## **Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Commission**

Meeting Minutes January 13, 2020 3:00-5:00 pm

Date of meeting: Monday, January 13, 2020

Start time: 3:10 pm End time: 4:45 pm

Location: McCormack Building, One Ashburton Place, 21st floor, Boston, MA 02108

Members present		Vote I*	Vote 2	Vote 3
I	Joan Mikula – Department of Mental Health (chair)	Х	Х	Х
2	George Beilin – Licensed Psychologist	Х	Α	Х
3	Marilyn DeSantis – National Alliance on Mental Illness - MA	Х	Α	X
4	Yaminette Diaz-Linhart – MA Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers	Х	Х	Х
5	Kirsten Doherty – MA Organization for Addiction Recovery	Х	Х	Х
6	Cindy Friedman – MA Senate	Α	Α	X
7	Margaret Hannah – Freedman Center at William James College	Х	Х	X
8	Jessica LaRochelle – MA Association for Mental Health	Х	Х	X
9	Ryan Manganelli – Office of Representative Decker (designee of Representative Decker)	Α	Α	Х
10	Danna Mauch – MA Association for Mental Health	Х	Х	X
11	Mary McGeown – MA Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children	Х	Х	X
12	Rosemary Minehan – Trial Court (ret.) (designee of Chief Justice Carey)	Х	Α	Х
13	Carlene Pavlos – MA Public Health Association	Х	Α	Х
14	Emma Schlitzer – Center for Health Information and Analysis (designee of Ray Campbell)	Х	Х	X
15	Emily Sherwood – Department of Mental Health	Х	Х	X
16	Lindsey Tucker – Department of Public Health	Α	Х	X
Members participating remotely				
17	James Vetter – Social-Emotional Learning Alliance for MA	Х	Χ	X
Members not in attendance				
18	Lissette Blondet – MA Association of Community Health Workers	-	_	ı
19	Daniel Cullinane – MA House of Representatives	-	-	-
20	Julian Cyr – MA Senate	-	-	-
21	Amanda Gilman – Association for Behavioral Healthcare	-	-	-

<sup>\* (</sup>X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

## **Proceedings**

Commissioner Mikula called the meeting to order at 3:10 pm. She noted that Mr. Vetter was participating remotely and all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call.

**Vote I to approve the 9/23/2019 minutes:** Commissioner Mikula requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Commission's previous meeting on September 23, 2019. Senator Friedman introduced the motion, which was seconded by Ms. McGeown and approved by roll-call vote; Mr. Vetter indicated his vote in the affirmative over the phone (see detailed record of votes above).

Vote 2 to approve the 11/13/2019 minutes: Commissioner Mikula requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Commission's previous meeting on November 13, 2019. Ms. Diaz-Linhart introduced the motion, which was seconded by Dr. Hannah and approved by roll-call vote; Mr. Vetter indicated his vote in the affirmative over the phone.

Commissioner Mikula welcomed members and outlined the agenda for the meeting, which included a discussion of the Commission's proposed priorities for the current fiscal year. Commissioner Mikula explained that in the FY20 Massachusetts State Budget, \$200,000 was allocated to the Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Trust Fund. She noted that monies allocated to the Trust Fund do not expire. Commissioner Mikula explained that recently passed legislation may provide any opportunity for additional funds to be allocated to the Trust Fund and encouraged additional discussion of the proposals and Commission priorities generated during the Commission's November 2019 meeting.

In response to questions from Dr. Beilin, Commissioner Mikula and Dr. Hannah explained that the proposals developed by Commission members in the previous meeting were inspired by the principles outlined in the Promote-Prevent Commission's final report.

Deputy Commissioner Sherwood reviewed the rubric developed by members of the Commission for the November 2019 meeting. For additional details on the rubric, refer to the Community Behavioral Health Commission's Meeting Materials webpage.

During the discussion of the rubric and Commission's priorities, Judge Minehan proposed reviewing potential proposals through the Results First lens, and Ms. Larochelle and Ms. Pavlos proposed that the Commission prioritize funding upstream prevention research to further the evidence base for prevention science. Dr. Beilin recommended that the Commission endorse the recommendations from the Promote-Prevent Commission's report related to employing a data-driven approach, establishing the Community Behavioral Health Commission as a permanent platform for prevention and promotion, and establishing the behavioral health trust fund to promote behavioral health and prevent behavioral health issues through evidence-based programing.

Deputy Commissioner Sherwood led a discussion of the potential priorities for the Commission. A number of proposals and themes emerged from the discussion:

- Supporting public health coalitions to conduct upstream work (Ms. Pavlos)
- Evolved/expanded cross-sector coalitions (Mr. Vetter, Dr. Hannah, Ms. Doherty)
- Focusing on high-risk communities and programs addressing issues and needs of children most at risk and intervening upstream before they get into the system, eg, children in foster care system
- Supporting existing community coalitions and combining upstream prevention work in communities and fostering local policy changes to support health (Associate Commissioner Tucker)
- MassUP moving health system upstream; social determinants of health

- Focus on populations with dual-diagnosis, overcoming trauma, and building resilience (Dr. Beilin)
- Economic security programs for families
- Integrated medical and behavioral health focusing on young children and families, addressing both generations and family stress (Ms. McGeown)
- Social Emotional Learning by competency (Mr. Vetter, Dr. Hannah, Ms. Larochelle)

In discussing the proposed schedule for the Commission's upcoming meetings, Commissioner Mikula suggested the Commission adopt a bi-monthly schedule and noted that Commission staff would be developing the proposed schedule as well as the draft annual report in advance of the next Commission meeting.

## Summary of action items and next steps:

- Deputy Commissioner Sherwood, Assistant Commissioner Tucker, and Commission staff to develop template for proposals.
- Commission members who were active in developing proposals to communicate with interested members and flesh out respective proposals.
- Commission staff to develop a proposed schedule for upcoming meetings.

<u>Vote to adjourn:</u> Commissioner Mikula requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. McGeown introduced the motion, which was seconded by Dr. Hannah and approved unanimously by all members present; Mr. Vetter indicated his vote in the affirmative over the phone.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 pm.