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: Massachusetts, Inc., and Health Maintenance Organizitior

From: Gary D. Anderson, Commissioner of Insprance ,/
Date: November 22, 2017

Re: Clarification of Coordination of Beneﬁts
Associated with Motor Vehicle Accidents

er 211 CMR 38.00 for Medical Claims

On October 7, 2016, the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (“Division”) adopted new
rules and amendments to its Coordination of Benefits (“COB”) regulation, 211 CMR 38.00. In light
of the update to 211 CMR 38.00, the Division issues this Bulletin to address the coordination of
benefits for accident-related medical claims between fully-insured health policies and the Personal
Tnjury Protection ("PIP") and Medical Payments ("MedPay") benefits of motor vehicle liability
policies. This Bulletin and the current version of the COB regulation replace and supersede any
prior guidance regarding coordination of benefits, including B-1990-2 and Bulletin 2008-12.

Applicability of Coordination of Benefit Rules to Insured Health Plans

The provisions of 211 CMR 38.00 apply to insured health plans issued or renewed in
Massachusetts. Carriers should refer to the definition of “Plan” in 211 CMR 38.02, which specifies
that a Plan does not include the following:

1. Hospital Indemnity Benefits coverage or other fixed indemnity coverage;

2. Accident only coverage;

3. Specified disease or specified accident coverage;

4, Insured contracts that pay a fixed daﬁy benefit w1thout regard to which expenses are
incurred or services received;

5. Medicare Supplement policies;
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6. School accident-type coverages that cover students for accidents only, including those
contracts covering students for accidents or athletic injuries, either on a 24 hour basis or
on a "to and from school" basis;

7. Benefits provided in long-term care insurance policies for non-medical services or for

contracts that pay a fixed daily benefit without regard to expenses incurred or the receipt
of services;

8. A state plan under Medicaid; or

9. A governmental plan when, by law, its benefits are in excess of those of any priva‘ie
insurance plan or other nongovernmental plan. ’

Self-funded employment-sponsored health plans are not subject to state insurance rules and,
therefore, are not bound by the provisions of 211 CMR 38.00'. However, many self-funded
. employment-sponsored health plan administrators may elect to adopt the rules established within

211 CMR 38.00 to ease the administration of payments for motor vehicle accident-related medical
claims. '

Medical Expense Benefits within Motor Vehicle Liability Policies

PIP is a compulsory coverage included in all Massachusetts motor vehicle liability insurance
policies. It can pay up to $8,000 for a claimant's medical expenses, replacement services, lost
-wages, and funeral expenses. M.G.L. ¢. 90, §§34A and 34M define PIP benefits under a standard
Massachusetts motor vehicle liability insurance policy and §34A provides for the coordination of
benefits between health insurance carriers and automobile insurers.

MedPay is coverage offered as part of a motor vehicle liability insurance policy. MedPay
can pay for reasonable medical and funeral expenses incurred as a result of a motor vehicle accident,
as noted in M.G.L. ¢. 175, §111C. Although automobile insurers are required to offer MedPay
coverage of "at least five thousand dollars" under M.G.L. ¢. 175, §113C, coverage is optional.

Coordination of Health and Automobile Insurance Benefifs ' e

~ The first $2,000 in medical and funeral expenses incurred as a result of a motor vehicle
accident must be submitted to the automobile insurer to be paid under PIP?. Coordination of
benefits becomes necessary after the first $2,000 in medical and funeral expenses is paid under PIP,

! Since self-funded employee benefit plans are exempt from state insurance laws, a self-funded plan may contain
language deferring primary coverage to the automobile insurer, but is not required to do so. If the self-funded plan
does contain such deferral language, then the PIP insurer will not be able to rely on the coordination provisions in
211 CMR 38.00. PIP must cover up to $8,000 in medical expenses, repldacement services, funeral expenses and lost

" wages, and when PIP is exhausted, the Medical Payments coverage, if any, will apply.

2 «“[Plersonal injury protection provisions shall not provide for payment of more than two thousand dollars of expenses
incurred within two years from the date of accident for medical, surgical, X-ray and dental services, including
prosthetic devices and necessary ambulance, hospital, professional nursing and funeral services if, and to the extent
that, such expenses have been or will be compensated, paid or indemmnified pursuant to any policy of health, sickness
or disability insurance or any contract or agreement of any group, organization, partnership or corporation to provide,
pay for or reimburse the cost of medical, hospital, dental or other health care services.” Creswell v. Medical West
Community Health Plan, Inc., 419 Mass. 327, 332 (1995).
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The remaining amount in PIP coverage is coordinated between the claimant’s health and
motor vehicle insurance plans. Once the first $2,000 of PIP has been exhausted, any medical-related
claims must be submitted to the health insurance carrier for coverage determination, if health
coverage exists. The health insurance carrier cannot deny payment for medical expenses on the
basis of the existence of PIP coverage. Ifthere is a MedPay benefit within the motor vehicle policy,
MedPay coverage is always secondary to and in excess of the benefits of the health coverage and
the PIP benefit up to the limits of the MedPay benefit. See 211 CMR 38.05(1)(b).

