Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Commission

<u>Meeting Minutes</u> December 17, 2020 3:00-5:00 pm

<u>Date of meeting</u>: Thursday, December 17, 2020 <u>Start time</u>: 3:05 pm <u>End time</u>: 4:55 pm <u>Location</u>: Virtual Meeting (WebEx)

Members participating		Vote I*
I	Katherine Ginnis, MSW, MPH – MassHealth (chair)	X
2	George Beilin – Licensed Psychologist	×
3	Lissette Blondet – MA Association of Community Health Workers	-
4	Marjorie Decker – MA House of Representatives	X
5	Marilyn DeSantis – National Alliance on Mental Illness - MA	X
6	Yaminette Diaz-Linhart – National Association of Social Workers - MA Chapter	X
7	Kirsten Doherty – MA Organization for Addiction Recovery	X
8	Margaret Hannah – Freedman Center at William James College	X
9	Pat Johnson – Office of Senator Cyr (designee of Senator Cyr)	-
10	Jessica Larochelle – MA Association for Mental Health	X
11	Danna Mauch – MA Association for Mental Health	X
12	Mary McGeown – MSPCC	X
13	Rosemary Minehan – Trial Court (ret.) (designee of Chief Justice Carey)	X
14	Carlene Pavlos – MA Public Health Association	A
15	Emma Schlitzer – CHIA (designee of Ray Campbell)	A
16	Emily Sherwood – Department of Mental Health	X
17	Lindsey Tucker – Department of Public Health	X
18	James Vetter – Social-Emotional Learning Alliance for MA	X
Members unable to participate		
19	Daniel Cullinane – MA House of Representatives	-
20	Cindy Friedman – MA Senate	-
21	Amanda Gilman – Association for Behavioral Health	-

* (X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

Proceedings

Chair Ginnis called the meeting to order at 3:05 pm, noting that all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call. Members briefly introduced themselves.

<u>Vote I to approve the 10/15/2020 minutes:</u> Chair Ginnis requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Commission's previous meeting on October 15, 2020. Deputy Commissioner Sherwood introduced the motion, which was seconded by Dr. Beilin and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Deputy Commissioner Sherwood, Professor Hannah, and Dr. Beilin presented on the work of the subcommittee formed at the October 15, 2020 meeting to explore promotion and prevention-related recommendations to address the impact of the pandemic on the behavioral health of children and families, with a focus on the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on communities of color and low-resource communities. The presentation highlighted a number of existing initiatives and intervention models, and concluded with recommendations grouped into four distinct themes: 1) Public education about the mental health impact of the pandemic and how to support mental health and well-being for people of all ages; 2) Equip caring adults in regular contact with children with the skills to support their mental health and wellbeing; 3) Help schools access mental health services and supports for students and staff; and 4) Parents need information, access to peer support and help with basic needs. For additional details, refer to subcommittee's presentation posted to the Community Behavioral Health Commission's <u>Meeting Materials webpage</u>.

Representative Decker provided an overview of the FY21 budget, highlighting aspects of the \$94.6 million allocated for mental health care for children and adolescents, including community-based mental services and evidence-based trauma treatments. Senator Cyr described four new initiatives funded in the budget: a tele-behavioral health pilot program; a psychiatric nurse practitioner fellowship program in community health centers; a mental health workforce pipeline; and a \$150,000 study on access to culturally-competent care through the Office of Health Equity. He also highlighted the inclusion of \$10 million for behavioral health bed capacity.

Chair Ginnis facilitated a discussion of the subcommittee's proposed recommendations and explained that members' feedback would be compiled and incorporated in the coming months.

<u>Vote 2 to adjourn</u>: Chair Ginnis requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Deputy Commissioner Sherwood introduced the motion, which was seconded by Ms. McGeown and approved by all members present.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 pm.