Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Commission

Meeting Minutes
December 9, 2021
3:00-5:00 pm

Date of meeting: Thursday, December 9, 2021

Start time: 3:10 pm End time: 4:55 pm

Location: Virtual Meeting (WebEx)

Members participating		Vote I*	Vote 2
ı	Katherine Ginnis – MassHealth (chair)	X	Х
2	Yaminette Diaz-Linhart – National Association of Social Workers – MA Chapter	X	Х
3	Kelly English – Department of Mental Health	X	-
4	Elizabeth Ganz – Office of Senator Cyr (designee of Senator Cyr)	Х	-
5	Amanda Graff – Office of Representative Madaro (designee of Rep. Madaro)	X	Х
6	Margaret Hannah – Freedman Center at William James College	X	Х
7	Andrew Jackmauh – CHIA (designee of Ray Campbell)	-	Х
8	Jessica Larochelle – Massachusetts Association for Mental Health	X	Х
9	Mary McGeown – Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children	X	Х
10	Lindsey Tucker – Department of Public Health	Α	-
11	James Vetter – Social-Emotional Learning Alliance for MA	Α	Х
12	Wanda Visnick – Justice Resource Institute	X	-
Members unable to participate			
13	Lissette Blondet – MA Association of Community Health Workers	-	-
14	Paula Carey – Trial Court	-	-
15	Marilyn DeSantis – National Alliance on Mental Illness - MA	-	-
16	Kirsten Doherty – MA Organization for Addiction Recovery	-	-
17	Cindy Friedman – MA Senate	-	-
18	Danna Mauch – MA Association for Mental Health	-	-
19	Tram Nguyen – MA House of Representatives	-	-
20	Carlene Pavlos – MA Public Health Association	-	-
21	Megan Thompson – Association for Behavioral Healthcare	-	-

^{* (}X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

Proceedings

Chair Ginnis called the meeting to order at 3:10 pm, noting that all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call. Members briefly introduced themselves.

<u>Vote I to approve the I0/I4/2021 minutes:</u> Chair Ginnis requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Commission's previous meeting on October I4, 2021. Ms. Diaz-Linhart introduced the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Visnick and approved by roll-call vote (see detailed record of votes above).

Chair Ginnis stated that the presentation from the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) on school-based prevention programming would be postponed for the February 2022 meeting.

Brian Jenney and Rebecca Butler, Director and Assistant Director, respectively, for the Office of Youth and Young Adult Services (OYYAS) within the Bureau of Substance Addiction Services (BSAS), provided a detailed overview of the full array of BSAS-sponsored school-based programming for youth. For additional details, refer to the BSAS OYYAS presentation on the Commission's Meeting Materials webpage.

Ms. McGeown and Courtney Chelo, Assistant Director for Government Relations at the Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (MSPCC), presented on the work of the Children's Mental Health Campaign (CMHC) and the Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) approach for screening adolescents for alcohol and substance use. For additional details, refer to the CMHC SBIRT presentation on the Commission's Meeting Materials webpage.

Resource links shared during the presentations in the chat feature included the following:

- iDECIDE (Drug Education Curriculum: Intervention, Diversion, and Empowerment) Drug Education Curriculum: https://www.idecidemyfuture.org/about/
- Project Amp: https://www.projectamp4youth.com/
- US Surgeon General's 2021 Advisory on Protecting Youth Mental Health: https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/surgeon-general-youth-mental-health-advisory.pdf
- UMass Boston and UMass Amherst's BIRCh Project (Behavioral Health Integrated Resources for Children): https://www.umb.edu/birch/about

Chair Ginnis thanked the afternoon's presenters and reminded members that the Commission's next meeting is scheduled for February 10, 2022.

<u>Vote 2 to adjourn:</u> Chair Ginnis requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Vetter introduced the motion, which was seconded by Professor Hannah and approved by all members present.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 pm.