PIP is not required to cover claims denied by a health insurance provider when the claimant
has failed to comply with the requirements of the health coverage policy, e.g., by seeking out-of-
network care that could have been obtained through one’s health maintenance organization health
insurance policy. Dominguez v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 429 Mass. 112, 112-113 (1999). However,
if MedPay benefits are available, such denied claims would be payable under the MedPay coverage.
Mejia v. American Cas. Co., 55 Mass.App.Ct. 461, 466 (2002).

Coordination of benefits between health coverage, PIP and MedPay under 211 CMR 38.003:

1. Claimant does not have health coverage or MedPay.
~ PIP will pay up to $8,000 in medical expenses, replacement services, lost wages, and funeral
expenses incurred as a result of an automobile accident. . '

2. Claimant has health coverage and dees not have MedPay.

The first $2,000 in medical and funeral expenses is covered by PIP and any medical expenses
in excess of the $2,000 PIP threshold are submitted to the health insurance carrier. If the health
insurance carrier denies payment for a claim, the claimant may resubmit the claim to the motor
vehicle insurer for consideration of coverage under PIP. PIP would not be required to cover a
claim that was denied by the health insurance carrier for the claimant's failure to comply with
the requirements of the health coverage policy, but PIP must pay for reasonable expenses not
covered under the claimant's health coverage policy (e.g., copayments; deductibles; and
treatment that is not covered by health insurance, such as acupuncture).

3. Claimant has MedPay and does not have health coverage.
The first $8,000 in medical expenses; replacement services, lost wages, and funeral expenses is
covered by PIP. Once PIP has been exhausted, medical and funeral expenses are submitted to
MedPay for coverage up to the limits of the coverage purchased.

4, Claimant has health coverage and MedPay.
The first $2,000 in rhedical and funeral expenses are covered by PIP and any medical bills in
excess of the $2,000 PIP threshold are submitted to the health insurance carrier. The health
insurance carrier is responsible for payment of claims in excess of the $2,000 PIP threshold,

5 Please note that these are general coordination of benefit rules between a fully-insured health plan and the PIP and
MedPay coverages of a motor vehicle policy. Under certain circumstances, the PIP and MedPay benefits of a motor
vehicle policy may be unavailable, reduced, or ehmmated See M.G.L. ¢. 90, §§34A and 34M; standard
Massachusetts automobile insurance policy. .
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except where the health insurance carrier denies coverage for a legitimate reason (e.g., claim
for non-covered service). After payment is made by the health insurance carrier, the outstanding
balance on the claim is then resubmitted to the motor vehicle insurer for consideration under
PIP and, where PIP is unavailable or not required to pay for a claim denied by the health
insurance carrier (for example, because of the claimant's failure to comply with the terms of the

health policy), the claim must be covered by MedPay up to the lnmts of the MedPay coverage
purchased.

Generally, the MedPay benefit of a motor vehicle liability policy pays for:
* applicable patient copayments, coinsurance or deductibles under the health coverage;
* health care services that are not covered services under the claimant’s health coverage; or

¢ health care services from prowders that are not part of the health coverage’s network or
were provided without prior authorization under the health coverage.

Restrictions on Billing Automobile Carriers for Amounts Bevond Health Carrier Pavments

Where the PIP and MedPay coverages of a motor vehicle liability policy are secondary to
coverage under a health plan, the coordination of benefits rules may not be used by a provider to
increase the amount of payment to the provider for a service beyond the amount that the provider
agreed to accept from the health insurance carrier as payment for the services. Thus, the provider
may not bill the motor vehicle liability policy or the insured the difference between the provider’s
negotiated payment with the health insurance carrier and the provider’s charge. Unless otherwise
permitted under 211 CMR 38.00, the coordination of benefits rules may not be used to circumvent
contractual agreements between providers and health plans by increasing the provider payment or
decreasing the amount the provider has negotiated to accept in payment for services, less any
required deductibles, coinsurance or copayments, Health plans should include provisions in their
provider contracts to account for payments under coordination of benefits,

Limitations to Coordination of Benefits within Insured Health Plan Documents

Fully-insured health benefit plans may not include a “coordination of benefits” provision in
their contracts making their coverage secondary to other coverage for health care services, including
MedPay. Automobile insurers may continue to determine whether PIP or MedPay pays first based
on the reason for the health insurance carrier’s denial or based upon an exclusion under
M.G.L.c. 90, §34A (c.g., felonious conduct) or under the terms of the automobile insurance policy,
The Division expects all health carriers to submit amendments to existing policy form materials
that remove coordination of benefits provisions that are impermissible under 211 CMR 38.00 (i.e.,
deferral to MedPay).

Effective Date of Amended Coordination of Benefits Rules

The Division expects all health and automobile insurance carriers fo establish systems by
no later than January 1, 2018 that comply with the provisions of 211 CMR 38.00 when responding
to medical claims associated with automobile accidents that occur on and after that date.

If you have any questions about this Bulletin, please contact Kevin Beagan, Deputy Commissioner,
Health Care Access Bureau, at 617-521-7323 or kevin beagan@state.ma.us.



