicant must show satisfactory evidence that the applicant has attained: experience in drilling wells in Massachusetts by being actively engaged in drilling of productive wells in Massachusetts under the immediate supervision of a Massachusetts registered well driller for at least 36 months prior to application date; knowledge of well drilling by passing a written general examination and one specialized written examination, prepared and administered by the National Ground Water Association (NGWA), or by the Division; and competency in the drilling of wells sufficient to assume the function and duties of a registered well driller, attested to in a sworn affidavit by a registered well driller who supervised the applicant's work.

The Director may waive certain requirements set forth in 310 CMR 46.00 when the Division receives satisfactory evidence under one of the following options that the applicant:

- (a) is registered in another state with comparable registration requirements and well drilling conditions, has been registered in that state for a period of at least three years, and is in good standing. If registration requirements are not comparable, the Director shall require at least one year additional experience of being actively engaged in the drilling of productive wells in Massachusetts under the supervision of a Massachusetts registered well driller.
- (b) was previously registered in Massachusetts within two years of receipt of application for reinstatement, and submits payment of fees in the areas as determined by the Director.
- (c) is certified by NGWA as a Certified Well Driller, and beyond NGWA certification requirement, has at least one year additional experience of being actively engaged in drilling productive wells in Massachusetts under the supervision of a Massachusetts registered well driller.

4. What is the application fee?

An application fee of \$200 (\$400 for waiver application) must be submitted at the time of the application. THERE IS NO FEE EXEMPTION FOR THIS CERTIFICATION (BRP WS38a).



Bureau of Water Resources – Well Driller Program

WS 38a

Initial - Well Driller Certification

Certification Fact Sheet

5. Where do I send the application forms?

Submit: a) the completed application (BRP WS38a) form; b) the completed **original copy** of MassDEP Transmittal Form for Permit Application and Payment; and c) any required documentation for the type of certification that you are applying for; to:

Department of Environmental Protection DWP-Well Driller Certification Program One Winter Street, 5th Floor Boston, MA 02211

6. Where should I send the fee payment for this application?

Submit the fee payment by using a check or money order, payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and attach a copy of the completed MassDEP Transmittal Form for Permit Application. Please write on your check or money order the **transmittal number** that appears on your **Transmittal form** and the permit category that you are applying for – BRP WS 38a Initial – Well Driller Certification to:

MassDEP PO Box 4062 Boston, MA 02211

7. How long is the certification valid?

The certification is valid for one calendar year, from January 1 through December 31.

8. How long should I expect it to take for my complete application to be approved?

Turnaround time for complete application approval is 90 days.

9. What other licenses are required to operate a drill rig in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts General Law Chapter 146, §53, necessity of license for operating hoisting machinery, states that any operator of a drill rig must carry a hoisting license. Anyone who wishes to operate hoisting equipment must obtain a license from the Department of Public Safety information for which available by contacting DPS at 617-727-3200.

10. How can I avoid the most common mistakes made in applying for this certification?

- a. Fill out the form in its entirety. Missing information may subject your application to rejection. Please note the certification number will be assigned by DEP staff when the application is approved.
- b. Correctly calculate and submit your payment.
- c. Provide supporting documentation.

11. What are the regulations that apply to this plan approval and where can I get copies?

These regulations include, but are not limited to:

a. Well Drilling Regulations, 310 CMR 46.00.

Hard copies may be purchased at:



Bureau of Water Resources – Well Driller Program

WS 38a

Initial - Well Driller Certification

Certification Fact Sheet

State House Bookstore Room 116 Boston, MA 02133 617-727-2834 State House West Bookstore 436 Dwight Street, Room 102 Springfield, MA 01103 413-784-1376

Most MassDEP permit application packages are also available from MassDEP's website at https://www.mass.gov/drinking-water-permit-reporting-forms.



Bureau of Water Resources – Groundwater Discharge, Surface Water Discharge, a Reclaimed Water Use Permits

WS 38a

Initial - Well Driller Certification

Instructions

1. Section A: Application Information

All information in Section A must be filled out in the spaces provided. If you do not have an email address, write N/A (not applicable).

2. Section B: Company Information

All information in Section B must be filled out in the spaces provided. If you are currently not affiliated with a company, write self-employed. If you do not have a work email address, write N/A (not applicable).

3. Section C: Work Experience

Give all relevant well drilling work experience in the spaces provided.

4. Section D: State Licensing

If you have drilled in other states and possesses well drilling licenses for those states, check the yes box and fill out the appropriate spaces provided about your non-Massachusetts state license(s).

5. Section F: Fees

New Driller Certification is \$200.00 for processing with NGWA test scores or \$400.00 for a waiver application. Pay by check or money order made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Write on our check or money order the transmittal number that appears on your transmittal form and the permit category that you are applying for BRP WS38a.

6. Section G: Statement of State Tax Compliance

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 62C, §47A and §49A, Administrative Provisions Relative to State Taxation apply to anyone seeking to be registered as a well driller in Massachusetts. These provisions require that any person applying for registration or renewal must certify under penalties of perjury that they have complied with all laws of the Commonwealth related to taxes. Fill out all applicable lines. This means: your signature; the application date; your social security number or federal ID number; and the name of your company, if you are the owner or an official for the company.

7. Section H: Certification

Sign and date in the spaces provided to confirm that the information on the form is true, accurate, and complete.

8. Section I: Sworn Affidavit Confirming Well Driller Experience

This section should be filled out by the certified Massachusetts well driller under whose supervision you have been working, attesting that under his/her supervision you have gained the necessary well drilling experience. The section in bold at the bottom must be completed (signed, dated, and affixed with a seal) by a notary public, delivered by the same certified Massachusetts well driller.



Bureau of Water Resources – Groundwater Discharge, Surface Water Discharge, a Reclaimed Water Use Permits

WS 38a Initial – Well Driller Certification

Application Completeness Checklist

1.	To submit a BRP WS38a Application for a Well Driller Certification, complete the steps outlined below:
	A MassDEP Transmittal Form has been completed and is included in the application submittal:
	https://www.mass.gov/service-details/transmittal-form-number-for-massdep-permit-application-payment
	A BRP WS38a Initial – Well Driller Certification has been completed in its entirety and are included in the
	application submittal. A notarized sworn affidavit has been signed by the recommending Massachusetts certified well driller and is included in the application submittal.
	Copies of three (3) years of well completion reports (approximately 12 per year) with the applicant name as driller working under the supervision of the recommending Massachusetts certified well driller are included in
	the application submittal.
	Score report results from the National Ground Water Association (NGWA) general exam taken within 2 years from receipt of application with a minimum passing grade of 70% are included in the application submittal.
2.	To submit a BRP WS38a Application for a Monitoring Well Driller Certification, complete the steps outlined below:
\Box	
	A MassDEP Transmittal Form has been completed and is included in the application submittal:
	https://www.mass.gov/service-details/transmittal-form-number-for-massdep-permit-application-payment A BRP WS38a Initial – Well Driller Certification have been completed in its entirely and are included in the
	application submittal.
	Score report results from the National Ground Water Association (NGWA) general and monitoring exam with a minimum passing grade of 70% are included in the application submittal.
	Submit a copy of your valid National Ground Water Association (NGWA) Certified Well Driller Certificate.
3.	To submit a BRP WS38a Application for Waiver, complete the steps outlines below:
	A MassDEP Transmittal Form has been completed and is included in the application submittal:
	https://www.mass.gov/service-details/transmittal-form-number-for-massdep-permit-application-payment
	A BRP WS38a Initial – Well Driller Certification have been completed in its entirely and are included in the
\Box	application submittal. Copy of valid well driller license from another state (for the individual not the company)
	Copy of state regulations including requirements attained in order qualify for your well drilling license.
	Letter of good standing from licensing state, including date licensed issued.
	Copies of 12 well completion reports submitted within the past year or other documentary evidence that demonstrates drilling experience and drilling conditions for the past year.
	Copy of National Ground Water Association (NGWA) General exam test results passed within 2 years of
	application date or copy of a valid NGWA well driller certification. You can contact <u>NGWA</u> for testing information